Related to: 'The List of Real Things'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Orion Children's Books

A Very Good Chance

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

'A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship' - Louise O'Neill, bestselling author of Asking for ItOscar Dunleavy is missing, presumed dead. His bike was found at sea, beyond the pier, and everyone in town has accepted this as a teenage tragedy. Except for his best friend, Meg. Oscar's kind, always cheerful, and makes the world's best apple tarts. Meg knows he isn't dead ... ...and she's is going to prove it.

Orion Children's Books

Back to Blackbrick

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

The stunning debut novel from DUBRAYS No.1 Bestseller and SUNDAY TIMES Children's Book of the Week Winner Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. Partnered with ALZHEIMER'S RESEARCH this is a compassionate, humorous and moving story which tackles some big questions. 'The ghosts in your life don't ever really go away. Every so often they will whisper to you ... Don't worry about it too much.'When Cosmo keeps his promise to his granddad to go to Blackbrick, he finds himself in the forgotten corner of a distant past, one that his granddad has, strangely, never really talked about. Here friendships come to life, there are new beginnings, a lifetime of memories and everything is still possible...An extraordinary debut novel with a fantastic voice perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

C.G. Drews

C.G. Drews lives in Australia with her dog, a piano, and the goal of reading every book in existence. Consequently, her brain has overflowed with words and she spends her days writing novel after novel. She blogs at paperfury.com, never sleeps, and believes in cake for breakfast.

Cressida Cowell

Cressida Cowell is the author and the illustrator of the bestselling How to Train Your Dragon and The Wizards of Once book series, and the author of the Emily Brown picture books, illustrated by Neal Layton. How to Train Your Dragon has sold over 8 million books worldwide in 38 languages. It is also an award-winning DreamWorks film series, and a TV series shown on Netflix and CBBC. The first book in Cressida's new series, The Wizards of Once (also signed by DreamWorks), is a number one bestseller. Cressida is an ambassador for the National Literacy Trust and the Reading Agency, a Trustee of World Book Day and a founder patron of the Children's Media Foundation. She has won numerous prizes, including the Gold Award in the Nestle Children's Book Prize,the 2017 Ruth Rendell Award for Championing Literacy, the Hay Festival Medal for Fiction, and Philosophy Now magazine's 2015 Award for Contributions in the Fight Against Stupidity. She grew up in London and on a small, uninhabited island off the west coast of Scotland and she now lives in Hammersmith with her husband, three children and a dog called Pigeon.

Daisy Meadows

The Rainbow Magic and Magic Animal Friends books are written by a small collective of authors under the name Daisy Meadows. Rainbow Magic is the no.1 bestselling series for girls aged 5 and up with over 30 million copies sold worldwide!Learn more about the books at www.rainbowmagicbooks.co.uk (where you can download the Rainbow Magic Reading Challenge poster) and www.magicanimalfriends.com (where you'll find fun animal activity sheets)

David Melling

David Melling has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal, the Smarties Book Award and the Independent Booksellers Award. His Hugless Douglas books have sold over 1.4 million copies worldwide, and the loveable brown bear has starred in a World Book Day book as well as his own theatre show. Before becoming an internationally acclaimed author-illustrator, David worked as an animation artist for films including the much-loved Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs. One of his most popular picture books The Tale of Jack Frost was animated and shown on BBC1 on Christmas Day.

Deborah Chancellor

Deborah Chancellor is a writer of fiction and non-fiction books for children. She has written nearly 100 books and worked with many leading publishers. Deborah is a prolific writer of children's non-fiction on a wide range of subjects. She is a versatile author who has written biographies for teenagers, adapted Bible stories for pre-school children, and written teenage fiction for older children with reading difficulties. Her books have been translated into many languages and sold all over the world. An Associate Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund, Deborah appears at Literary Festivals and runs writing workshops for young people.

Diana Hendry

Diana Hendry lives in Edinburgh, and is well-connected on the literary scene. Her picture book, The Very Noisy Night, was adapted into a show by Blunderbus Theatre Company. She has given readings, poetry readings, workshops and talks to children and adults at numerous festivals throughout the UK including Cheltenham, Edinburgh, Dead Good Poets, Liverpool and Wigtown Book Festival and she has visited schools all around the country from Devon to the Shetlands. She relates to children and teenagers (and adults) with just the right mix of seriousness and fun and they appreciate her dry, mischievous sense of humour.

Ed Simkins

Ed Simkins is an award-winning illustrator and graphic designer of children's books. His work focuses on data visualisation such as infographics and innovative data maps.

Églantine Ceulemans

Églantine Ceulemans was born in Belgium where she spent her childhood devouring comics before moving to France to study illustration. As well as drawing, she loves riding her blue bicycle, cooking (which she is not very good at) and cleaning windows (which she is very good at). Églantine lives in Lyon, France.

Elly Griffiths

Elly was born in London to Italian/English parents, and has lived near Brighton since she was five. She worked in a library, then for The Bookseller magazine and finally at HarperCollins, before becoming a full-time writer. She is best known for her Ruth Galloway series of crime novels, and has won a Crime Writers' Association Dagger for her work. Elly works in a writing shed in her garden, usually accompanied by her cat, Gus.

Emily Carroll

Emily Carroll is a Canadian comics author from Ontario. Carroll began her career making short webcomics, and gained recognition with the horror comic His Face All Red. Carroll is the author of Through the Woods, And by the Bed and Beneath the Dead Oak Tree. She has won several prestigious awards for her work, including the Eisner and Ignatz.

Francesca Simon

Francesca Simon spent her childhood on the beach in California and started writing stories at the age of eight. She wrote her first Horrid Henry book in 1994. Horrid Henry has gone on to conquer the globe; his adventures are published in 27 languages and have sold millions of copies worldwide. Francesca has won the Children's Book of the Year Award and been a judge for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. In 2009, in one of the proudest moments of her career, Francesca was awarded a Gold Blue Peter badge.Francesca is also a passionate ambassador for children's literacy and is a trustee of the World Book Day charity. She lives in North London with her family.Visit Francesca's website at www.francescasimon.com and keep up-to-date with Horrid Henry at www.horridhenry.co.uk. You can also follow her on Twitter @simon_francesca

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw is a children's writer and editor who lives in Brighton, East Sussex. She has worked on a number of high-profile and award-winning science books for kids, including the Royal Society Young People's Book Prize winner Eye Benders, and the London Science Museum activity book This Book Thinks You're a Scientist. She remembers the eye-opening and inspiring effect her favourite books had on her as a child, and so takes her responsibility to pass that interest and excitement on very seriously!

Giles Andreae

Giles Andreae is the author of many top-selling, award-winning picture books. These include Rumble in the Jungle, Commotion in the Ocean and I Love My Mummy. However, it is for the international bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance that he is best known. Giles is also the creator of Purple Ronnie, Britain's favourite stickman, and of the artist/philosopher, Edward Monkton. These two ranges of greetings cards, books and merchandise have made Giles the country's top-selling living poet. Giles lives with his wife, Victoria, a children's clothes designer, and their four young children by the river in Oxfordshire.

Izzi Howell

Izzi Howell is the author and editor of over fifty children's books. She lives in East Sussex and enjoys learning languages, cooking and travelling around Europe.

Jacqui Bailey

Jacqui Bailey has spent a lot of her adult life working with children's books. She has been an editor and publisher of everything from picture books to encyclopedias, but mostly enjoys finding out amazing bits of information and then writing about them. She particularly likes writing about science, as the information so often turns out to be far stranger than fiction.

Jess Butterworth

Jess spent her childhood between the UK and India, and grew up hearing stories about the Himalayas from her grandmother. She's lived in India and even met with the Dalai Lama. She studied creative writing at Bath Spa and now lives between Louisiana and the UK.