Related to: 'Jill Atkins'

Wayland

Dogs

Gemma Barder
Authors:
Gemma Barder
Franklin Watts

Hasan's Idea

Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Franklin Watts

Flash and the Butterfly

Jill Atkins
Authors:
Jill Atkins
Wayland

It Wasn't Me! - Learning About Honesty

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by internationally-renowned artist, Mike Gordon, explains to young children why it's good to be a champion truth teller and have the courage to own up when they do something wrong. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in assemblies. Other titles in the Values series: Learning About Respect and Taking Responsibility

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.A story about courage, sacrifice and family - and how everyone has something incredible inside of them, just waiting to be discovered. For fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Eva Ibbotson.This cover comes in four different colours, supplied at random. Which one will you receive?When Billy Wild's teacher asks the class to write a letter to their god, Billy's request is simple: Please send me a dog.So when he discovers a greyhound hiding in the shed, he decides someone must really be listening. With the help of his brothers, Billy sets out to hide her from Dad, who's far too stressed to add a dog to the mix. But keeping a greyhound a secret is a difficult task, and when Billy's classmate Paris enters them all in a local talent show, it becomes even harder!Billy must make a big, brave, wild decision - but it's one that might save Dog and hundreds like her. And it might just make him incredible...

Wayland

The Seaside

Brian Moses, Marcela Calderon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Marcela Calderon

This anthology of poems, compiled by Brian Moses, contains a mix of light-hearted poems and more serious ones, poems that rhyme and those that don't. There are plenty of good 'read alouds', thumping choruses, and the sort of poems that children can use as models for their own writing. Poetry is a key feature of the new National Curriculum and these fantastic poems are perfectly suited for this.Beautiful illustrations bring each poem vividly to life.Poems include: Are We Nearly There Yet? by Brian Moses; Beach Counting by Tony Mitton; I Do Like to be Beside the Seaside by John A. Glover-Kind; The Seagull's Song by June Crebbin; Seagulls With Everything by Brian Moses; Seaside Sounds by John Foster: A Single Wave by Ian Souter; The 7th Wave by Jan Dean; There's An Ocean in this Seashell by Graham Denton; Shells by Debra Bertulis; Skimming Stones on the Sea by Jane Clarke; Treasure Chest Mystery by Kate Williams; Playtime Pirate (Action Rhyme) by Tony Mitton; Letters in Bottles by Clare Bevan; The Bucket by James Carter; Rock Pool by Matt Goodfellow; The Friendly Octopus by Mike Jubb; Crab by Irene Assiba D'Almeida; Man on the Beach by Joshua Seigal.Read poems compiled by Brian Moses on other topics such as Poems About Animals; Poems About Seasons and Poems About Festivals.

Wayland

Seasons

Brian Moses, Ellie Jenkins
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Ellie Jenkins
Wayland

Animals

Brian Moses, Natalia Moore
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Natalia Moore
Wayland

Samuel Scaredosaurus

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

Samuel Scaredosaurus was scared of lots of things. He was scared of spiders, strange noises, dark shadows and being left on his own. Would he ever be able to face his fears?Written by Brian Moses, this humorous picture book explores different things that might scare children, for example shadows and noises in the dark, being lost, bullies, fairground rides, going to school and heights. Different ways of dealing with these fears are then set out showing that there are ways to cope with these, sometimes overwhelming, emotions.The clever and funny illustrations, by internationally renowned illustrator, Mike Gordon, bring a light-touch to these stories, helping children to learn about their feelings in a fun and light-hearted way.Excellent notes for parents and teachers at the back of this book show how to approach these issues with children.Other books by Brian Moses and Mike Gordon: I Feel Frightened; I Feel Angry; I Feel Jealous; I Feel Sad; It's Not Fair; I Feel Bullied; William Worrydactyl; Gracie Grumposaurus; Jamal Jealousaurus; Anna Angrysaurus; Sophie Shyosaurus.

Wayland

Sophie Shyosaurus

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

Sophie Shyosaurus was a very shy dinosaur. She got embarrassed at parties, when she met someone new, or if she had to stand up and talk in school. Will she ever be able to stop being shy? Written by Brian Moses, this humorous picture book explores different things that might make children feel shy, for example being asked to speak in class, going to a party or doing something new. Different ways of dealing with shyness are then set out with mum and dad dinosaur explaining how they sometimes are shy too and giving examples of how they try to overcome these feelings. The clever and funny illustrations, by internationally renowned illustrator, Mike Gordon, bring a light-touch to these stories, helping children to learn about their feelings in a fun and light-hearted way. Excellent notes for parents and teachers at the back of this book show how to approach these issues with children. Other books by Brian Moses and Mike Gordon: I Feel Frightened; I Feel Angry; I Feel Jealous; I Feel Sad; It's Not Fair; I Feel Bullied; William Worrydactyl; Gracie Grumposaurus; Jamal Jealousaurus; Anna Angrysaurus; Samuel Scaredosaurus.

Wayland

Anna Angrysaurus

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Quercus Children's Books

Guinea Pigs Online

Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray, Sarah Horne

Fuzzy and Coco are guinea pigs who live with their kindly owners, Ben and Henrietta Bliss. Coco likes to spend her days pampering herself and listening to harp concertos. Fuzzy is much more down to earth - he is a passionate cook who wants nothing more than to learn to make delicious meals for Ben and Henrietta.So when Fuzzy spots an ad run by glamorous local chef Scarlet Cleaver stating 'Guinea Pigs Wanted', he is enormously excited - what a chance to learn some cooking skills! Coco warns him that the ad is not what he thinks, but he won't listen; when she's not looking, he sneaks off to find the restaurant.And so Coco has to get online to try track Fuzzy down. But when Micespace reveals that guinea pigs from all over town have been taken away in a van by Scarlet Cleaver herself, Coco must set off on a rescue mission to prevent Fuzzy from ending up as main course on The Meat Cleaver's menu!

Wayland

I Don't Care - Learning About Respect

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by the award-winning artist Mike Gordon, explains to young children what it means to be a respectful member of society and the importance of having respect for other people's needs. It suggests ways of doing this, such as giving up your seat in a public place so that an elderly person can sit down. It encourages children to think about what respect means to them and looks at why it is important to have respect for library books, rules, animals, public places, as well as the concept of self-respect. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in school assemblies.Other titles in the Values series: Taking Responsibility and Learning About Honesty

Pat Jacobs

Pat Jacobs has written more than 50 non-fiction, reference and activity books for children on subjects ranging from dinosaurs to the future of space exploration. She has lived in Paris and Germany, and has translated several children's books from German into English. Pat has two grown-up children and lives with her husband in rural Suffolk.

September 2012

An interview with Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen, the award-winning author/illustrator - known to his millions of readers world-wide as the creator of Kipper, Lullabyhullaballoo, The Blue Balloon, Penguin Small and of course Wibbly Pig – has two brand new Wibbly Pig books publishing in September: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons and Oh no Wibbly Pig, not a rabbit!. Here he talks to Graham Marks about this, that and quite a lot more...

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen, the award-winning author/illustrator - known to his millions of readers world-wide as the creator of Kipper, Lullabyhullaballoo, The Blue Balloon, Penguin Small and of course Wibbly Pig – has two brand new Wibbly Pig books publishing in September: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons and Oh no Wibbly Pig, not a rabbit!. Here he talks to Graham Marks about this, that and quite a lot more...

Ben Hubbard

Ben Hubbard began his writing career at a what's-on newspaper in the 1990s, interviewing bands, actors and artists in his native Wellington, New Zealand. He later joined the fast-paced world of daily newspaper journalism before packing up shop and moving to England. Here, Ben tied a number of new strings to his bow: magazine editor, book editor, and finally, author. Today, Ben writes a mix of non-fiction for all ages - preschoolers through to adults. He has penned titles on an eclectic subject range: from space exploration, samurai warriors and medieval castles; to pop music, pets, tornadoes and rugby skills.

Giles Andreae

Giles Andreae is the author of many top-selling, award-winning picture books. These include Rumble in the Jungle, Commotion in the Ocean and I Love My Mummy. However, it is for the international bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance that he is best known. Giles is also the creator of Purple Ronnie, Britain's favourite stickman, and of the artist/philosopher, Edward Monkton. These two ranges of greetings cards, books and merchandise have made Giles the country's top-selling living poet. Giles lives with his wife, Victoria, a children's clothes designer, and their four young children by the river in Oxfordshire.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

James Campbell

James Campbell is a playwright, a comedian, a storyteller and he does comedy workshops. He has been described as ‘the only stand-up comedian for children in the known universe’. Last but not least, he’s also an author, of books. Here he talks to Graham Marks about his latest book Boyface and the Tartan Badger.

Pat-a-Cake

Pat-a-Cake takes you and your child on a magical journey. From sharing the very first baby book to watching your little one read all by themselves. The adventure begins here . . .