Related to: 'John Marsden'

Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Home and Away

John Marsden, Matt Ottley
Contributors:
John Marsden, Matt Ottley
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

So Much To Tell You

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

'I don't know what I'm doing here. Well, I do really . I have been sent here to learn to talk again. Sent here because my mother can't stand my silent presence at home. Sent here because of my face .' She watches; she dreams. She sees more than they realise. She has worries and fears, hopes and desires. She is troubled; she is angry. Above all, she is lonely. She may be someone you know. She may be you. In SO MUCH TO TELL YOU she tells her story - with humour and insight, with sensitivity and strength, with painful honesty. You will never forget her.

Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017.Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017.Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.'...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE seriesBorn in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

Quercus Children's Books

The Other Side of Dawn

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden
Hodder Children's Books

Rules of Summer

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Bigger

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's the new school term and, as the baby inside Mum's tummy gets bigger and bigger, the family begins to plan for Christmas. There are lists to be made and presents to be wrapped. But could an unexpected Christmas gift be just around the corner?

Quercus Children's Books

The Night is for Hunting

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

A year of war. A year of terror. And a year of loss. Twelve months have passed since the invasion. Ellie has lost friends, she has taken many lives and she is still as disgusted by violence as she is determined to stand up to the invaders. Now the friends find themselves back in their sanctuary of Hell, caring for a band of feral children whose lives have been destroyed by the war. Meanwhile, the conflict intensifies and the enemy draws closer...

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family On Holiday

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's the summer holidays and the Butterfield family is going away to Cornwall. As usual, Mattie has plenty to worry about. What if she loses the luggage she's been put in charge of? What if someone falls over a cliff? And worst of all ... what if they've forgotten someone?

Quercus Children's Books

Burning for Revenge

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

'If only our country hadn't been invaded. If only we could have carried on the way we used to, watching other people's wars on television.' Ellie and her friends are more determined than ever to make an impact on the enemy. But the constant fighting is beginning to take its toll on the group. Kevin is suffering an emotional breakdown, and the friendship that has kept the gang together for so long is under strain. And while there is no time for love in a time of war, Ellie can't forget her feelings for Lee... A tale of relentless action and gripping intensity from one of the world's best storytellers. (Book 5 of The Tomorrow Series.)

Quercus Children's Books

Darkness Be My Friend

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

Darkness is the friend and enemy of those who hunt by night. Ellie and her friends have found safety after months of fighting. But the New Zealand Defence Force needs their help to infiltrate occupied Australian territory. And so the friends must fight on.

Quercus Children's Books

The Third Day, The Frost

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden
Quercus Children's Books

The Dead of the Night

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden
Quercus Children's Books

Tomorrow When the War Began

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden
Hodder Children's Books

The Rabbits

Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan
Hodder Children's Books

The Red Tree

Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan

A small child awakes to find blackened leaves falling from her bedroom ceiling, threatening to overwhelm her. 'Sometimes you wake up with nothing to look forward to...' As she wanders around a world that is complex, puzzling and alienating, she is overtaken by a myriad of feelings. Just as it seems all hope is lost, the girl returns to her bedroom to find that a tiny red seedling has grown to fill the room with warm light. Astonishing Australian artist, Shaun Tan's latest creation, The Red Tree, is a book about feelings - feelings that can not always be simply expressed in words. It is a series of imaginary landscapes conjured up by the wizardry of his masterful and miraculous art. As a kind of fable, The Red Tree seeks to remind us that, though some bad feelings are inevitable, they are always tempered by hope.

Hodder Children's Books

Lost Thing

Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan

The Lost Thing is a humorous story about a boy who discovers a bizarre-looking creature whilst out collecting bottle-tops at the beach. Having guessed that it is lost, he tries to find out who owns it or where it belongs, but the problem is met with indifference by everyone else, who barely notice it's presence. Each is unhelpful in their own way; strangers, friends, parents all unwilling to entertain this uninvited interruption to day-to-day life. In spite of his better judgement, the boy feels sorry for this hapless creature, and attempts to find out where it belongs.Shaun Tan creates intricate collages filled with whimsical images, bright colors, and meaningful prose. He invites his readers to look at the world in a different way.

Hodder Children's Books

The Arrival

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan

What drives so many to leave everything behind and journey alone to a mysterious country, a place without family or friends, where everything is nameless and the future is unknown. This silent graphic novel is the story of every migrant, every refugee, every displaced person, and a tribute to all those who have made the journey.

Nicole Dryburgh

When Nicole Dryburgh was 11, she was diagnosed with a tumour on her spine and was treated by surgery and radiotherapy, successfully everyone thought. Then in December 2002, she became desperately ill. A brain haemorrhage left her blind, and unable to move and in January 2003, her mother was told that Nicole had only a few weeks to live. But Nicole defied all medical expectations and lived to see her 21st birthday. Sadly, in May 2010, Nicole suffered another brain haemorrhage and passed way the next day.In spite of all the physical difficulties Nicole lived with, including loss of hearing towards the end of her life, Nicole made the most of every moment and accomplished a string of achievements, including writing two books, The Way I See It and Talk to the Hand - Nicole's inspiring memoirs. Probably Nicole's most notable achievement was her determined resolve to raise funds for others. She was a passionate and dynamic fundraiser. Through Nicole's Fund, set up to fund a Teenage Cancer Trust unit at the Royal Marsden Hospital in Surrey, she raised over ?74,000. Prior to this she raised ?43,000 to fund 'Nicole's Sweet', a paediatric neuro-rehabilitation suite at King's College Hospital. Nicole was so successful at this that she was recruited by the Teenage Cancer Trust as a regional fundraiser. Nicole had been short-listed and won numerous awards for her writing and her outstanding fund-raising including Britain's Most Inspiring Fundraiser, Round Table/BBC World Young Citizen, Young People's Choice for the Young Mind Book Award, the Sense Creative Writing Award, a Diana Award and an Anne Frank Award. She had been the subject of a BBC documentary; had meetings with royalty and government ministers; and had passed an English GCSE.Nicole was supported in her life and her fundraising by her mum Jackie, brother Lee and her much loved dogs Daizy and Molly.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Teri Terry

Teri Terry arrived on the children’s book radar last year with her debut novel Slated, which was immediately shortlisted for a number of prizes, and has recently won the 14-16 category of the Leeds Book Awards. Here she talks to Graham Marks about the extraordinary journey she has taken to become an author – a story almost worthy of a book itself.