index
Our books

Girlhood

By Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.'Emotive, creepy AND funny. A quality page-turner' SARAH CROSSAN'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet' JUNO DAWSONHarper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can't escape the guilt of her twin sister's Jenna's death, and her own part in it - and she knows noone else will ever really understand. But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels...loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died. Then Kirsty's behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper's? And why is she so obsessed with Harper's lost sister? Soon, Harper's closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity. How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.
  • More
  • Ghost Plane

    By Eleanor Hawken, Eleanor Hawken, Steve May
    Authors:
    Eleanor Hawken, Eleanor Hawken
    Illustrated by:
    Steve May
    As every respectable scientist knows, messing with the space-time continuum is more trouble than it's worth. That's why Felix Frost, secret child genius, has locked up his time machine for good. Yes, sir. But, when your best friend is an adventure-loving bossy pants and you've got a history project to do. Well, that changes things. When Missy and Felix visit Bill Hudson, Missy's great grandfather, to ask him about his years as a pilot in WW2, he tells them the story of the ghost plane: a fighter jet that went out on a routine mission, and when it came back, its pilot had vanished. Join Felix, Missy and Einstein as they dust off the time machine to travel back to England, 1943. Can they solve the mystery of the ghost plane without getting caught out as time travellers? Or worse, spies!
    • More
  • Guinea Pigs Online 2 (Unabridged

    By Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray, Oliver Hembrough
    Authors:
    Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray
    Read by:
    Oliver Hembrough
    Furry Towers promises the best food and fabulous facilities for guinea pigs - Fuzzy and Coco are so excited! But when they arrive, the friends find themselves in a smelly old hutch with only mouldy lettuce to eat. Coco is not impressed! And it soon becomes clear that something terribly sinister is going on at Furry Towers - can the friends save the day again?(P)2013 WF Howes Ltd
    • More
  • Guinea Pigs Online 1 (Unabridged

    By Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray, Oliver Hembrough
    Authors:
    Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray
    Read by:
    Oliver Hembrough
    Fuzzy and Coco are guinea pigs who live with their kindly owners, Ben and Henrietta Bliss. Coco likes to spend her days pampering herself and listening to harp concertos. Fuzzy is much more down to earth - he is a passionate cook who wants nothing more than to learn to make delicious meals for Ben and Henrietta. So when Fuzzy spots an ad run by glamorous local chef Scarlet Cleaver stating 'Guinea Pigs Wanted', he is enormously excited - what a chance to learn some cooking skills! Coco warns him that the ad is not what he thinks, but he won't listen; when she's not looking, he sneaks off to find the restaurant. And so Coco has to get online to try track Fuzzy down. But when Micespace reveals that guinea pigs from all over town have been taken away in a van by Scarlet Cleaver herself, Coco must set off on a rescue mission to prevent Fuzzy from ending up as main course on The Meat Cleaver's menu! (P)2013 WF Howes Ltd
    • More
  • Guinea Pigs Online

    By Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray, Sarah Horne
    Authors:
    Amanda Swift, Jennifer Gray
    Illustrated by:
    Sarah Horne
    Fuzzy and Coco are guinea pigs who live with their kindly owners, Ben and Henrietta Bliss. Coco likes to spend her days pampering herself and listening to harp concertos. Fuzzy is much more down to earth - he is a passionate cook who wants nothing more than to learn to make delicious meals for Ben and Henrietta. So when Fuzzy spots an ad run by glamorous local chef Scarlet Cleaver stating 'Guinea Pigs Wanted', he is enormously excited - what a chance to learn some cooking skills! Coco warns him that the ad is not what he thinks, but he won't listen; when she's not looking, he sneaks off to find the restaurant. And so Coco has to get online to try track Fuzzy down. But when Micespace reveals that guinea pigs from all over town have been taken away in a van by Scarlet Cleaver herself, Coco must set off on a rescue mission to prevent Fuzzy from ending up as main course on The Meat Cleaver's menu! A captivatingly funny story that will delight readers age 5+.
    • More
  • Ghost Roads, The

    By Eoin McNamee
    Authors:
    Eoin McNamee
    The nefarious leader of the Ring of Five, Ambrose Longford, is still determined to control both the Upper World and Lower World. But Danny and his friends at Wilsons School for Spies stand in his way. As Danny struggles with his role in the spy world, Longford is attempting to bring down the other members of the Ring, to usurp all of its power. Or is he? In this exhilarating conclusion to the Ring of Five trilogy, Eoin McNamee's twists and turns will leave readers wondering who they can believe in this dangerous world...
    • More

    Genesis

    By Bernard Beckett, Bernard Beckett
    Authors:
    Bernard Beckett, Bernard Beckett
    The island Republic has emerged from a ruined world. Its citizens are safe but not free. Until a man named Adam Forde rescues a girl from the sea. Fourteen-year-old Anax thinks she knows her history. She'd better. She's sat facing three Examiners and her five-hour examination has just begun. The subject is close to her heart: Adam Forde, her long-dead hero. In a series of startling twists, Anax discovers new things about Adam and her people that question everything she holds sacred. But why is the Academy allowing her to open up the enigma at its heart? Bernard Beckett has written a strikingly original novel that weaves dazzling ideas into a truly moving story about a young girl on the brink of her future.
    • More
    1