index
Our books
  • Cystic Fibrosis

    By Jillian Powell
    Authors:
    Jillian Powell
    The Explaining series looks at a range of conditions, illnesses and disabilities that affect children and adults all over the world. The books explain why they occur, how they are diagnosed, how they affect people and how they can be treated.Explaining: Cystic Fibrosis will help you understand what cystic fibrosis is and how it affects people. Case studies illustrate what is like to live with cystic fibrosis and how people with the condition manage it to live full and happy lives.
    • More
  • Cycling

    By Paul Mason
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    Looking to take up a new sport? Or just thinking about ways to keep fit and healthy? This book is a great introduction to all the important cycling skills you'll need. Full of skills tips and photos showing key techniques, you'll discover everything - from training to competing - while also finding out something about cycling stars of the past and present.
    • More
  • Cyber Crime Secrets

    By John Townsend
    Authors:
    John Townsend
    This title considers on-line crime and how it is policed and solved.
    • More
  • Customise Your Clothes

    By Anna Claybourne
    Authors:
    Anna Claybourne
    Get creative with this fabulous new craft series! Each title gives great ideas for activities that will inspire and enthuse young readers to get crafty.Express your own creativity by customising your clothes - it's green, it saves money and it's fun! This book shows how to make fabric flowers to put on a coat or hat, decorate your jeans or turn them into shorts, glam up your footwear and much more.
    • More
  • The Curse of the Pampered Poodle

    By Kate Pankhurst
    Authors:
    Kate Pankhurst
    The fourth novel from winner of the MacMillan Prize for Picture Book Illustration Kate Pankhurst. The perfect book for 7-9 yr olds who love funny stories with quirky illustrations like DIARY OF A WIMPY KID, the DORK DIARIES and CLARICE BEAN.Mariella Mystery (That's me!) - totally amazing girl detective, aged 9 and a bit. Is there really a cursed poodle terrorising the people of Puddleford? Mariella and the Mystery Girls are determined find out. A funny, fresh new take on a detective story, packed with illustrations and top tips for budding detectives - perfect for fans of Clarice Bean and Dork Diaries.
    • More
  • The Curse of the Wolf

    By Chris Mould
    Authors:
    Chris Mould
    The island of Crampton Rock has emerged from pirate battle. But something far more sinister is on the move ...What claim does the Darkling family have on Stanley Buggles' home?And do the Darkling twins really keep a two-headed snake as a pet?Originally published under the title 'The Darkling Curse'.
    • More
  • The Curse of the Poltergoose

    By Michael Lawrence
    Authors:
    Michael Lawrence
    Something's after Jiggy McCue! Something big and angry and invisible. Something which hisses and flaps and stabs his bum and generally makes his life a misery. Where did it come from? Jiggy calls in his best pals, Pete and Angie, and together the Three Musketeers - one for all and all for lunch! - set out to send the poltergoose back where it belongs.
    • More
  • The Curious Case of the Panicky Parrot

    By Tommy Donbavand, Ken McFarlane
    Authors:
    Tommy Donbavand
    Illustrated by:
    Ken McFarlane
    Written by the author of CBBC's Scream Street TV series!Crackpot detectives Pouch and Tray are called in to solve the case when Freddie the parrot disappears (he always did have the gift of the gab). Pretty soon they're on a trail leading to Don Puggoni - otherwise known as "the Dogfather"...Tommy Donbavand's Funny Shorts is a series of 4,000-word colour illustrated, chapter-based readers, which are perfect for bridging the gap between first chapter books and independent reading.Published by Franklin Watts EDGE, using off-white paper and a font recommended by the British Dyslexia Association.
    • More
  • A Curious Dolphin

    By Tom Jackson
    Authors:
    Tom Jackson
    Follow one dolphin's life cycle, from birth to finding a mate and old age. Learn about the different aspects of the biology of dolphins: how they sense the world, find their food, reproduce and communicate with each other. Sections of the text are written in first-person narrative, giving a clear understanding of the way dolphins behave and how they grow, learn, move, fight, rest and play.
    • More
  • Cupid Cakes

    By Fiona Dunbar
    Authors:
    Fiona Dunbar
    Lulu's best friend, Frenchy, wants Lulu to play cupid to her own dad and Frenchy's mum. Lulu isn't so sure, until Dad's evil ex, Varaminta, starts lurking about. But when Lulu coops up the Cupid Cakes recipe, disaster strikes...
    • More
  • Cupcakes and Contests

    By Linda Chapman, Kate Hindley
    Authors:
    Linda Chapman
    Illustrated by:
    Kate Hindley
    Eleven-year-old Hannah Hallett has loved baking all her life and is endlessly coming up with amazing new ideas. Her mum's just the same - and now she's moved the whole family to the countryside so she can pursue her dream of opening her own bakery!Hannah's favourite TV programme - JUNIOR BRILLIANT BAKER - is open for auditions! Hannah knows that she'd be the perfect contestant, and she can't wait to apply with best friend Mia. But what will the girls do when only one of them gets through to the show? Will the reality of TV stardom be too much to handle? And which is more important, baking or family?
    • More
  • A Cupcake Conundrum

    By Kate Pankhurst
    Authors:
    Kate Pankhurst
    The second novel from winner of the MacMillan Prize for Picture Book Illustration Kate Pankhurst. The perfect book for 7-9 yr olds who love funny stories with quirky illustrations like DIARY OF A WIMPY KID, the DORK DIARIES and CLARICE BEAN.Mariella Mystery (That's me!) - totally amazing girl detective, aged 9 and a bit. Able to solve the most mysterious mysteries and perplexing problems, even before breakfast.Someone is trying to sabotage the Great Puddleford Bake-Off, 'Bake or Break'. It's up to Mariella and her Mystery Girls to work out who, to save the Victoria sponges and pavlovas and prevent the entire contest from turning into a veritable Cupcake Catastrophe and Kitchen Nightmare.
    • More
  • Cup Competitions

    By James Nixon
    Authors:
    James Nixon
    Find out all you ever wanted to know about the biggest tournaments in world football! Read about events such as the World Cup and the Euros, as well as club competitions, including the Champions League and the FA Cup. Discover how each competition works, the past champions and some of football's greatest stories.The Football World series takes a broad look at football on the world stage, covering players, leagues, cup competitions and the history of football. Each title includes statistics and fun facts and is perfect for football fans aged 8 and up who want to know it all.
    • More
  • The Cunning Plan

    By Caryl Hart, Alex T. Smith
    Authors:
    Caryl Hart
    Illustrated by:
    Alex T. Smith
    Foxy DuBois is on a mission to get rich quick. Only one thing stands in her way - Alphonso the Alligator! Can Foxy's hair-brained schemes make enough money to keep Alphonso fed? Or will Foxy DuBois find herself on the menu?An hilarious new series for young readers from an award-winning author-illustrator team. Alex's first fiction series - Claude - was selected for the Richard and Judy Children's Book Club and the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, and he is the World Book Day Illustrator 2014. Caryl has been shortlisted for the Red House Award and won many awards, including the Stockport Award.
    • More
  • Cultural Issues

    By Honor Head
    Authors:
    Honor Head
    This book looks at cultural issues between family and school friends including religion, diet, clothes and attitudes. It looks at family expectations and the desire to blend in with peers. It emphasises respect for cultural differences in and out of school and tolerance and an acceptance of a different way of behaving. The book includes practical advice and links to organisations that can help. The consultant is the chief executive of the Race Equality Foundation.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.
    • More
  • Cudweed's Time Machine

    By Marcus Sedgwick, Pete Williamson
    Authors:
    Marcus Sedgwick
    Illustrated by:
    Pete Williamson
    Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Cudweed comes face to face with Roman soldiers, dinosaurs and Vikings in this funny, quirky story, perfect for beginner readers, from the bestselling Raven Mysteries team, Marcus Sedgwick and Pete Williamson.
    • More
  • Cudweed's Birthday

    By Marcus Sedgwick, Pete Williamson
    Authors:
    Marcus Sedgwick
    Illustrated by:
    Pete Williamson
    Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Cudweed's birthday is coming up, and, like all small boys, he has big ideas and many lists about the presents he'd really like. Preparations for the party are in full swing at Otherhand Castle and the excitement is mounting. Sadly though for Cudweed, his parents, Lord and Lady Otherhand are definitely not keen on him adding to his collection of pets. Will he be disappointed, or will he get his heart's desire: a small but noisy monkey? And if he does get what he wants, will it be by fair means or foul?
    • More
  • Cudweed in Outer Space

    By Marcus Sedgwick, Pete Williamson
    Authors:
    Marcus Sedgwick
    Illustrated by:
    Pete Williamson
    Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Cudweed encounters aliens and a time machine in this funny, quirky story, perfect for beginner readers, from the bestselling Raven Mysteries team, award-winning and multi-award-nominated author Marcus Sedgwick and illustrator Pete Williamson. With short, accessible chapters with full-colour illustrations on every page, these stories are perfect for bridging the gap from picture books to fiction.
    • More

    Cuckoo!

    By Fiona Roberton
    Authors:
    Fiona Roberton
    • More
  • Cubism

    By Susie Brooks
    Authors:
    Susie Brooks
    Exciting and edgy, the Cubism movement changed art forever with by showing the world in a fresh, experimental and challenging new way that merged viewpoints and celebrated the geometric. Beginning in early 20th century Paris with artists Georges Braque and Pablo Picasso, the movement spread around the world, inspiring artists from Piet Mondrian to Paul Klee.An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world. For readers aged 9 and up.
    • More