index
Our books
  • Hounds and Hauntings

    By Janine Beacham
    Authors:
    Janine Beacham
    The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton AbbeyThe city of Yorke is in a panic. There's been a murder! Is an ancient ghost-hound called the Barghest on the loose?ROSE RAVENTHORPE, her friend Orpheus and the secret society of butlers search for clues in the dark, eerie skitterways, on the mist-covered moors, and atop the ancient walls of the city. Rose believes that the villain is human, and she's determined to prove it.There's no sweeping this crime under the carpet...
    • More
  • Game Over!

    By Frank Lampard
    Authors:
    Frank Lampard
    Magic meets football in this fun-filled series from legendary footballer Frank Lampard, for readers aged 5 and up.Frankie and his team love playing football. There's always time for a game - whether it's real or on-screen! When Frankie is injured just before a five-a-side tournament, he's worried his team will have to pull out. So, when the magic football brings Frankie's gaming avatar through into the real world, it seems like they've got a perfect substitute. But E-Frankie starts to cause lots of trouble on and off the pitch. What will it take to get him back into the game where he belongs? Have you discovered the rest of the series yet? Frankie and his team play football with pirates, dinosaurs, aliens and everything in between!
    • More
  • The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

    By Abie Longstaff, James Brown
    Authors:
    Abie Longstaff
    Illustrated by:
    James Brown
    The first book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Ten-year-old Tally is a servant girl at Mollett Manor. She sleeps in the scullery sink, and spends her days scrubbing, polishing and ironing (when she's not secretly reading books). Then Tally and her squirrel friend, Squill, find a secret library hidden under the manor - a magical library where the books come to life! When Mollett Manor is burgled, can Tally use the knowledge she finds in the books to catch the criminals? Can they even help her solve the mystery of her missing mother?
    • More
  • The Truth of Different Skies

    By Kate Ling
    Authors:
    Kate Ling
    What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it's forever? A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope. For fans of Meg Rosoff and Beth Revis.Bea's life is as broken as Earth has become - dry, controlled and polarized. Having never left the small town where she was born, Bea feels trapped in an endless routine of school and a dead-end job she must do to support her messed-up mother.When a signal arrives from outer space, a mission is planned to find its origin that will take hundreds of years. Despite having to leave everyone and everything she's cares about, forever, Bea knows she has to be on that ship. Except she didn't plan on falling in love before she left . . .
    • More
  • The Trapdoor Mysteries: The Scent of Danger

    By Abie Longstaff
    Authors:
    Abie Longstaff
    The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?
    • More

    The Summer of Us

    By Cecilia Vinesse
    Authors:
    Cecilia Vinesse
    Five friends. Ten days. The most beautiful cities Europe has to offer. And a love story - or two... The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their trip around Europe practically from the moment they became BFFs in primary school. And, now, it ought to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university. But things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten. There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and his best friend Gabe, the boy Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. And there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is definitely into guys, not girls. Five friends. Ten days. Paris, Amsterdam, Prague, Florence, Barcelona. And a messy, complicated, can-this-really-be happening love story, or two ... because how could there not be?
    • More

    Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

    By Joanna Nadin
    Authors:
    Joanna Nadin
    A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline WilsonEleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her Grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum and a little sister and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .
    • More
    1