index
Our books
  • Wilf the Mighty Worrier Rescues the Dinosaurs

    By Georgia Pritchett, Jamie Littler
    Authors:
    Georgia Pritchett
    Illustrated by:
    Jamie Littler
    Laugh your socks off with Wilf on a dino-tastic adventure! Perfect for fans of Tom Gates, David Baddiel, Danny Wallace and Phil Earle.Meet Wilf. He worries about everything. He is a Mighty Worrier. And now Wilf's evil next-door-neighbour Alan is determined to rule the world ... from the very beginning of time! But on the way to prehistoric Earth in Alan's time machine, Wilf is desperate for a wee, so they stop off in the 16th Century. There they meet Henry VIII - a very shouty man, who hitches a ride. Now Alan AND Henry want to be King of the World. Can Wilf stop them with the help of his new dinosaur friends?Join Wilf as he travels back in time to walk with dinosaurs and save the world from Alan ... again!Look out for more Wilf adventures: Wilf Saves the World, Wilf Battles a Pirate, Wilf is King of the Jungle, Wilf and the Alien Invasion.
    • More
  • Why Do Ice Cubes Float? Questions and Answers About the Science of Everyday Materials

    By Thomas Canavan
    Authors:
    Thomas Canavan
    How do igloos stay warm without melting? How does glue make things stick together? Does all wood float? Find out the answers to these questions and lots of other incredible facts about materials. Bitesize chunks of information mean this book is full of stuff you've never even thought of on everything that is unique or impressive about the materials we use and the amazing properties some of them have.Science FAQs is a series of 6 books that answer questions on everything from black holes to plant-eating insects in a fun and engaging way.
    • More
  • What Makes You Hiccup? Questions and Answers About the Human Body

    By Thomas Canavan
    Authors:
    Thomas Canavan
    How fast is the air in a sneeze? Why can't you tickle yourself? Does eating fish make you clever? Find out the answers to these questions and lots of other incredible facts about the human body.Bitesize chunks of information mean this book is full of stuff you've never even thought of on everything that is unique or impressive about the human body.Science FAQs is a series of 6 books that answer questions on everything from black holes plant-eating insects in a fun and engaging way.
    • More
  • Wicked Wildlife

    By Helen Greathead
    Authors:
    Helen Greathead
    Would you swim with alligators or piranha? Would you fight a bear or a giant squid? These diabolical situations and more will have you running for cover as you plunge into a series of fiendish questions and answers. Brilliant author, Helen Greathead, has plucked some sticky situations (and some sharp spiny ones, too!) from the world of wildlife and mashed them up into brain-tastic challenges. All you have to do is choose!So, come on, what would YOU choose?
    • More
  • Work

    By Nicola Barber, Paul Harrison
    Authors:
    Nicola Barber, Paul Harrison
    Roman Life is a series that will explore the establishment of the Roman Empire and the notable people of the age, such as Augustus, Virgil and Homer. The text will chronicle the features and characteristics of the Roman age and explore the lives of the different social classes, as well as men, women and children. Readers will learn what it was like to live as a Roman, be able to compare how their present lives have been influenced by the past and learn how much has changed since Roman times.This title looks at the different types of jobs that both poor and rich Romans had. It explains what a consul, senator or legionary did, and what the duties of the emperor were. It also shows what being a gladiator, priest or priestess, farmer or chariot racer involved.
    • More
  • Wetland Animals

    By Sonya Newland
    Authors:
    Sonya Newland
    Wetland Animals investigates how people are working to save one of our most important ecosystems, and the millions of animals that rely on the world's wetlands for survival.It is part of the Saving Wildlife series, which investigates the world's endangered species in the context of their different environments.
    • More
  • Weather and Seasons

    By Jillian Powell
    Authors:
    Jillian Powell
    What is weather? Why do we have seasons? Explore the amazing variety of weather that can be experienced on our planet and why the seasons are so important for life on Earth. From beautiful sunny days to raging storms; from the blossoming of life in spring to the cold, icy winter, this book explains why the planet needs to undergo all of these changes throughout the year.Part of the series Discover Through Craft. Six books that explore key curriculum topics for children aged 7-9.
    • More
  • Wanted: Prince Charming

    By A H Benjamin, Fabiano Fiorin
    Authors:
    A H Benjamin
    Illustrated by:
    Fabiano Fiorin
    Princess Reverie never stops daydreaming about her Prince Charming. But she never seems to find him! Join in with her hilarious attempts to find her true love.Race Ahead with Reading is the perfect introduction to reading chapters with brand new page turning reads in five short bite size chapters, to encourage children to take the driving seat with their reading.
    • More
  • Wind and Storms

    By Robyn Hardyman
    Authors:
    Robyn Hardyman
    Weatherwise looks at wind, sunshine, rain and snow and how these weather conditions affect people and their lives, such as their homes, transport, clothing and jobs. This title looks at wind and storms and covers the different uses we have for wind. It also looks at what happens in extreme winds, from thunderstorms to hurricanes and tornadoes. It looks at the damaging effects that these types of winds can have on our daily lives.
    • More
  • World War II: Special Operations

    By John Townsend
    Authors:
    John Townsend
    • More
  • World War II: Army

    By John Townsend
    Authors:
    John Townsend
    • More
  • Wildlife Wonders

    By Anna Nilsen, Dave Smith
    Authors:
    Anna Nilsen
    Illustrated by:
    Dave Smith
    Dive into this exciting book full of amazing creatures all around the world and help save Mum from evil poachers by completing the puzzles.Puzzle Heroes is an interactive series of very fun, visually-led books containing an adventure or challenge on every page. There are plenty of search-and-find elements in the style of Where's Wally?, combined with topics of educational value, where fun facts help with the challenges. This gives plenty of opportunity to use the book as an extra learning tool - but ultimately the quests are fantastic fun, engrossing readers to the extent that they won't realise they are learning.
    • More
  • Water

    By Jillian Powell
    Authors:
    Jillian Powell
    • More
  • A Walk From Our City School

    By Deborah Chancellor
    Authors:
    Deborah Chancellor
    A group of friends from The Mulberry Primary School in Tottenham, north London are going on a walk. The children have planned their walk carefully and have a list of questions they want to answer about their local area. We then follow them as they explore thier local area and answer their questions. This book is part of 'A walk from' series which explores different geographical environments using maps and photos. It helps young children understand geographical similarities and differences through studying the human and physical geography of a small area of the United Kingdom. The books feature key physical and human geographical vocabulary and skills such as compass directions, map reading and recognising landmarks and features.
    • More
  • Why Do Zebras Have Stripes? Questions and Answers About Animals

    By Thomas Canavan
    Authors:
    Thomas Canavan
    Do animals have belly-buttons? Can birds sleep in mid-air? Which anmal has the longest teeth? Find out the answers to these questions and lots of other incredible facts about animals. Bitesize chunks of information mean this book is full of stuff you've never even thought of on everything that is unique or impressive about the world we live in.Science FAQs is a series of 6 books that answer questions on everything from black holes plant-eating insects in a fun and engaging way.
    • More
  • World War II

    By John Townsend
    Authors:
    John Townsend
    Time to take a sideways look at the bizarre and outrageous from throughout history - and it's all TRUE!Which mad weapons were actually used during combat? Who was the bad guy in charge of the Nazi German air force? Which dangerous mission helped to capture the Nazis' new tank?Find out the answers to these questions inside, along with lots of facts, quizzes, and other bonkers stuff as you take a bumpy journey into the darkest crannies of World War II history with Mad, Bad and Just Plain Dangerous!
    • More
  • Where's Dogmatix?

    By René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
    Authors:
    René Goscinny
    Illustrated by:
    Albert Uderzo
    A fabulous sequel to WHERE'S ASTERIX? featuring the loveable Dogmatix and his friends in a variety of fun, action-packed scenes.Younger readers and fans of WHERE'S WALLY? will be absorbed for hours as they search for Dogmatix amidst the hustle and bustle.
    • More
  • Weapons of War

    By Tracey Turner
    Authors:
    Tracey Turner
    Take the Ultimate 20 weapons of war challenge! Highly collectable series that uses a card-game-based design to allow readers to compete against each other in a fact face-off with an ultimate line up of the best-of-the-best. Flick through the book, choose one of your Ultimate 20, then challenge your friends. Flick. Choose. Challenge.Find these weapons inside:Nuclear weapons, Intercontinental Ballistic Missile, Cruise Missile, Greek Fire, Bomber Aircraft,Chlorine Gas, Stealth Fighter Aircraft, Tank, Machine Gun, Attack Helicopter,Trebuchet, Assault Rifle, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles, Cannon, Longbow, Samurai Sword, Crossbow, Torpedo, War chariot, Hand Grenade
    • More
  • The Witching Hour

    By Sara Grant, Erica-Jane Waters
    Authors:
    Sara Grant
    Illustrated by:
    Erica-Jane Waters
    Trix wasn't expecting to develop magical powers when she turned ten, but it was definitely her best, if most surprising, birthday present! Now she's taking witching lessons and has an invisible kitten of her very own - but how can she keep it all a secret from her best friend, Holly?
    • More
  • Work

    By Paul Harrison
    Authors:
    Paul Harrison
    Work examines the various forms of work undertaken by different social classes in the Tudor age, including courtiers, educated professionals such as doctors and lawyers, farmer and labourers, sailors and explorers, women's work in the home and those in religious orders .
    • More