index
Our books
  • Exploring Emotions: A Mindfulness Guide to Dealing with Emotions

    By Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
    Authors:
    Paul Christelis
    Illustrated by:
    Elisa Paganelli
    Everyone notices the weather outside, right? But did you realise that weather occurs inside of you too? In fact, it is here right now... It's a hot and sunny Sports Day, but Abu's internal weather is different. He is feeling nervous and scared. For Abu, feeling nervous is like watching a storm approaching: it can be scary. Manisha's weather is different She feels angry. Anger is like a burning, hot sun. Kenton feels sad. For Kenton, sadness feels like a grey, drizzly day that seems to last forever. But they all soon discover that emotions are like the weather, changing throughout the day. Sometimes the weather feels pleasant; when we feel happy, relieved or excited. And sometimes it feels unpleasant; when we feel anger, sadness or frustration. But we don't have to worry about getting stuck with unpleasant emotions because, just like the weather outside, the weather inside will change too. This book teaches readers to enjoy the pleasant feelings when they are present, and remember that the unpleasant ones will pass. The four stories in the 'Mindful Me' series explore how a mindful attitude to life can enhance enjoyment, promote a sense of calm and confidence, and provide young people with a 'friend for life'. In this book, children are gently guided into mindfulness exercises that encourage an exploration of emotions. Mindfulness can help us to improve concentration, calm unpleasant emotions, and even boost our immune systems.The books can be used at home or in the classroom, for storytime or as part of the PSHCE curriculum.The other titles are:Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Keeping CalmIt's Beautiful Outdoors: A Mindfulness Guide to Noticing NatureSleep Easy: A Mindfulness Guide to Getting a Good Night's Sleep
    • More
  • Exercise and Play

    By Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
    Authors:
    Katie Woolley
    Illustrated by:
    Ryan Wheatcroft
    Why do I have to exercise? Why is it fun to play? The answers to these and many other questions about exercise and play can be discovered in this lively and informative series. The topics of fitness and fun are complemented by charming and humorous illustrations. This book is designed for children to begin to learn about the importance of being healthy, and the ways in which we can look after our bodies to keep fit and well. At the back are notes for parents and teachers that provide additional advice and support as well as further activity ideas and information.These titles support the science curriculum at Key Stage One and Key Stage 2, as well as PSHCE topics.The Healthy Me series is aimed at children aged from 5 and up to explain how people can keep fit and be healthy, forming habits that will last a life time. Other titles in the series are: Keeping Clean, Eating Well, Keeping Safe, Taking Medicines, Resting and Sleeping.
    • More
  • Elephant Learns to Share - A book about sharing

    By Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
    Authors:
    Sue Graves
    Illustrated by:
    Trevor Dunton
    A lively picture book that examines the issue of not sharing in an amusing but reassuring way through animal characters - perfect for young children who don't want to share. The story offers a gentle way in to reinforce this good behaviour. At the end of the story there are notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with anger.Elephant hates sharing anything. When Gran gives him a bat and ball set, he finds it impossible to play by himself. He needs to find friends to play with, but will anyone want to join his game?It is part of a series Behaviour Matters, which is perfect for sharing with children as a gentle means of discussing their emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Each book has a fun story featuring fantastic characters which is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together. They support the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.'Excellent for sharing and encouraging discussion... we can all learn from the approach taken in this series.' Parents in Touch
    • More

    Entangled

    By Cat Clarke
    Authors:
    Cat Clarke
    Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Seventeen-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper - and no clue how she got there. As Grace starts writing, pouring her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she's tried to forget: falling hopelessly in love with Nat, and the unravelling of her friendship with her best mate Sal. But there's something missing. As hard as she's trying to remember, is there something she just can't see? Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here? A compulsive thriller of dangerous secrets, intense friendships and electrifying attraction.
    • More
  • Everybody Matters: Respect For Others

    By Pat Thomas, Lesley Harker
    Authors:
    Pat Thomas
    Illustrated by:
    Lesley Harker
    A beautifully illustrated picture book that introduces children to the concept of respect. It explains that everyone deserves respect, whether by being treated fairly or by not being discriminated against because they are different. It explains how to earn respect, by being polite, honest and listening to others. It also explains how having respect for ourselves and others makes the world a better place. Notes for parents and teachers at the back of the book provide valuable advice for how to share this book with your child or class. Written by a trained psychotherapist, journalist and parent, and illustrated by an experienced children's book artist, this title is part of an acclaimed and successful series of picture-book non-fiction for Early Years. Books in the series give advice and promote interaction between children, parents, and teachers on a wide variety of personal, social and emotional issues.
    • More
  • The Ethics of War

    By Patience Coster
    Authors:
    Patience Coster
    Is it ever right to go to war? What is a 'just war'? Where should the moral line be drawn in an armed conflict? People have been fighting each other, and discussing the rights and wrongs of warfare, since the beginning of human history. It's time to consider Both SIdes of the Story.The Both Sides of the Story series explores the major global debates of our time from two opposing viewpoints. Each book investigates the facts behind the headlines, the history behind current trends and the latest hot topics.
    • More
  • Euthanasia

    By Patience Coster
    Authors:
    Patience Coster
    Is it ever acceptable to help another person to die? Faced with a terminally ill patient in great pain, what should a doctor or relative do? Euthanasia - the intentional ending of a life in order to relieve pain and suffering - raises many ethical questions. It's time to consider Both Sides of the Story.The series, Both Sides of the Story, explores the major global debates of our time from two opposing viewpoints. Each book investigates the facts behind the headlines, the history behind current trends and the latest hot topics.
    • More
  • Explaining: Epilepsy

    By Lionel Bender
    Authors:
    Lionel Bender
    The Explaining series looks at a range of conditions, illnesses and disabilities that affect children and adults all over the world. The books explain why they occur, how they are diagnosed, how they affect people and how they can be treated.Explaining: Epilepsy will help you understand what epilepsy is and how it affects people. Case studies illustrate what is like to live with epilepsy and how people with the condition manage it to live full and happy lives.
    • More
  • Emmy's Eczema

    By Jack Hughes
    Authors:
    Jack Hughes
    Emmy has eczema. She knows she shouldn't scratch. But sometimes she's so itchy, she just can't help it. One day, she scratches so much she makes her skin really sore. Find out how her friends make her feel better.This gentle story helps children to understand what it is like to have eczema, and how you can be a better friend to someone who has it by being kind and helpful.
    • More
  • Exercise and Play

    By Robyn Hardyman
    Authors:
    Robyn Hardyman
    Find out all about how to stay healthy and happy with fun exercise and games! This book explores the many kinds of exercise and sport you can do, and gives you Healthy Hints - tips on great activities you can enjoy.
    • More
  • Entertainment

    By Mike Hobbs
    Authors:
    Mike Hobbs
    • More
  • Exercise

    By Robyn Hardyman
    Authors:
    Robyn Hardyman
    Being Healthy, Feeling Great covers a wide range of health topics to show readers what it takes to lead healthy lives. It encourages readers to understand why it is important to be healthy from a young age and how this will stand them in good stead as adults. Each book features a magazine-style design to engage readers. Topics are dealt with in a sensitive tone, making the subjects accessible.
    • More

    Emma hearts LA

    By Keris Stainton
    Authors:
    Keris Stainton
    Emma's just arrived in Los Angeles, a million miles away from all her friends, and any chance of a boyfriend.Unless you count geeky Oscar - which she doesn't.Not at first, anyway.Teen heartthrob Alex might have potential too.If she can get him away from the prying eyes of the paparazzi, that is.Two boys, unlimited sunshine, and a new life amongst the stars.Maybe LA's not that bad, after all.
    • More
    1