Related to: '4: Koala Crazy'

September 2012

An interview with Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen, the award-winning author/illustrator - known to his millions of readers world-wide as the creator of Kipper, Lullabyhullaballoo, The Blue Balloon, Penguin Small and of course Wibbly Pig – has two brand new Wibbly Pig books publishing in September: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons and Oh no Wibbly Pig, not a rabbit!. Here he talks to Graham Marks about this, that and quite a lot more...

Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Prepare to fall in love this summer and join Precious and Harry on their road trip to the end of the world and back ... Your summer crush starts here! For fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.Precious is spending an awkward August in an Algarve villa while her parents fight dirty over an expensive divorce. When she misses her plane home, Precious finds herself on the run along the coast of Portugal. Along the way she meets Harry, travelling Europe before he starts uni. But Precious and her problems are the last thing Harry needs as he struggles to shake off the ghost of his drowned father and get back to something resembling a life. As it turns out, Precious is EXACTLY what Harry needs. Until the complicated but dreamy Nathan shows up, and matters take a darker turn ... Join Precious, Harry and Nathan on a summer road trip with a twist!

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

The Kiss

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

3: Bear Hug

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Featuring tiger cubs, circus bears, swimming monkeys and cute koalas - this is a must-read series for all animal lovers!Twins Tori and Taya Wild disagree about almost everything ... except for their love of animals! That's a good thing, too, since their mother fosters all kinds of wild animals so their house is always full of them! And now their family has set up an 'animals on film' business their lives have become even WILDER. When her father has to find a cast of horses for a TV period drama Taya thinks it's finally her time to be the STAR. She's desperate to be the one in front of the camera for once. But she's in danger of being upstaged by Boris, the tiny Russian circus bear cub her mum is fostering, who could end up stealing the show ...

Hodder Children's Books

2: Monkey Magic

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Featuring tiger cubs, circus bears, swimming monkeys and cute koalas - this is a must-read series for all animal lovers!Twins Tori and Taya Wild disagree about almost everything ... except for their love of animals - which is good since their mother fosters all kinds of wild animals so their house is almost always full of them! But now their house has gone up in flames and the family's animal film business is struggling to get off its feet. And as if Taya doesn't have enough to worry about, Tori is making new friends without her. But when a request comes in for a swimming troupe of monkeys, things are looking up. They've got the monkeys - now they have to train them. If only Taya could swim ... It's lights, cameras, MONKEYS!

Hodder Children's Books

1: Tiger Trouble

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Featuring tiger cubs, circus bears, swimming monkeys and cute koalas - this is a must-read series for all animal lovers!Twins Tori and Taya Wild disagree about almost everything ... except for their love of animals - which is good since their house is almost always full of them! Their mother fosters all kinds of wild animals and the adorable tiger cubs, Chips and Gravy, are the most recent animals keeping them busy.But when Dad falls ill and can no longer travel for work, mum's animal fostering days could be over. They need to think up a money making scheme fast and that's when they set up a new 'animals on film' business ... and soon their lives are about to get even wilder!

Leo Hunt

Leo Hunt was born in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1991. He grew up around books, and his mother's job at Seven Stories in Newcastle left a strong impression on his choice of career. He realised he wanted to either be an author or an archeologist - but when he learned that archaeologists didn't unearth piles of perfectly preserved dinosaur bones every time they put a spade in the ground, he decided on the former. Leo started writing his debut novel, Thirteen Days of Midnight when he was 19, in his first year at the University of East Anglia. It went on to be shortlisted for the 2016 Waterstones Children's Book Prize. He currently lives in London.

Linwood Barclay

Linwood Barclay is the international bestselling author of many critically acclaimed adult crime thrillers, including NO SAFE HOUSE, A TAP ON THE WINDOW, TRUST YOUR EYES and the Richard & Judy 2008 Summer Read winner and number one bestseller, NO TIME FOR GOODBYE. CHASE is his first book for children. He lives near Toronto with his wife. Visit his website at www.linwoodbarclay.com, or follow him on Twitter @linwood_barclay

Lorna Scobie

Lorna Scobie is a London-based illustrator and book designer. Growing up surrounded by nature in the English countryside has heavily influenced her illustrations - her work almost always revolves around the natural world and Animal Kingdom. Lorna illustrates her work by hand, primarily using ink pens, watercolour and coloured pens.

Louise Kay Stewart

Louise K Stewart studied women's writing atuniversity and did a Masters degree in Women andLiterature. She co-founded Aurora, a magazinefeaturing creative writing and illustrations bywomen, based in Liverpool. She then became anauthor, and has written more than 200 books foryoung people on a wide range of subjects.

Lucy Courtenay

Lucy Courtenay has officially been writing children's fiction since 1999, and unofficially for a lot longer than that. Her desk drawers are full of half-finished stories waiting for the right moment to emerge and dance around her study in a shower of exuberant paperclips. Her latest books indulge her love of teenage romance: The Kiss is published by Hodder, with Movie Night and Girl at Sea coming in 2018.

Lucy Daniels

Lucy Daniels is the creator of the bestselling Animal Ark series, which has sold more than 2 1/2 million copies in the UK alone. Animal Ark is being relaunched for a new generation of animal lovers, with exciting brand-new adventures!

Mark Nicholas

Mark Nicholas was born and brought up near York. He was artistic from an early age and studied modelmaking at the University of Bournemouth. He began working as a modelmaker after graduating, but always had a love of children's picture books, inspired by Mick Inkpen's Kipper and a short stint as a playground designer. After a successful career which included working on the CBBC stop-motion animation 'Rubbadubbers', in 2012 he decided to seek a career in illustration and gained a place on the MA Children's Book Illustration Course at Cambridge School of Art. Whilst studying on the course, Mark won the Hachette Children's Group's Carmelite Prize for Illustration to illustrate Tantrum O'Furrily, by Cressida Cowell, as well as the Macmillan Lara Jones Award. When not illustrating children's books, you'll find Mark wandering the fields of Wales with his wife and daughter, picking up inspirational textures for his illustrations.

Marta Kissi

Marta Kissi is a London based illustrator originally from Warsaw. She studied BA Illustration & Animation at Kingston University and MA Communication Art & Design at the Royal College of Art. Her favourite part of being an illustrator is bringing stories to life by designing charming characters and the wonderful worlds they live in. She shares a studio in London with her boyfriend and their pet plant Trevor.

Martin Remphry

Martin lives in Cornwall with his wife and son. He is best known for his lively illustrations, and has just recently started writing. He is passionate about home-grown British legends, in particular those from his home island of Sark.

Matt Robertson

Matt Robertson grew up in Suffolk, and spent most of his childhood drawing and creating characters. He completed his MA in Children's Book Illustration at Cambridge School of Art in 2014, receiving a Distinction for his work. Matt is the winner of a Lara Jones Award and a Macmillan Children's Book Prize, and he was a finalist in the Waterstone's 'Picture This' competition. His first book, Super Stan, has been shortlisted for the Waterstones Picture Book Prize and is the winner of the 2017 Dundee Picture Book Award. Matt lives with his wife in Norwich.

Max Wainewright

Max has written over 20 educational software titles for children. His programs and websites have won a number of awards including BETT, ERA and Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. Max also used to be a primary school teacher. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

Miranda Hart

Miranda Hart is an award-winning writer, actress and comedian. Her books written for adults have all been bestselling hits. Miranda's hugely successful sitcom, MIRANDA, ran on the BBC for 7 years, regularly pulling in over 9 million viewers and winning several awards. Miranda herself has won and been nominated for many awards, including a BAFTA nomination for her performance in BBC1's CALL THE MIDWIFE. In 2017 Miranda made her West End theatre debut as Miss Hannigan in ANNIE. And these are the things that make Miranda smile: blue skies, birdsong, beaches, picnics, dancing (even in the rain), board games (not in the rain), other people smiling.

Mo Farah

Sir Mo Farah was born in Mogadishu, Somalia in 1983. As a young child he spent time in Djibouti before moving to England at the age of eight. Mo initially struggled with the language barrier, but his PE teacher at Feltham Community College, Alan Watkinson, quickly spotted his potential as a runner and encouraged him to join Borough of Hounslow Athletics Club. After attending St Mary's Endurance Performance and Coaching Centre in Twickenham, Mo became a professional athlete. At the 2012 London Olympic Games he won gold in the 10,000m - Britain's first gold in this event. He followed this up with a stunning victory in the 5000m to become, in the words of Dave Moorcroft, 'the greatest male distance runner that Britain has ever seen.' Mo was appointed CBE in the Honours List in 2013 and in December 2016 he was awarded a knighthood in the Queen's New Year's Honours list. He lives in Portland, Oregon with his wife Tania, and their three daughters Rhianna, Aisha and Amani.

Molly Oldfield

Molly Oldfield studied Modern History at Oxford before becoming a writer and researcher on the BBC television show QI. She has worked on a string of bestselling QI books, wrote a weekly QI column for the Daily Telegraph and researched the BBC4 radio show The Museum of Curiosity.