index
Our books
  • The Ugly Duckling: El Patito Feo

    By Anne Walter, Marjorie Dumortier
    Authors:
    Anne Walter
    Illustrated by:
    Marjorie Dumortier
    An accessible introduction to modern languages, these billingual readers Introduce the best loved fairy tales with parallel text in English and French or English and Spanish.
    • More
  • The Ugly Duckling: Le Vilain Petit Canard

    By Anne Walter, Marjorie Dumortier
    Authors:
    Anne Walter
    Illustrated by:
    Marjorie Dumortier
    An accessible introduction to modern languages, these billingual readers Introduce the best loved fairy tales with parallel text in English and French or English and Spanish.
    • More
  • The Unicorn's Foal

    By Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
    Authors:
    Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott
    Illustrated by:
    Erica-Jane Waters
    The fourth in a magical, exciting adventure by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony: a bumper Christmas special edition, with extra quizzes and activities. What if you had a special bracelet that let you become invisible whenever you wanted? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! A unicorn foal is lost in the park! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - to help him. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.
    • More
  • The Ultimate Guide: All the Fun, Facts and Magic of My Little Pony

    Welcome to THE definitive official guide to the magical world of Equestria! Get the lowdown on all your favourite ponies, experience daily life in Ponyville, tour Canterlot and beyond, discover key myths and legends, and read about the most exciting adventures of Twilight Sparkle and her friends. With fun facts, best-kept secrets, montages, quotes and MUCH more, this is the only companion that you'll ever need to this amazing world of magic, friendship and fun.Features a sparkling holographic foil cover. A must-have gift for My Little Pony fans of any age!
    • More
  • Understanding Transgender

    By Honor Head
    Authors:
    Honor Head
    A sensitive book that explores the issue of people who feel they do belong to the gender they were born with. It looks at what this means for the person and their family, issues around school policy, bullying and discrimination and explores the journey of transitioning.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.
    • More
  • Understanding Sexuality

    By Honor Head
    Authors:
    Honor Head
    This book looks at the issues around sexuality - what it means, being lesbian, gay or bisexual, coming out, homophobia and accepting yourself and being happy in your own skin. It includes talking and debating points and is perfect for someone starting to question their sexuality or for PSHE lessons.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.
    • More

    Unplugged

    By Steve Antony
    Authors:
    Steve Antony
    A delightful picture book about the wonders of all the fun you can have inside AND outside, by the award-winning Steve Antony, author of the bestselling Please Mr Panda.BLIP spends all day plugged into her computer, playing games and having fun. But when there is a POWER CUT, Blip goes down the stairs and out the front door, where she discovers playing games and having fun . . . OUTSIDE. Isn't it wonderful to be UNPLUGGED? By Steve Antony, winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize, nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize.
    • More

    The Unofficial Guide to the World Cup

    By Paul Mason
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    Whether you're a first-time fan or you've been watching for years, this books is a mine of fascinating facts, interesting insights and tremendous trivia into the world of the football World Cup. It explores the tournament's history, its biggest successes, controversies and flops and looks forward to the 2018 World Cup in Russia. The World Cups' top teams and players are also profiled.
    • More
  • The USA

    By Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt
    Authors:
    Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt
    Journey Through the USA offers a look at the landscape, culture and people of the United States, from the exciting buzz of New York, along the Appalachian Trail through many of the states along it's route, via Chicago and the Great Lakes, through the southern states and cowboy country to the sunshine and surf of California and Hawaii.Journey Through offers young readers the chance to take a trip through exciting world countries using different modes of transport, from train and car to bicycle and private jet. Along the way the traveller visits highlighted places both well known and less known, and learns lots of exciting facts about history, language, culture and much more.
    • More
  • Ultimate Creative Colouring

    Get creative with the ultimate My Little Pony colouring book - complete with a giant pull-out poster to colour in and keep!Let your imagination guide you, as you explore the enchanted world of My Little Pony. With a shimmering turquoise foiled cover and 64 pages of intricate pony inspired patterns inside, all you have to do is add a touch of colour to bring Equestria to life. This beautiful book also includes a fold-out, pull-out poster - so you can bring some My Little Pony magic to your home!Continue your creative adventure with: the original My Little Pony Creative Colouring Book - over 60,000 copies sold to date!And My Little Pony Magical Creative Colouring - featuring all new patterns
    • More
  • The UK

    By Anita Ganeri
    Authors:
    Anita Ganeri
    Journey Through the UK offers a look at the landscape, culture and people of the United Kingdom by travelling through each of the four countries that make up the UK - England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. You'll visit the exciting capital city of London, walk along the costal path of Wales, climb the Giant's Causeway and search for the Loch Ness Monster along the way.Journey Through offers young readers the chance to take a trip through exciting world countries using different modes of transport, from train and car to bicycle and private jet. Along the way the traveller visits highlighted places both well known and less known, and learns lots of exciting facts about history, language, culture and much more. Ideal for readers age 9 and up.
    • More

    Undone

    By Cat Clarke
    Authors:
    Cat Clarke
    Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Jem Halliday is in love with her gay best friend. Not exactly ideal, but she's learning to live with it. Then the unspeakable happens. Kai is outed online ... and he kills himself. Jem knows nothing she can say or do will bring him back. But she wants to know who was responsible. And she wants to take them down. A searing story of love, revenge and betrayal from a bestselling author.
    • More

    Ugly (younger readers)

    By Robert Hoge
    Authors:
    Robert Hoge
    • More
  • The Ugly Duckling

    By Jackie Walter, Sarah Horne
    Authors:
    Jackie Walter
    Illustrated by:
    Sarah Horne
    When the biggest egg finally hatches, Mother Duck is in for a surprise. This duckling does not look like the others, but she loves him anyway. The large, ugly duckling is teased until he runs away and spends winter all alone, But then the spring arrives and he can hardly recognise himself... A beautifully illustrated retelling of this favourite traditional story. Must Know Stories includes favourite tales, celebrating the diversity of our literary heritage. Level 2 stories are told in chapters in under 1000 words.
    • More
  • Unicorn

    By Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
    Authors:
    Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
    YOU are the Blue Unicorn, and you live in the Rainbow Isle. Evil Empress, Yin Yang, wants to steal all the colour from you world, and she's captured your friend the Red Unicorn. You have to find a way to stop her wicked plans!This is a title in the interactive I HERO Immortals series - where the reader is the hero! In each adventure the reader makes a choice that affects how the story progresses - it really is 'decide-your-own-destiny!Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore (more commonly known as the 2Steves), and illustrated by comics legend, Jack Lawrence.
    • More
  • The Ultimate Story Collection

    By Adam Blade
    Authors:
    Adam Blade
    A bumper collection of six full colour Beast Quest stories in one book. Perfect for all fans of Beast Quest - and new ones!
    • More
  • Unusual Wonders

    By Clive Gifford
    Authors:
    Clive Gifford
    • More
  • The Universe, Black Holes and the Big Bang

    By Clive Gifford
    Authors:
    Clive Gifford
    Travel back in time to the Big Bang, and learn about the formation of the universe. Explore the baffling world ofblack holes, and find out how scientists are searching for alien life. Discover the strangest sights of the universe,from quirky quasars to clouds that smell like raspberries. Get answers to questions such as:* What happened after the Big Bang?* How is the universe like a chocolate chip cookie?* Why can't we see black holes?* What is dark matter?* How might the universe end?This book is jam packed with NASA photography, key terms explained simply and fascinating, number-based space facts and figures for all aspiring astronaughts and science whizz kids.
    • More
  • Ursus the Clawed Roar

    By Adam Blade
    Authors:
    Adam Blade
    Evil Wizard Malvel has stolen the treasured Warlock's Staff! If he reaches the Eternal Flame in the mysterious realm of Seraph, he will rule all the kingdoms. Tom must stop him, but first he must defeat a giant Beast: Ursus the Clawed Roar!
    • More
  • Undercover Operations

    By Sarah Levete
    Authors:
    Sarah Levete
    Find out about the world of the spies and surveillance units in Undercover Operations. The book explores tactics and techniques for spying and what is like to live an undercover life. Then, discover if you've got what it takes to be a spy.Who are the people who defend their countries and what are the skills they employ to do so? Elite Defenders explores the challenging and exciting world of the armed forces, examining how members carry out their jobs, the sacrifices they make and skills they utilise to defend their countries. The series invites children to answer 'Take the Test!' questions at the end of each chapter, to find out how much they have learnt. A high-interest and interactive series for children aged 9+.
    • More