Related to: 'Self-Esteem and Being YOU'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Quercus Children's Books

Anassa

Josh Martin
Authors:
Josh Martin
Franklin Watts

Sleep Easy: A Mindfulness Guide to Getting a Good Night's Sleep

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

This story follows the adventures of twins, Billy and Betty, as they struggle to get to sleep. Billy's mind is noisy, constantly chattering, keeping him awake. Betty finds, as soon as her eyes close, that she starts to worry about what will happen the next day at school: will her friend Helen want to play with her? And what about that spelling test!The story shows how they use mindfulness - the ability to pay attention to the present moment with curiosity - to help them fall asleep. Mindfulness practices (exercises) are integrated into each story, and expanded on in the 'Notes to Parents and Teachers' section at the end of the books. Readers are invited to PAUSE at various points in the story to notice their own present moment experience. The four stories in the 'Mindful Me' series explore how a mindful attitude to life can enhance enjoyment, promote a sense of calm and confidence, and provide young people with a 'friend for life'. The books can be used at home or in the classroom, for storytime or as part of the PSHCE curriculum.The other titles are:Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Keeping CalmEmotions and Me: A Mindfulness Guide to Exploring EmotionsGet Outdoors: A Mindfulness Guide to Noticing Nature

Franklin Watts

Exploring Emotions: A Mindfulness Guide to Dealing with Emotions

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Glow of Fallen Stars

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

Love brought them together - life is pulling them apart ... Seren and Dom's epic love story is the perfect read for fans of Beth Revis and Meg Rosoff. 'I longed so hard for all the things that make life life, and I never thought they'd be mine. But now ... now they are. Now I have something to lose.'Seren and Dom have fled their old lives on board spaceship Ventura in order to be together. They crash-land on a beautiful, uninhabited planet, which at first seems like paradise. There is no one to answer to ... but no one to ask for help. And with each new day comes the realisation of how vulnerable they truly are. This planet has secrets - lots of them. Uncovering them could be the key to survival, but at what cost?The follow-up to The Loneliness of Distant Beings, Kate Ling's second book takes us on an incredible journey through love, loss and the strength of the human spirit.

Hodder Children's Books

The Battlemage

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

One boy's ability to summon demons will change the fate of an empire ... The epic conclusion to the fantasy trilogy described as 'Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings meets Pokemon'. After the thrilling cliffhanger at the end of book two, rejoin Fletcher and his friends in the ether, where they must undertake a mortally dangerous quest all the while avoiding capture by enemies and facing foes more terrifying than anything they have yet encountered. But this is nothing compared to what truly lies ahead for Fletcher, as his nemesis, albino orc Khan, is on a mission to destroy Hominum and everything and everyone that Fletcher loves. Epic battles, dramatic revelations and breathtaking drama await in the third and final book in the New York Times bestselling Summoner series.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

The Inquisition

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Wayland

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Wayland

the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

the Great Depression?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

Look at the events that lead to the Wall Street Crash of October 1929 and the shockwaves that it sent around the world, leading to economic crisis and financial panic and plunging millions into unemployment, eviction from their homes and grinding poverty. Explore the legacy of the Great Depression internationally, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as political ferment leading to the rise of fascism, and the good things, including the expansion of the welfare state and provision for those in need, technological innovation and the rise of the cinema industry.

Wayland

How to be a Girl

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik

Be the boss of you!How To Be A Girl is an easy-reading journey through girlhood and what it's like to be a girl growing up today. It examines important issues such as puberty, the politics of body hair, female stereotypes, intelligence, physical appearance, double standards and the vernacular used to describe girls and boys. It also looks at the objectification of women and sexualisation of girls by the media.How to Be A Girl is a modern feminist book for today's tweens and teens. It's a call for girls to stop beating themselves up by aiming for a so-called 'beauty ideal', to stop worrying and to start living their lives according to their own agenda. Confidence building and self esteem boosting - How To Be A Girl is not a diatribe on gender differences but a consciousness-raising, articulate and cool walk-through of what it is to be a strong and empowered young girl today.Contains sections on: body image, dieting & eating disorders, media portrayal, plastic/cosmetic surgery, body hair, online porn, dating, self esteem & confidence, discrimination, sexual harassment and empowerment.Be the change.

Wayland

Quick Expert's Guide: Safe Social Networking

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Wayland

52 Teen Girl Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson
Wayland

Queen Bees, Drama Queens & Cliquey Teens

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik

With queen bees, drama queens and cliquey teens girl friendships can be tough! Teen Life Confidential is here to help with this guide for teenagers looking for help surviving the friendship game.Hanging out with your best friends can be awesome, but what happens when things go wrong? Queen Bees, Drama Queens and Cliquey Teens answers your friendship problems and questions and gives advice on everything from how to cope with the bullies and mean girls at school, to how to be a better friend yourself. Written by experienced author Anita Naik, this title explores all aspects of teenage girl friendships and the problems that surround them. We look at what being popular means, the downsides of friendships and what to do when things go wrong.Includes an 8 ways to empower yourself guide. Self-esteem and self-confidence are vital when coping with girl friendships and girl bullying, so we've given 8 things that the reader can do every day to improve their confidence and build their self esteem. Each section is accompanied by quotes from real teenagers to give examples of real-life problems that teenagers experience every day. We also feature quizzes to help you to assess your own behaviour and work out what your friendship style is.Anita Naik is an author, columnist, blogger and journalist. She started her career as advice columnist on the teen magazine Just 17, and is now the agony aunt at Teen Now magazine and Avon Connects. She is also a regular contributor to the parenting technology site Quibly (http://www.quib.ly) and writes regularly on the subjectsof teens, tech, parenting, education and social media, across various media platforms and magazines.Kidscape is the first charity in the UK established specifically to prevent bullying and child sexual abuse. Kidscape works UK-wide to provide individuals and organisations with practical skills and resources necessary to keep children safe from harm. We are grateful to Claude Knights at Kidscape for her advice in the creation of this book. For more information please visit: http://www.kidscape.org.uk/Chapter One - Being popular: What does it means to be popular and who you are friends with right now? Chapter Two - The girls who rule school: Here we look at the girls at the top of the class and why they behave the way they do.Chapter Three - The downside of friendships: Relational aggression explained and ways to deal with the mean behaviours that arise in girl friendships.Chapter Four - What kind of friend are you? Helps readers to assess their own friendship behaviour. We look at the different types of friend and the problems of the behaviours associated with them.Chapter Five - When things go wrong: How to cope with friendships that end, or turn nasty.A Help Section gives details of places to go for further help and guidance, and a glossary explains specificterms to readers.

Wayland

Texts, Tweets, Trolls and Teens

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Wayland

William Shakespeare

Anita Ganeri, Alan Rowe
Contributors:
Anita Ganeri, Alan Rowe
Franklin Watts

Dragon Mountain

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence

We dare you to take on the Red Queen in this choose-your-own-destiny Blood Crown Quest!The Red Queen has seized the Ruby of Death and raised an army of the dead. Now, with her husband, the necromancer Mortha, they plan to find the remaining three rubies and cast a permanent shadow over the world. YOUR quest is to find the Blood Crown rubies before the Red Queen, and use them to destroy her. You have discovered the Ruby of Power in the Lost City of the Desert, but the Red Queen has the Ruby of Death! In Dragon Mountain YOU must travel to the mountains of the north to find the Dragon princess and the Ruby of Seeing. You are the hero of this book. Only you can decide your own destiny...Hot spin-off from the I HERO series, which has now sold over 80,000 copies! YOU are pitted against the evil Red Queen and her dark minions as she attempts to collect four rubies to rebuild the Blood Crown. Written by the award-winning 2Steves!

Franklin Watts

Sands of Blood

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Jack Lawrence
Wayland

Sex, Snogs, Dates and Mates

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Hodder Children's Books

The Obsidian Mirror

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher
Hodder Children's Books

Bras, Boys and Bad Hair Days

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik