Caroline Lawrence - The Legionary from Londinium and other Mini Mysteries - Hachette Children's Group

The Legionary from Londinium and other Mini Mysteries

By Caroline Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Secrets, thrills and action - the young detectives are on the case in this exciting collection of short stories from the world of The Roman Mysteries.

Mystery and adventure in Ancient Roman times for Flavia Gemina and her friends . . .

Sacred chickens, a jellyfish and a Roman mystery set in Britannia - this collection of mini-mysteries is the perfect recipe for a gripping read!

Includes an exclusive interview with Caroline Lawrence on the secrets of writing mystery stories!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781842551929
  • Publication date: 04 Mar 2010
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Orion Children's Books

Iron Tide Rising

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis

Join Marrill and Fin in the fourth action-packed title in the epic adventure series from John Parke Davis and NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author, Carrie Ryan. Best friends and fearless explorers Fin and Marrill have shared countless thrilling adventures on the waters of the Pirate Stream, but neither could have predicted the evil that lies behind the mask of the Master of the Iron Ship.To stop him, they'll have to team up with their oldest enemy: the malevolent wizard Serth. As the iron tide surges across the Stream, Marrill and Fin must race from one bizarre world to the next, and even into the heart of the Stream itself, to challenge the most frightening foe they've ever encountered.This is the mind-blowing conclusion to the highly acclaimed and utterly original Map to Everywhere series.

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The fourth and final book in the new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.AD 96. Bouda, an orphaned British girl with a troubled past, has been helping Juba and his siblings since they first arrived in Britannia. For almost two years they have been in hiding from the Emperor Domitian's agents. But now information has come to light that could bring down the tyrant. When Juba and his sister decide to return to Rome with the man who has this evidence, Bouda goes with them. But is it ever right to kill a tyrant?From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan
Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Contributors:
Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Worlds Collide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.A story about courage, sacrifice and family - and how everyone has something incredible inside of them, just waiting to be discovered. For fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Eva Ibbotson.This cover comes in four different colours, supplied at random. Which one will you receive?When Billy Wild's teacher asks the class to write a letter to their god, Billy's request is simple: Please send me a dog.So when he discovers a greyhound hiding in the shed, he decides someone must really be listening. With the help of his brothers, Billy sets out to hide her from Dad, who's far too stressed to add a dog to the mix. But keeping a greyhound a secret is a difficult task, and when Billy's classmate Paris enters them all in a local talent show, it becomes even harder!Billy must make a big, brave, wild decision - but it's one that might save Dog and hundreds like her. And it might just make him incredible...

Quercus Children's Books

Wayfarer

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe Series: Operation Rhino

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean

The fifth African adventure in Lauren St John's bestselling THE WHITE GIRAFFE series.When Sawubona's white rhinos are attacked, the poachers leave behind a terrified calf. Devastated but determined to help, Martine and Ben agree to take the rhino baby to a sanctuary near the Golden Gate Highlands National Park.But the sanctuary is hiding a precious secret - one that must be guarded from the poachers at all costs. When the secret gets out, Martine and Ben find themselves in the fight of their lives to save one of the rarest animals on earth. But who can they trust?A magical and heartwarming adventure about saving endangered species.

Hodder Children's Books

Memorial

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

In 2014 the world will mark the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. Internationally acclaimed author, Gary Crew, and multi-award-winning illustrator Shaun Tan have created a powerful picture book to help us all remember.When the soldiers return in 1918, a memorial tree is planted... 'Lest we forget'. But generations later, what do those who pause in the shadows of the tree's immense branches remember? A message we should never forget.Memorial serves as a reminder of the lessons to be gained from the past and examine the significance of conservation, respect and remembrance.

Orion Children's Books

Escape from Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.The year is AD 94. When the evil Emperor Domitian sends soldiers to seize his family's home in the middle of the night, twelve-year-old Juba must escape with his brother and sisters, and journey to distant Britannia on the edge of the known world.His task: To avoid capture and death. His quest: To find a safe haven in Britain.His destiny: To save the children. Brand new exciting Roman series from the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in book 1 are Rome, Ostia, Londinium and Fishbourne.

Quercus Children's Books

Passenger

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Beyond the Kingdoms

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

Fairy tales are just the beginning.The Masked Man is on the loose in the Land of Stories, and it's up to Alex and Conner Bailey to stop him . . . except Alex has been thrown off the Fairy Council, and no one will believe they're in danger.With only the help of the ragtag group of Goldilocks, Jack, Red Riding Hood, and Mother Goose and her gander, Lester, the Bailey twins discover the Masked Man's secret scheme: he possesses a powerful magic potion that turns every book it touches into a portal, and he is recruiting an army of literature's greatest villains!So begins a race through the magical Land of Oz, the fantastical world of Neverland, the madness of Wonderland, and beyond. Can Alex and Conner catch up to the Masked Man, or will they be one step behind until it's too late?Fairy tales and classic stories collide in the fourth adventure in the bestselling Land of Stories series as the twins travel beyond the kingdoms!

Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the Rise of the Titans

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Bogus Detective

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The final whip-cracking adventure in the P.K. Pinkerton series from million-selling author Caroline Lawrence.When P.K's father, Robert Pinkerton, suddenly appears in Virginia City, P.K.'s life turns upside down. Suddenly she's having to learn how to be a 'girly-girl' in a cunning plot to outwit silver thieves. But it seems the thieves are one step ahead! Has P.K. finally met her match or can she use her detective skills to turn the situation on its head and impress her private-eye pa?A gripping rollercoaster ride of a tale packed with Wild West authenticity and atmosphere from this bestselling author.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Grimm Warning

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

Conner Bailey thinks his fairy-tale adventures are behind him - until he discovers a mysterious clue left by the famous Brothers Grimm. With help from his classmate Bree and the outlandish Mother Goose, Conner sets off on a mission across Europe to crack a two-hundred-year-old code.Meanwhile, Alex Bailey is training to become the next Fairy Godmother . . . but her attempts at granting wishes never go as planned. Will she ever be truly ready to lead the Fairy Council?When all signs point to disaster for the Land of Stories, Conner and Alex must join forces with their friends and enemies to save the day. But nothing can prepare them for the coming battle . . . or for the secret that will change the twins' lives forever.The third book in the bestselling Land of Stories series puts the twins to the test as they must bring two worlds together!

Hodder Children's Books

Naughtiest Girl Is A Monitor

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

In Enid Blyton's bestselling school series Elizabeth Allen is sent away to boarding school and makes up her mind to be the naughtiest pupil there's ever been.In book three, Elizabeth Allen is delighted to be chosen to be a school monitor. But she soon finds out just what a responsible job it is. The harder she tries, the worse she behaves! Will the naughtiest girl in the school EVER learn to be good?Between 1940 and 1952, Enid Blyton wrote four novels about Naughtiest Girl, Elizabeth Allen. This edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.