index
Our books

The Life and Death Parade

By Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass
Strange rituals, hauntings and the occult collide in this darkly memorable YA thriller. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt.One year ago, Kitty's boyfriend Nikki Bramley visited a psychic who told him he had no future. Now, he's dead. With the Bramleys grieving inside their rural English home, Kitty sets out to find the psychic who read Nikki his fate.Instead she finds Roan, an enigmatic medium claiming he can speak to the dead. He belongs to the Life and Death Parade - a group that explore the thin veil between this world and the next. Kitty is convinced he's a charlatan - but the 'magic' seems to work. The darkness is lifting.But there are things Kitty can't ignore - evidence of strange rituals, shadows of the boy she lost, and Kitty begins to suspect that this boy had something to do with Nikki's death. More, that he may have the very real power to bring him back ...'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILL on In the Dark, In the Woods
  • More

Living on the Veg

By Clive Gifford, Jacqueline Meldrum
Authors:
Clive Gifford, Jacqueline Meldrum
The perfect kids' guide to being a vegetarian.Are you thinking about giving up meat, but don't know how to go about it? With both practical information and mouth-watering recipes, this book is the perfect place for young people to start. It outlines why people give up meat and how you can change your diet and live healthily. It examines the different terms: vegetarian/pescatarian/vegan etc, has a very practical Q&A section and explains how to read and understand food labels.The book takes you through the costs and benefits of this change in lifestyle. It includes a section on food groups and information about how you can adapt your diet to get all the right nutrients (such as iron). The book goes on to give tasty and easy-to-follow recipes for the whole family, specially created by vegetarian blogger Jacqueline Meldrum of www.tinnedtomatoes.com. The recipes include dairy but not fish or meat.
  • More

Loos Save Lives

By Seren Boyd
Authors:
Seren Boyd
Who knew toilets were so interesting - and so important?!You probably use a toilet several times every day. Flush, turn on the tap, wash your hands - then forget all about it. But did you know that 2.4 billion people across the world don't have somewhere they can go to the toilet safely, and over 1 billion people don't have access to any kind of sanitation or clean water at all? Poor sanitation and restricted access to a toilet is more serious than you might think. It prevents children (and especially girls) from going to school, it means communities may have to walk miles to access safe drinking water and it kills. Poor sanitation means poor hygiene, which means illnesses and viruses are more easily spread. Going to the toilet out in the open makes people vulnerable and puts them in danger. Loos Save Lives unravels the facts about poor sanitation across Africa, Asia and parts of South America. It also highlights how the work of one charity - Toilet Twinning - is working hard to help communities build toilets and access safe drinking water, and educate people about the importance of washing your hands. The work they do transforms lives and you'll read many real-life case studies of some of the projects they have helped to build.All in all this is a fascinating (and in equal measures lighthearted and serious) look at a very real problem facing a huge number of people. Make reading this brilliant book your number one priority - or at least your number two!Loos Save Lives is a great, thought-provoking read for readers aged 9 and up. Perfect for cross-curriucular studies and for inspiring children to engage with charities and fundraising
  • More
  • Lion's in a Flap - A book about feeling worried

    By Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
    Authors:
    Sue Graves
    Illustrated by:
    Trevor Dunton
    • More

    The Lost and the Found

    By Cat Clarke
    Authors:
    Cat Clarke
    Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.SHE WAS LOST... When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Faith's childhood was dominated by Laurel's disappearance - from her parents' broken marriage and the constant media attention to dealing with so-called friends who only ever wanted to talk about her sister. NOW SHE IS FOUND... Thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the garden of the Logans' old house, disorientated and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Laurel is home at last, safe and sound. Faith always dreamed of getting her sister back, without ever truly believing it would happen. But a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated and paranoid, and before long she begins to wonder if everything that's lost can be found again...
    • More

    The Lion Inside Board Book

    By Rachel Bright, Jim Field
    Authors:
    Rachel Bright
    Illustrated by:
    Jim Field
    From the Roald-Dahl-Funny-Prize winning artist behind smash hit, Oi Frog! comes a feelgood story about one little mouse trying to make himself heard and discovering along the way that even the smallest of us has the heart of a lion.The Lion Inside has taken the bookshops by storm, and, with bright, bold artwork and rhyming text from Rachel Bright, this chunky board book edition is perfect for even the littlest of fans.This stylish book from two contemporary stars really is something to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.'A heartfelt message, delightfully conveyed' - Parents in Touch
    • More

    Let Me Be a Girl

    By Avery Jackson
    Authors:
    Avery Jackson
    The inspirational story, told in her own words, of 7-year-old Avery Jackson, who was assigned male at birth, but has now transitioned into a young girl, tells the story of how she realised she was a girl and how she helped her parents and friends to understand her transition. Her heart-warming story covers themes of friendship, bullying and self-esteem. Whether you're into dolls, ninja warriors or teddy bears, climbing trees, taekwondo or ballet, this book lets readers know that it's okay to be who you want to be. Avery's words are incredibly wise and articulate for such a young person and she will undoubtably provide support and inspiration to other families in similar situations.
    • More
  • Life Support: The Heart and Lungs

    By Thomas Canavan
    Authors:
    Thomas Canavan
    Your heart and lungs are some of your most amazing organs and I bet you hardly ever thing about them. Working together to circulate blood, oxygen and nutrients around your body, these hardworking pumping and breathing machines are completely fascinating. Find out what makes them special and how they work to keep you alive.From the hairs on your head to the tips of your toes and everything in between. The body is broken down into different areas according to the jobs they do. One book looks at your vital organs, such as the heart or liver, while another looks at the amazing job your brain does and how it relates to your nervous system and helps you make sense of the world around you. Take a fascinating trip through the science behind your own body. Never mind outer space, it's all about your inner space!
    • More
  • Looking Good

    By Stephanie Turnbull
    Authors:
    Stephanie Turnbull
    A fun and funky magazine-style book that is packed full of tips on how to make the most of what you've got! Style secrets and tips on achieving great hair, skin and nails are all included along with how to make the most of your wardrobe - all without spending a fortune. Looking Good is full of tips on customising your clothes, making accessories and above all being confident in your own skin.Smart Girls is a series aimed at girls aged 9+ as they grow from tweens to teens. Full of inspirational ideas, there's something in these books for any girl.
    • More
  • Looking After Me: Keeping Clean

    By Liz Gogerly, Mike Gordon
    Authors:
    Liz Gogerly
    Illustrated by:
    Mike Gordon
    Illustrated in Mike Gordon's inimitable and entertaining style, this series offers an introduction to key health issues. The topic of hygiene and keeping clean is introduced through an engaging narrative and is complemented by charming and humorous illustrations that bring the story to life. Notes for adults and lists of further resources make these books ideal for the key stage one classroom use.
    • More

    Leave Me Alone

    By Kes Gray, Lee Wildish
    Authors:
    Kes Gray
    Illustrated by:
    Lee Wildish
    From the bestselling team behind Mum and Dad Glue comes an important story to help raise awareness at home or at school about stopping bullying.A little boy is feeling sad because every day he has to face a bully. But this story's little boy also has friends. A frog, a cat, a rabbit, a cow, and other animal friends insist on helping him, even after he tells them: "There's nothing you can do for me/ There's nothing you can say." Fortunately, he is mistaken, because the next time the bully approaches, they all join with him and shout, "LEAVE HIM ALONE!" And it works! The bully turns around and goes away.The gently clever use of rhyming verse gives a difficult subject a wonderfully light touch. A must-have for any child who has to deal with bullies.'An empowering story.' - Books for Keeps
    • More

    The Lost Boys' Appreciation Society

    By Alan Gibbons
    Authors:
    Alan Gibbons
    Gary was flicking beany gunge on my flawless new Ellesse top - I was yelling at him. What a pillock! Mum was dead, well - fatally injured - she died later in hospital. We just didn't know it at the time.Gary, John and Dad, too, are lost without Mum. Gary is only 14 and goes seriously off the rails, getting involved with local thugs and teetering on the brink of being on the wrong side of the law. John is wrestling with the GCSEs and his first romance - the gorgeous Olivia Bellman. But he's carrying the burden of trying to cope with Gary and Dad at the same time. And they're all living with the memories of someone they can never replace. Alan Gibbons has an extraordinary knack of knowing just what it's like to be a teenager. He writes here with compassion - and flashes of humour - about surviving against all the odds.
    • More

    Love, Stargirl

    By Jerry Spinelli
    Authors:
    Jerry Spinelli
    By award-winning author Jerry Spinelli, the story of Stargirl continues...In the form of letters to Leo, written over the course of a year, this moving and lyrical book charts Stargirl's feelings as she comes to terms with the loss of Leo and starts to make new friends.
    • More
  • Leapfrog: Sam's Spots

    By Caryn Jenner, Jonathan Langley
    Authors:
    Caryn Jenner
    Illustrated by:
    Jonathan Langley
    Sam is so disappointed when he gets chicken pox and has to cancel his birthday party. But perhaps spotty birthdays can be fun after all ...
    • More

    Love Is For Ever

    By Jean Ure
    Authors:
    Jean Ure
    Tracey and Paul are in love and, they believe, together for ever. But they are very young and no one else takes their relationship seriously. So when Paul gets into trouble with the police, Tracey is given the chance to prove her love - but will she still feel the same way about him...?
    • More
    1