Alexandra Bracken - The Darkest Minds - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786540508
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018
Books in this series

The Darkest Minds

Book 1

By Alexandra Bracken

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy.

The first book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, by New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.

Ruby is sixteen. She is dangerous. And she is alive. For now.

A mysterious disease has killed most of America's children. Ruby might have survived, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse than a virus: frightening abilities they cannot control. Pressured by the government, Ruby's parents sent her to Thurmond, a brutal state 'rehabilitation camp', where she has learned to fear and suppress her new power. But what if mastering it is a whole generation's only chance for survival?

'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked Lovely

Alexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Biographical Notes

Alexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Born and raised in Arizona, she moved east to study History and English at the College of William & Mary in Virginia. After working in publishing for several years, Alex now writes full time and can be found hard at work on her next novel in a charming little apartment that's perpetually overflowing with books. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786540256
  • Publication date: 17 Nov 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge. — Melissa Marr, author of Wicked Lovely
Haunting ... Bracken creates a gripping and terrifying dystopian world. — Kirkus Reviews
The story's quick-paced action leads to a heartbreaking cliffhanger that will have readers eager for the next book ... — Publishers Weekly
A new twist on dystopia, this is one not to miss. — Romantic Times
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

Sixteen-year-old thief and hacker Nova makes just enough to live on leeching from the corpsmen that live in the spires 400 storeys above the forgotten undercity slums she calls home. So when infamous anti-corp hacker The Moth offers Nova a huge sum to infiltrate and steal something from the biggest corp of all, Bliss Inc. - manufacturer of the neural implants that allow everyone in the spires continuous metanet access - she jumps at the chance. But what is the dark secret Bliss Inc. is hiding and why does The Moth want to get his hands on it so badly?

Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Orchard Books

Grymon the Biting Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The Dark Wizard Malvel is using ancient magic to summon four Beasts from the Netherworld! First, Tom and Elenna must tackle Grymon, a Beast that can claw its way through solid earth...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orchard Books

Skrar the Night Scavenger

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The second of Malvel's terrible Netherworld Beasts has come to attack Avantia. It's time for Tom and Elenna to battle Skrar, a Beast whose magical flames make him a fearsome enemy... There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orchard Books

Tarantix the Bone Spider

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Not If I Save You First

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan

'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our StarsLife, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life. Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Hodder Children's Books

The Taste of Blue Light

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles

'Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. I LOVED IT' LOUISE O'NEILLAn incandescent, soul-searching story about a broken young woman's search for a truth buried so deep it threatens to consume her, body and mind.These are the things Lux knows:She is an artist. She is lucky. She is broken.These are the things she doesn't know:What happened over the summer.Why she ended up in hospital.Why her memories are etched in red. 'The nightmares tend to linger long after your screams have woken you up ...'Desperate to uncover the truth, Lux's time is running out. If she cannot piece together the events of the summer and regain control of her fractured mind, she will be taken away from everything and everyone she holds dear.If her dreams don't swallow her first.'It's very brave, and fierce, and electric' SARA BARNARD

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Hodder Children's Books

A Home Full of Friends

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Hodder Children's Books

Friends for a Day

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Clever and wonderfully original - a celebration of friendship, kindness and living life to the full.A reissue of this award-winning picture book by Neal Layton. Winner of the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize Bronze Award. Bartholomew leads a quiet life. But he is a kindly sort of bear, so when his new friend, the Bug, is in a tremendous hurry to find the bright lights, he decides to help him on his way. Bear soon finds himself in the big city, which is like nothing he's ever known before. But why is Bug in such a hurry?'A life-affirming story, gloriously illustrated' Julia Eccleshare'Wonderfully messy, child-friendly drawings against hip, graphic backgrounds' Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

Hole in the Zoo

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari

Fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate. She's seen it all, every kind of happy ending there is. Except for one - her own. So when Charlie Blitzman, the most-desired boy in school, enlists Amber's help, she finds herself falling for him. Problem is, her pesky gift doesn't agree - Charlie and Amber are just not meant to be, or are they?How can Amber, an honest peddler of true love, pursue a boy she knows is not the one for her?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An Author's Odyssey

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Orchard Books

Brain Freeze

Quercus Children's Books

Wayfarer

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

Through the Dark

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

From New York Times bestselling author Alexandra Bracken comes a collection of three hauntingly beautiful novellas set in the world of the Darkest Minds series.In the most harrowing of times, it takes a ferocious strength to not only survive, but stand up for those who cannot fight their own battles. The characters in these stories - some new, some familiar - face impossible missions, and the hardest of all may be protecting the last flicker of hope in a seemingly endless night. This is a must-have for fans of the Darkest Minds.IN TIME A desperate young man is forced to make a terrible choice between his own survival and the future of a little girl. The girl won't speak, but she changes his life in ways he could never imagine.SPARKS RISE A spark of light brightens the brutal world when a girl named Sam encounters her childhood best friend at the government-run 'rehabilitation' camp, Thurmond. Lucas and Sam form a risky escape plan, but sometimes even love isn't powerful enough to overcome unspeakable cruelty. BEYOND THE NIGHT The camps are closed and the tyrant president has been deposed. But for many Psi kids living rough, there is no home to return to, no place in a country devastated by the past and anxious about the future. Every day is a struggle for Sam - at least at Thurmond she knew the rules. Her new found freedom is filled with uncertainty and fear. But there's more at stake than Sam's own survival. She once made a promise to someone she loves, and the time has come to fulfill it.'Haunting ... Bracken creates a gripping and terrifying dystopian world' - Kirkus ReviewsAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Mindsseries. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Quercus Children's Books

In the Afterlight

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken