index
Our books

1001 Really Ridiculously Silly Jokes

By Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford
Know any good jokes? Here are 1001 (yes, one thousand and one!) awesome ones for the whole family to enjoy!Why did the empty sandwich go to the dentist?IT NEEDED A FILLING.What do you call a 20,000-year-old joke?PRE-HYSTERICAL.With jokes galore, puns, one-liners, visual gags, play on words and hilarious illustrations. Divided into sections such as 'Hilarious Holidays', 'Teacher Titters' and 'Football Funnies', this book will never get old and will have your friends and whole family laughing. A hilarious bumper book that will captivate any child and spark an interest in reading - created by the bestselling author of Teenage Kicks and Eye Benders, and winner of the Royal Society Young People's Book Prize.
  • More

The 100 Society

By Carla Spradbery
Authors:
Carla Spradbery
For sixth-form student Grace Becker, The 100 Society is more than just a game; it's an obsession. Having convinced her five friends at Clifton Academy to see it through to the end, Grace will stop at nothing to carry out the rules of the game: tagging 100 locations around the city. With each step closer to the 100-mark they get, the higher the stakes become. But when the group catches the attention of a menacing stalker - the Reaper - he seems intent on exposing their illegal game, tormenting Grace with anonymous threats and branding their dormitory doors with his ominous tag. As the once tight-knit group slowly unravels, torn apart by doubt and the death of a student, they no longer know who to trust. With time running out, Grace must unmask the Reaper before he destroys everything she cares about for ever...With its mix of horror and mystery The 100 Society is perfect for fans of Point Horror and James Dawson.'A pleasingly dark teen thriller with fun, fresh characters. Spradbery is a debut author to watch.' James Dawson
  • More
  • 2: Monkey Magic

    By Lucy Courtenay
    Authors:
    Lucy Courtenay
    Featuring tiger cubs, circus bears, swimming monkeys and cute koalas - this is a must-read series for all animal lovers!Twins Tori and Taya Wild disagree about almost everything ... except for their love of animals - which is good since their mother fosters all kinds of wild animals so their house is almost always full of them! But now their house has gone up in flames and the family's animal film business is struggling to get off its feet. And as if Taya doesn't have enough to worry about, Tori is making new friends without her. But when a request comes in for a swimming troupe of monkeys, things are looking up. They've got the monkeys - now they have to train them. If only Taya could swim ... It's lights, cameras, MONKEYS!
    • More
  • 1: Puppy Puzzle and Kitten Crowd

    By Lucy Daniels
    Authors:
    Lucy Daniels
    Mandy loves animals and knows lots about them too! Both her parents are vets - so Mandy's always able to help her friends with their pet problems ...Puppy Puzzle: James is taking his new Labrador puppy, Blackie, to pet day at school. But Blackie's brother Sooty is also there and they look almost identical. Now one of them has gone missing - but which one is it?Kitten Crowd: Katie has six newborn kittens to look after but her family are moving house and can't take them with them. Can Mandy find a new home for all six kittens by the end of the week?(P) Hodder Children's Books 2008
    • More
  • 1: Rhiannon of the Spring

    By Allan Frewin Jones
    Authors:
    Allan Frewin Jones
    YOU CAN BE A WARRIOR IF YOU CHOOSE TO BE ...Fifteen-year-old Branwen's life is changed for ever when enemy Saxon troops attack her homeland and kill her brother. Branwen is ready to jump into action and avenge her brother's death , but instead she is sent to a neighbouring village, safe out of harm's way. Yet while she is surrounded by exquisite luxury in her new home - as a princess should be - she feels different from other girls. Branwen has the soul of a warrior.Then a mystical woman in white foretells a daunting prophecy that Branwen will be the one to save her homeland. With no time to lose, Branwen must make a choice: continue in the path her parents set for her ... or step into the role of a true warrior princess.
    • More
  • 3: Divided Souls

    By Gabriella Poole
    Authors:
    Gabriella Poole
    The Darke Academy is a school like no other. An élite establishment that moves to an exotic new city every term, its students are impossibly beautiful, sophisticated and rich.Death has followed the Darke Academy to the ancient city of Istanbul. An unseen hunter is on the loose. Scholarship girl Cassie Bell is fascinated by the city's beauty, but there's no time for her to relax. Torn between an old flame and a new romance, she must also choose between the select world of the Few and her loyalty towards her best friends. And all the time a killer is stalking the Few. As Cassie is about to discover, no one is above suspicion.Sometimes, the people you love can be the most dangerous enemies of all ...
    • More
  • 2: Tunnel Racers

    By Damian Harvey, Mark Oliver
    Authors:
    Damian Harvey
    Illustrated by:
    Mark Oliver
    Meet Crank and Al ... robots on the run. Wandering through an enormous junk yard, our heroes find themselves entering a hidden robot world. They are welcomed by the Mekanix, who choose Crank to be the next race driver. His job: to beat their rival gang, the Engineerz, in a high-speed race through the sewers of Metrocity. But there's something sinister about the Mekanix and their tunnel racer ... A refreshed cover look for this well-loved series, illustrated by the incomparable Mark Oliver. Read on with The Tin Man, Razorbites, Powerball, The Ghost Sea and Aquanauts.
    • More
  • 6: The Flowered Apron

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    Lily loves playing dress-up with her friends, Pearl and Amber. But this dressing-up box isn't like any other ... When Lilly finds a silver mirror there's a magical dazzle of silver light and the next thing she knows, she's in the middle of Snow White's fairytale world!After running away from the wicked queen, Lily discovers an empty cottage in the woods. Inside she finds seven chairs and seven plates, seven beds with seven pairs of slippers - it's home to the seven dwarves! They kindly promise to help hide Lily and keep her safe. But soon her hiding place is discovered, and the dwarves are in danger. Can Lily help them out?
    • More
  • 8: The Lace Gown

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    Lily loves playing dress-up with her friends, Pearl and Amber. But this dressing-up box isn't like any other ... When Lilly finds a silver mirror there's a magical dazzle of silver light and the next thing she knows, she's in the middle of Snow White's fairytale world!Snow White has travelled to the far away kingdom of Ice Mountain, where she dances with the Prince and dines with the the good Queen. And with the help of all her new friends, Snow White is ready to confront the evil Queen Serena once and for all! Will Snow White finally get her happy ever after?
    • More
  • 4: The Glass Slippers

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    Amber loves playing dress-up with her friends, Pearl and Lily. But Amber's dressing-up box isn't like any other ... When Amber puts on a raggedy skirt there's a magical dazzle of silver light and the next thing she knows, she's in the middle of Cinderella's fairytale world!The ball has finally arrived, but dancing is the last thing Amber wants to do! After a waltz with Prince Charming, Amber starts to enjoy herself and feel like the real Cinderella. But when the clock strikes midnight, she has to get out of there ... fast!
  • 4: The Brave Bunny

    By Lucy Daniels
    Authors:
    Lucy Daniels
    Laura Baker's bunny Nibbles likes Mandy a lot, but Laura's noisy cousin Tom makes him frightened. Later on that night, Nibbles must be very brave when he gets sick, and is taken to Animal Ark. Can Mr Hope find out what is wrong?
    • More
  • 2: The Curious Kitten

    By Lucy Daniels
    Authors:
    Lucy Daniels
    Shamrock is a tabby kitten, with bright green eyes and tiger stripes. Mandy thinks he's very cute - but also very nosy! When Shamrock goes outside for the very first time, he soon runs into trouble . . .
    • More
  • 5: The Clever Cat

    By Lucy Daniels
    Authors:
    Lucy Daniels
    Friday is Mandy's favourite day at school. But during playtime, someone paints patterns all over the Art paper. Class 3's Art lesson is nearly spoiled. Who could the mystery artist be?
    • More

    6X Loud, Fast and Out of Control

    By Nina Malkin
    Authors:
    Nina Malkin
    6X are still riding high in the US music charts - and struggling to cope with the trials of fame. Kendall is fast becoming America's sweetheart - a 'real' girl with the voice of an angel, but along with her anonymity, she's anxious to shed the homely look. Dieting alone doesn't work, and Kendall finds herself following the advice of a rival girlband singer, with distressing consequences. Bulimia may be one way of losing weight, but she'll lose a whole more than that if she's not careful. Meanwhile, A/B has found himself a girlfriend and with a dilemma about his commitments; Stella falls hard and fast for troubled folk singer - and Wynn realises that her feelings for Stella go beyond friendship. A major tour brings dark issues to the surface, culminating in Wynn's abduction in Japan... By the story's end all four members are exhausted. They've come to end of the tour road - but have they come to the end of the road for the band itself?
    • More
  • 3: Chiquitita

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    Chiquitita is a young mare taken from the wild herd to be tamed and worked without force. The method demands amazing patience and gentleness from Kirstie and Lisa's host, Wayne Raburn. But Wayne's ranch hand, Walter, secretly uses harsher methods which soon ruins his boss's good work. Kirstie exposes Walter, who loses his job. But now he wants revenge - and he's planning to take it out on the horse...
    • More
  • 1: El Dorado

    By Jenny Oldfield
    Authors:
    Jenny Oldfield
    Kirstie and Lisa head west to the Sierra Nevada desert, traditional Native American Indian hunting ground and home of herds of wild horses. One of their first sightings is of a magnificent black stallion, nicknamed El Dorado. He has an extraordinary history - resolutely remaining free despite the attempts of numerous horse thieves. He's a legend - admired and feared in equal measure. But within days of their first awe-inspiring sighting, El Dorado has disappeared. Then a ranch foal is found bitten and battered to death. There have been rumours that the wild stallion has gone crazy - but could he really have turned killer? Kirstie and Lisa set out to find out the truth...
    • More
    1