Related to: 'The Wrong Side of the Galaxy'

Charlie Fletcher talks to Graham Marks (again!)

Author Spotlight

Charlie Fletcher is the bestselling author of the Stoneheart series and the classic adventure tale Far Rockaway; he has recently had his first adult novel published and here he talks to Graham Marks about his latest project, Dragon Shield.

Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia is starring as Dorothy in her school production of The Wizard of Oz and her friend Sam's puppy, Mac, is playing Toto. Amelia is busy with rehearsals, but still finds time to help her drama teacher's pet, Oscar. Will doggie paddling help heal Oscar's bad leg? And when Mac gets stage fright, will the tiny terrier be well enough to step in as Toto?

Orchard Books

Seven Trees of Stone

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

The third and final chapter in Leo Hunt's epic supernatural series. It's time for Luke to pay his debt to the devil ...The first book, Thirteen Days of Midnight, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2016 and longlisted for the Branford Boase Award.Luke Manchett is coming to terms with his new life. The life where his girlfriend is a witch, he's a necromancer, and he owes a life debt to the devil. But that's just the start. An invasion is coming - led by a spirit even worse than the devil himself. And it's heading straight for Luke ...

Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Orchard Books

A Galaxy Too Far

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.Fear me, o miserable worm!I, the Great Dirk, take up my pen once more to record the utter misery that is SCHOOL. My sworn enemy, Hasdruban the White, has infiltrated Whiteshields School and seeks vengeance on me. Naturally, I will triumph. But it is the Dirkest Hour indeed...BUY THIS BOOK OR SUFFER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: -Being struck with a Blast of Ravening Flame-Banishment to the Slave Pits of Never Ending Toil-Torment by the Hewer of LimbsTHE CHOICE IS YOURS. MWA HA HA!

Orchard Books

A Fiend in Need

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child

A new 20th anniversary edition of the utterly classic Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now by bestselling Children's Laureate, Lauren Child.It's the worry you hadn't even thought to worry about that should worry you the most. At least that's how it looks to Clarice Bean, who has been writing her worries in a notebook - things like Worry no. 1: infinity, or Worry no. 3: change. And now that her worst never-imagined worry has happened - her utterly best friend is moving away forever - Clarice doesn't even care about her tickets to the Ruby Redfort, girl detective, film premiere. That is, unless something happens to change things again . . .Lauren Child's trademark wit combines with spot-on insight in this hugely engaging story about childhood worries, unwanted changes and finding friendships in the most surprising places.'Funny, contemporary and perceptive' - Mail on Sunday'A comic and poignant journey' - The Sunday Times'Clarice Bean fans will be delighted by her new adventures . . . Anxieties such as "change" and "having to go back to school after the holidays" will be recognised by everyone, while her ways of approaching them are delightful' - Guardian

Orion Children's Books

Asterix The Gaul

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Banquet

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orchard Books

Clarice Bean, Utterly Me

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child

A new 20th anniversary edition of the utterly classic Clarice Bean, Utterly Me, the very first novel by bestselling Children's Laureate, Lauren Child.Clarice Bean loves reading the adventures of Ruby Redfort, ace girl detective and secret undercover agent. Ruby is always going on exciting missions, but the most Clarice gets to do is go to the local shop on her own . . . But when Clarice and her best friend, Betty Moody, decide to do their school project on the Ruby Redfort books, they suddenly start finding mysteries everywhere. Like why are all the coats on the wrong hooks at school? Where has Granddad disappeared to? And just what is going on in the garden shed?'An utterly fantastic book.'The Sunday Times

René Goscinny

Albert Uderzo has been illustrating Asterix for 37 years, and has written the most recent titles since Goscinny's death. He enjoys racing sports cars and owns a large number of Ferraris. He was the recipient of the Legion d'Honneur, France's highest honour, for services to the arts. Asterix is a best seller in 70 languages

Robert Muchamore

ROBERT MUCHAMORE was born in Islington in 1972. As a teenager he dreamt of either becoming an architect, a photographer or a writer. On discovering that architects have to train for seven years and after quitting his Saturday job in a camera shop, he saved up enough money to buy a word processor and set his heart on writing. The only problem was, he didn't know what to write. So, he found a regular job and spent thirteen years as a private investigator. He was inspired to start writing again by his nephew's complaints about the lack of anything decent to read. Robert's CHERUB and Henderson's Boys series are bestsellers around the world. Robert grew up listening to mix tapes sent to him by his older brother, developing tastes for indie bands like Joy Division, The Pogues and The Smiths. The idea for Rock War came from seeing that many of Robert's fans turned up at book signings wearing the logos of long dead rock bands, and a realisation that his online fan forum had more kids talking about the X-Factor than about his books. For more information, go to www.muchamore.com.

Rosemary Hankin

Rosie Hankin has written and edited a variety of books for children, on subjects ranging from crafts, cookery and pets to geography and history. She lives in Devon with her four children.

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co. Dublin. She's a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally.Follow her on Twitter @SMooreFitz

Simon Chapman

Simon Chapman is a British children's writer. His books include the Explorers Wanted! series, of which Explorers Wanted! At the North Pole won a Blue Peter Book Award inn 2005. Simon teaches physics at Morecambe Community High School in Lancashire.

Steve Antony

Steve Antony - a graduate from the prestigious MA in Children's Book Illustration at Anglia Ruskin - is the author-illustrator of The Queen's Hat and Please Mr Panda. Only debuting in 2014, Steve has had enormous success: The Queen's Hat won the Evening Standard's Oscar's First Book Prize, and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Please Mr Panda was chosen as Picture Book of the Month by US retailer Barnes & Noble, who held over 650 Panda events over one weekend. Steve aims to create picture books that are slightly 'off the wall', books that children will laugh at and adults will tweet about, but most of all, books that he enjoys.

Susie Brooks

Susie Brooks is an award-winning writer and editor of children's books. Writing on a wide range of subjects from dinosaurs to geography, she also masquerades as an artist (among other things, painting children's portraits and getting messy in classroom workshops!). In 2014, her Get into Art series won the English Association Picture Book Award, British Book Design and Production Award and the overall SLA Information Book Award. She can regularly be found walking people's dogs and in her spare time, loves to travel and explore new places!

Taran Matharu

Taran was born in London in 1990 and found a passion for reading at a very early age. His love for stories developed into a desire to create his own, writing his first book at nine years old.At twenty-two, while taking time off to travel, Taran began to write Summoner, taking part in Nanowrimo 2013. Thanks to Wattpad.com and updating daily, its popularity dramatically increased, reaching over three million reads in less than six months. After being featured by NBC News, Taran decided to launch his professional writing career and has never looked back.The Summoner series has now been published in 12 territories and is a New York Times Bestseller. Taran is currently the Book Trust's writer in residence.

Tim Cooke

Tim Cooke is a graduate of Oxford University. He has worked in children's publishing for over 20 years, and has written or contributed to dozens of books on a wide range of subjects. Among his publications as writer or editor are numerous sets about military history, particularly the American Revolution, the Civil War, World Wars I and II, and the Vietnam War. He has also written extensively about general history, both ancient and modern.