Caroline Lawrence - The Legionary from Londinium and other Mini Mysteries - Hachette Children's Group

The Legionary from Londinium and other Mini Mysteries

By Caroline Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Secrets, thrills and action - the young detectives are on the case in this exciting collection of short stories from the world of The Roman Mysteries.

Mystery and adventure in Ancient Roman times for Flavia Gemina and her friends . . .

Sacred chickens, a jellyfish and a Roman mystery set in Britannia - this collection of mini-mysteries is the perfect recipe for a gripping read!

Includes an exclusive interview with Caroline Lawrence on the secrets of writing mystery stories!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781842551929
  • Publication date: 04 Mar 2010
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Quercus Children's Books

The Last Life of Prince Alastor

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Hodder Children's Books

War is Over

David Almond, David Litchfield
Contributors:
David Almond, David Litchfield

From the bestselling author of SKELLIG comes a powerful, vivid and moving story set during the first world war.Newcastle, 1918. It seems like the war could last forever. John's an ordinary Tyneside lad and he's desperate for peace. His dad is fighting in the trenches and his mam works in the town's munitions factory, the biggest in the world. John meets a German boy, Jan, who is just like himself; they play war games in the woods beyond the town, and see the ugliness of weapons contrasting with the beauty of the world around them.John dreams of a better, more beautiful world. His dreams will speak to all of us, and his questions resonate with children of today. Is war ever really over? Why do children see the truths from which adults seem to hide? Why do we need wars at all? Gorgeously illustrated by David Litchfield, this is a book to treasure.

Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastor is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Alastor isn't keen to be banished back to the demon realm and will do anything to try and trick his unwilling host into a contract - from nasty insults to wild promises. And even more unnerving, his power over Prosper seems to be growing with each passing night. Prosper has only days to break the curse - a feat that seems impossible. But with the help of a feisty witch-in-training, maybe he can do it?

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes the second book in an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. Witches are creating havoc in the Wildwoods and danger lurks behind every tree trunk. Wish is in possession of a powerful, Magic Spelling Book. Xar has a dangerous Witchstain on his hand. Wish and Xar are separated by the highest wall imaginable. But time is running out ... It was unlikely that these heroes should meet in the first place. Is it possible they are destined to meet TWICE? 'The detail of Cowell's world is a delight ...This one will run and run' The Observer

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Quercus Children's Books

Stormwalker

Mike Revell, Mike Revell
Authors:
Mike Revell, Mike Revell

'Action-packed, compelling and ultimately moving' A Hermit's Progress BlogspotOwen Smith is worried about his dad. It's been a year since they lost Owen's mum, and Owen can see that his dad isn't coping with the grief that has engulfed them both. But Owen's dad is a writer, so when Owen suggests beginning another novel, he hopes it will help him. Then, something crazy happens. Owen wakes up in a strange world beyond his own, where a raging storm called the Darkness threatens to obliterate everyone and everything in its path. And soon Owen realises the startling truth: he is inside his dad's story. And as the main character, only he can help his dad battle the storm and reach the end of the book... A page-turning action-adventure full of emotional heart, STORMWALKER is a must-read for young readers.

Orion Children's Books

Escape from Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.The year is AD 94. When the evil Emperor Domitian sends soldiers to seize his family's home in the middle of the night, twelve-year-old Juba must escape with his brother and sisters, and journey to distant Britannia on the edge of the known world.His task: To avoid capture and death. His quest: To find a safe haven in Britain.His destiny: To save the children. Brand new exciting Roman series from the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in book 1 are Rome, Ostia, Londinium and Fishbourne.

Quercus Children's Books

Ghost Plane

Eleanor Hawken, Eleanor Hawken, Steve May
Contributors:
Eleanor Hawken, Eleanor Hawken, Steve May

As every respectable scientist knows, messing with the space-time continuum is more trouble than it's worth. That's why Felix Frost, secret child genius, has locked up his time machine for good. Yes, sir. But, when your best friend is an adventure-loving bossy pants and you've got a history project to do. Well, that changes things. When Missy and Felix visit Bill Hudson, Missy's great grandfather, to ask him about his years as a pilot in WW2, he tells them the story of the ghost plane: a fighter jet that went out on a routine mission, and when it came back, its pilot had vanished. Join Felix, Missy and Einstein as they dust off the time machine to travel back to England, 1943. Can they solve the mystery of the ghost plane without getting caught out as time travellers? Or worse, spies!

Quercus Children's Books

Stonebird

Mike Revell, Mike Revell
Authors:
Mike Revell, Mike Revell
Hodder Children's Books

Rogue Wave

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly
Orion Children's Books

The Ghosts of Heaven

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick

A cleverly interlinked novel in four parts which can be read in twenty-four different ways. This special ebook edition will choose which quarter you read next, creating one of twenty-four possible reading experiences. These are the ways of infinity... Song, Whisper, Hell, Witch. Where will the spiral lead you?Tweet us @fiercefiction. The spiral has existed as long as time has existed. It's there when a girl walks through the forest, the moist green air clinging to her skin. There centuries later in a pleasant green dale, hiding the treacherous waters of Golden Beck that take Anna, who they call a witch. There on the other side of the world, where a mad poet watches the waves and knows the horrors they hide, and far into the future as Keir Bowman realises his destiny. Each takes their next step in life. None will ever go back to the same place. And so their journeys begin...

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Bogus Detective

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Franklin Watts

Space Station Alert

David Orme, Helen Orme
Authors:
David Orme, Helen Orme

Space station duty can be boring - but when a direct hit causes the air supply to fail, Chris and Rob are far from bored. Ground control has been hit by a hurricane so there's no help on the way from Earth, and they have just 12 hours to try to save themselves...This book is part of Slipstream LEVEL 2. The 350-word text is levelled for readers with a reading age of 7-9, but its engaging content makes it perfect for a wide range of older readers too.All texts are levelled by reading experts Dee Reid and Diana Bentley.

Orion Children's Books

The Two-faced God

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Floridius the Soothsayer has been asked to read the omens for a wealthy man whose villa appears to be haunted. The pay is good but it means studying a sheep's liver and poor Floridius faints at the sight of blood! Can Threptus solve the mystery and save his friend from embarrassment?Join Threptus and Floridius on their hilarious and action-packed adventures among Rome's superstitious underclass, and don't miss this ruder, funnier and still historically accurate companion to The Roman Mysteries.

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Pistol-packing Widows

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Quercus Children's Books

Jinx: The Wizard's Apprentice

Sage Blackwood, Sage Blackwood
Authors:
Sage Blackwood, Sage Blackwood

It's not every day that your evil stepdad abandons you in the deep, dark forest of the Urwald. And it's not every day that a wizard rescues you from the clutches of gnarly trolls. But for Jinx, this isn't turning out to be a very normal sort of day... The bubbling cauldrons and coloured potions of the wizard's house are a world away from the life Jinx has left behind. Even the walls are soaked in magic, and it's not long before Jinx begins to unlock his own rare powers. But Simon Magus is no ordinary wizard. He seems to need something from Jinx - something dark. And Jinx begins to wonder: can he trust Simon... at all?