Gregory Hughes and Gregory Hughes - Summertime of the Dead - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Summertime of the Dead

By Gregory Hughes and Gregory Hughes

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Yukio's two best friends are dead. Tormented and blackmailed by the Yakuza - the Japanese mafia - they have taken their own lives.

Yukio is a kendo champion and he knows all the stories of the samurai. Heartbroken and furious, he is determined to avenge the deaths of his beloved Hiroshi and Miko.

And so begins a deadly struggle between Yukio and the Yakuza, and between Yukio's capacity for love, and his thirst for revenge.

Shot through with the beauty of Tokyo in spring, this is an unforgettable and uncompromising read.

Biographical Notes

Gregory Hughes was born in Liverpool, the eighth child in a family of nine. Expelled from school, he spent several years in a home for wayward boys. He has since travelled the world working in a variety of jobs. His first novel, Unhooking the Moon, won the Booktrust Teenage Prize in 2010. He now lives in Los Angeles.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780879970
  • Publication date: 30 Aug 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
'an author to look out for if you dislike predictable stories' Bookbag. — Bookbag
'A raw and uncompromising story of obsession, full of action and adrenaline as well as tender relationships' Children's Books Ireland. — Children's Books Ireland
'Gregory Hughes, writer of the astoundingly good Unhooking The Moon, is back with a Kill Bill-esque tale full of darkness, revenge and love' Did You Ever Stop to Think. — Did You Ever Stop to Think
'Savagely compelling ... It mimics the distancing stylistics of manga comics as well as suggesting the short-circuitry of the psychopath. It's rather brilliant' Guardian. — Guardian
'Fast, engaging and laced with an unexpected streak of darkness' My Favourite Books. — My Favourite Books
'a dark and gritty tale of love, revenge and deep personal anguish' We Love This Book. — We Love This Book
Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match: The Truth About Destiny

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari
Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The second book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, by New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.They call her the Leader. Their saviour and only hope. Only Ruby knows what she really is - a monster, capable of destroying them all.Ruby never asked for the abilities that almost cost her life. Now she must call upon them to bring down a corrupt government in a world where children have been eliminated. When she is entrusted with an explosive secret, she embarks on her deadliest journey yet: leaving the Children's League to track down Liam Stewart, the boy who carries the truth about the disease that threw the world into chaos. The boy she once loved and hoped never to see again ...'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Orchard Books

Book of Lies

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Who lies? Who tells the truth? Death hangs on the answer... 'Highly recommended, especially for those who like their fantasy subtle but chillingly effective, and populated by characters they can believe in' (Starburst Magazine)Tell a lie and the darkness will find you.Quinn and Piper are twins, but they've never met. A tragic event bringsthem together, and draws them into a family curse that stretches across centuries.One twin can command the darkness; the other could hold the key to breaking the curse.But when lies become truth and truth looks like lies, who can you believe?Don't miss this startling new book from Teri Terry, queen of the YA psychological thriller!They are trapped, frozen. Waiting. Straining against the wood that holds them. The unwary catch a glimpse now and then - feel their desperate hunger, see a glint of red eyes - and scurry out of the shadows of the wood, back to the light. She's coming; it will be soon.They will run free on the moors again. The Hunt will return. And the ground will run with blood.

Orion Children's Books

The Glory

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

From the bestselling author of THE ONE DOLLAR HORSE trilogy a sensational, stand-alone equestrian thriller and romance about a girl on the run from the law, a boy on a mission to save a life and a race from Colorado to Oregon that they both have to win...A Girl on the Run from the LawAlexandra Blakewood has everything any teenager could wish for, apart from the horse she'd love, but she won't stop getting into trouble. Sent to a US boot camp, she dreams of escaping. It seems impossible until she's told about a gruelling 1,200 mile horse race across the American West . . . A Boy on a Mission to Save a LifeWill Greyton was the star student at his Tennessee high school until his father was laid off. Now Will works at a burger joint. When his dad falls ill, it seems things can't get any worse. An operation will save him, but there's no way to pay for it. Then Will hears about The Glory, a deadly endurance race with a $250,000 purse, open to any rider daring enough to attempt it . . .

Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Fire Storm

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Race the Wind

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Hodder Children's Books

Shadow Wave

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

The twelfth title in the number one bestselling CHERUB series! James Adams' loyalties are tested in his most dangerous mission yet ...After a tsunami causes massive devastation to a tropical island, its governor sends in the bulldozers to knock down villages, replacing them with luxury hotels.Guarding the corrupt governor's family isn't James Adams' idea of the perfect mission, especially as it's going to be his last as a CHERUB agent. And then retired colleague Kyle Blueman comes up with an unofficial and highly dangerous plan of his own.James must choose between loyalty to CHERUB, and loyalty to his oldest friend.For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Quercus Children's Books

Unhooking the Moon

Gregory Hughes, Gregory Hughes
Authors:
Gregory Hughes, Gregory Hughes
Hodder Children's Books

The Fall

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

David Logan

David Logan grew up on the south coast of England. After deciding at an early age that he wanted to be a writer, he pursued a career in the film business and has been earning his living as a screenwriter for the last thirteen years. In that time he has worked for most of the major American studios. He lives in Hove, East Sussex with his wife, Lisa; three children, Joseph, Grace and Gabriel; and his dog, Harper.

Ellie James

Ellie James is a former marketing executive, and is a native of Louisiana. Shattered Dreams is her first novel.

Emily Murdoch

Emily Murdoch is a writer and poet. She is passionate about animal welfare and offers sanctuary to abused and abandoned horses on her family ranch in rural Arizona. IF YOU FIND ME is her first novel. Visit her website at http://www.emilymurdoch.com, read her blog at http://emilymurdoch.wordpress.com, follow her on Twitter at https://twitter.com/LeftyWritey and Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/emily.murdoch.author and like the page for If You Find Me at http://www.facebook.com/Ifyoufindme.

Emmy Laybourne

Emmy Laybourne is an American novelist and a former character actress. She appeared as an actress in the movies 'Superstar' and 'The In-Laws', the NBC series 'DAG' and Comedy Central's 'Premium Blend' among others. Her debut novel, MONUMENT 14, was a NY Times Editor's Choice and received a starred review in Publisher's Weekly. Emmy lives in upstate NY, with her husband, their two children and a feisty, slightly judgmental bearded dragon named Goldie. Visit her online at www.emmylaybourne.com.

Estelle Laure

Estelle Laure believes in love, magic, and the power of facing hard truths. She has a BA in Theatre Arts and an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts in Writing for Children and Young Adults, and lives in Taos, New Mexico, with her two children.

Graham Mcnamee

Graham McNamee grew up in Toronto and now lives in Vancouver. He has worked in bookshops, libraries, a book-binding factory and, of course, a Lost Property office! He is extremely shy and his hobbies are drawing and photography.