index
Our books
  • 34.7 Quadrillion Minutes Since the Last Dinosaurs Died

    By Paul Mason
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    Do you know for how many years the dinosaurs ruled the Earth? Or how much the hefty Argentinosaurus weighed? Which dinosaur ran 144 per cent faster than Usain Bolt? And do you know how many hours there were in a dinosaur say? Discover the answers to all these questions and much, more more in Big Countdown: Dinosaurs.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered. Perfect for number-crunchers aged 9 and up.
    • More
  • 2.67 Trillion Internet Searches Each Year Using Technology

    By Paul Mason
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    • More
  • 1.5 Billion Transport Vehicles on the World's Roads

    By Ben Hubbard
    Authors:
    Ben Hubbard
    Count down the world of transport with an amazing mix of numbers, facts and statistics!Do you know how fast a space rocket blasts through the sky? Or how deep under the sea submarines have ventured? How about the number of electric cars on the road? Or the top speed of NASA's crawler transporter (hint - it's not very fast!) Discover the answers to all these questions and much more in Big Countdown: Transport.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered. Ideal reading for number-crunchers aged 9 and up.
    • More
  • 7.6 Billion People Living in the Countries of the World

    By Ben Hubbard
    Authors:
    Ben Hubbard
    Count down the countries of the world with an amazing mix of numbers, facts and statistics!Do you know how many football pitches would fit into Europe? Or which country has the most newspaper readers? What is a megacity and which is the biggest one in the world? And how many wildebeest migrate thousands of kilometres every year across African's plains? Discover the answers to all these questions and much, more more in Big Countdown: Countries. The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered. Ideal reading for number-crunchers aged 9 and up.
    • More
  • 100 Trillion Good Bacteria Living on the Human Body

    By Paul Rockett
    Authors:
    Paul Rockett
    You can count numbers all around you, from the eight legs on a spider to the one nose on your face. But can you count the stars in the sky or the fish in the Amazon? Find out all about the THE HUMAN BODY in THE BIG COUNTDOWN, including the millions of bacteria that live in and on us and help our body function healthily, our digestive system, our bones and muscles, our blood and heart, our lungs and breathing, the size of our brain and the number of hairs on our head. It also covers the human life cycle and the development of a foetus in the womb.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered.
    • More
  • 30 Million Different Insects in the Rainforest

    By Paul Rockett
    Authors:
    Paul Rockett
    You can count numbers all around you, from the eight legs on a spider to the one nose on your face. But can you the animal species found in the rainforest or the fish in the River Amazon? Find out all about RAINFOREST in THE BIG COUNTDOWN, including its extraordinary variety of plant and animal life, its tribal people, its layered structure, its role as an oxygen producer and why we need to protect it.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered.
    • More
  • 02 Emily Sparkes and the Competition Calamity

    By Ruth Fitzgerald
    Authors:
    Ruth Fitzgerald
    Join Emily Sparkes for laugh-out-loud observations about life, parents and how to handle the grossest boys in the universe! Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries. The first Emily book has been shortlisted for the Scholastic Laugh Out Loud Book Award (The Lollies).'Lots of fun and a really cool read!' - Cathy CassidyEmily Sparkes might have found herself a new best friend and avoided humiliation at the hands of the grossest boy in the universe, but now her creativityness has landed her in a whole new world of trouble . . .Emily has absolutely accidentally entered her mother into a competition to find the nation's Mum in a Million. So when Mrs Sparkes is shortlisted, Emily is more shocked than anyone! Desperate not to be publicly humiliated on TV, she has to come up with a plan for a mum makeover. Because her eco-warrior, allotment-loving, generally horrendously embarrassing parent can't make her star appearance in a granddad-cap and wellies - can she?Oh. And Chloe Clarke comes back. Need we say more?
    • More
  • 2: Monkey Magic

    By Lucy Courtenay
    Authors:
    Lucy Courtenay
    Featuring tiger cubs, circus bears, swimming monkeys and cute koalas - this is a must-read series for all animal lovers!Twins Tori and Taya Wild disagree about almost everything ... except for their love of animals - which is good since their mother fosters all kinds of wild animals so their house is almost always full of them! But now their house has gone up in flames and the family's animal film business is struggling to get off its feet. And as if Taya doesn't have enough to worry about, Tori is making new friends without her. But when a request comes in for a swimming troupe of monkeys, things are looking up. They've got the monkeys - now they have to train them. If only Taya could swim ... It's lights, cameras, MONKEYS!
    • More
  • 1: Puppy Puzzle and Kitten Crowd

    By Lucy Daniels
    Authors:
    Lucy Daniels
    Mandy loves animals and knows lots about them too! Both her parents are vets - so Mandy's always able to help her friends with their pet problems ...Puppy Puzzle: James is taking his new Labrador puppy, Blackie, to pet day at school. But Blackie's brother Sooty is also there and they look almost identical. Now one of them has gone missing - but which one is it?Kitten Crowd: Katie has six newborn kittens to look after but her family are moving house and can't take them with them. Can Mandy find a new home for all six kittens by the end of the week?(P) Hodder Children's Books 2008
    • More
  • 1960s & 1970s

    By Kate Jackson Bedford
    Authors:
    Kate Jackson Bedford
    This series allows you to explore the past through the eyes of a child. Discover what it was like to to go to school, play and grow up during some of the most exciting periods of history.Children in History: 1960s & 1970s offers a look at how children from 1960-1980 lived through the use of images, artefacts and feature boxes, allowing the reader to travel back in time.
    • More
  • The 1980s

    By James Nixon
    Authors:
    James Nixon
    My Family Remembers offers a look at decades in recent history through the memories of members of a selection of families. Employing running text, featured quotations and colour and black and white photographs, each book is a fascinating in-depth look at the contrasts in life between `then` and `now` through the memories of people who actually were there.
    • More
  • 1: Rhiannon of the Spring

    By Allan Frewin Jones
    Authors:
    Allan Frewin Jones
    YOU CAN BE A WARRIOR IF YOU CHOOSE TO BE ...Fifteen-year-old Branwen's life is changed for ever when enemy Saxon troops attack her homeland and kill her brother. Branwen is ready to jump into action and avenge her brother's death , but instead she is sent to a neighbouring village, safe out of harm's way. Yet while she is surrounded by exquisite luxury in her new home - as a princess should be - she feels different from other girls. Branwen has the soul of a warrior.Then a mystical woman in white foretells a daunting prophecy that Branwen will be the one to save her homeland. With no time to lose, Branwen must make a choice: continue in the path her parents set for her ... or step into the role of a true warrior princess.
    • More
  • 1930s

    By Sally Hewitt
    Authors:
    Sally Hewitt
    In 'I can remember' our recent history (i.e. World War II onwards) is brought alive through real life experiences and memories of everyday life and a wealth of memorabilia, ephemera and archive photography. Each book is broken up into thematic spreads: school, at home, work, entertainment etc and different voices recall their experiences related to them. There is not one single voice through the book but a variety, so there are is a range of views and a mixture of ages. The back of the books includes a timeline and glossary. In 'I can remember the 1930s' topics include village life, running the home, holidays and leisure, childhood games, London between the wars and the Depression.
    • More
  • 1960s

    By Sally Hewitt
    Authors:
    Sally Hewitt
    In 'I can remember' our recent history (i.e. World War II onwards) is brought alive through real life experiences and memories of everyday life and a wealth of memorabilia, ephemera and archive photography. Each book is broken up into thematic spreads: school, at home, work, entertainment etc and different voices recall their experiences related to them. There is not one single voice through the book but a variety, so there are is a range of views and a mixture of ages. The back of the books includes a timeline and glossary. 'I can remember the 1960s' includes growing up as a child of Jamaican immigrants, the 1966 world cup, a coal-mining town in Wales, Scotland in the sixties, Beatles mania, and swinging London and sixties fashions.
    • More
  • 3: Chiquitita

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    Chiquitita is a young mare taken from the wild herd to be tamed and worked without force. The method demands amazing patience and gentleness from Kirstie and Lisa's host, Wayne Raburn. But Wayne's ranch hand, Walter, secretly uses harsher methods which soon ruins his boss's good work. Kirstie exposes Walter, who loses his job. But now he wants revenge - and he's planning to take it out on the horse...
    • More
  • 1: El Dorado

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    Kirstie and Lisa head west to the Sierra Nevada desert, traditional Native American Indian hunting ground and home of herds of wild horses. One of their first sightings is of a magnificent black stallion, nicknamed El Dorado. He has an extraordinary history - resolutely remaining free despite the attempts of numerous horse thieves. He's a legend - admired and feared in equal measure. But within days of their first awe-inspiring sighting, El Dorado has disappeared. Then a ranch foal is found bitten and battered to death. There have been rumours that the wild stallion has gone crazy - but could he really have turned killer? Kirstie and Lisa set out to find out the truth...
    • More
    1