index
Our books
  • There's A Time Portal In My Pants!

    By Tommy Donbavand, Alice Risi
    Authors:
    Tommy Donbavand
    Illustrated by:
    Alice Risi
    • More
  • Terrorism

    By Claudia Martin
    Authors:
    Claudia Martin
    What is terrorism? How do terrorists differ from other criminals? What makes some individuals and groups decide to use violence to create terror as a means of achieving their aims? This book looks at the history of terrorism and analyses the motivations for its use. It looks at what is being done to tackle terrorism and asks readers to think about what they can do to help people in countries affected by terrorism, for example by fundraising for organisations supporting victims of terrorist attacks.
    • More
  • The Timely Adventures of Captain Clock

    By Tony Lee, Pol Cunyat
    Authors:
    Tony Lee
    Illustrated by:
    Pol Cunyat
    Time-travelling Captain Clock and the crew of the Chronograph are on the trail of the twisted Time Vikings. Millie joins the crew as they attempt to stop the Vikings changing history, and forcing everyone to have a beard. This title is part of the EDGE: Bandit Graphics series: individual, high-quality, safe, 32-page graphic novels written by New York Times bestselling author Tony Lee, suitable for readers aged 7+.
    • More
  • Today's Technology

    There are endless facts to learn about the technology we use every day, but once you've absorbed them, do you really know how your own gadgets work? They make our lives easier thanks to some incredible processes - and grasping them is the key to understanding technology. It's time to discover how a house can make its own power, how a touchscreen works and how GPS helps us find our way. Pore over the step-by-step infographic art and fascinating facts to uncover the dazzling truth behind technology - then try out the mind-bending challenges on each page!TOPICS:How a house can make its own powerHow a light bulb growsHow a microwave cooks foodHow a refrigerator worksHow a robot cleans a roomHow TV is broadcastHow a computer worksHow movies are streamedHow a mobile phone makes a callHow a touchscreen worksHow GPS finds your wayHow a 3D printer worksThe Infographic How It Works series is an exploration of the processes that make the world (and the universe) go round, from the activity in tectonic plates to the enzymes that break down food in our bodies. Each process is clearly explained using amazing infographics and essential facts - plus an experiment or challenge for readers to try, so they can keep the discovery going.Other titles in the Infographic How It Works series:Life on EarthMachines and MotorsOur PlanetOur UniverseYour Body
    • More
  • The Truth of Different Skies

    By Kate Ling
    Authors:
    Kate Ling
    What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it's forever? A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope. For fans of Meg Rosoff and Beth Revis.'I've always feared this place would keep me rooted forever . . . but now, without gravity, I'm flying, floating, falling' Bea feels trapped. Having never left her small town and with no money or anyone to rely on, she faces the inevitable future of a dead-end job - forced to survive, rather than live. When a message arrives from space, a mission is planned to travel to its source. Bea knows she has to be chosen to go, no matter what it takes, even though it means leaving Earth forever. Her life has to matter. Except she didn't plan on falling in love before she left . . .
    • More
  • To the Rescue!

    By Pat-a-Cake
    Authors:
    Pat-a-Cake
    Join Catboy, Owlette and Gekko in this super exciting book with press-out vehicles to make and race, perfect for flittle heroes everywhere. Packed with fun activities to do and instructions for how to make the vehicles, this book will bring hours of super fun for PJ Masks super fans!Also available:PJ Masks: Into the Night Glow in the Dark Sticker Book, PJ Masks: Mayhem at the Museum, PJ Masks: Feathered Friends, PJ Masks: 1001 Super Stickers, PJ Masks: Big Stickers for Tiny Hands
    • More
  • Teacher Trouble

    By Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
    Authors:
    Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
    Follow the wacky adventures of Sam (a zombie), Lin (a werewolf) and Danny (a demon) as they attempt to get through school without eating the teachers, running wild or raising hell. In Teacher Trouble: there's a new teacher in town, and he has a secret ... he's a monster hunter! The three friends must stay one step ahead of him... Monsters Like Us is a series of funny, accessible stories set in a familiar setting that will really give readers a boost up. Perfect for use with younger children, struggling readers or EAL students in a guided setting, or with independent readers looking for a confidence-boosting quick read.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.
    • More
  • Tarantix the Bone Spider

    By Adam Blade
    Authors:
    Adam Blade
    Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Tom and Elenna must follow the shadow path to find and defeat the third deadly Netherworld Beast. How will they stop the giant spider Tarantix from poisoning Avantia's precious river?There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend
    • More

    A T-Wit for a T-Woo

    By Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
    Authors:
    Charlie Farley
    Illustrated by:
    Layn Marlow
    A heartfelt story about friendship and the power of self-belief, perfect for sharing at bedtime.He'd fly every night through the wood that he loved,And quietly gaze at the stars up above.But something was missing that made him feel blue.When he sang in the moonlight ... he'd just say 'T-WOO!'Little owl Twoo feels like something is missing. His song is incomplete, a T-woo without a T-wit. So the brave little owl sets off in search of his true owl song - and a true friend to sing with him. On his journey, he discovers that when you believe in yourself, anything is possible.This feel-good rhyming picture book is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.
    • More
  • Things That Go

    By Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
    Authors:
    Pat-a-Cake
    Illustrated by:
    Villie Karabatzia
    Help toddlers discover and learn about the world around them with these essential board books.Things That Go helps busy, curious toddlers explore their world and develop their vocabulary by introducing lots of wonderful cars, trucks and much more! This robust board book will withstand many happy hours of looking, holding, exploring and reading, while the playful, witty illustrations will be loved by parents and children alike. A brilliant fold-out surprise at the end adds a fun recap of all the learning in the book. Also available: 123, Colours, ABC, First Words, Animals
    • More

    The Truth About Alice

    By Jennifer Mathieu
    Authors:
    Jennifer Mathieu
    From the author of Zoella Book Club book MOXIE comes a startling book about stereotypes, slut shaming and the battle for popularity. Everyone knows Alice slept with two guys at one party.But did you know Alice was sexting Brandon when he crashed his car?It's true. Ask ANYBODY.Rumour has it that Alice Franklin is a slut. It's written all over the 'slut stall' in the girls' bathroom at Healy High for everyone to see. And after star quarterback Brandon Fitzsimmons dies in a car accident, the rumours start to spiral out of control.In this remarkable novel, four Healy High students - the party girl, the car accident survivor, the ex best friend and the boy next door - tell all they know. But exactly what is the truth about Alice? In the end there's only one person to ask: Alice herself.Zoella on Moxie: 'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH ... a really empowering book that I wish I had read when I was younger.' 'Should be required reading for anyone in high school' Bustle
    • More
  • Twilight Sparkle to the Rescue

    An adorable board book story featuring favourite My Little Pony characters.Learning to fly is a bit tricky ... But when Twilight Sparkle's friends need her help, can she find the courage to spread her wings and fly to the rescue?With a reassuring message about believing in yourself, this fun story is perfect for sharing with even the littlest pony fans.
    • More

    The Top Secret History of Codes and Code Breaking

    By Roy Apps
    Authors:
    Roy Apps
    Explore the history of codes from The Haircut Code, used by the Persians to convey messages in war, to Ancient Hebrew ciphers, pictorial codes of the Egyptians and Mayans to letter codes in ancient Rome and substitution ciphers used in Tudor England when the execution of Mary, Queen of Scots was being planned. Find out about modern-day codes, such as tennis players Laura Robson and Heather Watson's 'back slang' when playing doubles and computer codes in the 21st century including the safety of passwords.This book features strange-but-true facts that are real-life extraordinary stories of codes and their code breakers and 'Code Cracker' practical activities show how you can build or solve your own codes!
    • More