index
Our books

Cicada

By Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan
A stunning new picture book for anyone who has ever felt unappreciated, from Academy Award winner Shaun Tan.Cicada work in tall building.Data entry clerk. Seventeen year.No sick day. No mistake.Tok Tok Tok!Cicada works in an office, dutifully working day after day for unappreciative bosses and being bullied by his co-workers. But one day, something truly extraordinary happens . . . A story for anyone who has ever felt unappreciated, overlooked or overworked but dreams of magic, from Australia's most acclaimed picture book creator. This is Shaun Tan's first author-illustrator book in five years, and his most important and moving fable since The Arrival.
  • More

Lots of Frogs

By Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt
Authors:
Howard Calvert
Illustrated by:
Claudia Boldt
Tommy Fox has a box - a box full of frogs. And when they all jump out at school, that's when the fun begins! There is chaos in the classroom and high jinks in the hall. Can Tommy get the frogs back in the box?You'll want to hop along with this fun, rhyming text by debut author Howard Calvert with deliciously bright and bold illustrations from Claudia Boldt!
  • More

Treasury of Bedtime Stories

By Enid Blyton, Becky Cameron
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Illustrated by:
Becky Cameron
A stunning treasury of favourite bedtime stories from one of the world's best-loved storytellers. With gorgeous full-colour illustrations by Becky Cameron throughout, this special book is a gift to treasure forever.Both a gorgeous gift for fans of Enid Blyton and a striking introduction to her work for new readers, this glorious hardback contains over 300 pages of beautifully illustrated short stories to read and share at bedtime. Each short story stands alone and takes the reader on a brand-new adventure. From the pixie seamstress who makes dresses for the Fairy Queen, to the little boy who turns into a steam engine, meet a host of magic and memorable characters, brought to life by Becky Cameron's charming illustrations. The stories first appeared in magazines and anthologies published between 1920-1960s.Look out for these other gorgeous Enid Blyton gift books: Enid Blyton's Magical TreasuryThe Famous Five TreasuryJolly Good Food (a children's cook book)Favourite Stories from Enid Blyton*Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.
  • More

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

By Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Authors:
Charlie Farley
Illustrated by:
Layn Marlow
A heartfelt story about friendship and the power of self-belief, perfect for sharing at bedtime.He'd fly every night through the wood that he loved,And quietly gaze at the stars up above.But something was missing that made him feel blue.When he sang in the moonlight ... he'd just say 'T-WOO!'Little owl Twoo feels like something is missing. His song is incomplete, a T-woo without a T-wit. So the brave little owl sets off in search of his true owl song - and a true friend to sing with him. On his journey, he discovers that when you believe in yourself, anything is possible.This feel-good rhyming picture book is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.
  • More
  • Dragons: Thor Bonecrusher

    Learn to read with Hiccup! The How to Train Your Dragon Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to Hiccup and the magical world of reading.After Snoutlout has played a trick on him, Fishlegs suddenly believes he is the powerful warrior Thor Bonecrusher! He strides off to rid Berk of the scary Scauldron dragon, needing no help from his friends. But Hiccup and the others know he can not face this dangerous dragon alone.How to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.The Beginner Reader series includes:How to Build a Dragon Fort, How to Defend Your Dragon, How to Pick Your Dragon, How to Raise Three Dragons, How to Start a Dragon Academy, How to Track a Dragon
    • More
  • Dragons: Dangerous Songs

    Learn to read with Hiccup! The How to Train Your Dragon Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to Hiccup, Toothless and the magical world of reading.Join Hiccup as he has to rescue his friends from the dangerous Death Song Dragon. Will he be able to work out how to break through the Dragon's rock prison in time to save his friends?How to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.The Beginner Reader series includes:How to Build a Dragon Fort, How to Defend Your Dragon, How to Pick Your Dragon, How to Raise Three Dragons, How to Start a Dragon Academy, How to Track a Dragon
    • More

    Frockodile

    By Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis
    Authors:
    Jeanne Willis
    Illustrated by:
    Stephanie Laberis
    Celebrating acceptance and being who you really are, this joyful story is about Cliff, the crocodile who wants to wear a dress.When the hyenas laugh at Cliff, he pretends he's dressing up for a play. But no play exists! Luckily his friend Freddy comes to the rescue and creates a show for Cliff to star in. But what will his dad say when he sees him?A funny story about inclusion and supporting your friends and family illustrated with exuberance.Jeanne Willis is an award-winning author who has written over 150 books, including The Bog Baby, the Paddington Movie novelisation and Tadpole's Promise.
    • More
  • Kipper's Snowy Day Board Book

    By Mick Inkpen
    Authors:
    Mick Inkpen
    Beautifully capturing the joy of playing in the snow, this classic Kipper adventure in a durable board book is perfect to cuddle up with!Kipper loves the snow and when he sees great white flakes tumbling down one morning, he can't wait to be out enjoying himself. Kipper's friend Tiger isn't nearly as good at snow games as Kipper is, because of his silly, woolly clothes - but they still manage to build a wonderful snowdog.'The charmingly comical Inkpen, as always, hits the spot.' Guardian'You simply cannot fail to win smiles with a new book about Kipper.' Daily MailMick Inkpen has been a bestselling children's author for over 25 years. He is one of today's most popular picture book author/illustrators and the famous creator of both Kipper and Wibbly Pig. Mick has won the Children's Book Award for Threadbear and the British Book Award twice, for Penguin Small and Lullabyhullaballoo. Kipper won a BAFTA for Best Animated Film.
    • More

    My Dad's in Prison

    By Jackie Walter
    Authors:
    Jackie Walter
    A sensitive and moving account of having a parent in prison, written from a child's point of viewDad's gone away for a while, but I don't understand why. I miss him. Every year in the UK, over 200,000 children suffer the trauma of parental imprisonment. Children with a parent in prison feel isolated, ashamed - unable to talk about their situation because they are scared of being bullied and judged. They often feel that they are to blame and having a parent in prison marks them as an outcast. Children with parents in prison are: - twice as likely to experience conduct and mental health problems, and less likely to do well at school- three times more likely to be involved in offending- sixty-five per cent of boys with a convicted father will go on to offend This sensitively written picture book explores the experience of having a parent in prison from a child's point of view. Perfect for sharing with children, it promotes understanding and provides reassurance. It has been written with the advice and support of Storybook Dads, a charity that seeks to help children and parents maintain their relationship during imprisonment by providing CD recordings of fathers reading bedtime stories to their children.
    • More

    A Christmas Carol

    By Tony Mitton, Mike Redman
    Authors:
    Tony Mitton
    Illustrated by:
    Mike Redman
    A magical picture book retelling of Charles Dickens' classic tale - told in rhyme! Mean old Ebenezer Scrooge hates everything. Even Christmas! But one frosty Christmas Eve, Scrooge receives a visit from three ghostly spirits, who whisk him away on a magical journey through Past, Present and Future ... can they melt his frozen heart before it's too late?Tony Mitton's simple picture book retelling is perfect introduction, for even the youngest children, to this timeless story of Christmas love and kindness.
    • More
  • Here Come the Llamas

    By Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
    Authors:
    Pat-a-Cake
    Illustrated by:
    Laura Hambleton
    Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Llamas is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute llamas! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the llamas! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns
    • More

    The Big Race

    By David Barrow
    Authors:
    David Barrow
    Aardvark is only small and the Big Race is long and hard. But Aardvark is going to join in and give it everything she's got!A heart-warming, stylish and delightfully funny celebration of taking part rather than winning from Sebastian Walker Award winner David Barrow.If you love Julia Donaldson's The Ugly Five, you will love this.The Big Race is packed full of wonderful African animals including an aardvark, crocodile, cheetah, buffalo and African hoopoe. Visit David at davebarrowillustration.co.uk and follow him at @DaveBarrow3.
    • More
  • Giraffes Can't Dance: 20th Anniversary Limited Edition

    By Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
    Authors:
    Giles Andreae
    Illustrated by:
    Guy Parker-Rees
    A beautiful 20th Anniversary Gift Edition of this much-loved classic picture book about being yourself and finding your own tune.Gerald the giraffe longs to go to the great Jungle Dance, but how can he join in when he doesn't know how to tango or two-step? Everyone knows that giraffes can't dance ... or can they? Giraffes Can't Dance has been a family favourite for 20 years. A funny, touching and triumphant story, it has sold over 4 million copies worldwide. Now in a beautiful limited-edition hardback, complete with a foiled slipcase, this is the perfect present for every family.A highly collectable edition for fans old and new."All toddlers should grow up reading this" - Daily Mail"A modern classic" - Baby and Me"A joyful read about an outsider who finds acceptance on his own terms ... there's also a simple moral about tolerance and daring to be different" - Junior"A fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp" - Daily Telegraph
    • More