Related to: 'Oscar the Hungry Unicorn'

September 2012

An interview with Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen, the award-winning author/illustrator - known to his millions of readers world-wide as the creator of Kipper, Lullabyhullaballoo, The Blue Balloon, Penguin Small and of course Wibbly Pig – has two brand new Wibbly Pig books publishing in September: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons and Oh no Wibbly Pig, not a rabbit!. Here he talks to Graham Marks about this, that and quite a lot more...

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn saves Christmas in this brilliantly funny second book from Lou Carter, the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story.It's Christmas Eve and Oscar the Unicorn is hungry.He's eaten the Christmas tree, the stockings and is about to make a start on the presents. But at least he hasn't eaten the magic reindeer food that allows the reindeer to fly . . . has he?! Oh. He has. All of it. How is Santa going to deliver presents to the rest of fairyland with his trusty reindeer unable to fly? Luckily, Princess Oola has an idea . . . Oscar will make the best reindicorn EVER! The brilliantly funny sequel to the Oscar the Hungry Unicorn, full of Christmas fun and silliness!

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Early Reader: Horrid Henry’s Injection

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Number One for Fiendish Fun! This full-colour Early Reader brings the utterly horrid and totally brilliant Horrid Henry series to a new generation of readers!Learn to read with Horrid Henry! Each Early Reader contains vibrant full-colour illustrations and age-appropriate text developed in conjunction with Early Years Reading Consultants.An irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure.

Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell

A brilliantly funny Christmas picture book from the bestselling author of Oi Frog!'Twas the night before the night before Christmas (That's Christmas Eve Eve). And Santa was wiping his brow on his sleeve.Green elves were sewing, Blue elves were counting, Red elves were carving, The pressure was mounting! It's the day before Christmas Eve and Santa is ever so busy ... he's got presents to wrap, reindeer to wake and a sleigh to start. But has he forgotten something? And, more importantly, will he be ready in time?Inspired by Clement C. Moore's classic festive poem, this hilarious, rhyming picture book is sure to have you ho ho ho-ing!

Orchard Books

Etta the Elephant Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Priya the Polar Bear Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Selma the Snow Leopard Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on an animal rescue adventure!Kirsty and Rachel are helping out at a safari park that looks after endangered animals. But when Selma the Snow Leopard Fairy's magical pet goes missing, the safety of the park is in jeopardy. Can the girls help find him and look after endangered animals everywhere?

Orchard Books

Ten Little Robots

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Learn to count from ten to one and back again with this rhythmic, rhyming robot adventure! "This factory looks exciting. Shall we take a peep?" Ten little robots all say, "BEEEP!" Ten little robots set off on a hilarious adventure through a fantastical factory in this wonderfully wacky rhyming romp - with NEEE-NAAAAH-ing sirens, KER-BOOOOMG-ing engines, and plenty of gadgets, levers and utter chaos along the way!Look out for the other books in the bestselling, award-winning Ten Little series:Ten Little PiratesTen Little PrincessesTen Little MonstersTen Little DinosaursTen Little ElvesPraise for the other Ten Little books:'a rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations...excellent' - Guardian'jaunty verse with lots of humorous details to discover on every page' - Time Out'roaringly funny rhymes' - Independent

Orchard Books

Pirate Stew

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

WITH BLUE FOIL FINISH!A quick-witted shrimp saves his friends from the pirates' cooking pot in this hilarious undersea caper about friendship, tolerance ... and CLEANING!Scrubadub the Shrimp LOVES to clean. He polishes the crabs, trims the reeds, shampoos the fish and grooms the frogs, until all his friends have had ENOUGH. But when the seafood friends are scooped from the sea by hungry pirates, only Scrubadub can save them from the stew pot ... using his super cleaning powers!This funny and engaging story will encourage even the messiest children to tidy up!Shortlisted for the Stockport Children's Book Awards.Lou Carter's richly funny rhyming story is reminiscent of Julia Donaldson and hilariously illustrated by rising star Nikki Dyson, illustrator of Zippo the Super Hippo.Perfect for fans of Jonny Duddle's The Pirates Next Door and The Pirate-Cruncher.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Emily is delighted when her family returns to Brightport, but their attempts to follow Neptune's orders to bring humans and merfolk together seem doomed.Thrown out of mermaid school and scorned by her old enemy, Mandy Rushton, Emily goes in search of the lost sirens who were banished by Neptune to a top secret undersea cavern. Only when she uncovers the sirens' true story can she put the pieces of her own life back together.A magical adventure, featuring the power of friendship and told with Liz's characteristic warmth and lightness of touch.

Paul Linnet

Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet have written a number of books together, including I Need a Wee! and the hilarious Supertato series. Sue and Paul's books have sold over 1 million copies, and won numerous prizes including the Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award in 2016.

Rachel Bright

Rachel Bright is a wordsmith, illustrator and professional thinker of happy thoughts. She has written several books for children, including Love Monster, The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could - winner of the Evening Standard Oscar's Book Prize and the Sainsbury's Book Award. Her books have sold over 300,000 copies in the UK alone and been translated into over 30 languages. She is also the creator of award-winning stationery and homewares range, The Brightside. Rachel lives on a farm near the seaside, with her partner and their two young daughters.

Sarah Gibb

Sarah Gibb trained at St Martin's and then at Brighton College of Art. She is currently working on jackets for all the 'Adrian Mole' books and her distinctive work can currently be seen on posters for the 'Nanny Diaries'. She is much in demand for her designs for book jackets and has published some very successful fairy books for children as well as illustrating fiction.

Sarah Ridley

Born in Suffolk, Sarah Ridley lives on the Suffolk/Essex border and is a writer and editor of educational books for children and young people. Recently, a life-long interest in history has led her to write books about the First World War, inspired by reading letters written by soldiers who served in the conflict. Brothers at War tells the story of uncovering the material held in her own family's archives. Dear Jelly sets letters written by soldier brothers to their younger sisters at its core. Teenage children keep Sarah busy when she isn't tied to her computer, and she relaxes by walking along river estuaries close to her home.

Simon Rickerty

Simon Rickerty graduated from The Royal College of Art in 2006 with a master's degree in Communication Art and Design. His first picture book, Peas, written by Andy Cullen, was published in 2009 and shortlisted for the Booktrust Early Years Award. Simon has gone on to illustrate many more highly acclaimed books for children, including Ten Little Pirates, winner of the Nottingham Children's Book Prize, and Monkey Nut, winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. He lives in Bristol.

Sonya Newland

Sonya Newland is an experienced author of children's books. She specialises in geography.

Soyeon Kim

Soyeon Kim is a Toronto-based, Korean-born artist who specializes in work that merges real-world materials, fine sketching, and painting techniques to produce three-dimensional pieces.

Sue Hendra

Sue Hendra is the author and illustrator of the hugely popular and hilarious Barry the Fish with Fingers and Dave. The Wanda the Alien TV series has been a huge success and is screening on Channel 5. Immediately after completing her art degree at Brighton University, Sue got a job with Bloomsbury. She also worked for Walker Books, Oxford University Press and Macmillan where she honed her skills as an illustrator and writer of picture books. Sue has been creating award-winning and bestselling picture books for over fifteen years and has worked on over seventy books.

Toby Reynolds

Toby Reynolds has worked in children's publishing for 20 years. After working for some of the largest UK publishers, he spent many years freelancing in a variety of roles. In 2011 he co-founded Green Android Limited,a children's publishing company. he lives and works from his home in East London.

Tony Ross

Tony Ross was born in London and studied at the Liverpool School of Art and Design. He has worked as a cartoonist, a graphic designer, as the Art Director of an advertising agency, and as Senior Lecturer in Art at Manchester Polytechnic. Tony is one of the most popular and successful children's illustrators of all time, best known for illustrating Horrid Henry and the works of David Walliams. Tony's books have been translated into 40 languages in over 100 countries. He lives in Macclesfield.

Van T Rudd

Van T Rudd is an award winning street artist, sculptor, painter and social justice activist based in Melbourne.He has exhibited his work widely around Australia and internationally. He won the 2015 Sampari West Papua Art Exhibition's People's Choice Award for his sculpture Let Rage, Unity and Love Take Form, and the NAVA (National Association of Visual Artists) Ignition Award for the exhibition Van Rudd vs Julia Gillard (2011). He was a two-time finalist (2007 and 2009) in the Sunshine Coast Art Prize for his paintings 100 000 to 400 000 and Freedom Furniture respectively, and a finalist in the Metro 5 Art Award (2004). In 2007, his Carriers Project was selected by Kultour and toured to major cities and towns around Australia. The Patchwork Bike is his first children's book.