Search results for: 'jamie thomson'

Orchard Books

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Orchard Books

A Galaxy Too Far

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

The Wrong Side of the Galaxy

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Abducted by aliens, Harry wakes up on his birthday marooned on a spaceship. His only companions: two freaky princess clones, a weird alien-fish-kangaroo hybrid with delusions of grandeur and a ship's computer with a serious attitude problem. It's the worst birthday ever.How is he ever going to get back to Earth now?A brilliantly silly new story from the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize

Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.Fear me, o miserable worm!I, the Great Dirk, take up my pen once more to record the utter misery that is SCHOOL. My sworn enemy, Hasdruban the White, has infiltrated Whiteshields School and seeks vengeance on me. Naturally, I will triumph. But it is the Dirkest Hour indeed...BUY THIS BOOK OR SUFFER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: -Being struck with a Blast of Ravening Flame-Banishment to the Slave Pits of Never Ending Toil-Torment by the Hewer of LimbsTHE CHOICE IS YOURS. MWA HA HA!

Orchard Books

A Fiend in Need

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Jamie Thomson

Jamie Thomson is an award-winning children’s book author, as well as a writer and developer of a range of successful adventure game books and computer games. Here he talks to Graham Marks, often in his own voice*, about a life spent surrounded by goblins, evil villains and, of course, Dark Lords…

Jamie Thomson

Jamie Thomson is the minion and slave of the Dark Lord, Dirk Lloyd. He's an author and games developer who has written numerous choose-your-own-adventure style gamebooks and worked on many computer games from the Tower of Despair (1984) to Warrior Kings: Battles (2003) Jamie Thomson lives in the dungeons below his Master's Iron Tower in East Sussex, where he spends every day writing for his overlord.His book, Dark Lord: The Teenage Years, was the 2012 Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner.

29 May
Starlight Stage, Dairy Meadows, Hay-on-Wye HR3 5PJ

Jamie Thomson at Hay Fever Festival

5:30pm - 6:15pm
28 Sep
Children's Marquee, South Main Street, Wigtown, Wigtownshire, Scotland DG8 9EH

Jamie Thomson at Wigtown Book Festival

4pm

Don't miss Jamie Thomson as he talks about his latest book - full of aliens and abductions!

Press Release

Jamie Thompson's ' The Dark Lord' Wins Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2012

Orchard Books is thrilled to announce that Jamie Thomson, author of Dark Lord: The Teenage Years is a Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner 2012 in the 7-14 category.

Hodder Children's Books and Orchard Books Press Release

Dark Lord and Stanley's Stick Shortlisted for Oldham Brilliant Books Award

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years by Jamie Thomson and Stanley's Stick by Neal Hegley have been shortlisted for the Oldham Brilliant Books Award!

01 Jun
Starlight Stage, Brecon Road, Hay-on-Wye, Powys HR3

Funny Panel at Hay Festival 2013

10am - 11am
Wikipedia

Jerry Spinelli

Jerry Spinelli (born February 1, 1941)[1] is an American author of children's novels on adolescence and early adulthood. He is best known for the novels Maniac Magee[2] and Wringer. Spinelli was born in Norristown, Pennsylvania[3] and currently resides in Phoenixville, PA. At the age of sixteen, his love of sports inspired him to compose a poem about a recent football victory. Later, unbeknownst to him, his father published it in the local newspaper. It was at this time he realized that he would not become a Major League Baseball player, and decided to become a writer instead.[2] During his time at Gettysburg College, Pennsylvania, Jerry spent his time writing short stories and was the editor of the college literary magazine. After graduation, he became a writer and editor for a department store magazine. The next twenty years, he spent his time working ordinary jobs during the day so that he had the energy to write fiction in his spare time. He found himself writing during lunch breaks, on weekends, and after dinner.[4] His first four novels were written for adults and were all rejected. His fifth novel was also intended for adults, but became his first children's book. This work, Space Station Seventh Grade, was published in 1982.[4] Spinelli graduated from Gettysburg College in 1963 and acquired his MA from Johns Hopkins University in 1964. He married Eileen Mesi in 1977,[1] who also writes children's books.[4] They have six children and sixteen grandchildren.[3]