Related to: 'Annabel Pitcher'

Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Orchard Books

Seven Trees of Stone

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

The third and final chapter in Leo Hunt's epic supernatural series. It's time for Luke to pay his debt to the devil ...The first book, Thirteen Days of Midnight, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2016 and longlisted for the Branford Boase Award.Luke Manchett is coming to terms with his new life. The life where his girlfriend is a witch, he's a necromancer, and he owes a life debt to the devil. But that's just the start. An invasion is coming - led by a spirit even worse than the devil himself. And it's heading straight for Luke ...

Orion Children's Books

Saint Death

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick
Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

Orion Children's Books

Silence is Goldfish

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher

The third YA novel from the bestselling and prize-winning author of MY SISTER LIVES ON THE MANTELPIECE and KETCHUP CLOUDS, in which Tessie-T discovers she's a Pluto and her parents wanted a Mercury or Venus, at least.My name is Tess Turner - at least, that's what I've always been told.I have a voice but it isn't mine. It used to say things so I'd fit in, to please my parents, to please my teachers. It used to tell the universe I was something I wasn't. It lied.It never occurred to me that everyone else was lying too. But the words that really hurt weren't the lies: it was six hundred and seventeen words of truth that turned my world upside down.Words scare me, the lies and the truth, so I decided to stop using them.I am Pluto. Silent. Inaccessible. Billions of miles away from everything I thought I knew.Tessie-T has never really felt she fitted in and after what she read that night on her father's blog she knows for certain that she never will. How she deals with her discovery makes an entirely riveting, heart-breaking story told through Tess's eyes as she tries to find her place in the world.

Orion Children's Books

Story Singer

Sheila Rance
Authors:
Sheila Rance

The land of Khandar needs silk. The moths must dance in the palace garden and Tareth must weave once again. As Maia races across the Vast with the last of the cocoons, she knows the future of the Sun City lies in her hands. But her sister, Elin, will stop at nothing to steal back what was hers and see Caspia crowned as Sun Catcher and Queen. The silk sighs its secrets and Maia realises that now, more than ever, she must find a Story Singer to sing by her side.Film rights to the trilogy have now been optioned.

Orion Children's Books

The Ghosts of Heaven

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick
Orion Children's Books

The Foreshadowing

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Orion Children's Books

Storm Chaser

Sheila Rance
Authors:
Sheila Rance

Silk whispers. Clouds gather. A storm is coming. Many years ago, a storm brought Maia to the cliffs. Now she is Sun Catcher in the land of Khandar, but when her father, Tareth, needs silk, Maia must go back to the clifftops she once fled. Danger awaits her every step of the way: assassins, thought-stealers, the Marsh Lord - all greedy for her power. And Razek, who deserted his people to follow her, must pay a high price as he tries to bend wind and rain to his will - and chase away the storms.Film rights to the trilogy have now been optioned.

Orion Children's Books

She Is Not Invisible

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick
Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Orion Children's Books

Ketchup Clouds

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Orion Children's Books

Midwinterblood

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick

What would you sacrifice for someone you've loved forever? Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award, MIDWINTERBLOOD is a dark, breathtaking and cleverly crafted paranormal love story like no other, beautifully told in seven parts and spanning ten centuries.Have you ever had the feeling that you've lived another life? Been somewhere that has felt totally familiar even though you've never been there before, or felt that you've known someone even though you are meeting them for the first time?Eric and Merle loved and lost one another, and have been searching for each other through time ever since. This novel comprises seven short stories and travels in time, from 2073 back to the days of Viking sagas. Across the different tales, the two souls appear as lovers, mother and son, brother and sister, and artist and child as they come close to finding each other before facing the ultimate sacrifice . . .

Orion Children's Books

The Double Shadow

Sally Gardner
Authors:
Sally Gardner

Arnold Ruben has created a memory machine, a utopia housed in a picture palace, where the happiest memories replay forever, a haven in which he and his precious daughter can shelter from the war-clouds gathering over 1937 Britain. But on the day of her 17th birthday Amaryllis leaves Warlock Hall and the world she has known and wakes to find herself in a desolate and disturbing place. Something has gone terribly wrong with her father's plan.Against the tense backdrop of the Second World War, Sally Gardner explores families and what binds them, fathers and daughters, past histories, passions and cruelty, love and devastation in a novel rich in character and beautifully crafted.

Orion Children's Books

The Dark Flight Down

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick

Sweeping, mesmerising gothic fantasy full of magic and intrigue, from award-winning author, Marcus Sedgwick. The action-packed and enthralling conclusion to THE BOOK OF DEAD DAYS.Welcome to a world of dark magic, lurking evil and beguiling mystery. Following their thrilling journey in THE BOOK OF DEAD DAYS, Boy and Willow are plunged into a world of gilded finery and splendour as they are held captive in the palace of the Emperor Frederick. But beneath its golden veneer lies cruelty, madness and desperation. They must face terrible danger as they confront the whirlwind furies of the Emperor and the calculating ambitions of his confidante, Maxim. What's more, they must follow a deadly trail which will lead them to the Phantom . . . The truth about Boy's identity is one among many shattering secrets as THE BOOK OF DEAD DAYS is opened for the final time.

Orion Children's Books

Revolver

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick

Sig Andersson has a choice to make - use the gun or die. An unforgettable, razor-sharp psychological thriller set in the snowy wilderness of the Arctic Circle. Recipient of a Michael L. Printz Honor 2011, shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2010 and longlisted for the GUARDIAN Children's Fiction Prize 2010. 1910. A cabin north of the Arctic Circle. Fifteen-year-old Sig Andersson is alone. Alone, except for the corpse of his father, who died earlier that day after falling through a weak spot on the ice-covered lake. His sister, Anna, and step-mother, Nadya, have gone to the local town for help.Then comes a knock at the door. It's a man, the flash of a revolver's butt at his hip, and a mean glare in his eyes. Sig has never seen him before but Wolff claims to have unfinished business with his father. As Sig gradually learns the awful truth about Wolff's connection to his father, his thoughts are drawn to a certain box hidden on a shelf in the storeroom, in which lies his father's prized possession - a revolver. As the stakes rise and Wolff begins to close in, Sig's choice is pulled into sharp focus. Should he use the gun?

Press Release

My Name is Mina on CILIP Carnegie Medal Shortlist

Hodder Children's Books are proud to announce that My Name is Mina by David Almond has been shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2012.

Press Release

Hodder Children's Books Shortlisted for RHCBA

Hodder Children’s Books are very excited to announce that Mick Inkpen’s Rollo and Ruff and the Little Fluffy Bird and David Melling’s Don’t Worry Douglas! have both been shortlisted for the 2012 Red House Children’s Book Award!

Marcus Sedgwick

Marcus Sedgwick used to work in children's publishing and before that he was a bookseller. He now happily writes full-time. His books have been shortlisted for many awards, including The GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION AWARD, the BLUE PETER BOOK AWARD, the CARNEGIE MEDAL and the EDGAR ALLAN POE AWARD. Marcus lives in Cambridge and has a teenage daughter, Alice.Find his website at www.marcussedgwick.com and follow him on Twitter @marcussedgwick

Hachette UK announces the creation of a single publishing division for children’s books

Hachette Children's Group Announcement

Tim Hely Hutchinson, CEO of Hachette UK, today announces the creation of the Hachette Children’s Group, a single publishing division comprising Hachette Children’s Books, Orion Children’s Publishing and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.