Linda Newbery - Posy - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Posy

By Linda Newbery
Illustrated by Catherine Rayner

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Posy may be one of the cheekiest, most inquisitive kittens around but that doesn't stop her being the most lovable one too! Follow the delightful Posy kitten as she bounces and pounces through her adventure-filled day. This beautifully illustrated picture book by an award-winning author and illustrator team is bound to be adored by cat lovers of all ages, everywhere!

Illustrated by Catherine Rayner, winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal.

Biographical Notes

As a child, Linda Newbery used to dream of being an author, and used to do a lot of secret writing in her bedroom. It was much later, when Linda was an English teacher, that her first young adult novel, Run with the Hare, was published by HarperCollins. Gradually, she became a full-time author. Sisterland was shortlisted for the Carnegie Award and The Shell House was shortisted for the Carnegie and Guardian book prize. Linda won the Costa Children`s Book Prize with Set in Stone. Posy is Linda's first picture book. Catherine Rayner's first book, Augustus and His Smile, was nominated for the V&A Illustration Award, and the Greenaway, and won the Bookstart Best New Illustrator Award. Catherine also exhibits her work at art galleries where her screen prints are very much in demand. Cat lives in Edinburgh.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781843625100
  • Publication date: 02 Apr 2009
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Exceptionally lovely ... written and illustrated by true animal lovers — Inis Magazine
A delight ... Always perfectly pitched and never patronising ... Posy will become a classic — The Bookbag
The text ... positively encourages word-play ...inspirational stuff — School Librarian
A charming book that could become a family favourite — Waterstone's Books Quarterly
Brilliantly captures the joyful bundle of existence that is a kitten — Early Years Educator
Just delightful — Edinburgh Evening News
"A charmuing book that could become a family favourite." — Octavia Karavla - Waterstones - Books Quaterly
A bouncy pouncy Kitten with infectious enthusiasm is just delightful. — Edinburgh Evening News
Undeniably cute. — New York Times
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Pat-a-Cake

Annual 2019

Pat-a-Cake, Fiona Munro
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake, Fiona Munro
Wayland

Electricity

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

Forces

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Orchard Books

My Little Pony Annual 2019

Discover a year of magical My Little Pony fun with the official annual 2019!Twilight Sparkle and her best friends are on a mission to bring the Magic of Friendship to Equestria and beyond. Join them for adventure, magic and fun in the all-new MLP Annual 2019 - and meet a host of exciting new characters too! Packed with brilliant games, puzzles, stories, activities, colouring and much, much more ... this is the THE must-have gift for My Little Pony fans of any age.

Hodder Children's Books

Attack of the Snack

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field
Orchard Books

Mad About Trucks and Diggers!

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz

A colourful rhyming picture book all about trucks and diggers, from the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance.Is your little one mad about trucks and diggers? Then they'll love this bright, bold book, packed with all sorts of vehicles - including dumper trucks, diggers, cranes, fire engines, transporters and more. Read about all the amazing things they do, then decide which one you would choose to drive!From the creators of the bestselling Rumble in the Jungle and Commotion in the Ocean.

Orchard Books

Ten Little Robots

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Learn to count from ten to one and back again with this rhythmic, rhyming robot adventure! "This factory looks exciting. Shall we take a peep?" Ten little robots all say, "BEEEP!" Ten little robots set off on a hilarious adventure through a fantastical factory in this wonderfully wacky rhyming romp - with NEEE-NAAAAH-ing sirens, KER-BOOOOMG-ing engines, and plenty of gadgets, levers and utter chaos along the way!Look out for the other books in the bestselling, award-winning Ten Little series:Ten Little PiratesTen Little PrincessesTen Little MonstersTen Little DinosaursTen Little ElvesPraise for the other Ten Little books:'a rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations...excellent' - Guardian'jaunty verse with lots of humorous details to discover on every page' - Time Out'roaringly funny rhymes' - Independent

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Colour and Draw

Gotta colour 'em all! Packed with Pokémon for you to catch, colour and learn to draw in this beautiful book.Get creative and dive into the world of Pokémon! This fantastic book will teach you how to draw favourite Pokémon from every region, including Pikachu, Squirtle, Litten, Rowlet and more! With space to test your new drawing skills, you can perfect your technique before adding Pokémon to scenes throughout and finishing them off with some colour. The ultimate gift for any Pokémon fan!

Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home. With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times Mr Panda and his friends are getting ready for bed. But some won't brush their teeth, others won't have a bath, and one won't even wear pyjamas! It's down to Mr Panda to show them how to do bedtime properly. Steve Antony's Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.

Franklin Watts

Dragon's Hiccups

Jenny Jinks, Martin Remphry
Contributors:
Jenny Jinks, Martin Remphry

In this story, a dragon has a bad case of the hiccups and nothing her friends do seems to help, leading to all sorts of fiery problems!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading: Orange stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 6 (Orange) in classroom reading lessons.

Orchard Books

The Koala Who Could

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change, something that young children can sometimes struggle with.Sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not . . . but if you let it, change can be the making of you. Kevin the Koala discovers this and more in this delightful picture book from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside!Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.WINNER of the Evening Standard Oscar's Book Prize 2017!'Fabulous rhymes, I'm in love with Kevin and would like to buy this for all my friends' children.' Claudia Winkleman'A feel-good rhyming tale ... Field's Australian animals are a treat' - Bookseller

Orchard Books

Trixie the Halloween Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Emily the Emerald Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Disaster has struck Fairyland! Jack Frost has stolen all the jewels from Queen Titania's crown. Without them, the fairies are losing their magical powers. Rachel and Kirsty have to help India the Moonstone Fairy, Scarlett the Garnet Fairy, Emily the Emerald Fairy, Chloe the Topaz Fairy, Amy the Amethyst Fairy, Sophie the Sapphire Fairy, and Lucy the Diamond Fairy to get the jewels back, before it's too late... In this story, it's time for Kirsty and Rachel to help Emily the Emerald Fairy find her magical missing jewel.

Orchard Books

Chloe the Topaz Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Disaster has struck Fairyland! Jack Frost has stolen all the jewels from Queen Titania's crown. Without them, the fairies are losing their magical powers. Rachel and Kirsty have to help India the Moonstone Fairy, Scarlett the Garnet Fairy, Emily the Emerald Fairy, Chloe the Topaz Fairy, Amy the Amethyst Fairy, Sophie the Sapphire Fairy, and Lucy the Diamond Fairy to get the jewels back, before it's too late... Now it's time for Chloe the Topaz Fairy to outwit the pesky goblins and get back her jewel, with some help from Kirsty and Rachel!

Franklin Watts

Remembrance Day

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

Tamara the Tooth Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Can Kirsty and Rachel help Tamara the Tooth Fairy do her job by getting her magical objects back from Jack Frost?