index
Our books
  • Cactus Joe's Cowboy Caper

    By Sam Hay, Daron Parton
    Authors:
    Sam Hay
    Illustrated by:
    Daron Parton
    Race Ahead with Reading are fantastic colour chapter books.When giant tumbleweeds blow into town, Cactus Joe and his friend Little Bo have lots of fun playing dodgeball. But then Little Bo gets trapped in a tumbleweed and it takes off! Cactus Joe knows he needs help to rescue Little Bo - so he asks his Uncle for some magic cactus juice - the problem is you never know quite what it's going to do!Race Ahead with Reading is the perfect series to introduce children to longer books, help them gain a sense of achievement at completing each bite-size chapter and really take the driving seat with their reading! A brilliant way to boost confidence of 6-8 year old readers.
    • More
  • Cadbury

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    The books cover how the business came into being, the entrepreneurs behind the success of each brand, the key facts about the industry and their impact in the global market.
    • More
  • Caddy Ever After

    By Hilary Mckay
    Authors:
    Hilary Mckay
    Meet Saffy, Indigo, Rose and Caddy Casson. This colourful and hilarious series will make you wish you were part of the family!It's Valentine's Day and everything's changing. Indigo's in love and wants to do something special to win over Sarah, Saffy has a strange new boyfriend who teaches her all about the stars and Caddy has fallen in love and is getting married . . . but not to Michael. With a wedding to plan, promises to uphold and hearts to protect, everything's a little crazier than usual in the Casson household. 'Warm witty and wise' Sunday TelegraphThe first book in the series, Saffy's Angel, won the Whitbread Children's Book Award, and book 3, Permanent Rose, was shortlisted for the same award, celebrating McKay's talent for conveying the anarchic bedlam of family life.
    • More
  • Caddy's World

    By Hilary Mckay
    Authors:
    Hilary Mckay
    Meet Saffy, Indigo, Rose and Caddy Casson. This colourful and hilarious series will make you wish you were part of the family!Best friends, boyfriends, problem parents, pink hair. Brothers, sisters, fireworks and unexpected babies. Welcome to Caddy's World.Travel back to when Caddy was a young girl and Rose had not been born, in this moving and comical prequel to the award-winning Saffy's Angel.'Full of warmth, vitality and irrepressible good humour' GuardianSaffy's Angel won the Whitbread Children's Book Award, and book 3, Permanent Rose, was shortlisted for the same award, celebrating McKay's talent for conveying the anarchic bedlam of family life.
    • More

    Cadoc

    By Geoffrey Malone
    Authors:
    Geoffrey Malone
    Marla the badger lives peacefully in a sett with Cadoc, her mate, and their three young cubs. They are unaware of the threat approaching - badger baiters are operating in the area, hunting for badgers to sell and use in the cruel 'sport' of badger baiting. Meanwhile the twins Tom and Sarah, living on a nearby farm, have accidentally stumbled on evidence of badger baiting in their neighbourhood. They and their dad become increasingly involved in trying to prove this illegal activity to the police. When the law fails to step in, Tom and Sarah have to act alone to save Marla and her family from a terrible fate ...
    • More
  • Cafe At The Edge Of The Moon

    By Francesca Simon, Pete Williamson
    Authors:
    Francesca Simon
    Illustrated by:
    Pete Williamson
    Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Janey is fed up of being told what to do by her mum and dad. So she jets off to the cafe at the edge of the moon where she can do anything she likes - eating pudding first, splashing in puddles and racing a dinosaur.
    • More
  • Caitlin the Ice Bear Fairy

    By Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
    Authors:
    Daisy Meadows
    Illustrated by:
    Georgie Ripper
    The Magical Animal Fairies look after seven young Magical Animals, and train them to use their powers wisely, for the good of Fairyland and the human world. But the animals have been stolen! In this final book in the series, Caitlin needs the girls' help to rescue her beloved Ice Bear from the human world...
    • More

    The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

    By Maudie Smith
    Authors:
    Maudie Smith
    Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed. But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help. Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.
    • More
  • Call An Ambulance

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    Who takes care of us in an emergency? Read this book to find out all about the very important work carried out by our ambulance service, and to learn what you should do in a medical emergency.
    • More
  • Call the Fire and Rescue Service

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    Who takes care of us in an emergency? Read this book to find out all about the very important work carried out by our fire and rescue services, and to learn what you should do if you see a fire.
    • More
  • Call to War

    By Adam Blade
    Authors:
    Adam Blade
    DescriptionTanner, his Beast Firepos, and his companions are on a perilous mission to save the land of Avantia from the evil warlord Derthsin. They must locate the pieces of a powerful artifact called the Mask of Death, before it is too late.Avantia now burns in the fires of war. Derthsin's evil armies swarm the land, and Tanner and the Chosen Riders are all that stand in their way. Will they encounter more Beasts on their treacherous journey to the Southern Caves? And will the dark forces that seek control of Tanner prevent the Riders from fulfilling their destiny...?
    • More
  • Campaigners

    By Debbie Foy
    Authors:
    Debbie Foy
    This title looks at key campaigning figures from black history such as Rosa Lee Parks, Martin Luther King, Desmond Tutu and Oprah Winfrey. Biographies of each individual detail their childhood, struggles and achievements, looking at the legacy they have left behind today.
    • More
  • Camping is Not Very Ooh La La!

    By Poppy Harper, Clare Elsom
    Authors:
    Poppy Harper
    Illustrated by:
    Clare Elsom
    Maisie's family are heading to France for the best camping trip ever! There'll be croissants and baguettes and . . . snails? But when they arrive, France feels an awful lot like England. And camping seems like an awful lot of bother. Especially when you've got FIVE stinky brothers who are talented in the art of being really extremely ANNOYING and your best-friend-who-is-almost-as-good-as-a-sister is in a whole other country.But then Maisie meets Mademoiselle Claudette and things start looking up. Perhaps camping might be OOH LA LA after all?
    • More
  • Camping and Hiking

    By Neil Champion
    Authors:
    Neil Champion
    This book is a perfect introduction to camping and hiking. It is packed with information on planning your trip, including tips on how to get started, the equipment you will need, choosing a campsite, cooking and first aid. Filled with plenty of action-packed photographs, it will guide you through your outdoor adventures and show you how to progress to the next level.Althouh each of these sports require a variety of different skills and techniques, they all have the love of outdoors in common. They are also accessible to all - from young to old and able-bodied to disabled. The series is inspirational for those readers who want to explore the sports and it also offers information on how to get started and how to participate in the sport, including step-by-step instructions for the key techniques.
    • More

    Can I Tell You a Secret?

    By Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
    Authors:
    Anna Kang
    Illustrated by:
    Chris Weyant
    A charming tale about being brave and sharing your worries, from the author and illustrator of You Are (Not) Small and That's (Not) Mine!Pssst! Monty the frog has a secret. Promise not to tell? He can't swim! And he's terrified of water! What is he going to do?Luckily, when he's persuaded to tell his parents, they are very understanding. In fact, his dad has a secret of his own...The simple text from Anna Kang and bold illustrations from the New Yorker cartoonist Christopher Weyant tell an original and funny story about sharing your worries and facing your fears. Visit Christopher at www.christopherweyant.com. Praise for You are (Not) Small: "Charming characters, a clever plot and a quiet message tucked inside a humorous tale." Kirkus Reviews
    • More
  • Can The Earth Cope: Waste and Recycling

    By Louise Spilsbury
    Authors:
    Louise Spilsbury
    How people use the Earth's natural resources affects the environment and our dependency on it. This book looks at the key issues surrounding waste and recycling that affect the environment, both on a local and global scale and aims to find sustainable solutions to the current problems. With fact boxes, evidence boxes and case studies to substantiate the text, this is a complete resource for any classroom.
    • More

    Can You Catch a Mermaid?

    By Jane Ray
    Authors:
    Jane Ray
    Have you ever seen a mermaid? Eliza has! And this is the story of how she and a little mermaid became the most inseperable of friends . . . A perfectly bewitching picture book filled with myth and mystery from the award-winning Jane Ray.
    • More
  • Candy Cove Pirates

    By Rosie Banks
    Authors:
    Rosie Banks
    Ellie, Summer and Jasmine have been invited to the launch of Mrs Sherbet's sweet shop in the Secret Kingdom! This year the shop is in the form of a beautiful ship that will tour the kingdom, taking sweet treats to everyone!But Queen Malice and her Storm Sprites - calling themselves the Candy Cove pirates - are determined to seize control of the ship and make sure it can't replenish the magic supplies in the kingdom. Once again, it's up to the girls to stop her!
    • More

    The Canterville Ghost and Other Stories

    By Oscar Wilde, Sam Usher
    Authors:
    Oscar Wilde
    Illustrated by:
    Sam Usher
    Sir Simon de Canterville has been haunting the residents of Canterville Chase for 300 years - and then the Otis family moves in. No matter how hard he tries, they won't be spooked, and soon the Otis family turns their attention to getting rid of him... This collection contains the original text of all of Oscar Wilde's stories for children: The Canterville GhostThe Selfish GiantThe Nightingale and the RoseThe Devoted FriendThe Happy PrinceThe Remarkable RocketThe Young King
    • More

    Captain Scott's Race to the Pole

    By Peter Gouldthorpe, Peter Gouldthorpe
    Authors:
    Peter Gouldthorpe
    Illustrated by:
    Peter Gouldthorpe
    In the age of discovery, Antarctica remained an unknown quantity amongst the world's scientists and explorers. Robert Falcon Scott was amongst the pioneers who penetrated the ice and cruel weather. This is the story of his journey from England culminating in the ill-fated final march to his goal, only to be beaten by the Norwegians and to suffer terrible loss - and death.
    • More