Related to: '4: Koala Crazy'

September 2012

An interview with Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen, the award-winning author/illustrator - known to his millions of readers world-wide as the creator of Kipper, Lullabyhullaballoo, The Blue Balloon, Penguin Small and of course Wibbly Pig – has two brand new Wibbly Pig books publishing in September: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons and Oh no Wibbly Pig, not a rabbit!. Here he talks to Graham Marks about this, that and quite a lot more...

Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

If you love rom-coms you'll love this sassy, funny romance that will make you fall head over heels with the help of twelve classic films and a misbehaving cat named Nigel. Perfect for fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.One: I am hopelessly in love with Hanna Bergdahl. Two: for the first time since our recent reunion Hanna Bergdahl appears to be single. And three: I am stuck in that inescapable netherworld of demons and acne - the Friend Zone.Sol and Hanna were best friends at primary school and after reuniting at college, they spend approximately seventy per cent of daylight hours together. When disaster strikes at a New Year's Eve party and Hannah sees new boyfriend Danny Dukas kissing Lizzie Banks, a New Year's Resolution is formed. Sol and Hanna will watch one film a month for twelve months until the next New Year. After all, films hold answers to life's hardest questions. Maybe they'll figure out why they are both members of the dumpee club. Only Sol Adams has a new year's resolution of his own: to kiss Hanna Bergdahl before the year is over. Will Sol ever defeat the Friend Zone?

Hodder Children's Books

The Kiss

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

3: Bear Hug

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

2: Monkey Magic

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

1: Tiger Trouble

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Featuring tiger cubs, circus bears, swimming monkeys and cute koalas - this is a must-read series for all animal lovers!Twins Tori and Taya Wild disagree about almost everything ... except for their love of animals - which is good since their house is almost always full of them! Their mother fosters all kinds of wild animals and the adorable tiger cubs, Chips and Gravy, are the most recent animals keeping them busy.But when Dad falls ill and can no longer travel for work, mum's animal fostering days could be over. They need to think up a money making scheme fast and that's when they set up a new 'animals on film' business ... and soon their lives are about to get even wilder!

Nikesh Shukla

Nikesh Shukla is the editor of British Book Award-shortlisted anthology The Good Immigrant, a collection of essays by British writers of colour about race and immigration in the UK. His debut novel, Coconut Limited, was shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award. Nikesh has written for The Guardian, Observer, Independent, Esquire, Buzzfeed, Vice and BBC2, LitHub, Guernica and BBC Radio 4. Nikesh was one of Foreign Policy magazine's 100 Global Thinkers and The Bookseller's 100 most influential people in publishing in 2016 and in 2017. He is the co-founder of the literary journal, The Good Journal and The Good Literary Agency.

Pamela Butchart

Pamela Butchart is the bestselling and award-winning author of the Baby Aliens young fiction series, for which she has won the Blue Peter Best Book Award 2015 for The Spy Who Loved School Dinners and the Children's Book Award 2016 for My Head Teacher is a Vampire Rat. She has also been shortlisted for the Laugh Out Loud Book Award (Lollies) and is one of the fasted growing children's fiction authors in the UK (Nielsen Bookscan). Pamela was selected as a World Book Day author for 2018.

Pat-a-Cake

Pat-a-Cake takes you and your child on a magical journey. From sharing the very first baby book to watching your little one read all by themselves. The adventure begins here . . .

Pat Jacobs

Pat Jacobs has written more than 50 non-fiction, reference and activity books for children on subjects ranging from dinosaurs to the future of space exploration. She has lived in Paris and Germany, and has translated several children's books from German into English. Pat has two grown-up children and lives with her husband in rural Suffolk.

Peter Riley

Peter Riley was a science teacher for 25 years, 17 of them as Head of Science. His first book was published in 1981, and he has been a full-time author since 1996, with over 200 books published for children, students and teachers. He is the winner of the prestigious Schoolbook Award for Science in 2000, as well as being shortlisted for the Aventis Science Prize 2004 and nominated for the Educational Resources Award in 2009.

Pippa Curnick

Pippa Curnick grew up in rural Essex and studied at Camberwell College of Art. She graduated from the University of Derby with a First Class degree in illustration. Her website is www.pippacurnick.com and you can follow her on twitter @PippaCurnick

Rikin Parekh

Rikin Parekh is a children's book illustrator based in North West London. He has two art degrees from Camberwell College of Arts and the University of Westminster. His past jobs include working in a primary school and as a film production illustrator on monster movies. Rikin has a vast collection of comic books and comic art and he LOVES eating pizza ... any time, any place! Therefore, you could say Rikin was a match made in pizza heaven for Iguana Boy!

Robert Muchamore

ROBERT MUCHAMORE was born in Islington in 1972. As a teenager he dreamt of either becoming an architect, a photographer or a writer. On discovering that architects have to train for seven years and after quitting his Saturday job in a camera shop, he saved up enough money to buy a word processor and set his heart on writing. The only problem was, he didn't know what to write. So, he found a regular job and spent thirteen years as a private investigator. He was inspired to start writing again by his nephew's complaints about the lack of anything decent to read. Robert's CHERUB and Henderson's Boys series are bestsellers around the world. Robert grew up listening to mix tapes sent to him by his older brother, developing tastes for indie bands like Joy Division, The Pogues and The Smiths. The idea for Rock War came from seeing that many of Robert's fans turned up at book signings wearing the logos of long dead rock bands, and a realisation that his online fan forum had more kids talking about the X-Factor than about his books. For more information, go to www.muchamore.com.

Ronne Randall

Ronne Randall, originally from New York, has worked in children's publishing since 1980 and has been a freelance editor and author since 1993. She has written more than 150 children's books, published on both sides of the Atlantic. She has a special interest in folklore and fairy tales, and she has an MA in Folklore from Sheffield University. She is married, with one son, and lives in Nottinghamshire, England.

Sophie Blackall

Sophie Blackall is the illustrator of many picture books, including Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear - winner of the prestigious Caldecott Medal. She lives with her family in New York, but keeps an eye on lighthouses for sale, just in case.

Steve Antony

Steve Antony - a graduate from the prestigious MA in Children's Book Illustration at Anglia Ruskin - is the author-illustrator of The Queen's Hat and Please Mr Panda. Only debuting in 2014, Steve has had enormous success: The Queen's Hat won the Evening Standard's Oscar's First Book Prize, and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Please Mr Panda was chosen as Picture Book of the Month by US retailer Barnes & Noble, who held over 650 Panda events over one weekend. Steve aims to create picture books that are slightly 'off the wall', books that children will laugh at and adults will tweet about, but most of all, books that he enjoys.

Steve Cole

Steve Cole is the bestselling author of the ASTROSAURS books, which Amanda Craig from THE TIMES recently described as 'the kind of inspired, hysterically silly fantasy that boys adore.'Visit his website at http://www.stevecolebooks.co.uk, keep up-to-date with his blog at http://www.stevecolebooks.co.uk/steves-space/blog and watch his Youtube channel at http://www.youtube.com/stevecolebooks.

Taran Matharu

Taran was born in London in 1990 and found a passion for reading at a very early age. His love for stories developed into a desire to create his own, writing his first book at nine years old.At twenty-two, while taking time off to travel, Taran began to write Summoner, taking part in Nanowrimo 2013. Thanks to Wattpad.com and updating daily, its popularity dramatically increased, reaching over three million reads in less than six months. After being featured by NBC News, Taran decided to launch his professional writing career and has never looked back.The Summoner series has now been published in 12 territories and is a New York Times Bestseller. Taran is currently the Book Trust's writer in residence.

Teri Terry

Teri Terry's award-winning debut trilogy - Slated, Fractured and Shattered - established her as the queen of the teen thriller. Teri is also the author of Mind Games and Book of Lies, and her most recent work is the Dark Matter trilogy. Her books have been translated into sixteen languages and have won many prizes at home and abroad. Teri Terry has lived in France, Canada, Australia and England at more addresses than she can count, acquiring four degrees, a selection of passports and an unusual name along the way. Past careers have included scientist, lawyer, optometrist and, in England, various jobs in schools, libraries and an audiobook charity. She has now made her home in the Buckinghamshire Chilterns (where the Slated trilogy is set) but Teri's love of travel continues, and research for her novels has recently taken her to Dartmoor (Book of Lies) and Shetland (Dark Matter).