Related to: 'The Circus of Adventure'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Hodder Children's Books

Famous Five Colour Short Stories: The Birthday Adventure

Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Becka Moor
Hodder Children's Books

Summer Adventure Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Animal Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

A charming new bumper short-story collection from the world's best-loved storyteller.A fantastic collection of 30 stories about animals of all shapes and sizes, this will charm children aged 6 and up. From pet puppies to woodland wildlife, garden birds to pond-dwelling frogs, Enid Blyton was a devoted and knowledgeable animal-lover. Readers who feel the same way are bound to love her wonderful stories about our furry friends - and scaly, feathery or fluttery ones too!These delightful stories are ideal for newly confident readers and are the perfect length to be read aloud in the classroom or at bedtime.***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder & Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Theatre Ghost

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton, Tony Ross
Hodder Children's Books

Favourite Enid Blyton Stories

Enid Blyton, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Mark Beech

An irresistible gift book of fabulous stories by everybody's favourite author, Enid Blyton, chosen and introduced by her famous fans from Jacqueline Wilson to Michael Morpurgo, Gemma Cairney to Mel from Bake-Off.This fabulous treasury contains excerpts from Enid Blyton's much-loved books including The Magic Faraway Tree, The Famous Five and Malory Towers, among others. Every selection is chosen and introduced by one of the legion of superstars who count Enid Blyton among their favourite childhood authors. Discover how Jacqueline Wilson, creator of Tracy Beaker and Hetty Feather, was inspired by Enid Blyton to become a writer, why Holly Smale (Geek Girl) fell under the spell of the Enchanted Wood and how Michael Morpurgo thrilled to the adventures of the Famous Five.This big gift book is fully illustrated in colour throughout and is ideal for reading aloud or dipping in alone. This is the perfect gift for children of all ages, so they can share in the magic, adventure and freedom of Enid Blyton's world. The complete list of contributors is:Danny BakerPamela ButchartGemma CairneyMel GiedroycAndy GriffithsAllegra McEvedyLucy ManganMichael MorpurgoLaura MvulaHolly SmaleRobin StevensNicola SturgeonKatie ThistletonJacqueline WilsonLevison Wood***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Hodder Children's Books

The Secret Seven Collection 5

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. A prize winning Siamese Cat has been stolen, and all evidence points to the Find-Outers' friend Luke. Fatty Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets know Luke is innocent, but how can they prove it? The Find-Outers have another mystery to solve!First published in 1944, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Secret Room

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Pip discovers a room in Miss Crump's old empty house isn't empty at all - someone has been using it! It's the perfect mystery for Fatty to put his new talent for disguises to use. Now it's up to Fatty and Pip along with Bets, Larry, Daisy and Buster the dog to find out who has been using Miss Crump's old house.First published in 1945, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Spiteful Letters

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans ofThe Secret Seven. Someone is sending spiteful letters to the people of Peterswood - but who? Fatty, Larry, Pip, Daisy, Bets and Buster the Dog have to find the culprit who is making the villagers so unhappy. But Mr Goon is right on their heels to solve the mystery first!First published in 1946, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Missing Necklace

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Mr Goon is busy with a mystery all to himself until Fatty, Pip, Larry, Daisy and Bets discover his secret. There is a gang of jewel thieves using Peterswood as their headquarters! Soon the Find-Outers and Buster the dog are helping the police hunt down the thieves - but who are they?First published in 1947, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Hidden House

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Brer Rabbit Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

It's wits against brawn in the classic tales of Brer Rabbit, re-told by one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton.Brer Rabbit is as clever as can be. He loves to play jokes and tricks on his animal friends, but every now and then they get him back! Join Brer Rabbit, Brer Fox and Brer Bear in over 80 short stories re-told by Enid Blyton for children in her own style. This collection contains stories from the books Enid Blyton's Brer Rabbit Book (1948), Brer Rabbit Again (1963) and Brer Rabbit's a Rascal! (1965) and black and white illustrations.

Hodder Children's Books

Amelia Jane Again!

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Amelia Jane Gets into Trouble

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's Amelia Jane is big, bad and the world's naughtiest toy!Look out! Not only have the toys got to beware of the terror of the toy cupboard - Amelia Jane - they now have to put up with Sidney, the selfish teddy bear. The toys are desperate to teach Amelia Jane a lesson once and for all!First published in 1954, this edition contains the original text and illustrations by Deborah Allwright, cover by Alex T. Smith (2011).

Hodder Children's Books

Good Idea, Amelia Jane!

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's Amelia Jane is big, bad and the world's naughtiest toy!Amelia Jane is full of mischievous ideas. This time, she hides things inside poor old bear's tummy, pours water down everyone's clothes and swaps the toys' wind-up keys so that clockwork robot is jumping like a rabbit. But the other toys are not letting her get away with. One day, when Amelia is fast asleep, they paint spots on her to make her think she's got measles.Ten mischievous tales from the world's naughtiest toy! First published separately in the 1950s, this collection contains the original texts and illustrations by Deborah Allwright, cover by Alex T. Smith (2011):Amelia Jane's SpotsGood Idea, Amelia Jane!Come Now, Amelia Jane!Amelia Jane and the Sailor DollOh! Amelia Jane!Tit for Tat, Amelia Jane!Bother You, Amelia Jane!It's Raining, Amelia Jane!Amelia Jane and the KeysAmelia Jane and the Records

Hodder Children's Books

Famous Five Colour Short Stories: When Timmy Chased the Cat

Enid Blyton, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Jamie Littler

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series.The Famous Five are on their way to the cinema when Timmy spots a cat and tears after it, taking the gang on a detour to an empty house. But is it really empty? Some strange sounds suggest otherwise...Timmy leads the gang into another thrilling adventure. In addition to the Famous Five novels, Enid Blyton wrote a clutch of short stories based on the characters. These were published in magazines and collected in the Famous Five Short Story Collection (Hodder). For the first time, the complete and original text of When Timmy Chased the Cat (1956) appears in an individual volume, illustrated with brand new colour art by Jamie Littler.

Hodder Children's Books

Famous Five Colour Short Stories: Well Done, Famous Five

Enid Blyton, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Jamie Littler
Hodder Children's Books

Secret Seven Mystery

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Secret Seven are siblings Peter and Janet, and Jack, Barbara, Pam, Colin and George. Together they are The Secret Seven - ready to solve any mystery, any time - in Enid Blyton's classic series of 15 mystery novels.In book nine, a girl has mysteriously run away from home and her parents are frantic with worry. Can the Secret Seven follow the clues and catch up with the girl, or will Susie, Jack's troublesome little sister get in the way?First published in 1957, this anniversary edition features the original text as well as extra stories, a quiz, additional artwork and insights into Blyton's life and writing process. Both cover and inside illustrations were created by Tony Ross in 2013.

Hodder Children's Books

Secret Seven Win Through

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Secret Seven Collection 1

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Secret Seven are ready to solve any mystery, any time! This 3-in-1 collection contains books 1-3 in Enid Blyton's classic series of 15 novels, perfect for young fans of mystery, adventure or detective series.Book 1: The Secret Seven (first published in 1949)It's their first adventure and the Secret Seven super-sleuths are already on the trail of a mystery! The gang are dressed in disguise, following a lead to a spooky old house in the snow...Book 2: Secret Seven Adventure (first published in 1950)When a priceless pearl necklace goes missing the Secret Seven are first off the mark to catch the thief! Why? Because they saw him making his escape! Now all they have to do is find the necklace ...Book 3: Well Done, Secret Seven (first published in 1951)The Secret Seven have a new meeting place - a treehouse! But someone else is using it too. The gang are furious, but then they learn the intruder is in big trouble and needs their help. Can the Seven come to the rescue ...?This collection features the original text and artwork.