Related to: 'A T-Wit for a T-Woo'

Giles Andreae speaks to Graham Marks

Author Spotlight

Giles Andreae is not only the bestselling author of such award-winning picture books as Giraffes Can’t Dance, Rumble in the Jungle and The Lion Who Wanted to Love, he’s also the man behind the entertaining world of Purple Ronnie, as well as The Interesting Thoughts of Edward Monkton. Here he talks to Graham Marks about all the many and varied bits of his very creative life, including toilet brush poetry.

Orchard Books

A Dare for A Hare

Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Contributors:
Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow

I'm Harvey, so there! As brave as a bear!Nothing can scare me. I'm the world's bravest hare!Harvey the hare sets out to prove that he's as brave as a bear in this warm and heart-felt story. But little does he know that his big brother Buster is right there behind him every step of the way . . .This feel-good rhyming tale of brotherly love is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.

Pat-a-Cake

Dinopets

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

What do you get if you cross dinosaurs and pets? DINOPETS! Mix and match favourite creatures to make lots of new flip-flap friends with this colourful split-page book. Watch as claws, paws and roars get all mixed up in this book of new dinopet friends. With 72 possible combinations and silly names to mix and match, children will keep coming back for more flip-flap fun.Also available: Mermicorns, Fancy Dress

Franklin Watts

A Roller-coaster Ride Around The Body

Gabby Dawnay, Alex Barrow
Contributors:
Gabby Dawnay, Alex Barrow

Get on the roller-coaster ride for a fast-paced visual treat, with rhythmic text and wacky illustrations by CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal nominees.Shortlisted for the Association for Science Education Book of the Year 2017'Perfect to introduce and explore different parts of the body, which is now a bigger part of our curriculum in KS1 science than ever before.' - Books Teachers LoveJump on board and take a ride around the human body on our read-aloud, rollicking rollercoaster. Created by CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal nominees Gabby Dawnay and Alex Barrow, prepare to take your inquisitive youngster on a visually led, fast-paced rhythmic trip, from bones to muscles, feelings to sleep. This book is bursting with energy and fun - the perfect way to introduce your enthusiastic little one to a key school topic. A Roller-coaster Ride Around the Body has been designed to promote learning through imagination and humour, building visual and auditory memory, in addition to stimulating questioning and enquiry skills. It is particularly suitable for reading together with pre-school children, individually and in groups, and as a starting point for physical-led expression.

Orchard Books

Maisie Dappletrot Saves the Day

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three adventures in one!Maisie Dappletrot the Shetland pony is too small to help her family plant the magical grow gems hat keep the trees in Friendship Forest beautiful.But when wicked witch Grizelda arrives with three fearsom unicorns, Maisie shows she's a little pony with a big heart! Can Maisie, Jess and Lily stop Grizelda?

Orchard Books

Ten Little Pirates

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Count along with the Ten Little Pirates in this action-packed, counting rhyme adventure!The Ten Little Pirates are sailing out to sea ... But what will the Ten Little Pirates do when they meet a singing mermaid? And a whooshing hurricane? And a HUNGRY shark?Part traditional counting rhyme, part fun-filled story, Ten Little Pirates is perfect for sharing together. Read the bouncy rhyming story.Count from ten to one and back again, as the Little Pirates disappear then reappear. Spot and count the details on each page. And join in with all the great sound-words!The Ten Little series has sold over a million copies worldwide, and Ten Little Bookworms is a 2019 World Book Day pick.'Traditional counting rhyme given a jaunty pirate twist that kids will love... a rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations... excellent.' Guardian

Emer Stamp

Emer Stamp is the bestselling author of the Diary of Pig series, winner in the 6-8 category of the Lollies 2018. She started out as a graphic designer before moving to a career in advertising, where, among her roles, she was Creative Director for the advertising agency behind the iconic John Lewis Christmas adverts. Daddy Fartypants is Emer's first children's picture book. She lives with her family in London.

Julia Donaldson

Julia Donaldson, the 2011-2013 Children's Laureate, is the outrageously talented, prize-winning author of the world's most-loved picture books including The Gruffalo and What the Ladybird Heard.The Gruffalo, illustrated by Axel Scheffler, is now a children's classic and publishing phenomenon; celebrating 15 years in 2014, selling over 3 million copies worldwide, was voted Great Britain's favourite bedtime story on BBC Radio 2 and was adapted and broadcast as an animation on BBC 1 on Christmas Day 2009. The Gruffalo's Child and Room on the Broom are now also films, with Room on the Broom shortlisted for an Academy Award in 2014. Julia Donaldson's most recent books with Axel Scheffler include Superworm (2012), Highway Rat (2011), Tabby McTat (2010), Stick Man (2009) and Tiddler (2008).

Kes Gray

Kes Gray is a bestselling, multi award-winning author of more than 70 books for children. He eats Ideaflakes for breakfast, spreads silliness on his toast and lives in a place called Different.Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! are a top ten bestselling series. Oi Dog! won the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award and was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the British Book Awards in 2016, amongst others. It also won the Teach Primary New Children's Fiction Award, MadeForMums Award, Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award and Portsmouth Picture Book Award. Oi Cat! was the Independent Booksellers Children's Book of the Season and Oi Goat! was the number one bestselling World Book Day book in 2018.

Pat Thomas

Pat Thomas is a trained psychotherapist, trainee Naturopath, journalist and mother. After working as a journalist and broadcaster in the USA, she now works in the field of women's health and child development and writes for publications such as The Guardian Company Magazine and Practical Parenting as well as contributing editor to Natural Parent Magazine. Her book 'MY Bees: My Family's Changing' was the winner of The English 4-11 Awards.

Paul Mason

Paul's books cover a wide range of subjects, from whether the Romans ate crisps to how to build the world's best skatepark, but he writes mostly about sport. Whether you are interested in swimming, cycling, snowboarding, surfing or another sport, Paul has probably written something that will inspire you to get out and give it a try. Paul writes in a shack by the beach, which he shares with his one-eyed surf dog, Daisy.

Rachael Mortimer

Rachael had many successful years in advertising but is now a full time writer and mother. She lives in London with her husband and two daughters who are a constant source of inspiration for her children's books.

Simon Rickerty

Simon Rickerty graduated from The Royal College of Art in 2006 with a master's degree in Communication Art and Design. His first picture book, Peas, written by Andy Cullen, was published in 2009 and shortlisted for the Booktrust Early Years Award. Simon has gone on to illustrate many more highly acclaimed books for children, including Ten Little Pirates, winner of the Nottingham Children's Book Prize, and Monkey Nut, winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. He lives in Bristol.

Sophie Blackall

Sophie Blackall is the illustrator of many picture books, including Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear - winner of the prestigious Caldecott Medal. She lives with her family in New York, but keeps an eye on lighthouses for sale, just in case.

Sue Graves

Sue Graves has been a freelance children's author for more than 17 years. She has written over two hundred books for children from pre-school up to 15+ years. She writes fiction and non fiction, plays and poetry across the age ranges. Sue loves reading all sorts of books and is at her happiest when she has a book in her hand. She also loves painting in watercolours, playing tennis and badminton and going for long walks in the country with her husband and children.

Susie Brooks

Susie Brooks is an award-winning writer and editor of children's books. Writing on a wide range of subjects from dinosaurs to geography, she also masquerades as an artist (among other things, painting children's portraits and getting messy in classroom workshops!). In 2014, her Get into Art series won the English Association Picture Book Award, British Book Design and Production Award and the overall SLA Information Book Award. She can regularly be found walking people's dogs and in her spare time, loves to travel and explore new places!

Thomas Docherty

Thomas Docherty is an acclaimed author and illustrator of children's picture books including Little Boat, Big Scary Monster, and the Driftwood Ball. The Snatchabook, which was written by his wife Helen, has been shortlisted for several awards in the UK and US and been translated into 17 languages.

Tim Budgen

Tim Budgen is a freelance illustrator and Art teacher. For much of his life he has been scribbling down ideas and can usually be found with a pencil in one hand and a sketchbook in the other! He lives by the sea on Hayling Island, England, with his wife Julia.

Tony Ross

Tony Ross was born in London and studied at the Liverpool School of Art and Design. He has worked as a cartoonist, a graphic designer, as the Art Director of an advertising agency, and as Senior Lecturer in Art at Manchester Polytechnic. Tony is one of the most popular and successful children's illustrators of all time, best known for illustrating Horrid Henry and the works of David Walliams. Tony's books have been translated into 40 languages in over 100 countries. He lives in Macclesfield.

Victoria Munson

Victoria Munson has been fascinated by wildlife since she was 8 years old, whne she helped her parents to rescue a kestrel with a broken wing. She joined the Young Ornithologist's Club (YOC, part of the RSPB) shortly after and spend many a happy weekend visiting Wildfowl and Wetland Centres, hand-feeding Canada Geese and adopting a Wigeon (Wilbur). Since then, she has made a study of butterflies, homed hedgehogs, worms and ladybirds, and is now enjoying a second childhood through introducing her own children to rockpooling, wildlife spotting and making minibeast homes.

Virginia Ironside

Virginia Ironside is best known as one of Britain's leading agony aunts. She started on WOMAN magazine before moving to THE SUNDAY MIRROR and TODAY newspapers. She now writes a weekly column for THE INDEPENDENT. She also appears regularly on radio and television on such programmes as Radio 4's 'Woman's Hour'. Her many books include self-help titles on subjects such as bereavement, as well as the children's spooky adventure series BURLAP HALL.