index
Our books
  • A Princess Rescue

    By Holly Willoughby, Kelly Willoughby
    Authors:
    Holly Willoughby, Kelly Willoughby
    TV presenter Holly Willoughby's seventh adventure written with her sister Kelly. Join schoolgirl detectives Molly, Maria, Pippa and Sally for more mystery and glamour, set in a contemporary school for the Performing Arts.When an Indian princess arrives in school she wants to stop being royal and start doing normal things - pillow fights, midnight feasts and cooking are her idea of fun. The end of term extravaganza is a bake-off competition and Bollywood style play, so Princess Ameera and the girls are in their element. But someone is trying to get the Princess into serious trouble. Molly, Maria, Pippa and Sally jump at the chance of an adventure that will solve a royal mystery and rescue the princess.This book is GLEE for 9+ and is perfect for fans of BALLET SHOES and MALLORY TOWERS.
    • More
  • Pastimes and Toys

    By Sarah Ridley
    Authors:
    Sarah Ridley
    Everyone has memories of the toys they played with and the pastimes they had when they were growing up. This book gives young children access to people's memories alongside photographs to help them build up a picture of the past. From teddy bears and construction toys to dressing up and playing outside young children can explore what has changed and what remains popular.The book is part of the 'Tell me what you remember' series, which explores changes in living memory through photographs and memories.
    • More
  • People's Planet

    By Anna Nilsen, Dave Smith
    Authors:
    Anna Nilsen
    Illustrated by:
    Dave Smith
    Are you ready to journey around the planet to find Dad, a journalist who has been kidnapped? Help Zak and Leah solve the puzzles and save him!Battle your way through ten scenes and solve the puzzles, from brain-busting maths conundrums to spot-the-difference. Prepare to take a tour through a Machu Picchu maze, go hunting with the Inuits, discover the tallest skyscrapers in the world, dig into a gold mine and explore the Great Wall of China. You'll discover lots about the way people live, work and play around the world. There are search and find challenges on every page.Puzzle Heroes is an interactive series of very fun, visually-led books containing an adventure or challenge on every page. There are plenty of search-and-find elements in the style of Where's Wally?, combined with topics of educational value, where fun facts help with the challenges. This gives plenty of opportunity to use the book as an extra learning tool - but ultimately the quests are fantastic fun, engrossing readers to the extent that they won't realise they are learning.
    • More
  • Pirates

    By Philip Steele
    Authors:
    Philip Steele
    Impress your friends (and yourself) with just how much you know about pirates! Loads of facts and stats will bring the world of pirates to life - from the ships they sailed and the treasure the stole to gruesome deaths and gory battles - and ensure you really do Know It All.Part of the series Know It All - there are eight books in this series covering everything from Cars and Knights to Inventions and Dangerous Animals.
    • More
  • Pirates

    By David West
    Authors:
    David West
    Introducing pirates! How much do you think you know about them? You may know that pirates had rules, but what were these rules called? Did pirates really buy their treasure? What did the famous pirate Blackbeard keep in his beard, and what was his real name? Well this book will tell you! A perfect introduction for kids who want to know what being a pirate was all about. Bit-sized facts mean you can dip into this book at random, or read it cover to cover. Part of the series Lots of Things You Want to Know About, four books that take a look at some of the most dangerous jobs...ever! Aimed at children aged 7+ these books combine large full colour illustrations and simple paragraphs of text to encourage children to read around these high-interest topics.
    • More

    Purity

    By Jackson Pearce
    Authors:
    Jackson Pearce
    Before her mother died, Shelby promised three things: listen to her father, love as much as possible, and live without restraint. Those Promises become hard to keep when Shelby's dad joins the committee for the Princess Ball, where girls must take a vow of purity - no "bad behaviour", no breaking the rules, and definitely no sex.Torn between Promises, Shelby makes a decision - to exploit a loophole and lose her virginity before taking the vow. But somewhere between failed hookup attempts and helping her dad plan the ball, Shelby begins to understand what her mother really meant, what her father really needs, and who really has the right to her purity.
    • More
  • Popcorn: People in History: Henry VIII

    By Stephen White-Thomson
    Authors:
    Stephen White-Thomson
    A fun and interactive beginners look at some of the most amazing people that have shaped history.
    • More
  • Parasaurolophyus and other Duck-billed and Beaked Herbivores

    By David West
    Authors:
    David West
    PARASAUROLOPHUS and other duck-billed and beaked herbivores.Included in the twelve dinosaurs featured are some of the strangest-looking beasts that ever roamed Earth. Many had mouths that ended in duck-like bills. Others had strange crests and horns sticking out from their heads. Each title in the series, Dinosaurs! takes a close look at one particular type of dinosaur and reveals the facts about these incredible creatures.
    • More
  • Popcorn: People in History: Popcorn: People in History: Guy Fawkes

    By Stephen White-Thomson
    Authors:
    Stephen White-Thomson
    A fun and interactive beginners look at some of the most amazing people that have shaped history.
    • More

    Photos First

    By Ruth Thomson
    Authors:
    Ruth Thomson
    Photos First brings together an inspiring collection of some of the world's most engaging and iconic photographs, spanning the history of photography. Divided into themes of portraits, nature, art and documentary photography, the book tells the stories behind memorable photographs, chosen for the vividness or importance of their subject matter, their pioneering technique or their historic significance. Discover photographs that are shocking, moving, dramatic or manipulative. Find out how the camera can tell a lie but can also reveal extraordinary truths.
    • More
  • Popcorn: History Corner: Ancient Egyptians

    By Alice Harman
    Authors:
    Alice Harman
    A fun and interactive introductory look at Ancient Egypt, which includes activities such as Write in Hieroglyphs and Make A Model Pyramid.
    • More
  • Potty Painters, Writers & other Barmy Artists

    By Adam Sutherland
    Authors:
    Adam Sutherland
    Discover all about the fascinating lives of some of the most unusual, quirky and eccentric characters in world history! Learn about the horror story writer who was afraid of the dark, find out why one famous artist paid workers to dig up a corpse, and how one of Britain's most famous authors managed to publish 80 books without writing a single word. Peppered with Crackpot Quiz questions and Mad, Bad and Truly Sticky Endings features this book is enthralling, entertaining and educational all at the same time!
    • More
  • Popcorn: History Corner: Vikings

    By Alice Harman
    Authors:
    Alice Harman
    A fun and interactive beginners look at amazing events and people in history.
    • More
  • Popcorn: History Corner: Victorians

    By Alice Harman
    Authors:
    Alice Harman
    A fun and interactive beginners look at amazing events and people in history.
    • More
  • A Photographic View of Holidays

    By Alex Woolf
    Authors:
    Alex Woolf
    Photographs from The National Archives show how holidays were taken from the Victorian times through to the 20th Century. Where did people go on holiday, where did they stay and what kind of activities did they do?
    • More
  • Pirates

    By Neil Morris
    Authors:
    Neil Morris
    History Crafts is a history series with a difference. Each book is packed with facts and full-colour illustrations from a selected historical era or subject. In addition there are fun related craft projects for the young reader to try, with clear step-by-step instructions. Read about the history; make the crafts - History Crafts is a fun way into history for all young readers.
    • More
  • A Photographic View of Hospitals

    By Alex Woolf
    Authors:
    Alex Woolf
    We see what hospitals were like in the past. The old pictures reveal details of hospital buildings, furniture and uniforms. The equipment will also show what care was available for patients at the time and the continuing developments in medicine.
    • More
  • Pirates

    By Annabel Savery
    Authors:
    Annabel Savery
    Do you want to know what really happened on board a pirate ship? Find out all about pirates in It's Amazing: Pirates!Bright, fun books on topics that young children love to read about, from supercars to princesses. Accessible text and colourful design make these ideal first topic books.
    • More
  • Periods, Zits and Other Bits

    By Charlotte Owen
    Authors:
    Charlotte Owen
    Everyone worries about getting their first period. What does it mean? When will it happen? How will it feel? Will everyone else know? And what an earth do you do? Recommended by the Brook network of sexual health centres, this warm, friendly and informative guide to periods for girls of 12+ is packed full of facts and advice. It addresses common questions, fears and worries, and includes quotes and stories from teenagers sharing their own experiences, to reassure readers they are not alone.
    • More
  • Pirate

    Dressing Up encourages young children to be imaginative, creative and boosts confidence.
    • More