Cat Clarke - Girlhood - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848663978
    • Publication date:04 May 2017

Girlhood

By Cat Clarke

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

How can you grow up when loss weighs you down? A thrilling coming-of-age story for fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.

'Emotive, creepy AND funny. A quality page-turner' SARAH CROSSAN

'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet' JUNO DAWSON

Harper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can't escape the guilt of her twin sister's Jenna's death, and her own part in it - and she knows noone else will ever really understand.

But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels...loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died.

Then Kirsty's behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper's? And why is she so obsessed with Harper's lost sister? Soon, Harper's closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity.

How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?

A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.

Biographical Notes

Cat Clarke is the bestselling, award-winning author of six YA novels. She was born in Zambia and brought up in Edinburgh and Yorkshire, which has given her an accent that tends to confuse people. She lives in Edinburgh with her partner, two ninja cats and two decidedly non-ninja cocker spaniels.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784292737
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet' — Juno Dawson
An emotionally charged, edge-of-your-seat thriller. Tension builds to a jaw-dropping crescendo as truths are revealed, loyalties are tested, and a whole lot of understanding is needed. Gripping and gratifyingly multi-layered, fans of thrillers with emotional depth will find much to love here — LoveReading4Kids
Well-written and insightful ... the story moves at a roaring pace until it reaches a thrilling and ultimately uplifting conclusion ... an easy book to get lost in — The Bookbag
Incredible - pure and simple — Writing from the Tub on Cat Clarke
Undoubtedly one of the most exciting and talented YA writers in Britain — Library Mice on Cat Clarke
I wholly, unabashedly and completely recommend this book — Inis Magazine on Cat Clarke
Clarke...succeeds brilliantly, thanks to the reality of the characters and the depth of the emotion — The Scotsman on Cat Clarke
Clarke excels at genuine page-turners and I read this in one greedy sitting — The Bookseller on Cat Clarke
Orion Children's Books

Invictus

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin

From the author of the Carnegie Medal nominated Wolf by Wolf, comes an epic new story...Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far's birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he's ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past.But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far's very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space.

Wren & Rook

This Book Will (Help You) Change the World

Sue Turton, Alice Skinner
Contributors:
Sue Turton, Alice Skinner
Wayland

Worried

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ascension

Olivia Chase
Authors:
Olivia Chase

For fans of Cassandra Clare and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the second book in this kick-ass new series will keep you on the edge of your seat . . .Diana, Minerva and Vesta are Demon Hunters, gifted with amazing powers to help them fight against supernatural evil. But they're also normal teenagers, with normal things to worry about such as school, relationships, and getting to judo practice on time.When a creepy fog cloaks Edinburgh and the girls find a boy, bloodied and confused, they suspect a demon is up to no good. Suddenly they're plunged into unknown danger, and have to use the united strength of their Trinity to survive once more.

Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook
Franklin Watts

Ahmed and the New Boy

Enid Richemont, Maxine Lee
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Maxine Lee

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, there is a new boy in Ahmed's school - and he is out of this world! Will the teacher notice that her new student is really an alien?

Wayland

Sad

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Orchard Books

The Hawkweed Legacy

Irena Brignull
Authors:
Irena Brignull
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ryan Higa’s How to Write Good

Ryan Higa
Authors:
Ryan Higa

An unconventional, irreverent, yet heartfelt memoir by Ryan Higa, one of the top creators on YouTube. With pictures! And illustrations! And, y'know, words.I know you're used to seeing me on the Internet, but here I am, coming at you in book form. You might be asking yourself, A book? You? Why? Listen, I'm as surprised about it as you are. But I have a story to tell that I believe will help inspire people who are going through tough times. And I couldn't be the only YouTuber without a book, could I?This is the story of how I went from being a relatively happy kids to being depressed and angry and filled with dark thoughts. This is also the story of how I found my way to a happier life. But wait, there's more! You're not only getting my story but you'll also learn to write well, from a college dropout who struggled in basic-level English classes and still became a legit, Best Sailing Author. (That wasn't a typo. I plan to buy a boat one day...but probably not anytime soon. This book might not cell good.)

Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Quercus Children's Books

A Kiss in the Dark

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

Entangled

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

Naughtiest Girl In The School

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

In Enid Blyton's bestselling school series Elizabeth Allen is sent away to boarding school and makes up her mind to be the naughtiest pupil there's ever been.Follow Elizabeth Allen in book one as she arrives for her first year at boarding school. Elizabeth is spoilt and selfish and has made up her mind to be the naughtiest pupil there's ever been! But soon she finds out that being bad isn't as simple as it seems ...Between 1940 and 1952, Enid Blyton wrote four novels about Naughtiest Girl, Elizabeth Allen. This edition contains the original text. Both cover and inside illustrations were created by Kate Hindley in 2014. Bonus material: A rare, complete serial story about a very special school. An interview with Enid Blyton about her school days. Enid Blyton's experiences as a teacher. A timeline of the author's life. Photos from Enid Blyton's younger days.

Franklin Watts

Our Village School

Deborah Chancellor
Authors:
Deborah Chancellor

A group of friends from Great Chesterford in Essex are going on a walk. The children have planned their walk carefully and have a list of questions they want to answer about their local area. We then follow them as they explore thier local area and answer their questions. This book is part of 'A walk from' series which explores different geographical environments using maps and photos. It helps young children understand geographical similarities and differences through studying the human and physical geography of a small area of the United Kingdom. The books feature key physical and human geographical vocabulary and skills such as compass directions, map reading and recognising landmarks and features.

Franklin Watts

The 1990s

Anne Rooney
Authors:
Anne Rooney
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Franklin Watts

The 1970s

Nathaniel Harris
Authors:
Nathaniel Harris
Franklin Watts

The 1980s

Joseph Harris
Authors:
Joseph Harris

The 1980s was a time of economic growth and great wealth for some. It was the age of enterprise culture and the 'yuppie'. Capitalism appeared triumphant as the communist world crumbled, and the Berlin Wall fell. It was also the time of Live Aid, disaster at Chernobyl and the launch of the IBM PC. This book describes these and many other world-changing events that occurred during this decade.Part of the series Dates of a Decade, each title looks at the key dates that helped shape history during a particular decade in the 20th century. As well as describing landmark events, the books examine their causes and consequences and include contemporary newspaper reports and eyewitness accounts.

Franklin Watts

The 1950s

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison

The 1950s was a tense time in the Cold War, with the McCArthy witch hunts in the USA, the crushing of the Hungarian uprising and the rise of Castro in Cuba. It was also a time of great achievement, including the conquest of Everest, the first organ transplant and the launch of Sputnik. This book describes these and many other world-changing events that occurred during this decade.Part of the series Dates of a Decade, each title looks at the key dates that helped shape history during a particular decade in the 20th century. As well as describing landmark events, the books examine their causes and consequences and include contemporary newspaper reports and eyewitness accounts.