Related to: 'The Case of the Broken Game'

September 2012

An interview with Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen, the award-winning author/illustrator - known to his millions of readers world-wide as the creator of Kipper, Lullabyhullaballoo, The Blue Balloon, Penguin Small and of course Wibbly Pig – has two brand new Wibbly Pig books publishing in September: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons and Oh no Wibbly Pig, not a rabbit!. Here he talks to Graham Marks about this, that and quite a lot more...

Hodder Children's Books

Famous Five Colour Short Stories: Five to the Rescue!

Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Hodder Children's Books

Famous Five Colour Short Stories: The Birthday Adventure

Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Hodder Children's Books

Tales of Tricks and Treats

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Adventure of the Goblin Dog

Enid Blyton, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Mark Beech

Discover the magic! Travel to the top of the Magic Faraway Tree with Peter and Mary on their quest to rescue a princess.Explore Fairyland in this truly magical story, where you'll encounter the Goblin Dog, rescue a princess and visit the Land of Storytellers. This is an irresistible story for all who've ever stepped into the Enchanted Wood and a fantastic introduction to the Magic Faraway Tree stories for young children. This story first appeared in 1936 and was made part of the Magic Faraway Tree world in 1952, featuring different children discovering the Faraway Tree. The Magic Faraway Tree series is one of Enid Blyton's best-loved and most enduring creations.(P) 2019 Hodder & Stoughton LimitedThe Magic Faraway Tree ®, Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a brilliant mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. A prize winning Siamese Cat has been stolen, and all evidence points to the Find-Outers' friend Luke. Fatty Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets know Luke is innocent, but how can they prove it? The Find-Outers have another mystery to solve!In the original 1944 text, Fatty's nickname is based on the fact that his initials are F.A.T. as well as his size. All references to his size have been removed from this recording (based on the text from 2016) so that Fatty's nickname refers to his initials only.(P) 2019 Hodder & Stoughton LimitedEnid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are registered trade marks of Hodder & Stoughton Limited. No trade mark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trade mark and copyright owner.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mountain of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. A peaceful holiday in the Welsh mountains should be on the cards for Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack, but they once again manage to land themselves in another dangerous adventure. Wolves, rumbling mountains and mysterious strangers are the order of this holiday ...Perfect for fans of the Famous Five looking for their next adventure.(P) 2018 Hodder Children's Books

Hodder Children's Books

St Clare's Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Schooldays at St Clare's are never dull for twins Pat and Isabel O'Sullivan in Enid Blyton's much-loved boarding school series.The Second Form at St Clare'sThe twins have made it to second form. New girls Gladys and Mirabel have great talents for acting and music, and Elsie, the form's unpopular Head Girl, learns to be less spiteful.The Third Form at St Clare'sIt's time for a new head girl. There are plenty of candidates, but after a terrible accident, and an hilarious school play, the true leaders are revealed.Kitty at St Clare'sPat breaks her arm and misses the first weeks of term. Will Pat be upset when new girl Amanda becomes Isabel's new best friend?There'll be mischief at St Clare's!Between 1941 and 1946, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at St Clare's. Books 5, 6 and 9 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox and feature storylines set in between the original Blyton novels. These books were published in 2000/2008 and are unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Malory Towers Collection 3

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.New TermDarrell has left Malory Towers and her sister Felicity takes over as head girl. But the other girls are determined to cause trouble. Will Freddie and June ever stop playing tricks? And what's Amy's strange family secret?Summer TermSomeone has stolen Julie's horse. And there's money missing too. Can Felicity and the girls find out who would do such a terrible thing?Winter TermSusan's in charge of the winter concert, but new teacher, Miss Tallant, won't let her make any decisions. When Miss interferes in a midnight feast, the girls realise that there's a spy in their midst.Expect drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. Books 7-12 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox in 2009 and focus on the adventures of Felicity Rivers, Susan Blake, and June Johns. This collection features the original stories and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Secret Forest

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

In Enid Blyton's classic Secret Stories mystery always leads to adventure.Peggy, Mike, Nora and Jack have been invited to the kingdom of Baronia for the holidays! In their friend Prince Paul's home, hidden away in the heart of the mountains, they stumble into their greatest adventure yet. Can the children defeat the robbers in the Secret Forest?This titles was first published as The Secret of Killimooin in 1943. This edition contains the classic text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Enchanted Wood

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Magic Faraway Tree

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Folk of the Faraway Tree

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The third book in the magical Faraway Tree series by one of the world's most popular children's authors, Enid Blyton.The mischievious Connie comes to enjoy a few days with Joe, Beth and Frannie while her mother is sick. Connie refuses to believe in the Faraway Tree or the magical folk who live in it, even when the Angry Pixie throws ink at her! Join the children and their friends Moonface, Saucepan Man and Silky the fairy as they discover which new land is at the top of the Faraway Tree. Will it be the Land of Spells, the Land of Treats, or the Land of Do-As-You-Please? Come on an amazing adventure!First published in 1946, this edition contains the original text. Inside illustrations are by Jan McCafferty, and the cover by Mark Beech (2014).

Hodder Children's Books

Up the Faraway Tree

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The fourth book in the magical Faraway Tree series by one of the world's most popular children's authors, Enid Blyton.Joe, Beth and Frannie are joined by Robin and Joy, two children who have read all about the magic Faraway Tree and The Enchanted Wood. Join the children and their friends Moonface, Saucepan Man and Silky the fairy as they discover which new land is at the top of the Faraway Tree. Will it be the Land of Spells, the Land of Treats, or the Land of Do-As-You-Please? Come on an amazing adventure!First published in 1951, this edition contains the original text. Inside illustrations are by Jan McCafferty, and the cover by Mark Beech (2014).

Hodder Children's Books

The Castle of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. Why are the locals so afraid of the deserted old castle on the hill? When lights are seen there in a distant tower, Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack decide to investigate - discovering a very sinister plot concelead in its gloomy rooms and secret passages.First published in 1946, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Circus of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Island of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack escape their tutor for a lovely holiday in Cornwall, right by the sea. They can see the sinister Isle of Gloom from their window, covered in mist and harbouring strange secrets. Are they prepared for the dangerous adventure that awaits them there?First published in 1944, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The River of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. A river cruise through ancient desert lands will be an adventure in itself, think Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack. An adventure it certainly is, especially when Bill disappears and the children, along with Kiki the parrot, are trapped beneath a forgotten temple where no one has set foot for 7,000 years.First published in 1955, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Sea of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. A mysterious trip to the desolate northen isles leads to another exciting adventure for Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack. Bill is kidnapped, and the children are marooned far from the mainland. Will they rescue Bill in a dangerous game of hide-and-seek with an unknown enemy?First published in 1948, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Ship of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Valley of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery.Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack are going for a night flight on Bill's plane and soon find themselves flying into a truly amazing adventure. What has happened to Bill? Who are the two strange pilots, and what is the secret treasure hidden somewhere in the lonely valley the children have landed in?First published in 1947, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.