Related to: 'A Sticky Situation'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Jane Simmons

Jane Simmons is a uniquely talented award-winning illustrator and author, and the creator of some of our best-loved children’s books. Here she talks to Graham Marks about boats, motorbikes and making a mess, as well as her words, her art and her latest picture book, Lily Gets Lost.

Orion Children's Books

The Lost Treasure

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Orion Children's Books

Thief in the Night

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Franklin Watts

Free Kick Pro

Jonny Zucker
Authors:
Jonny Zucker
Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope.The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, BACK TO BLACKBRICK, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Franklin Watts

Demon Sea

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Franklin Watts

City of the Dead

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence

We dare you to take on the Red Queen in this choose-your-own-destiny Blood Crown Quest!YOU have successfully found three of the Blood Crown rubies, but now you face your toughest and most dangerous challenge.YOU must travel to Necropolis -- City of the Dead -- where the Red Queen lives, and find the last Blood Crown ruby. Only then will you have the full power of the Blood Crown. But will you decide to use it for good, or for evil? You are the hero of this book. Only you can decide your own destiny...Hot spin-off from the I HERO series, which has now sold over 80,000 copies! YOU are pitted against the evil Red Queen and her dark minions as she attempts to collect four rubies to rebuild the Blood Crown. Written by the award-winning 2Steves!

Franklin Watts

Sands of Blood

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence

We dare you to take on the Red Queen in this choose-your-own-destiny Blood Crown Quest! The Red Queen has seized the Ruby of Death and raised an army of the dead. Now, with her husband, the necromancer Mortha, they plan to find the remaining three rubies and cast a permanent shadow over the world. YOU are a former City Guard, a member of an elite unit of highly trained warriors. Your quest is to find the rubies before the Red Queen. First you must return to the City of Alba from where you were banished...You are the hero of this book. Only you can decide your own destiny...Hot spin-off from the I HERO series, which has now sold over 80,000 copies! YOU are pitted against the evil Red Queen and her dark minions as she attempts to collect four rubies to rebuild the Blood Crown. Written by the award-winning 2Steves!

Franklin Watts

Dragon Mountain

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Orchard Books

Girl of Nightmares

Kendare Blake
Authors:
Kendare Blake

Just you average boy-meets-girl, girl gets sucked into Hell story ... This is Kendare Blake's follow-up to the thrillingly creepy romance that was Anna Dressed in Blood.Cas Lowood is no ordinary ghost hunter - he's in love with a dead girl.Her name is Anna Korlov. Anna Dressed in Blood. The girl who sacrificed herself to save his life. Racked with guilt, Cas sets out to do what he does best - hunt a ghost. But this time his aim is not to kill. He must rescue Anna from the depths of Hell.But Hell is also home to a creature Cas has battled before ...PRAISE FOR ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD:'Anna Dressed in Blood is a dark and intricate tale, with a hero who kills the dead but is half in love with death himself. By the end of the book, you will be too. Spellbinding and romantic.' Cassandra Clare, No. 1 New York Times bestselling author of the Mortal Instruments series'It's the old boy-meets-girl story, if the boy is a wry, self-destructive ghost-hunter bent on avenging his father and the girl is a homicidal ghost trapped in a house full of everyone she's ever murdered. Needless to say, Cas and Anna are my new favorite twosome. When I got to the last page, I flipped back to the first.' Holly Black, New York Times bestselling author of Red Glove

Franklin Watts

First Strike

Craig Simpson, David Cousens
Contributors:
Craig Simpson, David Cousens
Franklin Watts

Hostage Crisis

Craig Simpson, David Cousens
Contributors:
Craig Simpson, David Cousens

When Dr Kate Shawcross is kidnapped by a Taliban leader - Masud - he plans to hold her hostage. Kate is the daughter of a US senator and Masud demands $1 million for her release. No money will be paid, so Major Nathan Connor and his Delta Force team are assigned to rescue her. But with Connor still looking for Hassan, the son of his dead friend, will he be able to hold all the pieces together without getting himself, or his team, killed? Explosive action and a thrilling, high-paced read is guaranteed in these gritty war adventures, which follow the behind-enemy-lines exploits of a squad from the US special combat unit known as "Delta Force".Craig Simpson is the author of the critically acclaimed "Special Operations" series.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Orion Children's Books

The Mystery of the Vanishing Skeleton

Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Contributors:
Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Orion Children's Books

The Mystery of the Missing Masterpiece

Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Contributors:
Helen Moss, Leo Hartas

When thieves raid the house of a neighbour, Emily, Jack and Scott are ready to investigate. But, strangely, the neighbour doesn't seem to want the thieves to be caught!The burglars didn't escape with much this time but could the raid be connected to a much older crime involving millions of pounds? The friends begin to uncover the truth, but are they leading themselves into serious danger?Mystery, menace and adventure await in the fourth book of this gripping new series!

Wayland

Bombs and Blackberries - A World War Two Play

Julia Donaldson
Authors:
Julia Donaldson

Tony Ross

Tony Ross was born in London and studied at the Liverpool School of Art and Design. He has worked as a cartoonist, a graphic designer, as the Art Director of an advertising agency, and as Senior Lecturer in Art at Manchester Polytechnic. Tony is one of the most popular and successful children's illustrators of all time, best known for illustrating Horrid Henry and the works of David Walliams. Tony's books have been translated into 40 languages in over 100 countries. He lives in Macclesfield.

Tracey Turner

Tracey Turner has written more than 30 books for children on a variety subjects, from rude words to the entire history of the universe. Her books include the best-selling 101 Things You Need to Know, and the acclaimed Comic Strip series. She lives in Bath with Tom and their son Toby.

Victoria Munson

Victoria Munson has been fascinated by wildlife since she was 8 years old, whne she helped her parents to rescue a kestrel with a broken wing. She joined the Young Ornithologist's Club (YOC, part of the RSPB) shortly after and spend many a happy weekend visiting Wildfowl and Wetland Centres, hand-feeding Canada Geese and adopting a Wigeon (Wilbur). Since then, she has made a study of butterflies, homed hedgehogs, worms and ladybirds, and is now enjoying a second childhood through introducing her own children to rockpooling, wildlife spotting and making minibeast homes.

Vivian French

Vivian is a writer of both books and plays; she has written more than 250 children's books, including the very successful Tiara Club series, and is consistently one of the top 30 most borrowed authors from UK libraries. She has had plays performed both in London and throughout Scotland; her audiences include young adults as well as children. She has won many awards for her books, and is regularly invited to festivals including Cheltenham and the Edinburgh International Book Festival. (2012 Guest selector for the children's programme.) Vivian teaches part time at Edinburgh College of Art, and is one of the two founding members of the PictureHooks programme supporting Scottish illustrators. She is married with four grown up daughters and three grandchildren, and lives in Edinburgh. She'd like a cat, but lives up 66 steps and has no garden ... maybe one day. Her favourite book is an empty notebook.Since 1990, Vivian French has published more than 100 books for children of all ages. She has been a reviewer and has worked in the theatre - she is also well-known as a playwright. Among her most popular books are the Tiara Club titles for Hachette. Married with four grown-up daughters, she now lives in Edinburgh.Visit her website at www.vivianfrench.com.

Zanib Mian

Zanib Mian's books have featured on BBC's Cbeebies Bedtime Stories and The Guardian for their contribution to diversity in children's literature. Zanib studied Molecular Cell Biology at University College London and went on to teach Science in secondary schools before she made the decision to give up the career to create change within children's publishing. She felt that diverse characters from all minorities and backgrounds weren't being fully represented in books for young children. She launched Sweet Apple Publishers with a clear commitment to publishing inclusive books, many of which she has authored herself. She regularly features in the Bradford Literature Festival, was commissioned to write an opera for The Mahogany Opera Group, and is also on the panel of judges for the prestigious Young Muslim Writers Awards.