Caroline Lawrence - The Sirens of Surrentum - Hachette Children's Group

The Sirens of Surrentum

Book 11

By Caroline Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Passions run deep beneath the surface in a summer holiday adventure in the eleventh Roman Mystery.

Mystery and adventure for four young detectives in Ancient Roman times...

It's summer in the Bay of Naples - time for fun and relaxation. Everyone is thinking about love at the beautiful Villa Limona, but danger lurks beneath the luxury. A famous murder was committed nearby, and a poisoner is at large amongst the guests. Can Flavia and her friends set a trap to catch the culprit before it's too late?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781842555064
  • Publication date: 07 Sep 2006
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano

This is a powerful and timely story about one boy's epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children's Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels.Ebo: alone.His sister left months ago. Now his brother has disappeared too, and Ebo knows it can only be to make the hazardous journey to Europe. Ebo's epic journey takes him across the Sahara Desert to the dangerous streets of Tripoli, and finally out to the merciless sea. But with every step he holds on to his hope for a new life, and a reunion with his sister.'Beautifully realised and punchily told.' Alex O'Connell, The Times Children's Book of the Week

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline WilsonEleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Don't stop running . . . the second edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay for ages 9+12-year-old Jeff and genetically engineered spy dog Chipper are on the run from the mysterious and sinister government organisation knows only as The Institute. Due to a combination of bravery, luck and some of Chipper's more useful modifications, they've managed to evade their pursuers so far. But The Institute is closing in and Chipper and Jeff will have to be stay one step ahead if they want to stay alive..Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed series for children.

Orchard Books

The New Age

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey
Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Memorial

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Orion Children's Books

Escape from Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series.Five Go to Smuggler's Top The Five go to stay at the large, old house and have great fun discovering secret hiding places and underground tunnels. But who are the people signalling out to sea? And what do they want?Five Go Off in a Caravan A caravan holiday is bound to be an adventure! The Five soon get caught up with the circus crowd. But some of its members have more sinister plans than just clowning around...Five On Kirrin Island Again What is Uncle Quentin up to on Kirrin Island? He won't let anyone visit - not even the Five! But there's someone else on the island, watching his every move. The Five will have to act, after all.This 70th anniversary edition features the Classic editions of three Famous Five adventures (books 4-6) in one volume and contains the original cover art and inside drawings by Eileen Soper.

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Bogus Detective

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Skellig

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orion Children's Books

The Two-faced God

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Good-Looking Corpse

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Pistol-packing Widows

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Thunder Omen

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Threptus the former beggar boy has teamed up with Floridius, a soothsayer and seller of sacred chickens. Together they earn a living helping people solve problems and mysteries. In this third book of the series, it is the time of Saturnalia - when all the rules are turned upside down and chaos ensues. Threptus is enjoying the mayhem but the thunder omens are disturbing. Can Threptus help his friend matchmake and avoid the disaster threatened by the thunder omen?

Orion Children's Books

Roman Mysteries Complete Collection

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

A bumper eBook collection of all 17 Roman Mysteries adventures including The Thieves of Ostia, The Secrets of Vesuvius, The Pirates of Pompeii, The Assassins of Rome, The Dolphins of Laurentum, The Twelve Tasks of Flavia Gemina, The Enemies of Jupiter, The Gladiators From Capua, The Colossus of Rhodes, The Fugitive From Corinth, The Sirens of Surrentum, The Charioteer of Delphi, The Slave-Girl From Jerusalem, The Beggar of Volubilis, The Scribes From Alexandria, The Prophet From Ephesus and The Man From Pomegranate Street.Packed with action, mystery and adventure!

Orion Children's Books

The Poisoned Honey Cake

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Floridius, freelance soothsayer, is afraid that he has lost his talent for seeing the future. Threptus wants to find some titbits of information that his mentor can use to convince people he still has the gift, but will a poisoned honey cake lead to disaster along the way?Join Threptus and Floridius on their hilarious and action-packed adventures among Rome's superstitious underclass, and don't miss this ruder, funnier and still historically accurate companion to The Roman Mysteries.

Orion Children's Books

The Sewer Demon

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte