index
Our books
  • Tsunamis

    By Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury
    Authors:
    Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury
    Natural disasters devastate communities. They reshape the landscape and can alter people's ways of life in an area for years after the event. Learn all about the 10 worst tsunamis in this book from the Tokaido tsunami in Japan in 1923 to the Indian Ocean tsunami in 2004.This series explores the world's top ten worst recorded disasters, explaining how and why they happen and where in the world they have taken place. The series also invites the reader to examine what they have learnt about natural disasters and to apply that knowledge by answering critical thinking questions at the end of each book. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.
    • More
  • Triumphs of Technology

    By Rob Colson
    Authors:
    Rob Colson
    From the power points in our homes to the mobile phones in our pockets, every aspect of our lives involves ingenious inventions of incredible complexity. Learn all about the inventions and advances in technologies that have helped make our lives a lot easier and discover the inventors and great minds who brought us these new machines in STEM-gineers: Triumphs of Technology.STEM-gineers is an exciting 4-book series, which focuses on particular engineering or scientific challenges. You will find out about the great minds behind every featured discovery or structure and learn through hands-on projects how these great minds overcame the scientific or engineering challenges of their time. From simple experiments, to observing and recording various aspects of the world around us, this series is the perfect introduction to the exhilarating world of STEM for readers aged 9 and up.
    • More
  • Ten Little Elves Board Book

    By Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
    Authors:
    Mike Brownlow
    Illustrated by:
    Simon Rickerty
    A Christmas counting rhyme from the creators of the bestselling, award-winning Ten Little Pirates. Now in a sparkly Board Book - perfect for little hands to hold!Ten Little Elves set off on a mission to rescue Christmas. But what will the little elves do when they meet a growling polar bear, a yowling yeti and a scary Ice Queen...?An action-packed counting rhyme, with lots of things to spot and count on every page. "Excellent" Guardian on Ten Little Pirates"Roaringly funny rhymes" Independent on Ten Little Dinosaurs"Perfect for sharing again and again" Parents in Touch on Ten Little Pirates
    • More

    This Drop of Water

    By Anna Claybourne
    Authors:
    Anna Claybourne
    This Drop of Water begins with a thunderstorm on a hot summer day. Suddenly - splash! A drop of water hits a girl right on the nose. Where did it come from? And where will it go? She wants to know! The book uses this simple premise as a jumping-off point to explore what water is, where it comes from and how essential it is to life here on Earth. It explores topics as important and wide-ranging as how the Earth formed, the water cycle, clouds and the tides. It also highlights just how precious a resource water is. A beautifully illustrated picture book with friendly narrative text by the award-winning author of This Little Pebble, which was shortlisted for prestigious science and art awards, This Drop of Water will make the topic come alive for readers aged 7 and up.List of contents:Thunderstorm!Watery worldIt came from outer spaceFlowing downhillInto the oceansUnderwaterOut of the seaCloudsHere comes the rain!The big freezeWater shapes the worldWater undergroundWater for plantsWater for animalsWater for usTurn on the tap!Down the plugholePrecious waterWeird waterRound and roundWater activitiesGlossary and index
    • More

    This Book is Not Rubbish

    By Isabel Thomas, Alex Paterson
    Authors:
    Isabel Thomas
    Illustrated by:
    Alex Paterson
    OUR PLANET IS IN PERIL AND IT NEEDS YOUR HELP! But the good news is that there are loads of easy ways that you can make a difference! From throwing a planet party and ditching straws, to banning glitter and becoming an art-activist, helping to save the planet is not as difficult as you think. Covering issues like plastics, pollution, global warming and endangered animals, this is a one-stop guide to becoming an eco-warrior, not an eco-worrier. Discover how to ditch the plastic, reduce your rubbish and start making everyday steps that will make all the difference. It's time to take control of your future and help clear the world of all this rubbish!
    • More
  • Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

    By Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
    Authors:
    Dermot O’Leary
    Illustrated by:
    Nick East
    Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her SECOND ninja adventure! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Toto, the amazing ninja cat, is back and cooler than ever! Toto is almost blind, but that doesn't stop her having brilliant adventures. Something CAT-ASTROPHIC has happened: ALL the cheese in the world has been stolen. Join Toto, her brother Silver and their best-friend Catface on a secret mission to save the day. Toto is going to need all her ninja skills to defeat the fur-midable cheese thief ...Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'Have you read Toto's first adventure, The Great Snake Escape?
    • More

    Trans Global

    By Honor Head
    Authors:
    Honor Head
    This book for children aged 12+ supports the study of the fascinating long history of transgender around the world.The whole concept of gender identity is being increasingly challenged and words such as non-binary, pansexual, transgender, cisgender and gender dysphoria are becoming commonplace. This book explores the cultures and people of the past who have embraced, challenged or quietly subverted society's expectations about gender. It features the current stories of openly transgender people around the world in positions of power and authority, who are helping to increase recognition and acceptance of the trans community. And, as trans people often start their journeys in their teens, the book explores the experiences of some young people just at the start of their journeys.The book has a foreword by two patrons of the charity Mermaids. Jake says, 'What is becoming evident is that trans people have been around for centuries, in many guises ... transgender is certainly not the trendy fad that the press would have us believe'.
    • More
  • The Toxic Cookie Monster

    By Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
    Authors:
    Tony Bradman
    Illustrated by:
    Wil Overton
    Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In Toxic Cookie Monster a bad bag of cookies turns a teacher into a monster, and Kid Force 3 have to save the town from her chocolate chip craving.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to encourage children's reading development. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, and contains accessible storylines in a familiar setting with science fiction themes. It can also be used with older, independent readers who have low reading confidence or who are struggling to enjoy books.
    • More
  • Tea

    By Alex Woolf
    Authors:
    Alex Woolf
    Did you know that the plain-looking bags you use to brew a steaming mug of tea are steeped in fascinating history? This simple drink has caused wars, been smuggled, been the drink of the elite and even resulted ship races across the globe! This book describes the journey tea has taken, from ancient Chinese rituals to an everyday staple drink. Other topics covered are the health aspects of tea, how it is produced, its chemical properties and how it is traded around the world.An ideal leisure read, but also perfect for course work and presentations.
    • More
  • Trixie and the Terrible Trick

    By G M Berrow
    Authors:
    G M Berrow
    Join all your My Little Pony friends in these brilliant original adventures, inspired by the hit TV show.Trixie is on a mission - to impress the legendary Starmane Society of Magicians with a spectacular feat of magic. She can't believe her luck when she develops a mysterious glowing hoof, transforming everything she touches into precious gems! This is sure to do the trick ...But when the glow starts to spread Trixie's in trouble! Can the My Little Pony friends reverse the curse before it's too late?
    • More

    That's Not What Happened

    By Kody Keplinger
    Authors:
    Kody Keplinger
    Six survived to tell the story, but who knows the truth? The next hotly anticipated YA novel from bestselling US sensation Kody Keplinger, author of THE DUFF and RUNIt's been three years since the Virgil County High School Massacre. Three years since my best friend, Sarah, was killed in a bathroom stall during the mass shooting. Everyone knows Sarah's story - that she died proclaiming her faith. But it's not true. I know because I was with her when she died. I didn't say anything then, and people got hurt because of it. Now Sarah's parents are publishing a book about her, so this might be my last chance to set the record straight . . . but I'm not the only survivor with a story to tell about what did - and didn't - happen that day. Except Sarah's martyrdom is important to a lot of people, people who don't take kindly to what I'm trying to do. And the more I learn, the less certain I am about what's right. I don't know what will be worse: the guilt of staying silent or the consequences of speaking up . . .
    • More
  • Thin Ice

    By Sue Graves, Roger Simó
    Authors:
    Sue Graves
    Illustrated by:
    Roger Simó
    When friends Lenny and Ted take their bikes off to the woods on a cold, snowy day, Mum warns them to keep away from the icy pond. The trouble is, Lenny just can't resist it and ends up nearly paying a very high price...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.
    • More
  • Tim Berners-Lee

    By Izzi Howell
    Authors:
    Izzi Howell
    Find out about the life of Tim Berners-Lee from his early life to his career and why he invented the World Wide Web.The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.
    • More