index
Our books
  • Islam

    By Izzi Howell
    Authors:
    Izzi Howell
    Explore the religion of islam, from what people believe, to a Muslim life, special days and festivals. For children progressing through Book Bands, it is suitable for reading at level 9: Gold.The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.
    • More

    In the Dark, In the Woods

    By Eliza Wass
    Authors:
    Eliza Wass
    'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILLAn unforgettable thriller from an incredible new author, for fans of We Were Liars and Half Bad, reminiscent of The Virgin Suicides.Father wants sixteen-year-old Castley and her five siblings to hide from the world. Living in a falling-down house deep in the woods, he wants to bury their secrets where noone will ever find them. Father says they are destined to be together forever. In heaven. Father says the sooner they get there, the better. But Castley wants to be normal. She wants to kiss boys and wear jean shorts. CASTLEY WANTS TO LIVE. 'A breathtaking, gut-wrenching coming-of-age saga from all sides. Readers will be swept into the Cresswells' claustrophobic world and ache for them long after it's set aflame' - Kirkus'A haunting family portrait centered on the power of belief' - Publishers Weekly
    • More
  • Improving Strength and Power

    By Paul Mason
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    Whether you are a weight lifter, gymnast, kayaker or javelin thrower, strength and power are crucial to you performance and technique. This book provides the science, training advice and exercises to help you improve at your sport.· Understand the difference between strength and power and how important they each are for your performance.· Test your core stability, the most important form of strength for all sportspeople, and improve it by following step-by-step excercises.· Learn how to apply biomechanics to your training in order to use your strength and power most effectively.· Read about powerful sportspeople, such as Chris Hoy, Matthias Steiner and Stepanka Hilgertova.Combining sports science, nutrition, training programmes and exercises, the Training for Sport series of books is a complete guide to raising performance for children aged 9+.
    • More
  • Improving Flexibility

    By Paul Mason
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    It's not just gymnasts and ballet dancers who need to be flexible. Sports such as rock climbing, Judo, diving and cricket rely on flexibility to be performed well and reduce the risk of injury. This book explains the science behind flexibility, provides exercises and explains the effects diet has on muscle performance.· Test your flexibility and follow professional step-by-step exercises to improve it.· Discover how your muscles, joints, ligaments and tendons work together to enable the body to be flexible.· Understand how to stretch to avoid injury and what the difference is between static, dynamic and assisted stretching.· Read about sportspeople such as Tom Daly, Lynn Hill and Rafael Nadal, whose flexibility has helped them to excel.Combining sports science, nutrition, training programmes and exercises, the Training for Sport series of books is a complete guide to raising performance for children aged 9+.
    • More
  • I Belong to The Christian Faith

    By Katie Dicker
    Authors:
    Katie Dicker
    This title introduces children to the religion of Christianity. It talks about going to church, who Jesus was, communion, Sunday school, praying and Christian festivals.
    • More
  • I Belong to The Muslim Faith

    By Katie Dicker
    Authors:
    Katie Dicker
    This book provides an inside introduction to the Muslim religion. Learn about food and fasting, mosques and how Muslims pray, who Muhammad was and Muslim festivals.
    • More
  • I'm Good At Sport, What Job Can I Get?

    By Richard Spilsbury
    Authors:
    Richard Spilsbury
    The different careers that lead on from an interest or aptitude in a particular subject are explored. Many occupations are examined looking at what the job involves and the special skills that are needed.
    • More
  • Id Ul Adha

    By Alice Green
    Authors:
    Alice Green
    An ideal introduction to the celebration of festivals for children aged 4-7 in Foundation Stage and KS1 classes. This book describes the story behind the festival and how people prepare for Id Ul Adha. It shows how people around the world celebrate it and the special foods they eat. Attractively designed, its simple text and wonderful full-colour photos make this an essential resource in every Early Years setting. 'Did You Know?' boxes highlight interesting and unusual facts to give further points for children and adults to discuss.
    • More
  • I Am Muslim

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    I am Muslim follows Aaliyah as she talks about her faith. She tells us about her: family, mosque, beliefs, worship, books, clothes and food.
    • More
  • In-Line Skating

    By Rob Bowden
    Authors:
    Rob Bowden
    In-line skating is one of the ultimate extreme sports. It really has no limits! Whether you are an experienced skater or just starting out this book will help you to find out more about the world of in-line skating. The book is full of spectacular photographs, hints to improve your in-line skating skills and invaluable advice -- from stretching to skate parks.'No limits' is an action-packed series on extreme sports. The stimulating text and photographs will inspire any action sports enthusiasts.
    • More
  • I Am Christian

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    I am Christian follows William as he talks about his faith. He tells us about his: worship, beliefs, food, family, books, priest and school.
    • More
  • I Am Jewish

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    I am Jewish follows Daniel as he talks about his faith. He tells us about his: school, family, books, clothes, beliefs, worship and food.
    • More
  • I Am Hindu

    By Cath Senker
    Authors:
    Cath Senker
    I am Hindu follows Jasmine as she talks about her faith. She tells us about her: beliefs, books, worship, mandir, family, clothes and food.
    • More
  • Islam

    By Honor Head
    Authors:
    Honor Head
    This title looks at mosques s and what they mean to those who follow Islam. The religious services that people participate in, signs and symbols important to Muslims, festivals and holy places are also looked at in detail.
    • More
  • I Am A Jew

    By Clive A Lawton
    Authors:
    Clive A Lawton
    • More
    1