index
Our books
  • Wundersmith

    By Jessica Townsend
    Authors:
    Jessica Townsend
    NEVERMOOR - WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE 2018 YOUNGER FICTION CATEGORYReturn to the magical world of Nevermoor, where Morrigan Crow's adventures continue - a perfect gift for all young readers.'An extraordinary story full of magics great and small' Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE GIRL OF INK AND STARSMorrigan may have defeated her deadly curse, passed the dangerous trials and joined the mystical Wundrous Society, but her journey into Nevermoor and all its secrets has only just begun. And it's important to remember that not all magic is used for good . . . Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive."Extraordinary world-building" Guardian"Masterful storytelling, twisty plotting, a thrilling magical world and universally importsnt themes ... idefal reading for anyone who loves Harry Potter" Booktrust"This has light and dark, twists, inventiveness and big themes of prejudice and resistance" The Sunday Times"The perfect series for young Harry Potter fans" Irish Independent"Townsend is a brilliantly suspenseful storyteller who never lets the pace slacken" The Daily Telegraph
    • More

    Meat Market

    By Juno Dawson
    Authors:
    Juno Dawson
    Jana Novak's history sounds like a classic model cliché: tall and gangly, she's uncomfortable with her androgynous looks until she's unexpectedly scouted and catapulted to superstardom. But the fashion industry is as grimy as it is glamorous. And there are unexpected predators at every turn. Jana is an ordinary girl from a south London estate, lifted to unimaginable heights. But the further you rise, the more devastating your fall ... Honest and raw, this is a timely exposé of the dark underbelly of the fashion industry in an era of #TimesUp and #MeToo. It might just be Juno Dawson's most important book yet.
    • More

    Why Are there So Many Books About Bears?

    By Kristina Stephenson
    Authors:
    Kristina Stephenson
    Have you ever wondered why there are so many books about bears? That is the Impossible Question that all the other animals just can't figure out! Thankfully the most brilliant minds in the animal kingdom have gathered to try and answer it, once and for all. But someone keeps knockety-knocking on the door, offering tea and cakes and interrupting their train of thought! Maybe the answer they're looking for was right outside all along . . .From the brilliant author of Sir Charlie Stinky Socks, this hilarious picture book has a very cute surprise in store!
    • More

    Help! I Smell a Monster

    By Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
    Authors:
    Justin Davies
    Illustrated by:
    Kim Geyer
    This book STINKS . . . of monsters! A hilariously funny debut, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?
    • More
  • A Dog With Nice Ears

    By Lauren Child
    Authors:
    Lauren Child
    A brilliant Charlie and Lola board book story from multi-award-winning author and Children's Laureate Lauren Child! Lola wants a dog - but the qualities of her perfect pooch seem oddly like those of a ... rabbit! Silly, surprising, thoughtful and fun, Charlie and Lola are on top form in this fantastically funny story, packed full of dogs of every shape, size and colour. Lauren Child's endlessly endearing characters and inimitable humour will be a sure-fire hit with existing and new fans - this is the perfect tale for anyone who has ever imagined what having the perfect pet would be like.A new Charlie and Lola story is the gold standard in picture books - the perfect read-aloud that both children and parents will love. Discover more hilarious original picture books about Charlie and Lola: Charlie and Lola: I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato Charlie and Lola: I Am Not Sleepy and I Will Not Go to Bed Charlie and Lola: I Am Too Absolutely Small for School Charlie and Lola: Slightly Invisible Charlie and Lola: One Thing
    • More
  • Willow in Africa

    By Jenny Jinks
    Authors:
    Jenny Jinks
    This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 10-11.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Willow is not happy when her mum decides to relocate from the UK and set up a wildlife sanctuary in Africa. Her life could not be more different, and she misses her friends and old life. Then, one day, a baby giraffe named Shadow arrives at the sanctuary and Willow begins to see the amazing possibilitis her new life holds. A great story exploring change and adjustment.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.
    • More
  • Tom's Titanic

    By Jenny Jinks
    Authors:
    Jenny Jinks
    This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 10-11.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Tom can't believe his luck when his Uncle Max gets him a ticket for the Titanic. Tom's uncle is an engineer on board the ship and Tom discovers all about how the ship works. Then, in one fateful moment, everything changes and the unthinkable happens ...Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.
    • More
  • Save the library!

    By Katie Dale
    Authors:
    Katie Dale
    Summer is distraught when she finds her local library is going to close! She can't let that happen, so she sets about rallying friends to stop the closure and save the library.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.
    • More
  • The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

    By Jenny Jinks
    Authors:
    Jenny Jinks
    Wilf is not like other wolves. He doesn't want to scare people, he'd rather make friends with them! But the harder he tries to be nice, the more the others fear him ... so he decides to dress up as a sheep!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.
    • More
  • Are We There Yet?

    By Katie Woolley
    Authors:
    Katie Woolley
    Matt is impatient to find out where he is going but Mum and Dad want it to be a suprise ... the car journey feels like forever to matt!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure. Perfect for the 4-5 year old beginner reader or those reading book band red.
    • More
  • Bug Hotel

    By Jackie Walter
    Authors:
    Jackie Walter
    The children at school have an exciting task today - they're making a bug hotel! The minibeasts will be very happy when the chidlren have finished.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure. Perfect for the 4-5 year old beginner reader or those reading book band red.
    • More
  • Champion Gran

    By Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
    Authors:
    Deborah Chancellor
    Illustrated by:
    Elif Balta Parks
    This story expores the issue of respect - if we don't respect other people we miss the chance to learn from them and enjoy their friendship. In the story, seven-year old Kara doesn't want to visit her gran because she thinks it will be boring. But Sally at the care home takes Kara on a tour and she learns all about the lives of the residents - which are not boring at all. Kara even finds out that she and her gran have something in common. The story is suitable for children aged 5+ who are learning to read or for sharing with an adult. For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for children reading at band 5: green.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.
    • More
  • The Town Makeover

    By Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
    Authors:
    Deborah Chancellor
    Illustrated by:
    Elif Balta Parks
    This book explores the theme of civic or community pride in shared spaces and is suitable for young children aged 5+. Noah is really looking forward to his favourite magician visiting his town but he thinks his town needs a makeover before he comes. He and his family and friends get to work clearing litter and decorating the town. But how do they all feel when it looks like the magician can't make it after all? For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for children reading at band 5: green.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.
    • More