index
Our books

The 57 Bus

By Dashka Slater
Authors:
Dashka Slater
Winner of the Stonewall Young Adult Literature AwardOne teenager in a skirt. One teenager with a lighter. One moment that changes both their lives forever.Two teenagers growing up in Oakland, California. One, Sasha, was born male but identifies as agender, wears skirts and attends a private school. The other, Richard, is an African American from a poor part of Oakland who attends a rough public school. They have no reason to meet, except for eight minutes every day, they catch the same bus home. And one day, messing about, Richard spies Sasha napping. He flicks the flame of his lighter to Sasha's skirt, and Sasha wakes up in a ball of flame. What happens next, as the victim, the perpetrator and the community struggle to come to terms with their sadness and shock, is a story of recovery, reconciliation, forgiveness and, above all, hope. It's about the power of being true to yourself, bravery and the good and bad in all of us. And, remarkably, it's all true.
  • More

20th Century Russia

By Heather Maisner
Authors:
Heather Maisner
  • More

99 Days

By Katie Cotugno, Katie Cotugno
Authors:
Katie Cotugno, Katie Cotugno
Last year, Molly Barlow did something terrible. Then, her mother wrote a book about it. And so everyone in their tiny hometown found out that Molly cheated on her childhood sweetheart, the love of her life, her best friend with his brother. After spending senior year at a boarding school in the middle of nowhere, Molly now has ninety-nine days to endure back in her hometown before she can escape to college. Ninety-nine days of being the most hated person in town. Ninety-nine days to heal the hurt she's caused. Ninety-nine days to figure out what she wants, and who she loves ...99 Days will captivate fans of John Green and 100 Days of Summer
  • More

The 100 Society

By Carla Spradbery
Authors:
Carla Spradbery
For sixth-form student Grace Becker, The 100 Society is more than just a game; it's an obsession. Having convinced her five friends at Clifton Academy to see it through to the end, Grace will stop at nothing to carry out the rules of the game: tagging 100 locations around the city. With each step closer to the 100-mark they get, the higher the stakes become. But when the group catches the attention of a menacing stalker - the Reaper - he seems intent on exposing their illegal game, tormenting Grace with anonymous threats and branding their dormitory doors with his ominous tag. As the once tight-knit group slowly unravels, torn apart by doubt and the death of a student, they no longer know who to trust. With time running out, Grace must unmask the Reaper before he destroys everything she cares about for ever...With its mix of horror and mystery The 100 Society is perfect for fans of Point Horror and James Dawson.'A pleasingly dark teen thriller with fun, fresh characters. Spradbery is a debut author to watch.' James Dawson
  • More
  • 52 Teen Boy Problems & How To Solve Them

    By Alex Hooper-Hodson
    Authors:
    Alex Hooper-Hodson
    Agony Uncle, relationship expert, journalist and blogger, Alex Hooper-Hodson received upwards of 2,000 letters a month from teen boys and girls aged 12-15. All can be related to 52 core issues that affect teenage boys and girls today - from first sexual relationships, dealing with spots, how to avoid Facebook mistakes, how drink, drugs and on-line gaming can affect your life - to the social and emotional aspects of family, friends and relationships. Through a 'Problem Page' format Alex explores the key issues that today's teens face.
    • More
  • 52 Teen Girl Problems & How To Solve Them

    By Alex Hooper-Hodson
    Authors:
    Alex Hooper-Hodson
    Agony Uncle, relationship expert, journalist and blogger, Alex Hooper-Hodson received upwards of 2,000 letters a month from teen boys and girls aged 12-16. All can be related to 52 core issues that affect teenage boys and girls today - from first sexual relationships, dealing with unwanted sexual attention, how to avoid Facebook mistakes, how drink, drugs and online gaming can affect your life - to the social and emotional aspects of family, friends and relationships. Through a 'Problem Page' format Alex explores the key issues that today's teens face.
    • More
  • The 1990s

    By Anne Rooney
    Authors:
    Anne Rooney
    The 1990s was a time of big changes, including the end of the Cold War, democratic elections in South Africa, signs of peace in the Middle East and a global agreement to confront climate change. It also saw the arrival of the World Wide Web, the Hubble Space telescope and the first cloned mammal. This book describes these and many other world-changing events that occurred during this decade.Part of the series Dates of a Decade, each title looks at the key dates that helped shape history during a particular decade in the 20th century. As well as describing landmark events, the books examine their causes and consequences and include contemporary newspaper reports and eyewitness accounts.
    • More
  • The 1980s

    By Joseph Harris
    Authors:
    Joseph Harris
    The 1980s was a time of economic growth and great wealth for some. It was the age of enterprise culture and the 'yuppie'. Capitalism appeared triumphant as the communist world crumbled, and the Berlin Wall fell. It was also the time of Live Aid, disaster at Chernobyl and the launch of the IBM PC. This book describes these and many other world-changing events that occurred during this decade.Part of the series Dates of a Decade, each title looks at the key dates that helped shape history during a particular decade in the 20th century. As well as describing landmark events, the books examine their causes and consequences and include contemporary newspaper reports and eyewitness accounts.
    • More
  • The 1970s

    By Nathaniel Harris
    Authors:
    Nathaniel Harris
    The 1970s was a time of dentente, an easing of Cold War tensions and an historic visit by President Nixon to China. The conflict in the Middle East led to international terrorist incidents and a major oil crisis. Iran erupted in revolution, space probes landed on Mars and the Sex Pistols shocked the establishment. This book describes these and many other world-changing events that occurred during this decade.Part of the series Dates of a Decade, each title looks at the key dates that helped shape history during a particular decade in the 20th century. As well as describing landmark events, the books examine their causes and consequences and include contemporary newspaper reports and eyewitness accounts.
    • More
  • The 1950s

    By Paul Harrison
    Authors:
    Paul Harrison
    The 1950s was a tense time in the Cold War, with the McCArthy witch hunts in the USA, the crushing of the Hungarian uprising and the rise of Castro in Cuba. It was also a time of great achievement, including the conquest of Everest, the first organ transplant and the launch of Sputnik. This book describes these and many other world-changing events that occurred during this decade.Part of the series Dates of a Decade, each title looks at the key dates that helped shape history during a particular decade in the 20th century. As well as describing landmark events, the books examine their causes and consequences and include contemporary newspaper reports and eyewitness accounts.
    • More
  • 3: Divided Souls

    By Gabriella Poole
    Authors:
    Gabriella Poole
    The Darke Academy is a school like no other. An élite establishment that moves to an exotic new city every term, its students are impossibly beautiful, sophisticated and rich.Death has followed the Darke Academy to the ancient city of Istanbul. An unseen hunter is on the loose. Scholarship girl Cassie Bell is fascinated by the city's beauty, but there's no time for her to relax. Torn between an old flame and a new romance, she must also choose between the select world of the Few and her loyalty towards her best friends. And all the time a killer is stalking the Few. As Cassie is about to discover, no one is above suspicion.Sometimes, the people you love can be the most dangerous enemies of all ...
    • More
  • 21st Century Religions: Judaism

    By Michael Keene
    Authors:
    Michael Keene
    This general introduction to Judaism makes a valuable information resource for KS3 and 4 Religious Education students.Written by a highly experienced author of books on religion for children, it covers the roots and history of Judaism. It continues by exploring the beliefs, teachings and practices of modern Judaism, which includes a look at sacred texts and places of worship. The final chapters focus on Judaism and society, and its role in the modern world.A special feature of the book is the 'in our own words' panels in which practising Jews give a personal perspective on being a Jew today. There are numerous panels that give more detailed information on specific aspects such as the Shema and Sabbath practice, as well as quoting important texts. Imaginatively chosen photos with detailed captions extend the range of information presented. Maps show the distribution of believers around the world and historical facts like the journey of the Hebrews out of Egypt. An historical timeline, glossary and index all contribute to making this a highly engaging and accessible source of information and thus an essential work of reference for the 11-14 age range.
    • More

    6X Loud, Fast and Out of Control

    By Nina Malkin
    Authors:
    Nina Malkin
    6X are still riding high in the US music charts - and struggling to cope with the trials of fame. Kendall is fast becoming America's sweetheart - a 'real' girl with the voice of an angel, but along with her anonymity, she's anxious to shed the homely look. Dieting alone doesn't work, and Kendall finds herself following the advice of a rival girlband singer, with distressing consequences. Bulimia may be one way of losing weight, but she'll lose a whole more than that if she's not careful. Meanwhile, A/B has found himself a girlfriend and with a dilemma about his commitments; Stella falls hard and fast for troubled folk singer - and Wynn realises that her feelings for Stella go beyond friendship. A major tour brings dark issues to the surface, culminating in Wynn's abduction in Japan... By the story's end all four members are exhausted. They've come to end of the tour road - but have they come to the end of the road for the band itself?
    • More
    1