index
Our books

There May Be a Castle

By Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
A remarkable story about love, loss and the power of the imagination, from an award-winning, celebrated writer for children.On a frozen Christmas Eve, Mouse Mallory and his family set off across a snow-white valley to visit his grandparents.They never arrive.As the wheels skid off the icy road, Mouse is thrown from the car. When he wakes, he finds himself in a magical landscape, with only a talkative sheep and a very bossy horse for company.And they tell him: this is your story now.So begins Mouse's extraordinary quest through a world of wonder. A world of monsters, minstrels, dangerous knights and mysterious wizards; a world of terrifying danger but also more excitement than Mouse has ever known.All to find a castle, somewhere, beyond.But why is Mouse looking for a castle? As thoughts of his family back at the car begin to surface, Mouse realises this might be the most important journey he will ever make ...This is a novel about love and death. It's about the power of stories to change the way we view the world - and it's about the power of a child to change their own world. Emotionally arresting but ultimately uplifting, this is a remarkable novel for our times.
  • More

Torn

By Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.They didn't mean to kill her...now the guilt will tear them apartAlice King isn't expecting the holiday of her dreams when she sets off on a trip to the wilderness with her mates. But when her best friend Cass decides to teach mean girl Tara a lesson, Alice finds herself in a nightmare she can't escape.Now Alice is the guardian of a secret too horrific to tell; and a secret too terrible to keep. A secret that will change all of their lives for ever...
  • More
  • Through the Dark

    By Alexandra Bracken
    Authors:
    Alexandra Bracken
    From New York Times bestselling author Alexandra Bracken comes a collection of three hauntingly beautiful novellas set in the world of the Darkest Minds series.In the most harrowing of times, it takes a ferocious strength to not only survive, but stand up for those who cannot fight their own battles. The characters in these stories - some new, some familiar - face impossible missions, and the hardest of all may be protecting the last flicker of hope in a seemingly endless night. This is a must-have for fans of the Darkest Minds.IN TIME A desperate young man is forced to make a terrible choice between his own survival and the future of a little girl. The girl won't speak, but she changes his life in ways he could never imagine.SPARKS RISE A spark of light brightens the brutal world when a girl named Sam encounters her childhood best friend at the government-run 'rehabilitation' camp, Thurmond. Lucas and Sam form a risky escape plan, but sometimes even love isn't powerful enough to overcome unspeakable cruelty. BEYOND THE NIGHT The camps are closed and the tyrant president has been deposed. But for many Psi kids living rough, there is no home to return to, no place in a country devastated by the past and anxious about the future. Every day is a struggle for Sam - at least at Thurmond she knew the rules. Her new found freedom is filled with uncertainty and fear. But there's more at stake than Sam's own survival. She once made a promise to someone she loves, and the time has come to fulfill it.'Haunting ... Bracken creates a gripping and terrifying dystopian world' - Kirkus ReviewsAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Mindsseries. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.
    • More
  • True Power

    By Gary Meehan, Gary Meehan
    Authors:
    Gary Meehan, Gary Meehan
    The WarAfter battling their way across Werlavia, Megan and her friends have found safety in the mountain city of Hil. But the army of the True are waiting.The ThreatMegan knows they can't ignore the witch menace for long. Empowered by their guns and their allies, they are coming for her, for her daughter, for their world. The PowerMegan is no longer an ordinary mill girl. Mother, Apostate, Countess: it is up to Megan to protect the people of the Realm. But she will have to risk everything she loves to do so.
    • More
  • True Dark

    By Gary Meehan, Gary Meehan
    Authors:
    Gary Meehan, Gary Meehan
    As the war rages on, the witch army is unstoppable in its march for power. But there is one thing the witches hunger for: sixteen-year-old Megan, and the baby daughter she has hidden from them. A child who holds the key to their future. A child they will hunt to the end...
    • More
  • True Fire

    By Gary Meehan
    Authors:
    Gary Meehan
    THE MISSION. Her sister stolen. Her grandfather murdered. Her home burned to the ground. At just 16, her life destroyed. Now, Megan wants revenge. THE ENEMY. But the men who took Megan's precious twin are no ordinary soldiers. The brutal witches, armour-clad and branded with the mark of the True, will stop at nothing to take back the power they once had. THE DECEPTION. Desperate for a way to destroy them, Megan uncovers a terrifying lie. A lie that will cast doubt on everything she has ever known, and everyone she has ever trusted. A lie that will put Megan at the heart of the greatest war her world has ever seen...
    • More
  • Taken by Storm

    By Jennifer Lynn Barnes
    Authors:
    Jennifer Lynn Barnes
    Bryn knows first-hand that being the alpha of a werewolf pack means making hard decisions, and that being human makes things a thousand times worse. She's prepared to give up her humanity, but the wolf who promised to Change her is waiting - though for what, Bryn doesn't know. Still human, she must take her place in the werewolf Senate, the precarious democracy that rules the North American packs. Standing side by side with werewolves who were ancient long before she was ever born is enough of a challenge, but Bryn soon learns that the Senate has been called to deal with a problem: the kind of problem that involves human bodies, a Rabid werewolf, and memories that Bryn, Chase, and the rest of their pack would rather forget. With bodies stacking up and political pressure closing in from all sides, Bryn and her pack are going to have to turn to old enemies and even older friends for help - especially when it starts to look like this time, the monster might be one of their own.
    • More
  • The Third Day, The Frost

    By John Marsden
    Authors:
    John Marsden
    Ellie and her friends have achieved more than they ever thought possible as an unarmed bunch of amateur teenage fighters. But it's not enough. The war wages on, their families are in captivity and their country is on its knees. Hiding back in Hell, the friends face a big question: what to do next? The gang have another success when they manage to rescue Kevin. He returns to them equipped with a new knowledge of explosives. Suddenly the question of what to do next becomes clear - launch an attack on the major enemy target of Cobblers' Bay.Can Ellie, Homer, Fi, Robin, Lee and Kevin really stage a major military attack on the enemy? And in their attempt to pull it off, what will they have to sacrifice? They have already lost Corrie and Chris; who else will the group have to lose in their desperation to defend their country? The Third Day, The Frost, draws the reader deeper into the struggle of these ordinary teens attempting to survive in extraordinary times. A tense and moving read that will stay with you forever.
    • More
  • Trial by Fire

    By Jennifer Lynn Barnes
    Authors:
    Jennifer Lynn Barnes
    At seventeen, Bryn is has the usual schoolgirl worries: a new boyfriend, a new school and a new home. But she has one major concern that her friends don't have: she is an alpha - a human girl in charge of her own werewolf pack. When Bryn and her closest friends, Dev and Lake, broke from the werewolf Callum's pack, it had all felt right. Together with Chase, Bryn's new love, they had rescued some newly made female werewolves from a despicable master and established their own pack, with Bryn as leader. Yet Bryn has always resented the rules of Pack life - the constant bowing to authority, the submission to the alpha. And she is determined to live differently, to run this pack openly and justly. Then one night, a badly beaten werewolf shows up on her territory. He needs help, sanctuary, care. But taking him in could violate inter-pack rules, and no one knows better than Bryn the costs of challenging those rules. Obedience is law in Pack life, but Bryn is going to break the rules, again.
    • More
  • Tomorrow When the War Began

    By John Marsden
    Authors:
    John Marsden
    'Compulsively readable' New York TimesSomewhere out there Ellie and her friends are hiding.Their country has been invaded. Everyone they know has been captured. Their world has changed overnight.They've got no weapons - except courage.They've got no help - except themselves.They've got nothing - except friendship.How strong could you be, if the world was full of people trying to kill you?Fans of Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins and Michael Grant - prepare to be hooked by the Tomorrow series.
    • More

    Tommy Storm and the Galactic Knights

    By A. J. Healy
    Authors:
    A. J. Healy
    Earthling Tommy and his four Milky Way friends are Galactic Knights - on a mission to save the Universe from pending destruction. Time is running out and the knights have many challenges in their way: they face the dreaded Beast of Hellsbells, must resist the allure of fame on an intergalactic gameshow and escape the deathly intents of the sherbet-addicted Nack Jickelson and the suicidal Chocolate Terrorists. All the while evil mastermind A-Sad-Bin-Liner is planning to unleash his plot of mass destruction and Tommy will be forced to choose between his friends and his ambition, between the universe and his own life.
    • More

    Tommy Storm

    By A. J. Healy
    Authors:
    A. J. Healy
    In the year 2096 Earth is sent an invitation by Wisebeardyface, head of the MilkyFed, that will change the course of its history. "We, the MilkyFed, are delighted to invite 5 children to a training school...in the centre of the Milky Way." Earthling and loser Tommy Storm, aged 11¼, is chosen for the secret mission for all the wrong reasons. Travelling in the 'BigLongThingy III' spaceship and wearing the NUTS (Nations Undertaking Travel into Space) space outfit, a polka-dot skin-tight ski-suit with 'E' for Earth imprinted on the back, he's convinced he will fail. Yet could it be that Tommy, and his newly spiked and trendy hair, is the only hope for the Earth and the Universe itself?Declan Kiberd, one of Ireland's foremost literary critics has said of Tommy Storm: "Brilliant. Hilarious. An intergalactic Gulliver's Travels"In December 2006, Tony Hickey said in Village magazine: "Tommy Storm is a knockout achievement that succeeds on so many levels and satirises so many cultural and literary genres that, to me, it reads as if Flann O'Brien had taken to writing science-fiction."
    • More
    1