Alexandra Bracken - The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786540676
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2018

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

By Alexandra Bracken

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon. Can 13-year-old Prosper escape his family's history, and right a whole lot of wrongs? A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.

A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.

Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastar is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.

Alastar isn't keen to be banished back to the demon realm and will do anything to try and trick his unwilling host into a contract - from nasty insults to wild promises. And even more unnerving, his power over Prosper seems to be growing with each passing night.

Prosper has only days to break the curse - a feat that seems impossible. But with the help of a feisty witch-in-training, maybe he can do it?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786540683
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 362
  • Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
Darkly delicious... Bracken's cast is drawn in loving detail, and her twisty plot will keep readers guessing — Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
An infectious, entertaining series starter... thrilling plot twists will keep even the most savvy readers guessing. Clever, occasionally frightening, and always fun, this will hook plenty — Booklist, Starred Review
Bracken delivers a funny, thrilling, and unexpected tale — Robert Beatty, No.1 New York Times bestselling author of the Serafina series
Imaginative, exhilarating and outstandingly funny, Alexandra Bracken's newest work is devious and delightful — Shelf Awareness
Darkly delicious... Bracken's cast is drawn in loving detail, and her twisty plot will keep readers guessing
An infectious, entertaining series starter... thrilling plot twists will keep even the most savvy readers guessing. Clever, occasionally frightening, and always fun, this will hook plenty
Bracken delivers a funny, thrilling, and unexpected tale
Imaginative, exhilarating and outstandingly funny, Alexandra Bracken's newest work is devious and delightful
Franklin Watts

Why Should I?: A book about respect

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Franklin Watts

Electricity

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Straight Forward with Science offers a straightforward, but fun, approach to key science learning. Each book explores basic scientific principles and shows them in action, while simple activities and experiments bring the science to life. Electricity looks at what is electricity is, how it is generated and how it makes the world around us work, both at home and in nature. Electrical circuits, electromagnets and motors are all also explored.

Franklin Watts

7.6 Billion People Living in the Countries of the World

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Do you know how many football pitches would fit into Europe? Or which country has the most newspaper readers? What is a megacity and which is the biggest one in the world? And how many wildebeest migrate thousands of kilometres every year across African's plains? Discover the answers to all these questions and much, more more in Big Countdown: Countries. The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered. Ideal reading for number-crunchers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

1.5 Billion Transport Vehicles on the World's Roads

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Do you know how fast a space rocket blasts through the sky? Or how deep under the sea submarines have ventured? How about the number of electric cars on the road? Or the top speed of NASA's crawler transporter (hint - it's not very fast!) Discover the answers to all these questions and much more in Big Countdown: Transport.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered. Ideal reading for number-crunchers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Continents

Wayland

Natural Disasters

Did you know that the eruption of Krakatoa in 1883 was the largest ever? Or about tsunamis, cyclones and avalanches? Well, where have you been! Whether it rips, erupts, floods or crashes, Infomojis: Natural Disasters is all about exploring the dangers of our planet in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young adventurer to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Legacy

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

Nothing is impossible in Hector Coleman's world ... A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist, for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie Higson.Last year, Hector Coleman survived the craziest week of his boring teenage life. And just one hour ago, everything in Hector's world was fine. OK, you could argue that he was obsessed with his mobile phone, keeping out the real world, but everything was basically fine. Now he's balanced on a stone in the middle of a river and ... he and his friends are about to genetically mutate in impossible ways. If they don't die first. Want to find out what it's like to be on the run, with a really rubbish super-power? A road-trip adventure with a graphic-novel twist, this is the breathtaking sequel to THE IMPOSSIBLE.

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Orion Children's Books

Iron Tide Rising

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis

Join Marrill and Fin in the fourth action-packed title in the epic adventure series from John Parke Davis and NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author, Carrie Ryan. Best friends and fearless explorers Fin and Marrill have shared countless thrilling adventures on the waters of the Pirate Stream, but neither could have predicted the evil that lies behind the mask of the Master of the Iron Ship.To stop him, they'll have to team up with their oldest enemy: the malevolent wizard Serth. As the iron tide surges across the Stream, Marrill and Fin must race from one bizarre world to the next, and even into the heart of the Stream itself, to challenge the most frightening foe they've ever encountered.This is the mind-blowing conclusion to the highly acclaimed and utterly original Map to Everywhere series.

Hodder Children's Books

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla
Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

I'm an HTML Web Page Builder

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

HTML is one of the most commonly used coding languages in the world - once you've grasped it, the incredible possibilities of the internet lie before you. In this book, learn how to build and customise your own web pages, complete with fancy fonts, funky icons and embedded videos and maps. Once you've mastered HTML, go further and discover how the style language CSS can make your pages look even better.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The BasicsI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Display and Camouflage

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
Wayland

Homes

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals build astounding homes to provide shelter and safety for themselves and their young. From ants glueing leaves together to create a nest, to groundhogs engineering enormous underground towns, the creatures featured in this book create homes that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these masters of engineering and learn how evolution has shaped the way each animal constructs their home and uses it.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.