Caroline Lawrence - The Prophet from Ephesus - Hachette Children's Group

The Prophet from Ephesus

Book 16

By Caroline Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

In the sixteenth Roman Mystery, Flavia and her friends are hotly pursued by Emperor Titus as they embark on a quest to find some kidnapped children.

It's August, AD 81. Presumed dead by their families but wanted by unknown authorities, Flavia and her friends feel very far from home.
When news of more kidnappings reach them, and they discover that one of Miriam's twins is among the missing, the four detectives set out for Halicarnassus to help. Here they find the countryside is full of prophets who heal the sick and cure the lame - or are they merely tricksters and villains in disguise?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781842556061
  • Publication date: 06 Aug 2009
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano

This is a powerful and timely story about one boy's epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children's Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.Ebo: alone.His sister left months ago. Now his brother has disappeared too, and Ebo knows it can only be to make the hazardous journey to Europe. Ebo's epic journey takes him across the Sahara Desert to the dangerous streets of Tripoli, and finally out to the merciless sea. But with every step he holds on to his hope for a new life, and a reunion with his sister.'Beautifully realised and punchily told.' Alex O'Connell, The Times Children's Book of the Week

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline WilsonEleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orchard Books

The New Age

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The third in the stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.On Erth, a dark dragon has risen. His return ripples throughout the universe, from the firebirds at the Great Librarium to the dragons on the home world K:imera.Will human boy Ren be able to control the dragon's power? Or will it destroy everything?The epic finale to the Erth Dragons trilogy will take you to new and beautiful worlds and make you see dragons as never before.

Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The fourth and final book in the new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.AD 96. Bouda, an orphaned British girl with a troubled past, has been helping Juba and his siblings since they first arrived in Britannia. For almost two years they have been in hiding from the Emperor Domitian's agents. But now information has come to light that could bring down the tyrant. When Juba and his sister decide to return to Rome with the man who has this evidence, Bouda goes with them. But is it ever right to kill a tyrant?From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Hodder Children's Books

Memorial

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

In 2014 the world will mark the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. Internationally acclaimed author, Gary Crew, and multi-award-winning illustrator Shaun Tan have created a powerful picture book to help us all remember.When the soldiers return in 1918, a memorial tree is planted... 'Lest we forget'. But generations later, what do those who pause in the shadows of the tree's immense branches remember? A message we should never forget.Memorial serves as a reminder of the lessons to be gained from the past and examine the significance of conservation, respect and remembrance.

Orion Children's Books

Escape from Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Bogus Detective

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Skellig

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

The beautiful and haunting novel that launched David Almond as one of the best children's writers of todayWhen a move to a new house coincides with his baby sister's illness, Michael's world seems suddenly lonely and uncertain.Then, one Sunday afternoon, he stumbles into the old, ramshackle garage of his new home, and finds something magical. A strange creature - part owl, part angel, a being who needs Michael's help if he is to survive. With his new friend Mina, Michael nourishes Skellig back to health, while his baby sister languishes in the hospital. But Skellig is far more than he at first appears, and as he helps Michael breathe life into his tiny sister, Michael's world changes for ever . . .Skellig won the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book Award and is now a major Sky1 feature film, starring Tim Roth and John Simm. David Almond is also winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen award.Powerful and moving - The Guardian This newly jacketed edition celebrates 15 years of this multi-award-winning novel.

Orion Children's Books

The Two-faced God

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Floridius the Soothsayer has been asked to read the omens for a wealthy man whose villa appears to be haunted. The pay is good but it means studying a sheep's liver and poor Floridius faints at the sight of blood! Can Threptus solve the mystery and save his friend from embarrassment?Join Threptus and Floridius on their hilarious and action-packed adventures among Rome's superstitious underclass, and don't miss this ruder, funnier and still historically accurate companion to The Roman Mysteries.

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Good-Looking Corpse

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

In the second in this adventure series, Virginia City's newest detective, P.K. Pinkerton, takes on his first case - finding the killer of a murdered girl before he strikes again!Nominated for a 2014 EDGAR award, P.K. Pinkerton is back in the second book of this whip-crackingly brilliant series, set in America's Wild West.The death of sadistic desperado Whittlin Walt has created an opening for 'Chief of the Comstock Desperados'. Several young gunfighters are battling it out in the saloons and streets of Virginia City, and against this backdrop of gunmen, gamblers and cowboys, P.K. Pinkerton, Private Eye, is having trouble drumming up business. Nobody seems to take a 12-year-old detective seriously!Then a servant girl named Martha begs P.K. for help. She witnessed the murder of her mistress - a hurdy girl - and the killer knows it. Now he is after her. Martha gives P.K. a description of the killer and a cryptic clue, but then she disappears. Can P.K. solve the case and find Martha before the killer does?

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Pistol-packing Widows

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Thunder Omen

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Threptus the former beggar boy has teamed up with Floridius, a soothsayer and seller of sacred chickens. Together they earn a living helping people solve problems and mysteries. In this third book of the series, it is the time of Saturnalia - when all the rules are turned upside down and chaos ensues. Threptus is enjoying the mayhem but the thunder omens are disturbing. Can Threptus help his friend matchmake and avoid the disaster threatened by the thunder omen?

Orion Children's Books

Roman Mysteries Complete Collection

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Poisoned Honey Cake

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Orion Children's Books

The Sewer Demon

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

At the end of book 17 of the Roman Mysteries, Caroline Lawrence introduced us to Threptus - a young beggar boy. In this fun and fabulous new series, Threptus starts work with his mentor - the soothsayer, Floridius - and together they must solve their first mystery...Can they rid a rich woman's house of the demon that haunts it in the dead of night? What is the true nature of the demon? And is it really a supernatural being?Threptus is a brave, funny and loveable hero and each story is a mini-mystery perfect for readers aged 7 up.