Related to: '4: Koala Crazy'

September 2012

An interview with Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen, the award-winning author/illustrator - known to his millions of readers world-wide as the creator of Kipper, Lullabyhullaballoo, The Blue Balloon, Penguin Small and of course Wibbly Pig – has two brand new Wibbly Pig books publishing in September: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons and Oh no Wibbly Pig, not a rabbit!. Here he talks to Graham Marks about this, that and quite a lot more...

Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Prepare to fall in love this summer and join Precious and Harry on their roadtrip to the end of the world and back ... Your summer crush starts here! For fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.Precious is spending an awkward August in an Algarve villa while her parents fight dirty over an expensive divorce. Harry is struggling with a buried grief that keeps his feet in the sea and his heart in pieces. Nathan is trying to avoid his father's abuse and earn his father's praise. When the three meet, the last thing they expect is a friendship that will keep them all on dry land.When Precious misses her plane home, she is drawn into a dangerous game as her father's enemies circle his crumbling property empire. Her problems are the last thing Harry needs as he struggles to shake off the ghost of his drowned father and get back to something resembling a life. Unexpectedly Harry and Precious build a relationship that offers them both a way out of their emotional chaos. But then Nathan shows up, and matters take a darker turn. And out of their line of sight, a storm is brewing. A storm that will take them to the end of the world ...

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

The Kiss

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

3: Bear Hug

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

2: Monkey Magic

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Featuring tiger cubs, circus bears, swimming monkeys and cute koalas - this is a must-read series for all animal lovers!Twins Tori and Taya Wild disagree about almost everything ... except for their love of animals - which is good since their mother fosters all kinds of wild animals so their house is almost always full of them! But now their house has gone up in flames and the family's animal film business is struggling to get off its feet. And as if Taya doesn't have enough to worry about, Tori is making new friends without her. But when a request comes in for a swimming troupe of monkeys, things are looking up. They've got the monkeys - now they have to train them. If only Taya could swim ... It's lights, cameras, MONKEYS!

Hodder Children's Books

1: Tiger Trouble

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Adam Blade

Adam Blade is the name for a small collective of authors who have been writing the bestselling series Beast Quest and Sea Quest for ten years! Beast Quest has now sold over 10 million copies. The newest series from the Adam Blade team is called Team Hero - it launched in Summer 2017. You can find out more about all these amazing adventures at the series websites: seaquestbooks.co.uk and teamherobooks.co.uk

Albert Uderzo

Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. Asterix the Gaul, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 34 Asterix albums.

Claudia Martin

Claudia Martin has worked in book publishing for 17 years. She is the author of several books and websites for children and young people. Her favourite subjects are history, current affairs and technology.

Didier Conrad

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961. Jean-Yves Ferri and Didier Conrad began writing and illustrating Asterix in 2013 with ASTERIX AND THE PICTS. There have now been 37 albums.

Duncan McCoshan

Working together as a crack author-illustrator team, Knife and Packer have written and illustrated more than 30 books for children.

Elizabeth Dale

Elizabeth Dale always dreamed of being a writer but somehow got side-tracked into studying for a physics degree, followed by health service management. When her children were born she finally returned to her dream, writing thousands of short stories for magazines all over the world. Re-discovering a love of children's books while reading to her daughters, she decided to turn her hand to writing them - and has now published over twenty books for children, including picture books and junior fiction. Writing is her full-time job, but also her favourite activity. She also enjoys reading, gardening, walking, and being in the country. Her favourite children's books include Walk Two Moons, The Selfish Giant, Cosmic, and Someone Else's Life. She loves watching cosy sentimental films, such as You've Got Mail, Return to Me, and While You Were Sleeping, as well as classic old films starring Cary Grant, Fred Astaire and Doris Day. Elizabeth is married, with three daughters, and lives in a village in West Sussex. Her daughters, Katie and Jenny, are also children's authors with Hachette.

Enid Richemont

Although I've lived for most of my life in north London, I was born and grew up in South Wales. My mum read to me a great deal,and I think it was from her that I developed my love of language. I also enjoyed drawing and painting, and eventually won a scholarship to study at Dublin College of Art.When I came back from Eire, I first worked as a teacher in a Rudolf Steiner school. Then I came to London and took a number of strange jobs, including reading aloud to a blind writer and typing out his manuscript. The typewriter I'd hired to do this had some paid-for time left, so I used it to write a short story which I sold to a women's magazine. It became the first of many, and the beginning of a successful career. While my children were growing up, I stopped writing, and started a small design business, making screen-printed puppet theatres, flying saucers and playhouses that looked like medieval battle tents.Work took us to Paris, where we lived for two years, and where, incidentally, I first encountered the Romanian gipsy girl who features in my novel, FOR MARITSA WITH LOVE (Simon&Schuster).My first children's book, THE TIME TREE (Walker Books) grew out of a story I told my daughter and her best friend to pass the time on a very long walk (the original idea came from a TV programme I'd watched about teaching children with hearing problems). The girls begged me to write it down so that they could read it for themselves - so I did. This book is currently being marketed as a film series by Wild Thyme Productions.TO SUMMON A SPIRIT (Walker Books), was one of the Pick of the Year titles listed in the Children's Book Award. I'm now published in the USA and Australia as well as the UK, and my work has been translated into Danish, German and Japanese.My first book for Franklin Watts was PLOP CITY, a book about bird poo which continues to be loved, especially by small boys. I have two copies of the Arabic version

Helen Moss

Helen Moss was born in 1964 and grew up in Worcestershire and Saudi Arabia. After a degree in psychology and philosophy at Oxford University, Helen went on to do PhD research at Cambridge University. She recently spent a year in Portland, Oregon, with her family, and on returning decided to switch direction and devote herself full-time to writing books for young readers. Helen lives in a small village outside Cambridge with her husband, two teenage sons, two border collies, two gerbils, several hens and a bearded dragon called Frankie.Visit her website at http://www.helenmoss.org.uk and the Adventure Island website at http://www.adventureislandbooks.com, and follow her on Twitter @hmadventure.

Izzi Howell

Izzi Howell is the author and editor of over fifty children's books. She lives in East Sussex and enjoys learning languages, cooking and travelling around Europe.

Jen Green

Jen Green received a doctorate from the University of Sussex (Dept of English and American Studies) in 1982. She worked in publishing for 15 years and is now a full-time writer, who has written over 150 books for children. Her book 'Your Feelings: I'm Special' was short-listed for the NASEN Special Needs Award.

Lauren Child

Lauren Child MBE is a multi-award-winning author and current Children's Laureate, whose books are known and loved the world over. She is the creator of many much-loved characters, including Charlie and Lola, Clarice Bean and Ruby Redfort. Since her first book was published in 1999, Lauren has sold over six million books in 19 languages worldwide. Her many awards include the prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal for I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato, the Nestle Gold Book Award for That Pesky Rat and the Nestle Bronze Book Award for Beware of the Storybook Wolves. Lauren loves designing and making things and finds it exciting to see her drawings turned into objects. Other favourite things include the cinema, TV matinees, small Italian cars, handbags, cardigans, travelling and being picked up from the airport.

Liz Gogerly

Liz Gogerly is a writer and editor of children's information books and a former teacher. She has worked on a wide variety of books and has a specialist knowledge of history and biographies.

René Goscinny

Albert Uderzo has been illustrating Asterix for 37 years, and has written the most recent titles since Goscinny's death. He enjoys racing sports cars and owns a large number of Ferraris. He was the recipient of the Legion d'Honneur, France's highest honour, for services to the arts. Asterix is a best seller in 70 languages

Sue Graves

Sue Graves has been a freelance children's author for more than 17 years. She has written over two hundred books for children from pre-school up to 15+ years. She writes fiction and non fiction, plays and poetry across the age ranges. Sue loves reading all sorts of books and is at her happiest when she has a book in her hand. She also loves painting in watercolours, playing tennis and badminton and going for long walks in the country with her husband and children.