Related to: 'Wisp'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Jane Simmons

Jane Simmons is a uniquely talented award-winning illustrator and author, and the creator of some of our best-loved children’s books. Here she talks to Graham Marks about boats, motorbikes and making a mess, as well as her words, her art and her latest picture book, Lily Gets Lost.

Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell

A brilliantly funny Christmas picture book from the bestselling author of Oi Frog!'Twas the night before the night before Christmas (That's Christmas Eve Eve). And Santa was wiping his brow on his sleeve.Green elves were sewing, Blue elves were counting, Red elves were carving, The pressure was mounting! It's the day before Christmas Eve and Santa is ever so busy ... he's got presents to wrap, reindeer to wake and a sleigh to start. But has he forgotten something? And, more importantly, will he be ready in time?Inspired by Clement C. Moore's classic festive poem, this hilarious, rhyming picture book is sure to have you ho ho ho-ing!

Orchard Books

The Way Home For Wolf

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

A feel-good tale of friendship set in the snowy Arctic from the creators of the bestselling, multi-award-winning The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.Wilf is as strong and independent as a wolf cub can be. He doesn't need help from his friends and family - whatever it is, he can do it ALL BY HIMSELF. But when Wilf finds himself lost and alone in the snow and chill of an Arctic night, he discovers something important - sometimes we all need the help of a friend to keep us safe and show us the way.Look out for more books by Rachel Bright and Jim Field:The Lion InsideThe Koala Who CouldThe Squirrels Who Squabbled

Hodder Children's Books

Mrs Blackhat

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

An exciting new story from the bestselling team behind Kipper and I Will Love You Anyway.Over the gateat number 8,round the back,through the flapand onto the lapof Mrs Blackhat!Meet Mrs Blackhat, a witch who just loves the colour black. From her broom to her hat, all is black... apart from her cat. What can she do to fix this problem? Find out in this hilarious, rhyming story!Praise for I Will Love You Anyway:'Charming, sad and funny. The day it arrived, my three-year old insisted we read it thirteen consecutive times' - Huffington PostMick Inkpen has been a bestselling children's author for over 25 years. He is one of today's most popular picture book author/illustrators and the famous creator of both Kipper and Wibbly Pig. Mick has won the Children's Book Award for Threadbear and the British Book Award twice, for Penguin Small and Lullabyhullaballoo. Kipper won a BAFTA for Best Animated Film. It wasn't until Mick became a father that he began his career in children's books. Now father and daughter have come together for a unique and exciting picture book partnership. Chloë Inkpen grew up surrounded by picture books and has a natural gift for storytelling. A love of language and art saw her swap an English degree course at Nottingham University for a degree in Illustration at the Glasgow School of Art. In her final year Chloë was awarded second place in the Macmillan Prize for Illustration. Chloë's events in schools, libraries and festivals across the UK regularly receive glowing reviews. Mick and Chloë are the co-creators of Hole in the Zoo, the Fred series and the Zoe and Beans series.

Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017.Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017.Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.'...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE seriesBorn in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Frog! Board Book

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field

Mike Brownlow

Mike Brownlow is the creator of many books for children. He wrote and illustrated the picture book Little Robots, which was turned into a major animated TV show for CBeebies and aired in over 70 countries worldwide. His other books include Mickey Moonbeam, Dog Did It! and The Big White Book. Mike lives in Somerset and has three grown-up daughters.

Nick East

Nick East is the illustrator of the bestselling Toto the Ninja Cat as well as the Goodnight Digger and Knock Knock series. He has been working as a museum designer for the past 16 years but has always been a storyteller, whether as a child, filling sketchbooks with quirky characters, or as a designer displaying a collection of ancient artefacts. Nick lives near York with his wife and two children and, when he isn't drawing, he is out riding bikes and spending time with his family.Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

Ollie Cuthbertson

I was born in Amman, Jordan and spent some of my childhood in Italy where I learned to draw Volcanoes and stray dogs (a constant source of fascination at the time). I went to school in England and learned to draw many other things too.At Art College I studied Traditional Animation which involved rather a lot of drawing.I have illustrated for a variety of genres including Historical (lots of research), Fantasy (lots of dragons) and Horror (lots of scary stuff). This has been wonderful since my favourite books also happen to be in these genres! To relax I like going to gigs, comedy clubs (there is nothing better than laughing for a few hours straight!) and exploring London. I live with some people I adore in North London where there is an abundance of old pubs and shops full of ancient trinkets, ghastly mummified cats and the odd cannon ball.

Pat-a-Cake

Pat-a-Cake takes you and your child on a magical journey. From sharing the very first baby book to watching your little one read all by themselves. The adventure begins here . . .

Paul Linnet

Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet have written a number of books together, including I Need a Wee! and the hilarious Supertato series. Sue and Paul's books have sold over 1 million copies, and won numerous prizes including the Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award in 2016.

Pete Williamson

Pete Williamson is an artist, illustrator and animation designer. His highly-acclaimed work includes the award-winning DINKIN DINGS AND THE FRIGHTENING THINGS and the wonderful gothic pottiness of Marcus Sedgwick's THE RAVEN MYSTERIES.Find his website at http://www.petewilliamson.co.uk/

Rachel Bright

Rachel Bright is a wordsmith, illustrator and professional thinker of happy thoughts. She has written several books for children, including Love Monster, The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could - winner of the Evening Standard Oscar's Book Prize and the Sainsbury's Book Award. Her books have sold over 300,000 copies in the UK alone and been translated into over 30 languages. She is also the creator of award-winning stationery and homewares range, The Brightside. Rachel lives on a farm near the seaside, with her partner and their two young daughters.

Rosalind Beardshaw

Rosalind Beardshaw has illustrated many books for children. These include the award-winning Lulu series and the National Trust's A Walk in the Countryside series. She lives in York with her family.

Roy Apps

Roy Apps is the author of more than fifty children's books, including The Twitches, Fang Gang and How To Handle. He is the author of the highly successful Dream to Win series for Franklin Watts.His novel The Secret Summer of Daniel Lyons won The Writers' Guild Children's Book Award and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Awards. It is now a successful musical.Roy writes extensively for radio, theatre and TV. In 2001 he was awarded a BAFTA for his children's TV work, which includes Byker Grove, The Ghost Hunter and Barmy Aunt Boomerang.Roy visits schools, libraries and bookshops to read from his books and to share the secrets of The Shed in Your Head . He runs Writing Projects for all ages and over the last few years has helped young and new writers make books, stage plays, films, performance poetry and most recently, an opera.

Sandra Dieckmann

Sandra Dieckmann is an illustrator, author and maker. Her work is deeply inspired by all that's weird and wonderful in nature, drifting thoughts and dreams. She was born in the north of Germany but lives and works in east London. Her first book as author and illustrator, Leaf, was nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal, longlisted for the Klaus Flugge Prize and shortlisted for both the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and tha AOI World Illustration Award.

Simon Rickerty

Simon Rickerty graduated from The Royal College of Art in 2006 with a master's degree in Communication Art and Design. His first picture book, Peas, written by Andy Cullen, was published in 2009 and shortlisted for the Booktrust Early Years Award. Simon has gone on to illustrate many more highly acclaimed books for children, including Ten Little Pirates, winner of the Nottingham Children's Book Prize, and Monkey Nut, winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. He lives in Bristol.

Sonya Newland

Sonya Newland is an experienced author of children's books. She specialises in geography.

Sue Hendra

Sue Hendra is the author and illustrator of the hugely popular and hilarious Barry the Fish with Fingers and Dave. The Wanda the Alien TV series has been a huge success and is screening on Channel 5. Immediately after completing her art degree at Brighton University, Sue got a job with Bloomsbury. She also worked for Walker Books, Oxford University Press and Macmillan where she honed her skills as an illustrator and writer of picture books. Sue has been creating award-winning and bestselling picture books for over fifteen years and has worked on over seventy books.

Villie Karabatzia

Villie was born in Athens and studied illustration at Ornerakis School of Applied Art. Having worked as a children's book illustrator since 2008, she loves creating playful characters, interesting compositions and giving emphasis on colour, working often digitally, but also traditionally, with a fresh and whimsical style. Villie gets much inspiration from her cat, and also from life, experiences and dreams. Her favourite children's story is 'The Little Prince', by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. Her lifetime ambition, is to own a horse - but she's happy to settle for cat - for the time being!!