index
Our books
  • Eating Well

    By Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
    Authors:
    Katie Woolley
    Illustrated by:
    Ryan Wheatcroft
    Why should I eat fruit and vegetables? What's wrong with chocolate and crisps? What are proteins and carbohydrates? The answers to these and many other questions about healthy eating can be discovered in this lively and informative series. The topic of healthy eating is complemented by charming and humorous illustrations. This book is designed for children to begin to learn about the importance of being healthy, and the ways in which we can look after our bodies to keep fit and well. At the back are notes for parents and teachers that provide additional advice and support as well as further activity ideas and information.These titles support the science curriculum at Key Stage One and Key Stage 2, as well as PSHCE topics.The Healthy Me series is aimed at children aged from 5 and up to explain how people can keep fit and be healthy, forming habits that will last a life time. Other titles in the series are: Exercise and Play, Keeping Clean, Keeping Safe, Taking Medicines, Resting and Sleeping.
    • More
  • Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere

    By Perdita Finn
    Authors:
    Perdita Finn
    In the human world, far from Equestria, there are some very familiar girls. Meet Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and all their friends as you've never seen them before!The Equestria Girls are super excited to be invited to the set of the latest Daring Do movie! This could be the perfect opportunity to raise funds for Camp Everfree. But when some important props go missing, they soon realise that something is seriously wrong . . . Can the friends use their newfound magical powers to save the movie from disaster and restore Camp Everfree?
    • More
  • Exercise and Play

    By Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
    Authors:
    Katie Woolley
    Illustrated by:
    Ryan Wheatcroft
    Why do I have to exercise? Why is it fun to play? The answers to these and many other questions about exercise and play can be discovered in this lively and informative series. The topics of fitness and fun are complemented by charming and humorous illustrations. This book is designed for children to begin to learn about the importance of being healthy, and the ways in which we can look after our bodies to keep fit and well. At the back are notes for parents and teachers that provide additional advice and support as well as further activity ideas and information.These titles support the science curriculum at Key Stage One and Key Stage 2, as well as PSHCE topics.The Healthy Me series is aimed at children aged from 5 and up to explain how people can keep fit and be healthy, forming habits that will last a life time. Other titles in the series are: Keeping Clean, Eating Well, Keeping Safe, Taking Medicines, Resting and Sleeping.
    • More
  • Extreme Earth Facts, Stats and Quizzes

    By Tracey Turner
    Authors:
    Tracey Turner
    Do you know why the Dead Sea is famous? Or which volcano is the most dangerous in the world? Stat Attack Extreme Earth is more fun to read than vaulting down a volcano in Venezuela!Stat Attack is irresistible to fact fiends, providing A-Z lists, top tens, etc, and focusing on mind-boggling information about the subjects that really interest them. Fascinating lists are meticulously researched and backed up with supplementary information. The books lend themselves to statistic games and comparisons, and are illustrated in an infographic style. Ideally suited to readers who love fact-based books but prefer to dip in and out. Tracey Turner is the highly acclaimed author of "Wee on a Jellyfish and Other Lies..." and "Ultimate 20". Reading Age 8, Interest Level 7-12.Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association
    • More
  • Eight O'Clock Tales

    By Enid Blyton
    Authors:
    Enid Blyton
    Eleven magical short stories to enjoy round the clock from one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton.Join Twiddle the gnome on his search for his grumpy runaway donkey Kick-up. Find out what happens when the rocking-horse, teddy and all the other toys come alive. And laugh at Twisty the Brownie as he learns the hard way why it's unwise to pull nasty faces.Ideal for bedtime, reading aloud or alone, these magical short stories for 5-8 year-olds will enchant a new generation of children.Look out for more O'Clock tales: Five O'Clock Tales, Six O'Clock Tales, Seven O'Clock Tales and Eight O'Clock Tales.Enid Blyton has been delighting readers for more than seventy years with her endless summers of fun, adventure and magic. Enid's best-loved characters include Noddy the wooden boy, Timmy the dog from The Famous Five and the mischievous twins Pat and Isabel O'Sullivan from the much-loved boarding school series St Clare's!First published in 1944, this edition contains the original text, illustrations and the following stories: The Good Turn; The Boy Who Heard Too Much; The Skittle-Policeman; Tick-Tock's Tea-Party; The Runaway Donkey; The Surprise Party; The Enchanted Doll; When the Toys Came Alive; The Brownie Who Pulled Faces; All the Way to Toy-Town; Poor Old Scarecrow!
    • More
  • The Enchanted Puppy

    By Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
    Authors:
    Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott
    Illustrated by:
    Erica-Jane Waters
    The second in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a magic bracelet that allowed you to bring toys to life? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! This time, the bracelet lets her bring things to life. But when a stuffed toy becomes a cute little puppy with a mind of his own, Evie and her friends are off on a magical adventure! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.
    • More
  • Earth and Space

    By Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
    Authors:
    Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
    Learn about Earth and Space in this book for curious cosmic kids. Discover what's inside the sun, and what's outside the solar system. From mini-meteors to giant galaxies: the universe is within these pages!This essential KS2 series for children aged 7 and up covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.
    • More
  • Eco-cities

    By Nancy Dickmann
    Authors:
    Nancy Dickmann
    From recycling drinking water to green transport links and renewable energy sources, cities can be adapted and built to be sustainable in all sorts of ways. In Putting the Planet First: Sustainable Cities, discover how people around the world are working all the time to innovate and create self-sustaining settlements. Learn too, what you can do to help the environment, and about small changes you can make that will have a real impact. It's a fascinating introduction to the positive changes people are making to try and live more sustainably, and will inspire children to think creatively about how they can put the planet first!
    • More
  • Electricity

    By Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
    Authors:
    Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
    What's the buzz about electricity? All bright sparks need to read this book to discover the shocking facts about electricity, as well as all about batteries, circuits and conductors.This essential KS2 series for children aged 7 and up covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.
    • More
  • The Emperor's New Clothes

    By Barrie Wade, A. O'kif
    Authors:
    Barrie Wade
    Illustrated by:
    A. O'kif
    The emperor is very vain, and he loves dressing himself in fine clothes. So he is easily duped when two swindlers arrive in town professing that they can make him the finest suit ever made - a suit so smart that it can only be seen by clever people! A beautifully illustrated retelling of this favourite traditional story. Must Know Stories includes favourite tales, celebrating the diversity of our literary heritage. Level 2 stories are told in chapters in under 1000 words.
    • More
  • Everyday Life, Art and Culture

    By John C. Miles
    Authors:
    John C. Miles
    Vikings have a fearsome reputation as terrifying and brutal warriors, raiding other lands and killing without mercy. Yet the Vikings were also incredibly cultured and lived in a complex society. Through artefacts and excavations, Discover the Vikings: Everyday Life, Art and Culture explores the Viking world by examining - among other things - shipbuilding and navigation, longhouses and home life, food and farming and their skills as craftspeople.The book also invites readers to use their own imaginations to think about what it would be like to live in Viking times. Would you be hardy enough to travel far from home in a mighty longship? For readers aged 7+.
    • More
  • Enid Blyton's Christmas Tales

    By Enid Blyton, Mark Beech
    Authors:
    Enid Blyton
    Illustrated by:
    Mark Beech
    Enid Blyton's timeless collection of Christmas stories - an ideal gift for anyone who loved the stories during their own childhood to pass on to the next generation of readers.Enid Blyton's Christmas Stories was so popular that readers asked for another collection - and here it is! Nobody captures the spirit of Christmas like Enid Blyton, and in these stories - which are perfect for reading alone or sharing - she describes the excitement of anticipating gifts, the pleasures of making special food, of singing carols, and coming together to share good times with friends and families. As ever with Blyton, there is mischief and mayhem but good always prevails in the end. This is an entirely different set of stories to the ones included in Enid Blyton's Christmas Stories. All stories previously appeared in magazines and anthologies from the 40s and 60s. This collection contains the original texts and is unillustrated.The stories in this collection are:One Christmas Eve All the Way to Santa Claus Annabelle's Little Thimble A Coat for the Snowman The Extraordinary Christmas Tree On His Way Home Good Gracious, Santa Claus! No Present for Benny First Walk in December The Christmas Tree Fairy A Christmas Legend The Christmas Bicycle The Battle in the Toyshop A Grand Visitor The Little Carol Singer The Man Who Wasn't Father Christmas A Christmas Wish He Belonged to the Family A Hole in her Stocking Christmas in the Toyshop They Didn't Believe in Santa Claus! Bobbo's Magic Stocking On Christmas Night Little Mrs Millikin Second Walk in December The Magic Snow-bird
    • More
  • Electricity

    By Peter Riley
    Authors:
    Peter Riley
    Moving Up with Science: Electricity reveals how electricity was discovered; what is inside a battery; and howto make your own series circuit. Explore the many uses of electricity and discover how to make your own buzzing robot.Find out all about the science in the world around us with Moving Up with Science. Written to support the National Curriculum at Key Stage 2, each title explores key scientific topics through a combination of concise information and fun experiments.
    • More