index
Our books

D is for Duck!

By David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Come on an alphabet adventure with Duck in this brilliantly funny story from the bestselling creator of Hugless Douglas.Duck is a magician. Abracadabra! He can conjure up a bunny, a chicken and even the king of the jungle. But can he make a dragon disappear?David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations and unforgettable characters.'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' Daily Mail
  • More
  • The D'Evil Diaries

    By Tatum Flynn
    Authors:
    Tatum Flynn
    A hilarious, crackling, original debut about an unlucky demon, perfect for fans of Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer.Twelve-year-old Jinx is hopeless at being evil. Which is a bit of a problem when you're Lucifer's youngest son. But when Jinx runs away from Pandemonium, the walled city he's lived in all his life, he bumps into dead girl Tommy - who's been sent to Hell for accidentally feeding her nasty uncle to a circus lion - and unearths a conspiracy that could up-end the entire underworld. Cue shenanigans involving carnivorous carousel horses, death-trap-riddled libraries and hungry quicksand. Now the fate of the realm rests in the hands of its most unlikely demon and a girl who shouldn't be in Hell at all...
    • More
  • D-Structs' Rescue! storybook

    By Dinotrux
    Authors:
    Dinotrux
    The fun never ends in this storybook with the crew that's half dinosaur, half truck and all awesome! As seen on Netflix! D-Structs and Skrap-It are trapped at the bottom of a canyon, surrounded by dangerous Scraptors who are ready to do some scrapping! Their only hope for rescue is Team Dinotrux. But will Ty Rux and the gang help the T-Trux who has tried so hard to destroy them?Forged in the combustive fires of the Mechazoic Era, the mighty and resourceful Dinotrux must work together to build a better tomorrow...Dinotrux is a DreamWorks computer-animated television series for 3-7 year olds now showing on Netflix. Dinotrux © 2016 DreamWorks Animation LLC. All Rights Reserved.
    • More
  • Dad

    By Jillian Powell
    Authors:
    Jillian Powell
    Using specially commissioned photography, this series introduces the reader to common new and first experiences. The choice of titles reflect the most common types of experiences. The series uses the perspective of another child to tell the 'story' of a particular experience and explores how they feel by the event. At the end, advice will be given to help deal with difficult situations such as feeling jealous because a new baby in the family is getting everyone's attention.
    • More
  • Dad Gets the Cat

    By Sue Graves, Mike Byrne
    Authors:
    Sue Graves
    Illustrated by:
    Mike Byrne
    Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Pink 1A stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 1A (Pink) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, Dad has to keep rescuing the cat. Will she ever learn her lesson?
    • More

    Daddies Are For Wild Things

    By Catriona Hoy
    Authors:
    Catriona Hoy
    Boys love action, and this little picture book is filled with all the wild things that daddies like to do - from pillow-punching to tickling to playing pirates and walking the plank . getting wet in the mud, sitting on and rolling on the ground, and finally, daddies are good for cuddles and falling asleep. A celebration of fathers and their role.
    • More
  • Daft Jack and The Bean Stack

    By Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
    Authors:
    Laurence Anholt
    Illustrated by:
    Arthur Robins
    Daft Jack is such a silly-billy. Who else would swap a cow for some baked beans - and think it's his lucky day?
    • More

    Dagger In The Sky

    By Alan Gibbons
    Authors:
    Alan Gibbons
    The Luddites are rioting. Everywhere there is talk of rebellion. When machinery is brought to the local mill Jem knows where his loyalties lie. And soon he finds himself caught up in a conflict which might destroy him and his family for ever. An exciting story of divided loyalties, by a million-copy-selling author.
    • More
  • Daisy and Alice at the Princess Academy

    By Vivian French, Sarah Gibb
    Authors:
    Vivian French
    Illustrated by:
    Sarah Gibb
    Welcome to the Tiara Club! Join Daisy, Alice, and the other princesses from Rose Room as they learn all they need to know to become a Perfect Princess. Friendship, magic and a boarding school setting make for lots of wonderful adventures! Can Daisy learn to be brave? And will Alice get to go to the magical garden party?
    • More
  • Daisy and Alice at Silver Towers

    By Vivian French, Sarah Gibb
    Authors:
    Vivian French
    Illustrated by:
    Sarah Gibb
    Welcome to the Tiara Club! Join Daisy, Alice, and the other princesses from Silver Rose Room as they learn all they need to know to become a Perfect Princess. Friendship, magic and a boarding school setting make for lots of wonderful adventures! Princess Daisy is nervous about her first ride on a merry-go-round - but this is no ordinary ride, and Daisy might just surprise herself!When Princess Alice and her friends go on a trip to the fabulous Museum of Life, Alice dreams of wearing the famous crystal slipper...
    • More
  • Daisy Tappytoes Dares to Dance

    By Daisy Meadows
    Authors:
    Daisy Meadows
    An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.Best friends Lily and Jess are excited to be going to a musical show in Friendship Forest! But when they get there, the wicked witch Grizelda puts a curse on the place, knocking everything out of sync. Can adorable fawn Daisy Tappytoes help Friendship Forest regain its rhythm?
    • More
  • Daisy the Festival Fairy

    By Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
    Authors:
    Daisy Meadows
    Illustrated by:
    Georgie Ripper
    Daisy the Festival Fairy makes sure that every summer is full of exciting things to do. But this year, a strange breeze isin the air, and an icy snowstorm threatens to ruin all the fun plans. Can Rachel and Kirsty help stop Jack Frost before festivals everywhere are ruined?
    • More
  • Dakota Fanning

    By Clare Hibbert
    Authors:
    Clare Hibbert
    Welcome to Teen Stars! Whether you're already a fan, or just want to find out more, this series has something for everyone who's into the teen celebrity scene.
    • More

    The Dalai Lama

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    In 1937, a vision led the high lamas of Tibet to an old house in the mountains, with a turquoise roof. Here lived 2-year-old Lhamo Dhondrub, who would go on to become the 14th Dalai Lama. But how did this toddler grow into one of the world's most important religious figures? And why has he been forced into exile?The Dalai Lama looks at his extraordinary story, from his education by monks, deep in the Tibetan mountains, to how he became leader of Tibet aged just 15. The Chinese invasion of Tibet, that forced him to flee his homeland, and begin a new life and government in exile in India, is explained, as is the plight of ordinary Tibetans. The Buddhist faith, and exactly what it means to be a Buddhist, is explored, as is the role it plays in the lives of people around the world. The book also looks at the Dalai Lama's work as a teacher and a leader, and at some of the issues he campaigns for - particularly his environmental activism, and his work to promote religious cooperation and interfaith dialogue.
    • More
  • The Damned

    By David Gatward
    Authors:
    David Gatward
    Tombs. Hundreds of them. All lying in concentric rings in the greasy, cold darkness of the cavern. At their very centre, hanging from a burnt and blackened tree. a huge, cracked bell. And under that, The Gate, built from the bones of a thousand murdered souls. Lazarus knew ringing the bell would be very bad. He also knew he had no choice - he needed the kind of help only Hell could give him...  The Dead don't just want to return, they want Earth for themselves. And it's Lazarus Stone, Keeper of the Dead, who has to stop them. Trouble is, the Dead are the exact opposite of rotting, stumbling corpses. And they desire one thing only: to live again. To do that, all they need is a good supply of fresh, warm bodies...  Lazarus now knows his mum murdered him, betrayed his dad, and is about to open a portal between worlds that will bring about the end of life as we know it. Trouble is, his best mate has disappeared (again), he still hasn't rescued his dad (but he will), and the only help he has is that of an undead priest (who carries a blunderbuss) and a female angel (who drives a 4x4 and has an alcohol problem). This isn't just about saving the world, this is personal...
    • More
  • Dams and Hydropower

    By Louise Spilsbury
    Authors:
    Louise Spilsbury
    Using case studies from around the world that showcase both the positive and the negative impacts development projects can have, this title explores the consequences of different kinds of resource management within dam projects. Throughout, pros and cons of each development will be presented, in order to present both sides and provoke a debate/discussion.
    • More
  • Dance

    By Rita Storey
    Authors:
    Rita Storey
    • More
  • Dance

    If you're mad about dance, this book will help you make the most of your favourite hobby. Find out how to perfect your skills, whether you're dancing salsa, ballroom, tap or bhangra, and expand your abilities into taking part in dance shows and competitions.
    • More
  • Dance Culture: Bhangra and Bollywood

    By Anna Claybourne
    Authors:
    Anna Claybourne
    Bollywood and bhangra dances are a riot of swirling colours, glitzy costumes and high energy beats. Make sure they are on your radar! Look inside to find sensational step by step photo guides, a 5-minute interview with a leading Bollywood dance choreographer, the blog of a young dancer's experience at a reality TV dance show, plus record breaking facts and a potted history of the dances. Are you on the radar?
    • More
  • Dance Culture: Street Dance

    By Liz Gogerly
    Authors:
    Liz Gogerly
    Find out all about the buzz on the streets! Learn some cool house steps with Radar's photographic how-to's, read the star story of a famous US dance crew, and a 5-minute interview with a hip, young street dance teacher and choreographer. Learn some cool street dance lingo and read an account of a street dance jam. Find out how street dance started, from its roots in New York city to where it's at today!
    • More