index
Our books

Midnight Sun

By Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook
Katie can't leave her house during the day: she has a rare disease that makes even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. But everything changes when one night, singing her heart out on a deserted station platform, she meets Charlie.Before the night is out, Katie is smitten. But she hasn't told Charlie her secret. She just wants to have her normal love story, before reality kicks in. Lost in her night-time summer romance, Katie knows that love will light the way.
  • More
  • The Novice

    By Taran Matharu
    Authors:
    Taran Matharu
    • More

    The Revolution Handbook

    By Alice Skinner
    Authors:
    Alice Skinner
    Seen the news? Hate it? Don't know what to do next? Start a revolution with artist and activist Alice Skinner's guided journal, in the vein of Wreck This Journal. Perfect for anyone who dreams of a better world and wants to help make it a reality. With dozens of prompts that are both snarky and practical, The Revolution Handbook will get you to stop yelling helplessly at your news feed and start planning your resistance. Fill the interior pages to track the movements you admire and want to join. Set out your arguments on paper BEFORE you get tongue-tied at the dinner table. Plan your protests, make time for self-care, catalogue the heroes you want to remember and even sew Trump's mouth shut. Inside you can:- Play protest march bingo- Design your own political party- Rewrite the headlines that aggravate you every day- Reflect on how YOU can help change the world- Daydream about your activist heroesSo what are you waiting for? It's time to grab a pen and start your revolution. Get all your thoughts and emotions out - and get ready to change the world!
    • More

    Mary's Monster

    By Lita Judge
    Authors:
    Lita Judge
    The dark, captivating story of one remarkable young woman. And her monster.Creative genius...? Inventor of science fiction...? Pregnant teenage runaway...? Who was the real Mary Shelley? Publishing to mark the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein, Mary's Monster is the compelling, and beautifully illustrated, story of Mary Shelley - the original rebel girl and an inspiration for everyone from teenage readers to adult. When her fractured bond with her beloved father, and her elopement with the mercurial (and married) poet Percy Bysshe Shelley at the age of 16, led her to Switzerland, few could have imagined the consequence would be such a book. But, in the crucible of societal disapproval and tenuous circumstances, Mary Shelley created Frankenstein, and his monster, forged in the fire of her troubled and tragic life. Part biography, part fantasy and part feminist allegory, Mary's Monster is an engrossing take on one remarkable young woman. And her monster.
    • More

    The Taste of Blue Light

    By Lydia Ruffles
    Authors:
    Lydia Ruffles
    'Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. I LOVED IT' LOUISE O'NEILLAn incandescent, soul-searching story about a broken young woman's search for a truth buried so deep it threatens to consume her, body and mind.These are the things Lux knows:She is an artist. She is lucky. She is broken.These are the things she doesn't know:What happened over the summer.Why she ended up in hospital.Why her memories are etched in red. 'The nightmares tend to linger long after your screams have woken you up ...'Desperate to uncover the truth, Lux's time is running out. If she cannot piece together the events of the summer and regain control of her fractured mind, she will be taken away from everything and everyone she holds dear.If her dreams don't swallow her first.'It's very brave, and fierce, and electric' SARA BARNARD
    • More
  • Deception

    By Teri Terry
    Authors:
    Teri Terry
    Some lies can't be forgiven ...Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.As the epidemic spreads, survivors are being hunted like witches, for the authorities fear their strange new powers. Kai is desperate to trace Shay, who tricked him and disappeared. Meanwhile, Shay is searching for the truth behind the origins of the epidemic ... but danger finds them wherever they go. Can they outrun the fire? From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.
    • More
  • Crash Landing

    By Robert Muchamore
    Authors:
    Robert Muchamore
    Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com
    • More
  • Anassa

    By Josh Martin
    Authors:
    Josh Martin
    A compelling fantasy adventure with a strong feminist message, for fans of Melinda Salisbury and Victoria Aveyard.Less than a year since their cities were joined, the people of Athenas and Metis are still arguing. When the island is invaded by Vulcan, whose resource-ravaged, overpopulated island wants to claim Chloris as its own, Etain's new leadership is compromised. The only way she can restore her people's confidence and save her island is to take up a sea quest to retrieve a magical item from a volcano. Alongside her brother Taurus, Etain sets sail for the volcano. But they soon discover there is more to the quest than they realised.It's up to Etain to be the leader she is destined to be. Should she fight, or should she try to unite?'Impressive and thought-provoking - this is a skilfully constructed fantasy adventure with strong, distinct central characters and an ending that will have readers desperate for the next episode.' LoveReading4Kids on Ariadnis
    • More
  • Miss Match: The Truth About Destiny

    By Crystal Cestari
    Authors:
    Crystal Cestari
    The cute and quirky follow-up to Miss Match - fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift ... she can see anyone's soul mate, just by looking into their eyes. Problem is, when Amber gazes at her boyfriend, she sees him getting future loved-up with her best friend. To make matters worse, Amber has been tasked with helping Iris Chamberlain, a girl who has fallen for a mermaid. Iris is planning a dangerous transformation to join her soul mate underwater forever, but she's chosen the worst witch imaginable to perform the spell. With Iris in danger and her own love life looking far from happily ever after, there's one question plaguing Amber. Could the Fates be wrong?
    • More

    A-Z of Growing Up, Puberty and Sex

    By Lesley De Meza, Stephen De Silva
    Authors:
    Lesley De Meza, Stephen De Silva
    The A-Z of Growing UP, Puberty and Sex is the perfect ready-reference guide to help you get through adolescence. Get to grips with all of the important, and sometimes embarrassing, facts of life. Packed with lots of practical support on how to deal with the physical and emotional changes that growing up brings. This book explains words and terms, both medical and slang, to help you find your way through puberty from A-Z.From A to Z, here are some of the topics discussed in this great guide to being or becoming a teenager: Adoption, Body image, Coming out, Contraception, Dumping and getting dumped, Eating disorders, Fancying: Does he/she fancy you?, Gay/Lesbian, HIV/AIDS, Internet safety, Jealousy, Kissing, Love, Masturbation, Orgasm, Peer pressure, Periods, Relationships, Sex, Transgender/Transsexual, Underwear, Virginity, Wet dreams, You, Zits...
    • More
  • the Great Depression?

    By Emma Marriott
    Authors:
    Emma Marriott
    Look at the events that lead to the Wall Street Crash of October 1929 and the shockwaves that it sent around the world, leading to economic crisis and financial panic and plunging millions into unemployment, eviction from their homes and grinding poverty. Explore the legacy of the Great Depression internationally, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as political ferment leading to the rise of fascism, and the good things, including the expansion of the welfare state and provision for those in need, technological innovation and the rise of the cinema industry.
    • More
  • the American Civil War?

    By Philip Steele
    Authors:
    Philip Steele
    This book considers the deadliest war in US history, which killed 750,000 soldiers and many civilians before this young nation was a century old. Its legacy still resonates across the USA today. Did it achieve any of its goals? Did it have unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?Each book includes a comprehensive overview of the historical event in question, providing background information to help readers understand the issues being discussed. In looking at the consequences of each event, both good and bad, various themes are covered, from politics and society to science, technology and popular culture. The series fits well with the history curriculum at key stage 3, looking at issues in world history and their interconnections with other world developments. Perfect for readers aged 12 and up.
    • More
  • The Battlemage

    By Taran Matharu
    Authors:
    Taran Matharu
    One boy's ability to summon demons will change the fate of an empire ... The epic conclusion to the fantasy trilogy described as 'Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings meets Pokemon'. After the thrilling cliffhanger at the end of book two, we rejoin Fletcher and his friends in the ether, where they must undertake a mortally dangerous quest all the while avoiding capture by enemies and facing foes more terrifying than anything they have yet encountered. But this is nothing compared to what truly lies ahead for Fletcher, as his nemesis, albino orc Khan, is on a mission to destroy Hominum and everything and everyone that Fletcher loves. Epic battles, dramatic revelations and breathtaking drama await in the third book in the New York Times bestselling Summoner series.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller
    • More