Related to: 'The Day I Met Suzie'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Down Under

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

The Butterfields are on the other side of the world visiting Uncle Bruce and Aunty Sheila. Australian life is unlike anything they have ever known before! Kangaroos, emus, frying eggs on the patio ... Will they ever want to go home? Join the Butterfields on their Australian adventure!

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Nine-year-old Mattie is excited. Uncle Vez's brother and his wife have come to visit! With their Australian guests, life in the Butterfield household is even more chaotic than usual. Mattie just has one worry on her Worry List ... Has Grandma met her match in Aunty Sheila?

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Saves the Day

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Moves House

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's a tight squeeze as usual in the Butterfield house, and with baby Will's stuff taking up all the room it's getting even worse. Lucinda's house has ten times more room for her family than the squished Butterfields have! Mattie's Worry List gets bigger when Mum seems to be unhappy, and wants to move house. But moving house would mean moving schools - Mattie's worst Worry List come true!

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family's Got Talent

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Mum's 30th birthday is coming up and after such a hectic year for the Butterfields, Mattie wants to make it extra-special.Aided by best friend Lucinda, Mattie decides a talent show to showcase the Butterfields' unique skills will be the best birthday surprise for Mum. With a host of unruly Butterfields and Lucinda's parents coming to watch, however, have Mattie and Lucinda bitten off more than they can chew?

Hodder Children's Books

It's a 50/50 Thing

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

Starting all over again in a new town can be hard enough but with Dad not around anymore, her Mum on the verge of a breakdown and a kid sister to look after - Kally's life is suddenly full of secrets.When the gorgeous Jem skates into Kally's life and sweeps her off her feet, things finally seem to be going right. But as she and Jem grow closer, Kally dicovers there's more than one side to him and that she's not the only one with things to hide. Soon her life is spinning out of control ...Re-jacketed in a beautiful new cover, available from August 2013

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Bigger

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family On Holiday

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Sports Day

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

Jessie the Lyrics Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are in for a surprise when their fairy friends whisk them off to the Fairyland Music Festival, only for Jack Frost and his goblins to strut onto the stage! The naughty gang have stolen the Pop Star Fairies' magical notes, and Jack Frost intends to use them to become the biggest star in the world.In this opening book of the magical series, the girls must help Jessie the Lyrics Fairy to get her note back, so performers everywhere can remember the words!

Orchard Books

Adele the Singing Coach Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are in for a surprise when their fairy friends whisk them off to the Fairyland Music Festival, only for Jack Frost and his goblins to strut onto the stage! The naughty gang have stolen the Pop Star Fairies' magical clef necklaces, and Jack Frost intends to use them to become the biggest star in the world.In this second book of the magical series, the girls must help Adele the Singing Coach Fairy to get her clef back, so singers everywhere have the confidence to perform!

Orchard Books

Paige The Pantomime Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Paige the Pantomime Fairy is in trouble... She needs the help of Rachel and Kirsty to save Christmas and stop naughty Jack Frost from spoiling the celebrations for everyone!

Daisy Meadows

The Rainbow Magic and Magic Animal Friends books are written by a small collective of authors under the name Daisy Meadows. Rainbow Magic is the no.1 bestselling series for girls aged 5 and up with over 30 million copies sold worldwide!Learn more about the books at www.rainbowmagicbooks.co.uk (where you can download the Rainbow Magic Reading Challenge poster) and www.magicanimalfriends.com (where you'll find fun animal activity sheets)

Francesca Simon

Francesca Simon worked for 12 years as a freelance arts journalist, writing for the Sunday times, and The Guardian amongst others. Francesca wrote her first children's book in 1989 and has gone from strength to strength ever since. She lives in London with her husband and son.Francesca Simon spent her childhood on the beach in California, and then went to Yale and Oxford Universities to study medieval history and literature. She now lives in London with her family. She has written over 50 books and won THE CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE YEAR at the Galaxy British Book Awards for HORRID HENRY AND THE ABOMINABLE SNOWMAN. Visit Francesca's website at www.francescasimon.com and keep up-to-date with Horrid Henry at www.horridhenry.co.uk. You can also follow her on Twitter @simon_francesca

Joanna Nadin

Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies, Dad, Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joe All Alone was nominated for the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal. She writes the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy. Joanna previously worked as a policy writer for the Labour Party and a special adviser to the Prime Minister. She continues to freelance as a speechwriter and editor, and lectures in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is the number one New York Times bestselling author fantasy novels and the creator of the Grishaverse. With over one million copies sold, her Grishaverse spans the Shadow and Bone trilogy, the Six of Crows duology and The Language of Thorns. She was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Los Angeles, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and most recently, makeup and special effects. These days, she lives and writes in Hollywood, where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band.Find her website at www.leighbardugo.com and follow her on Twitter @lbardugo.

Tony Ross

Tony Ross is one of the most popular and successful of all children's illustrators, with many picture books to his name. He has also produced line drawings for many fiction titles.

Tracy Banghart

Tracy Banghart grew up in rural Maryland, with a cornfield in her backyard and flying squirrels in her bedroom walls, and spent her summers on a remote island in northern Ontario. All that isolation and pretty scenery led to a reading addiction, writing obsession, and several serious book boyfriends. Always a bit of a nomad, Tracy now travels the world army-wife style with her husband, son and sundry pets. Follow her adventures on Twitter @tracythewriter.