Related to: 'Nick Caruso'

Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths

An explosive and hilarious look at facts, farts, and fun!Dogs fart. Cats fart. Horses fart (a lot). But what about snakes? Spiders? Octopuses? What about chimpanzees? Cheetahs? Or dinosaurs?In this gaseous guide to kids' favourite animals (and some they've probably never heard of), young readers will discover not only which animals parp, but also which have the stinkiest farts, which fart the most, and where all this smelly stuff comes from. They'll even learn which species has its own secret fart code! Perfect for reluctant readers, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, Does It Fart? is the funniest book you never knew you needed.Based on the New York Times bestseller Does It Fart?: The Definitive Field Guide to Animal Flatulence.

Wren & Rook

Saving Species

Jess French, James Gilleard
Contributors:
Jess French, James Gilleard

Tigers, orangutans, pangolins, polar bears, fin whales, bees ... there are so many incredible animals that need saving! Join vet, conservationist and children's TV presenter Dr Jess French and take a trip around the world to meet 38 of the most extraordinary creatures on the planet. From the endangered animals we all know and love, like tigers, polar bears, orangutans and rhinos, to the less familiar pangolin, kakapo and vaquita, see these amazing creatures up close in their natural habitats. Visit jungles, mountains, rivers and coral reefs and learn about the threats to these species' survival, as well as the remarkable conservation efforts that are being undertaken to save them.Illustrated in a stunning graphic artwork style, this beautiful gift book is sure to inspire future conservationists and animal lovers of all ages.

Hodder Children's Books

Attack of the Snack

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Will You Catch Me?

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson

From the author of A Room Full of Chocolate comes a heartwarming story about identity and courage, and a tremendous young girl who cares for her alcoholic mother. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Lean.Nell Hobs lives with a tortoise called Bob Marley, guinea pigs Asbo and Chaos, goldfish Beyoncé and Destiny, gerbils Fizz and Tyrone, Aunty Lou the Hamster ... and her mum, who drinks too much. Nell does everything she can to be a good daughter so that her mum will stop. But when things get really hard, Nell stands on her head. Everything looks better upside down, don't you know?Nell wishes she knew who her dad was. When new teacher Mr Samuels makes history come alive and tells the class the story of Nell Gwynn, the Orange Girl who became one of the first actresses on the London stage, Nell is captivated and is determined to dress up as an Orange Girl for the Costume Parade. She hatches a plan with her best friend Michael: a way to make her dad step forward and claim her. Will she succeed?A charming middle grade story with a strong, positive message that celebrates community and friendship.

Wayland

India

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

India: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most amazing country. Explore its rainforests, rivers (including the great Ganges), mountains and beaches, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the vibrant street life, the amazing food and the diverse, multiethnic culture, and delve into the country's rich history.Discover what it's like to grow up in India - school, family life, socializing and religion - and find out how life is for the richest and the poorest members of society from its rural areas to its megacities. Learn about India's booming economy as a high-tech hotspot that's going global. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, colourful, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to India!

Hodder Children's Books

The Variety of Life

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie

Our planet is full of life! Did you know there are 400,000 species of beetle - but only eight species of bear? This stunning book explores the extraordinary diversity of the natural world and profiles some of its most surprising creatures.A glorious celebration of diversity within the Animal Kingdom by non-fiction specialist Nicola Davies, illustrated by rising star Lorna Scobie. There is something to delight on every page with fascinating facts about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects. This exquisite book will encourage children to treasure the world's biodiversity and help to stop it slipping away.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Chimp Rescue

Jess French
Authors:
Jess French
Orion Children's Books

Dolphin Rescue

Jinny Johnson
Authors:
Jinny Johnson
Hodder Children's Books

Dave's Breakfast Blast Off!

Sue Hendra, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Sue Hendra, Lee Wildish

The hilarious sequel to a modern classic. Written by Sue Hendra, the creator of the bestselling Barry the Fish with Fingers, and illustrated by Lee Wildish, the winner of the Overall Red House Children's Book Award 2013.Dave is a big ol' greedy guts. But oh no! His bowl is empty. The animals in the garden help him find other meals - but what will happen when he eats the dog's food? The answer will have you rolling around the floor with laughter.'I laughed so much I farted!' Edward, aged 6

Franklin Watts

Very Wonderful, Very Rare - Saving the most endangered wildlife on Earth

Marilyn Baillie, Jonathan Baillie, Ellen Butcher
Authors:
Marilyn Baillie, Jonathan Baillie, Ellen Butcher
Franklin Watts

The Power of Sloth

Lucy Cooke
Authors:
Lucy Cooke

The Power of Sloth is Lucy Cooke's celebration of the sloth: the cutest, cuddliest, slowest creature on this planet. In the book she brings together some truly adorable pictures of baby sloths, literally by the bucketful. These delightful, funny pictures are accompanied by a simple text which tells you all about sloths and why we should protect them. We also discover all about the work of the Avarios sloth sanctuary, which, along with the ZSL EDGE programme to protect the pygmy sloth, receives some of the proceeds from this book. This book has been a huge success in the USA, where is was published under the title of The Little Book of Sloth, selling over 50,000 copies and making the New York Times best-seller list. Author and photographer Lucy Cooke has a worldwide following with her YouTube videos of sloths and her Discovery Channel show Meet of the Sloths. Her BBC TV shows, Talk to the Animals, Natures Boldest Thieves and Nature's Miracle Orphans makes her a household name. Lucy regularly appears on the radio as a BBC wildlife presenter. Recent programmes include Saturday Live http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0713m2l and The Museum of Curiosity http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b06zqq9d Find out More about what she does on http://www.slothville.com/ and http://www.lucycooke.tv/

Wayland

British Birds

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

This book introduces more than 50 of the most common birds found in Britain today. There are full descriptions of the birds, along with their scientific name, size, family and habitat. Full colour photographs will help with easy identification. Includes advice on how to be a good birdwatcher, such as best places to see birds and how to take notes to aid recognition, and tips on how to attract birds to your garden or local area. Find out how to make bird food to help birds survive the winter.Birds featured: Barn Owl, Black-headed Gull, Blackbird, Blackcap, Blue Tit, Bullfinch, Buzzard, Canada Goose, Carrion Crow, Chaffinch, Coal Tit, Collared Dove, Common Gull, Coot, Cormorant, Cuckoo, Dunnock, Feral Pigeon, Fieldfare, Goldfinch, Great Crested Grebe, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Great Tit, Green Woodpecker, Greenfinch, Grey Heron, Grey Partridge, Grey Wagtail, Greylag Goose, Herring Gull, House Martin, House Sparrow, Jackdaw, Jay, Kestrel, Kingfisher, Little Grebe, Long-tailed Tit, Magpie, Mallard, Mistle Thrush, Moorhen, Mute Swan, Nuthatch, Pheasant, Pied Wagtail, Pigeon, Pochard, Puffin, Raven, Red Kite, Redwing, Ring-necked Parakeet, Robin, Rook, Shag, Siskin, Song Thrush, Sparrowhawk, Starling, Swallow, Swift, Tawny Owl, Tree Sparrow, Tufted duck, White Wagtail, Woodpigeon, Wren.

Hodder Children's Books

Elephant Ben

Geoffrey Malone
Authors:
Geoffrey Malone
Hodder Children's Books

Tiger

Geoffrey Malone
Authors:
Geoffrey Malone
Hodder Children's Books

Crocodile River

Geoffrey Malone
Authors:
Geoffrey Malone

Visiting his uncle's cattle station in the Australian outback, Tom is thrilled when old Sam offers to take him and his cousin, Greg, walkabout. But trekking through the wilderness, the trio are appalled to stumble across an illegal drug laboratory experimenting on animals. Suddenly their lives are in jeopardy. Greg is captured, and Sam must forge onwards in an attempt to get help. Tom finds himself alone under the unforgiving sun, his food supplies dwindling. Meanwhile the lab workers plot to flee the country, and to dispose of Greg along the way.But the outback holds dangers that even scheming criminals cannot avoid. Kyrek the crocodile watches from the riverbed, assessing his prey. And when finally they take to the water, Kyrek moves in for the kill ...

Jonathan Baillie

Jonatahn Baillie is a leading zoologist and Director of Conservation Programmes at the Zoological Society of London (ZSL). Amongst many other projects, he is responsible for establishing the EDGE programme for ZSL. He was born in Canada but now is based in London, but spends much of his time travelling the world for his work. His mother is an award-winning children's author and he has worked with her on Very Wonderful, Very Rare and Animals on the Edge, which won an SLA information book award.

Jess French

Jess French is a passionate vet, zoologist and naturalist who has been named one of Britain's top 50 conservationists by BBC Wildlife magazine. She presented her own TV series on CBeebies called Minibeast Adventure with Jess and worked on Live 'n' Deadly (CBBC), Deadly Mission Madagascar (CBBC), Springwatch (BBC) and Micro Monsters 3D (Sky). Jess has written several books for children, including the Born Free series for Orion Children's Books.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Lucy Cooke

Lucy Cooke is, in her own words, ‘a National Geographic explorer, award-winning TV producer, presenter and best-selling author with a Masters in zoology and a passion for odd animals’. She has also founded Slothville.com, the HQ of the Sloth Appreciation Society. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how an online video changed her life, how to pronounce the word ‘sloth’ correctly, and about her new book The Power of Sloth...

Anna Claybourne

Anna Claybourne has written over 150 children's books on all kinds of subjects, from sharks, black holes and splitting the atom to how to draw, Shakespeare's life, and Greek myths and legends. She knows a lot about conservation in the rain forests of Costa Rica as she once volunteered there for three months. She likes space, sewing and music, plays the trombone and loves going camping.