Cat Clarke - Girlhood - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848663978
    • Publication date:04 May 2017

Girlhood

By Cat Clarke

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

How can you grow up when loss weighs you down? A thrilling coming-of-age story for fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.

Harper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can't escape the guilt of her twin sister's Jenna's death, and her own part in it - and she knows noone else will ever really understand.

But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels...loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died.

Then Kirsty's behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper's? And why is she so obsessed with Harper's lost sister? Soon, Harper's closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity.

How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?

A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.

Biographical Notes

Cat Clarke is the bestselling, award-winning author of six YA novels. She was born in Zambia and brought up in Edinburgh and Yorkshire, which has given her an accent that tends to confuse people. She lives in Edinburgh with her partner, two ninja cats and two decidedly non-ninja cocker spaniels.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784292737
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
Incredible - pure and simple — Writing from the Tub on Cat Clarke
Undoubtedly one of the most exciting and talented YA writers in Britain — Library Mice on Cat Clarke
I wholly, unabashedly and completely recommend this book — Inis Magazine on Cat Clarke
Clarke...succeeds brilliantly, thanks to the reality of the characters and the depth of the emotion — The Scotsman on Cat Clarke
Moving, thought provoking and utterly gripping from start to finish — Mizz on Cat Clarke
Clarke excels at genuine page-turners and I read this in one greedy sitting — The Bookseller on Cat Clarke
Orion Children's Books

Invictus

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Orion Children's Books

Lola Offline

Nicola Doherty
Authors:
Nicola Doherty
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Legend of Everfree

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Orchard Books

The Hawkweed Legacy

Irena Brignull
Authors:
Irena Brignull
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Seven Days of You

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

It's Sophia's last week in Tokyo, and she's going to make it count...Sophia has spent her life ping-ponging between different countries and schools, so, in theory, saying goodbye should be easy. But now she's leaving Tokyo - the place that finally felt like home. The only way she can get through this is to make her final week perfect.Then Jamie Foster-Collins shows up, just in time to ruin everything. Jamie and Sophia used to be friends . . . and his return stirs up feelings she thought she'd forgotten.Suddenly, hours and minutes become meaningless. Only time spent together, exploring the hidden streets of the city they love, is real.

Orchard Books

Colouring Fun

Hodder Children's Books

My Hand to Hold

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Alison Friend
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Alison Friend

A delightfully heartfelt picture book that follows the passage of the seasons, and the ups and downs of daily life, showing that love will always shine through, whatever the weather!I love you in the dazzling sun, When everything we do seems fun.But when you have to shout and yell,I love you at those times as well. Smriti Prasadam-Halls, a bestselling author, and Alison Friend, a critically acclaimed illustrator, are an exciting new picture-book pairing.Read more about Smriti Prasadam-Halls at smriti.co.uk and about Alison Friend at afriendillustration.com

Quercus Children's Books

There May Be a Castle

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Orchard Books

The Hawkweed Prophecy

Irena Brignull
Authors:
Irena Brignull

A gorgeous, bewitching story of two outcast girls whose lives are twisted by an ancient prophecy. Who will be queen of the witches?The babies were born as the clock struck twelve. A bat fell from the air mid-flight. A silver salmon floated dead to the surface of the river. Snails withered in their shells, moths turned to dust on the night breeze and an owl ate its young. The spell had been cast. Poppy Hooper has managed to deceive her father into believing that there is nothing mysterious or unnatural about her. He ignores the cats that find her wherever she goes, the spiders that weave beautiful lacy patterns for her, even her eyes - one blue, one green with an extra black dot orbiting the pupil.Ember Hawkweed is a pitiful excuse for a witch. When the other girls in her coven brew vile potions, Ember makes soap and perfume. Fair and pretty, Ember is more like a chaff than a witch. When the two girls meet, Poppy discovers her powers, and finds out the truth. Bound by their unlikely friendship and the boy they both love, the girls try and find their place in the world. But the time of the prophecy draws nearer - and the witches won't give up the throne without a fight.

Orchard Books

Think Twice

Sarah Mlynowski
Authors:
Sarah Mlynowski

What's worse than having telepathy in high school?Having telepathy in high school, and then losing it.When class 10B got their flu shots and developed the unexpected side effect of telepathy, it seemed like the worse thing ever. But two years later, they've got used to their powers. They've even come to like them. And as they prepare to leave school, they're all making exciting plans - plans that involve them being Espies.So when one by one they suddenly begin to lose their powers, they know they can't let it happen. Can they save their telepathy before it's too late? Or will they have to learn how to survive without them once again?

Orchard Books

Chosen

Lucy Coats
Authors:
Lucy Coats
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.SHE WAS LOST... When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Faith's childhood was dominated by Laurel's disappearance - from her parents' broken marriage and the constant media attention to dealing with so-called friends who only ever wanted to talk about her sister. NOW SHE IS FOUND... Thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the garden of the Logans' old house, disorientated and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Laurel is home at last, safe and sound. Faith always dreamed of getting her sister back, without ever truly believing it would happen. But a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated and paranoid, and before long she begins to wonder if everything that's lost can be found again...

Orchard Books

Mind Games

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Quercus Children's Books

A Kiss in the Dark

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Can love survive the ultimate betrayal? A compelling story of love and identity from a bestselling author.When Alex meets Kate the attraction is instant. Alex is funny, good-looking, and a little shy - everything that Kate wants in a boyfriend. Alex can't help falling for Kate, who is pretty, charming and maybe just a little naive... But one of them is hiding an unbelievable secret, and as their love blossoms, it threatens to ruin not just their relationship, but their lives...

Orchard Books

Shattered

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Kyla's memory was erased,her personality wiped blank,her memories lost for ever.Or so she thought.After the shocking events of SLATED and FRACTURED, we return to Kyla's oppressive world as she tries to make sense of her life and everything around her.Set in a disturbing near-future world, this is the conclusion to an engrossing, fast-paced trilogy that establishes Teri Terry as a master thriller writer.Book 3 in the acclaimed SLATED trilogy.

Orchard Books

Sticker Activity Book

Discover the magical world of My Little Pony with this fun-filled sticker activity book. Come and play with Twilight Sparkle and her best friends and discover games, puzzles, colouring and lots of pretty stickers. Join up the dots to reveal Pinkie Pie's special party outfit, help the pony friends find the best way through the maze to Sweet Apple Acres Farm and lots lots more!As seen on Tiny Pop and PopTV.Look out for lots more My Little Pony sticker activity books:My Little Pony Super Sticker BookMy Little Pony Princess Pony Wedding Sticker BookMy Little Pony Fashion Boutique Dress-Up Sticker BookMy Little Pony Best Friends Sticker and Activity BookMy Little Pony Holiday Fun Sticker and Activity BookMy Little Pony Super Sparkly Sticker FunMy Little Pony Princess Ponies Sticker and Activity Book

Orchard Books

Sticker Colouring Book

Wayland

The Boy Files

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson
Orchard Books

Fractured

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Kyla's memory has been erased,her personality wiped blank,her memories lost for ever.Or so she thought.Kyla shouldn't be able to remember anything. But she can - and she's beginning to realise that there are a lot of dark secrets locked away in her memories. When a mysterious man from her past comes back into her life, she thinks she's on her way to finding the truth. But the more she learns about her history, the more confusing her future becomes...Set in a disturbing future world, FRACTURED is an engrossing, fast-paced read that establishes Teri Terry as a master thriller writer.Book 2 in the acclaimed SLATED trilogy.