index
Our books
  • The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

    By Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
    Authors:
    Anita Naik
    Illustrated by:
    Sarah Horne
    A friendly, reassuring and positive guide for girls as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from periods and breast development to body hair and personal hygiene, puberty and parenting expert Anita Naik addresses any worries that girls may have relating to what is 'normal'. She reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise, and information on how puberty affects boys.Topics covered:What is puberty?Your puberty timelineBreasts and brasSame age, different stageSkin changesSweat, smells and personal hygieneHair in new placesDown thereWhat are periods?The practical side of periodsCoping with periodsSex explainedMaking babiesNew feelingsManaging your moodsHealthy eatingThe power of exerciseSelf-esteem and body imagePrivacy and your bodyPuberty for boysBoys have worries, too
    • More
  • Grandad's Medal

    By Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
    Authors:
    Phil Earle
    Illustrated by:
    Sarah Horne
    Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too.But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . . A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.
    • More
  • Giraffe Is Left Out - A book about feeling bullied

    By Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
    Authors:
    Sue Graves
    Illustrated by:
    Trevor Dunton
    This simple, engaging story is the perfect way to introduce young children to what bullying is, and help them become aware of how their behaviour can impact on other children.There are even suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together to help children understand.When Leopard arrives at Jungle School, Giraffe doesn't want to include him and tries to exclude him from joining in. So when Leopard has a birthday party he doesn't invite Giraffe, even though he has invited all his friends. Slowly Giraffe begins to understand how Leopard must have felt when he started school. Can the two of them learn to become friends after all? The Behaviour Matters series of picture books provide a gentle means of discussing emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, and is also suitable for use with children in KS1 and can be used to discuss values. Suitable for children under 5.
    • More

    Girlhood

    By Cat Clarke
    Authors:
    Cat Clarke
    Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.'Emotive, creepy AND funny. A quality page-turner' SARAH CROSSAN'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet' JUNO DAWSONHarper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can't escape the guilt of her twin sister's Jenna's death, and her own part in it - and she knows noone else will ever really understand. But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels...loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died. Then Kirsty's behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper's? And why is she so obsessed with Harper's lost sister? Soon, Harper's closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity. How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.
    • More
  • Grains and Cereals

    By Julia Adams
    Authors:
    Julia Adams
    This book aims to develop children's understanding of nutrition and where their food comes from. Exploring a major food group, it explains how grains and cereals are produced and how they can be stored and prepared.It aids the teaching of Design and technology at Early Years and Key Stage 1, whilst also developing communication and literacy skills in young readers. Children are introduced to the basic principles of a healthy and varied diet so they are better able to prepare dishes themselves.
    • More
  • Gadgets and Inventions

    By Mike Hobbs
    Authors:
    Mike Hobbs
    Find out what it takes to become a successful inventor, from coming up with an idea all the way to launching the next big thing. Get tips from those who have succeeded and follow our challenges to join the Young Entrepreneurs Club!
    • More
  • George Goes Swimming

    By Nicola Smee
    Authors:
    Nicola Smee
    George is off to the pool so that he can learn how to swim! He has his armbands at the ready, and Mum is close by to help. With a bit of splashing, it's not long before George learns to love the pool and is swimming in his armbands!George and Bear make the perfect team - explore first experiences with them. The simple text and bright artwork make this the perfect early story book for toddlers.Look out for other books in the series:George Gets Dressed George Visits the Doctor George Goes on a Plane
    • More
  • George Visits the Doctor

    By Nicola Smee
    Authors:
    Nicola Smee
    George and Bear both have a sore throat, so they're off to visit the doctor. If anyone can help them feel better, the doctor can!George and Bear make the perfect team - explore first experiences with them. The simple text and bright artwork make this the perfect early story book to share with toddlers. Look out for other books in the series:George Goes on a Plane George Gets Dressed George Goes Swimming
    • More
  • Global Financial Crisis

    By Philip Steele
    Authors:
    Philip Steele
    Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Global Financial Crisis, we look at how this situation arose, what was done about it and explore whether the measures worked. The books examines whether the current economic system makes sense, and whether it is fair. Is it sustainable in the future or are more crashes on the way? In a globalised economy, these questions affect everyone on the planet.
    • More
  • Giraffes Can't Dance

    By Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
    Authors:
    Giles Andreae
    Illustrated by:
    Guy Parker-Rees
    Special Gift Pop-Up edition of Number One bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance from author Giles Andreae. Giraffes Can't Dance has been delighting children for over 15 years. Gerald the tall giraffe would love to join in with the other animals at the Jungle Dance, but everyone knows that giraffes can't dance . . . or can they? A funny, touching and triumphant story about a giraffe who finds his own tune and confidence too, with joyful illustrations from Guy Parker Rees. This classic and bestselling picture book, with its heart-warming story about daring to be different, is brought gloriously to life in this special gift edition with sturdy pop-ups on each page.
    • More

    The Girl Files

    By Jacqui Bailey
    Authors:
    Jacqui Bailey
    A totally modern, easy-to-read, upbeat guide to girls' growing up issues, now updated to include online and smartphone safety. The Girl Files offers age-appropriate advice, practical tips and support to help girls navigate the physical and mental rollercoaster of puberty. From periods and body hair to bras, boys, sexting and cyber bullying, The Girl Files' chatty, big-sisterly style is a fantastic, feel-good reference source for 'tweens and young teens, and places a strong emphasis on the importance of self esteem, and maintaining a positive attitude. Chapters:P is for puppies, pink and... pubertyFrom hips to zitsThe news on boobsPeriods, pads and PMSAll change!Mates and datesStaying safeGet connected!The Boy Files by Alex Hooper-Hodson is the partner title to The Girl Files, offering puberty advice and support for boys. Alex has also written the popular teen self-help resources: 52 Teen Girl Problems and How to Solve Them and 52 Teen Boy Problems and How to Solve Them.
    • More

    Girl World

    By Theresa Cheung
    Authors:
    Theresa Cheung
    It's tough out there in Girl World. One minute you're in the gang, the next you're out... your best friend has stopped talking to you for no apparent reason... you find out that someone has been spreading nasty rumours about you... a girl is making your life a misery by picking on you... and everyone seems to be so much cooler and confident than you. What's a girl to do?Girl World lets you into the secret and complicated world of girls and their friendships. It shows you how you can survive the scary girl, the snob, the gossip, the joker and the backstabber. Packed with straightforward and sensible advice Girl World will help girls deal with everyday situations and gain real confidence. It makes sense of the sometimes bewildering and unpredictable behaviour of girls and gives the reader the courage to stand up for themselves and hold their head high. As a former secondary school teacher, the author, Theresa Cheung, has seen for herself just how powerful girls' friendships and cliques are - shaping what they wear and say, how they feel about school, how they respond to boys and how they feel about themselves.This is an absolute must for girls everywhere!
    • More
  • Global Questions: Why Do People Make and Sell Drugs?

    By Anne Rooney
    Authors:
    Anne Rooney
    This series takes an in-depth look at some of the major social and political issues that feature on the front pages of today's newspapers
    • More
  • Global Questions: Is the Media Too Powerful?

    By David Abbott
    Authors:
    David Abbott
    This book asks and seeks to answer key questions about the media that confront us today.
    • More
  • Global Questions: How Should We Deal With Crime?

    By Anne Rooney
    Authors:
    Anne Rooney
    This book asks and seeks to answer key questions about crime that confronts us in our society today. Comparing how crimes were dealt with in the past to today, who commits crime, how to combat crime, the justice system and prison.
    • More
  • Gangs

    By Julie Johnson
    Authors:
    Julie Johnson
    This title looks at the issues and debates surrounding gangs. Fact panels give accurate information to help readers form their own opinions.
    • More
    1