index
Our books

In the Dark, In the Woods

By Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass
'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILLAn unforgettable thriller from an incredible new author, for fans of We Were Liars and Half Bad, reminiscent of The Virgin Suicides.Father wants sixteen-year-old Castley and her five siblings to hide from the world. Living in a falling-down house deep in the woods, he wants to bury their secrets where noone will ever find them. Father says they are destined to be together forever. In heaven. Father says the sooner they get there, the better. But Castley wants to be normal. She wants to kiss boys and wear jean shorts. CASTLEY WANTS TO LIVE. 'A breathtaking, gut-wrenching coming-of-age saga from all sides. Readers will be swept into the Cresswells' claustrophobic world and ache for them long after it's set aflame' - Kirkus'A haunting family portrait centered on the power of belief' - Publishers Weekly
  • More
  • The Island of Adventure

    By Enid Blyton
    Authors:
    Enid Blyton
    Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack escape their tutor for a lovely holiday in Cornwall, right by the sea. They can see the sinister Isle of Gloom from their window, covered in mist and harbouring strange secrets. Are they prepared for the dangerous adventure that awaits them there?First published in 1944, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.
    • More
  • The Ice Factor

    By Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray, Jennifer Gray, Sarah Horne, Oliver Hembrough
    Authors:
    Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray, Jennifer Gray
    Illustrated by:
    Sarah Horne
    Read by:
    Oliver Hembrough
    The weather outside is cold and snowy, but Fuzzy and Coco are as warm as toast in the house, enjoying their favourite TV shows. Fuzzy loves the cookery programmes, while Coco is a huge fan of The Ice Factor, a celebrity skating competition. But some of their furry friends are not so lucky - it's freezing out in the copse, and someone has been stealing the animals' food! Fuzzy and Coco have to do something - can they use the skills they've learnt from their favourite TV shows to help their friends?(P)2014 WF Howes Ltd
    • More

    Innocent

    By Anne Cassidy
    Authors:
    Anne Cassidy
    Charlie's brother Brad is always in trouble with the law, but it's minor stuff, usually - just messing about. Charlie blames their mum, for going off and leaving her and Brad and their Dad to fend for themselves. So when Brad is accused of killing a motorist with a well-aimed stone from a motorway bridge, Charlie is suspicious. It's just not Brad's style. When Charlie starts doing some investigating of her own she unearths a bigger, much worse secret, as well as discovering things about her brother, his best mate Denny, and her long-lost mother that turn her world upside down. In trying to prove her brother is not guilty, Charlie has lost her own innocence, for good...
    • More
  • Imogen The Ice Dance Fairy

    By Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
    Authors:
    Daisy Meadows
    Illustrated by:
    Georgie Ripper
    It looks like the last magic dance ribbon might also be the hardest one to find - especially as a certain pesky goblin is determined not to get caught! Imogen, Kirsty and Rachel will have to be ready for anything...
    • More

    Ice Angel

    By Charlotte Haptie
    Authors:
    Charlotte Haptie
    Zack and Clovis are obsessed with the strange and unexplained disappearance of their father, Balthazar. Every night he used to drive his van, the Ice Angel, from the family's secret mountain home into Rockscar City to sell flavoured ices to the rich and dispense free, clean drinking water to the poor. But that was before the night the Ice Angel was found on the mountain road, mysteriously abandoned, and Balthazar never seen again ...Now, many years later, Zack and Clovis revive the Ice Angel and plan to carry on their dad's legacy, using the family's secret spring and old recipe book to create the most mouth-watering ices imaginable: crushed vanilla with ginger crystals, coffee and bitter chocolate with frozen crystallized orange spoons, and cherry and cream vanilla bombes. But great danger looms - Scarspring Water Company, headed by the ruthless Anshelm Scarspring, punishes anyone dispensing water. Is there a link with the mystery of their dad's disappearance? And what of Anshelm's obsession with the great wilderness beyond the city, with legends of troll who inhabit it, and with secret maps...Then drought hits Rockscar City: water supplies are polluted and dry up. Protests and riots brew against the Scarspring Water Company. And everything Zack and Clovis believed about their father and mother begins to unravel ...
    • More
  • In the Fifth & Last Term

    By Enid Blyton, Jan Francis
    Authors:
    Enid Blyton
    Read by:
    Jan Francis
    For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In the FifthEverybody at Malory Towers is excited about the Christmas pantomime. This year they'll be performing Cinderella and everybody wants to be involved. Matters turn very serious when head girl Moira receives an anonymous poison pen letter.Last TermDarrell and her friends have reached their last term at Malory Towers. But before they say good-bye one last time there are more adventures to be had, pranks to play and competitions to win.Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This audio download is abridged and dramatised with a full cast and makes wonderful listening for all Malory Towers fans. Each story is one hour. (P) Hodder Children's Books 2006
    • More
    1