index
Our books

The You Are Awesome Journal

By Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Illustrated by:
Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Find your way to awesome with this brilliant toolkit of goals, plans and challenges! Boys and girls everywhere have been discovering that they can be awesome thanks to bestselling author Matthew Syed. Now he's created an interactive journal full of life hacks, challenges and activities to give kids the confidence to come up with their own plan of action to be the best they can be. Because, with the right mindset, you really CAN do (almost) anything, whether you want to supercharge your maths, try out for the team or be the first person to walk on Mars. Whether setting out their goals, planning the best practice ever, keeping calm with breathing exercises or making paper aeroplanes to understand marginal gains, readers will love the brilliant activities in The You Are Awesome Journal. This is the perfect toolkit for anyone who dreams big - and who wants to make those dreams come true.Praise for YOU ARE AWESOME: 'Great book for young children about determination, resilience, self-confidence.' - Phil Neville, former England footballer and head coach of England Women'I have lost track of the number of people recommending YOU ARE AWESOME by Matthew Syed. An accessible, practical approach to helping kids develop a growth mindset.' - The Bookseller'An awesome book about becoming awesome. How inspiring it is to know that there's a path to awesomeness and that anyone - absolutely anyone - can go down that path. This book shows you how.' - Professor Carol Dweck, Professor of Psychology, Stanford University'Grab yourselves a copy folks, this is wonderful and insightful.' - Author Giles Paley-Phillips'I read YOU ARE AWESOME in one go, and then read it again! It answered so many questions I had about how to get better at some of the things I struggle with. It has stories of how others have been successful and makes you feel that you can do it too. After reading YOU ARE AWESOME I've changed how I approach difficult things. I've told all my friends to read it!' - Freddie, age 10'I loved this book. YOU ARE AWESOME really builds your confidence and shows you how the right mindset can help you achieve your dreams. It shows that you have to be brave, prepare for failure and have self-belief. I will definitely be using some of the principles in this book to tackle some everyday challenges and other bigger ones too. A definite must read for anyone who wants to achieve more with their lives and build their confidence.' - Ella, age 13
  • More
  • Sport

    By Nancy Dickmann
    Authors:
    Nancy Dickmann
    Sport can bring moments of joy and huge emotion. It can also bring moments of supreme weirdness! Some of sport's oddest stories are almost too strange to be believed. From lucky socks and alligators on the golf course to marathon runners who let the train take the strain, this book uncovers some of the strangest true stories in the history of sport. It's a great fun read for any sports fan aged 8+.If you enjoyed this book, why not look out for Strange but True: Football.
    • More

    The World of the Whale

    By Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
    Authors:
    Smriti Prasadam-Halls
    Illustrated by:
    Jonathan Woodward
    Dive into the underwater world of whales and dolphins in this entrancing illustrated guide. Graceful and serene, intelligent and social, the whale is a wonder of the deep blue sea. And yet, whales rely on air to breathe - they are mammals, just like us.With breathtaking text, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the migrations, songs and family life of these mysterious creatures, and reveals the dangers they face from plastic, pollution and hunting. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the marine world to life with stunning papercut collage artwork. An astonishing follow-up to the English 4-11 Award-winning book The Ways of the Wolf, which is also shortlisted for the SLA Award.'The expressive writing and the colourful, original artwork depict the lives of whales perfectly. Perceptively illustrating their strong social nature and intelligence, this beautiful book also explores the dangers faced by these incredible creatures and the need for us to work together to protect them.' - Whale & Dolphin Conservation
    • More
  • Storm Clouds

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. A mysterious creature is prowling in the island's forests. while a hurricane rises off shore. Fleur, Alfie and Mia need the dolphins as never before ... Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the sixth in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.
    • More

    Will You Catch Me?

    By Jane Elson
    Authors:
    Jane Elson
    From the author of A Room Full of Chocolate comes a heartwarming story about identity and courage, and a tremendous young girl who cares for her alcoholic mother. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Lean.Nell Hobson lives with a tortoise called Bob Marley, guinea pigs Asbo and Chaos, goldfish Beyoncé and Destiny, gerbils Fizz and Tyrone, Aunty Lou the Hamster ... and her mum, who drinks too much. Nell does everything she can to be a good daughter so that her mum will stop. But when things get really hard, Nell stands on her head. Everything looks better upside down, don't you know?Nell wishes she knew who her dad was. When new teacher Mr Samuels makes history come alive and tells the class the story of Nell Gwynn, the Orange Girl who became one of the first actresses on the London stage, Nell is captivated and is determined to dress up as an Orange Girl for the Costume Parade. She hatches a plan with her best friend Michael: a way to make her dad step forward and claim her. Will she succeed?A charming middle grade story with a strong, positive message that celebrates community and friendship.
    • More
  • In the Animal Kingdom

    By Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    Illustrated by:
    Mark Ruffle
    • More
  • Missing

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. The family have relied on their pod of dolphins for everything - but they're ready to come to the rescue when, this time, it's their dolphin friends who need the kids' help! Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the fifth in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.
    • More
  • On Planet Earth

    By Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
    Authors:
    Paul Mason
    Illustrated by:
    Mark Ruffle
    • More
  • Experts of Engineering

    By Rob Colson
    Authors:
    Rob Colson
    Engineers through the ages have tamed the awesome forces of nature to build towering skyscrapers, dig deep tunnels, and hold back mighty rivers. Learn all about the amazing advances in engineering that have permitted us to build taller, stronger and deeper in STEM-gineers: Experts in Engineering.STEM-gineers is an exciting 4-book series, which focuses on particular engineering or scientific challenges. You will find out about the great minds behind every featured discovery or structure and learn through hands-on projects how these great minds overcame the scientific or engineering challenges of their time. From simple experiments, to observing and recording various aspects of the world around us, this series is the perfect introduction to the exhilarating world of STEM for readers aged 9 and up.
    • More
  • Scholars of Science

    By Rob Colson
    Authors:
    Rob Colson
    What is gravity and who discovered its laws? How does evolution work and how did Darwin work it out? Learn all about the advances in science that have expanded our understanding of Earth, our place in the living world and the workings of the Universe in STEM-gineers: Scholars of Science.STEM-gineers is an exciting 4-book series, which focuses on particular engineering or scientific challenges. You will find out about the great minds behind every featured discovery or structure and learn through hands-on projects how these great minds overcame the scientific or engineering challenges of their time. From simple experiments, to observing and recording various aspects of the world around us, this series is the perfect introduction to the exhilarating world of STEM for readers aged 9 and up.
    • More
  • Vikings

    By Moira Butterfield
    Authors:
    Moira Butterfield
    What's the first Viking object you can think of? A Viking battle axe or a longship? Did you know that thousands more stone, metal, pottery, bone and wooden objects have been found from this time in human history? All of these objects can tell us a lot about the Vikings. We know about the animals they farmed, the the tools and weapons they used and we know about their everyday life and culture from the remains of the buildings they lived in. All over Britain, Viking artefacts have been Found!. Uncover the stories of thirteen incredible finds, what they can tell us about life back then and how they might relate to your life today.Found! is a series of six books that span British archaeological finds from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman Britain, the Viking Age and the Anglo Saxons. Ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.
    • More
  • Smoking, drugs and alcohol

    By Anna Claybourne
    Authors:
    Anna Claybourne
    This book, for children aged 9+, delves into the world of drugs and how these relate to our health. It explores medical, recreational and illegal drugs and includes topics such as smoking, addiction, legal highs and problems with drugs. It is illustrated with bright, graphic illustrations.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.
    • More
  • Keeping Fit

    By Anna Claybourne
    Authors:
    Anna Claybourne
    Keeping fit is about keeping your body working well, and avoiding illnesses and injuries. Getting exercise is one of the most important ways to do this, and that's mainly what this book is about. But exercise doesn't just work on its own. There are loads of ways to look after your body, and they all work together. This book is a guide for teens on how to keep fit and healthy.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.
    • More