Search results for: 'jamie thomson'

Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Orchard Books

A Galaxy Too Far

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Harry was just an ordinary teenage boy from Croydon when he was abducted by aliens and accidentally became the captain of their starship. His quest to get back home to Earth continues - but now he's acquired an alien 'son' and a new spacecraft, and he's being pursued by an eight-foot robot bounty hunter...Could this be a galaxy too far for Harry?Another hilarious story from the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning author of the DARK LORD series.

Orchard Books

The Wrong Side of the Galaxy

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Fear me, o miserable worm!I, the Great Dirk, take up my pen once more to record the utter misery that is SCHOOL. My sworn enemy, Hasdruban the White, has infiltrated Whiteshields School and seeks vengeance on me. Naturally, I will triumph. But it is the Dirkest Hour indeed...BUY THIS BOOK OR SUFFER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: -Being struck with a Blast of Ravening Flame-Banishment to the Slave Pits of Never Ending Toil-Torment by the Hewer of LimbsTHE CHOICE IS YOURS. MWA HA HA!

Orchard Books

A Fiend in Need

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Sooz, a 13 yr old girl from Surrey has become the Dark Mistress of Dirk's otherworldly kingdom, the Darklands. Thanks to the Ring of Power given to her by Dirk, his minions recognize her as their ruler. Sooz immediately sets about redecorating Dirk's Dark Tower to the taste of a young girl. But Sooz has to face her toughest challenge when an army of fanatical paladins and orcs gather to march against her. Despite their centuries of hostility to each other, they prefer to form an alliance rather than accept Sooz's new regime.And what of Dirk? He continues on slaving away at school, plotting ways to rescue Sooz. Eventually he is able to advise her on life in the Darklands and Sooz is able to hold back the fanatical paladins.

Orchard Books

The Teenage Years

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Thirteen-year-old schoolboy, Dirk Lloyd, has a dark secret - in fact he is a dark secret. Dirk - according to his own account - is the earthly incarnation of a Dark Lord, supreme ruler of the Darklands and leader of great armies of orcs and warriors, intent on destruction and bloody devastation. Following a colossal final battle between the forces of good and evil, the Dark Lord was defeated and hurled by his arch-foe's spells into the Pit of Uttermost Despair. At the bottom of the Pit lies...a supermarket car park in the municipal town of Whiteshields, somewhere in modern day England. And when he is found, and tries to explain that he is the Dark Lord, people think he means Dirk Lloyd. The fact that he's trapped in the puny body of a schoolboy doesn't help. And so begins Dirk's battle to recover his dignity, his power, and his lands... Along the way he faces the inconvenience of being fostered by a do-gooding family, the Purejoies; the torture of endless hours of drudgery at the Whiteshields Brainwashing Centre (aka school); a vengeful Headmaster; two interfering Psychotic Persecutors (psychotherapists); and constant laughter and disrespect when he attempts to marshall his lackeys and lickspittles (friends) to do what he wants them to.Dirk makes friends with the son of his foster family, Christopher, and the local Goth Girl, Sooz, and together they attempt to cast a spell that will transport Dirk back to his homeland. Inevitably, not everything goes to plan... But that's for book 2Roald Dahl Prize winner, 2012.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Jamie Thomson

Jamie Thomson is an award-winning children’s book author, as well as a writer and developer of a range of successful adventure game books and computer games. Here he talks to Graham Marks, often in his own voice*, about a life spent surrounded by goblins, evil villains and, of course, Dark Lords…

Jamie Thomson

Jamie Thomson is the minion and slave of the Dark Lord, Dirk Lloyd. He's an author and games developer who has written numerous choose-your-own-adventure style gamebooks and worked on many computer games from the Tower of Despair (1984) to Warrior Kings: Battles (2003) Jamie Thomson lives in the dungeons below his Master's Iron Tower in East Sussex, where he spends every day writing for his overlord.His book, Dark Lord: The Teenage Years, was the 2012 Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner.

29 May
Starlight Stage, Dairy Meadows, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5PJ

Jamie Thomson at Hay Fever Festival

5:30pm - 6:15pm
28 Sep
Children's Marquee, South Main Street, Wigtown, Wigtownshire, Scotland DG8 9EH

Jamie Thomson at Wigtown Book Festival

4pm
Press Release

Jamie Thompson's ' The Dark Lord' Wins Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2012

Orchard Books is thrilled to announce that Jamie Thomson, author of Dark Lord: The Teenage Years is a Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner 2012 in the 7-14 category.

Hodder Children's Books and Orchard Books Press Release

Dark Lord and Stanley's Stick Shortlisted for Oldham Brilliant Books Award

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years by Jamie Thomson and Stanley's Stick by Neal Hegley have been shortlisted for the Oldham Brilliant Books Award!

01 Jun
Starlight Stage, Brecon Road, Hay-on-Wye, Powys HR3

Funny Panel at Hay Festival 2013

10am - 11am

Come and see the funniest panel Hay Festival has ever seen!

Wikipedia

Jerry Spinelli

Jerry Spinelli (born February 1, 1941)[1] is an American author of children's novels on adolescence and early adulthood. He is best known for the novels Maniac Magee[2] and Wringer. Spinelli was born in Norristown, Pennsylvania[3] and currently resides in Phoenixville, PA. At the age of sixteen, his love of sports inspired him to compose a poem about a recent football victory. Later, unbeknownst to him, his father published it in the local newspaper. It was at this time he realized that he would not become a Major League Baseball player, and decided to become a writer instead.[2] During his time at Gettysburg College, Pennsylvania, Jerry spent his time writing short stories and was the editor of the college literary magazine. After graduation, he became a writer and editor for a department store magazine. The next twenty years, he spent his time working ordinary jobs during the day so that he had the energy to write fiction in his spare time. He found himself writing during lunch breaks, on weekends, and after dinner.[4] His first four novels were written for adults and were all rejected. His fifth novel was also intended for adults, but became his first children's book. This work, Space Station Seventh Grade, was published in 1982.[4] Spinelli graduated from Gettysburg College in 1963 and acquired his MA from Johns Hopkins University in 1964. He married Eileen Mesi in 1977,[1] who also writes children's books.[4] They have six children and sixteen grandchildren.[3]