Related to: 'Matt Robertson'

Orchard Books

Dinosaurs vs Humans

Matt Robertson
Authors:
Matt Robertson
Hodder Children's Books

Super Snail

Elys Dolan
Authors:
Elys Dolan

Meet Kevin: ordinary slug by day, fearless, shell-wearing Super Snail by night. The hilarious superhero you didn't know you were waiting for - from the acclaimed creator of Weasels and Steven Seagull, Elys Dolan.Kevin must prove his worth to the legendary League of Heroes - all with the power of slime! When disaster strikes and the Snail Signal shines, it's time for him to step up ...Will he figure out how to get his pants on outside his clothes, even though he doesn't have a bum? Will he discover his true, slimy superpower and defeat the evil villain, Laser Pigeon?Will he even get there in time?!

Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson.Eleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Hodder Children's Books

Fergus Barnaby Goes on Holiday

David Barrow
Authors:
David Barrow
Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home. With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Patchwork Bike

Maxine Beneba Clarke, Van T Rudd
Contributors:
Maxine Beneba Clarke, Van T Rudd

Winner of the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Crichton Award for Debut Illustrator 2017Selected as a CBCA Honour Picture Book 2017Shortlisted for PATRICIA WRIGHTSON PRIZE FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE 2018'Beautifully written and incredibly powerful.' Books + Publishing'this book is just what many of us need right now' - starred Kirkus ReviewWhen you live in a village at the edge of the No-Go Desert, you need to make your own fun. That's when you and your brothers get inventive and build a bike from scratch, using everyday items like an old milk pot (maybe mum is still using it, maybe not) and a used flour sack. You can even make a numberplate from bark, if you want. The end result is a spectacular bike, perfect for going bumpity-bump over sandhills, past your fed-up mum and right through your mud-for-walls home.A delightful story from multi-award-winning author Maxine Beneba Clarke, beautifully illustrated by street artist Van T Rudd.

Orion Children's Books

A Friend for Christmas

Lauren St John, Matt Robertson
Contributors:
Lauren St John, Matt Robertson

A full colour red Early Reader story about a dog who comes home for Christmas from BLUE PETER BOOK AWARD-winning author, Lauren St John.Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.If Luka could have anything in the world for Christmas, it would be to see Buddy again, his red and grey mongrel with one floppy ear. But Buddy has been missing for months. Then again, sometimes, at Christmas time, wishes really do come true.

Orchard Books

Super Stan

Matt Robertson
Authors:
Matt Robertson
Orchard Books

Tiger in a Tutu

Fabi Santiago
Authors:
Fabi Santiago

Max isn't like other tigers - he is a tiger with a dream! He longs to pirouette and plié, to leap and spin. He wants to be a dazzling ballet dancer, shining on the stage ... and a very special friend might just help his dream come true. A delightfully funny story about friendship, self-belief and following your dreams. "The saga of Max and his determination to get on the stage reads something like a fun version of Billy Elliot." Independent"Little dancers will love to see Max triumph and get his moment in the spotlight." Parents in TouchShortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2017 and featuring on the Scottish Book Trust list of Books That Challenge Gender Expectations.

Hodder Children's Books

Claude in the Spotlight

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes.A gentle stroll through town leads to leg kicking and bottom shaking as Claude dances his way into the theatre and straight into the spotlight!The fifth book in this hilarious bestselling series - perfect for new readers and also great for sharing!Praise for the Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Catch Us If You Can-Can!

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

The dastardly duo from Egg returns in this delightfully silly tale. The utterly charming Foxy Dubois and Alphonso the Alligator put on their dancing shoes to commit the crime of the century! But when they hit the dance floor, things start to go terribly wrong...Egg was selected by CBeebies Bedtime Stories and was the Book of the Week at Peters' Bookselling Services.Alex T. Smith is also the author of the extraordinary fiction series Claude which was shortlisted for the Waterstone's prize and was part of the Richard and Judy Book Club. Praise for Egg: 'A delightfully silly tale of a fox that wants to eat an egg. Alex T Smith's quirky illustrations help sell the absurdity. Recommended.' The BookbagFollow Alex at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk/

Hodder Children's Books

Claude in the Country

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes.A quiet nature walk in the country turns into a busy day on the farm when Claude ends up mucking out the pigs, feeding the chickens, and lassoing a fearsome bull!The fourth book in this hilarious bestselling series - perfect for new readers and also great for sharing!Praise for the Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Oliver Who Would Not Sleep

Mara Bergman, Nick Maland
Contributors:
Mara Bergman, Nick Maland

Oliver Donnington Rimington Sneep couldn't and didn't and would not sleep. It's not that he is afraid of the dark, or monsters, or robbers or sounds from the park. But Oliver Donnington Rimington Sneep likes staying awake more than going to sleep. Join Oliver on his journey to Mars and back before he finally, finally, finally goes to sleep. Superb bedtime tale, told in rhyme and great to read aloud, with stunning illustrations from award-winner Nick Maland.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Nicholas Allan

Nicholas Allan is the award-winning and best-selling author and artist behind some of our most popular picture books, including The Queen’s Knickers and Father Christmas Needs a Wee. Here he talks to Graham Marks about the journey down the creative road he’s travelled, how he works, as well as his latest picture book, The Big-Hearted Book…

Mark Nicholas

Mark Nicholas was born and brought up near York. He was artistic from an early age and studied modelmaking at the University of Bournemouth. He began working as a modelmaker after graduating, but always had a love of children's picture books, inspired by Mick Inkpen's Kipper and a short stint as a playground designer. After a successful career which included working on the CBBC stop-motion animation 'Rubbadubbers', in 2012 he decided to seek a career in illustration and gained a place on the MA Children's Book Illustration Course at Cambridge School of Art. Whilst studying on the course, Mark won the Hachette Children's Group's Carmelite Prize for Illustration to illustrate Tantrum O'Furrily, by Cressida Cowell, as well as the Macmillan Lara Jones Award. When not illustrating children's books, you'll find Mark wandering the fields of Wales with his wife and daughter, picking up inspirational textures for his illustrations.

Fabi Santiago

Fabi Santiago is the author of Tiger in a Tutu, shortlisted for the Waterstones Picture Books Prize. Fabi was born in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and has been making pictures ever since she could hold her first crayon. After studying art and design, Fabi went travelling and came across the MA in Children's Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art, from where she graduated in 2014. Fabi's illustrations are full of movement and bold limited colours, and her media of choice is screen-printing. She likes the outdoors, cycling, dance and theatre, all of which are inspiration for her stories. Fabi lives in London with her ginger fellow and her cat, Porridge.