Cat Clarke - A Kiss in the Dark - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780870489
    • Publication date:27 Mar 2014

A Kiss in the Dark

From a Zoella Book Club 2017 author

By Cat Clarke

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Can love survive the ultimate betrayal? A compelling story of love and identity for fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.

Can love survive the ultimate betrayal? A compelling story of love and identity from a bestselling author.

When Alex meets Kate the attraction is instant.

Alex is funny, good-looking, and a little shy - everything that Kate wants in a boyfriend.

Alex can't help falling for Kate, who is pretty, charming and maybe just a little naive...

But one of them is hiding an unbelievable secret, and as their love blossoms, it threatens to ruin not just their relationship, but their lives...

Biographical Notes

Cat Clarke is the bestselling, award-winning author of six YA novels. She was born in Zambia and brought up in Edinburgh and Yorkshire, which has given her an accent that tends to confuse people. She lives in Edinburgh with her partner, two ninja cats and two decidedly non-ninja cocker spaniels.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780870472
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Quercus Children's Books
All in all a perfect YA novel which blew me away from the start, had me gripped until the end and left me in emotional tatters — Good Reads
A realistic, gritty novel of growing as a person, of loving a person of acceptance and one that will stick with you even after the last page! — Studio Reads
The best yet from the consistently great Cat Clarke, this is a stunning story of a relationship with a secret at the heart of it — Book Bag
Clarke excels at genuine page-turners with a heart of darkness and I read this in one greedy sitting. — The Bookseller
A satsifying and...all-too-credible thriller — Inis
Undoubtedly one of the most exciting and talented YA writers in Britain — Library Mice on Cat Clarke
I wholly, unabashedly and completely recommend this book — Inis Magazine on Cat Clarke
Clarke...succeeds brilliantly, thanks to the reality of the characters and the depth of the emotion — The Scotsman on Cat Clarke
Moving, thought provoking and utterly gripping from start to finish — Mizz on Cat Clarke
Orchard Books

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Contributors:
Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Nomi and Serina Tessaro face two very different fates. Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace - one of three poised, beautiful women selected to stand by Prince Malachi's side as shining, subjugated examples of what all women should be. But when Nomi catches the prince's eye instead, it's Serina who must take the fall for the dangerous secret that her little sister has been hiding.The girls are separated, finding themselves in cages of different kinds: one in the palace, the other in prison, both desperate to escape. In a world this dangerous, one wrong move could cost these sisters their lives.

Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: Just Got Real

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

Nothing is impossible in Hector Coleman's world - not even aliens ... A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist, for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie Higson.Last year, Hector Coleman survived the craziest week of his boring teenage life. His mates genetically mutated in impossible ways, an alien egg landed in his pathetic home town, and everyone nearly died...Now, the egg is back. Can life get any more impossible for Hector? And more importantly, will he at least get more Twitter followers?

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

It starts with a wedding. And a car crash. It ends with dark secrets and even darker lies. An unforgettable story from the queen of emotional suspense, for fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate' JUNO DAWSON On the same night Evan's mother marries local radio DJ 'Breakfast Tim', Evan's brand-new step-brother Lewis is found unconscious and terribly injured, the only survivor of a horrific car crash. A media furore erupts, with the finger of blame pointed firmly at Lewis. Everyone else believes the crash was drugs-related, but Evan isn't buying it. How did the four teenagers know each other? Lewis is a loner. As far as Evan knows, he doesn't have any friends.She starts to investigate, finding out all she can about the three dead teenagers... As Evan delves deeper into their lives, she uncovers some disturbing truths and a secret that threatens to tear her family - and the community - apart for ever.

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

An amazing new futuristic trilogy from Teri Terry, Orchard's queen of the YA psychological thriller. Fans and new readers alike will be gripped!(P) 2017 Hachette Children's Group

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook
Orchard Books

The Big Book of Friendship Stories

A large-format gift collection of five magical adventures, featuring all your favourite My Little Pony friends.Join Twilight Sparkle and her best friends on five magical adventures - from the twinkling towers of Manehattan to the mysterious Everfree Forest - and discover secrets, friendship and fun along the way! With a luxurious, super-sparkly padded cover, lots of pretty illustrations and five exciting stories - each with an important message about friendship - this is the perfect gift for all My Little Pony fans.As seen on Tiny Pop and PopTV.

Hodder Children's Books

Snow 'N' Snuggles Sticker Activity Book

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Wren & Rook

It's All In Your Head

Rae Earl, Jo Harrison
Contributors:
Rae Earl, Jo Harrison
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

When Hector Coleman and his mates genetically mutate overnight, his life changes in impossible ways. A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie HigsonHector Coleman. Just your average angst-ridden teenager, living a normal rubbish life in a normal rubbish town with, let's face it, a rubbish name. Until his mates start genetically mutating ... and everything changes. Apart from his name. And his girl trouble. And his embarrassingly low number of Twitter followers. All those things, unfortunately, stay the same. For now...

Wren & Rook

The Boys' Guide to Growing Up

Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne
Wren & Rook

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Naik, Sarah Horne

A friendly and reassuring guide for girls as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from periods and breast development to body hair and personal hygiene, puberty and parenting expert Anita Naik addresses any worries that girls may have relating to what is 'normal'. She reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise.Topics covered:What is puberty?Your puberty timelineBreasts and brasSame age, different stageSkin changesSweat, smells and personal hygieneHair in new placesDown thereWhat are periods?The practical side of periodsCoping with periodsSex explainedMaking babiesNew feelingsManaging your moodsHealthy eatingThe power of exerciseSelf-esteem and body imagePrivacy and your bodyPuberty for boysBoys have worries, too

Hodder Children's Books

Songs About Us

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell
Orion Children's Books

Chase

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Quercus Children's Books

Entangled

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.SHE WAS LOST... When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Faith's childhood was dominated by Laurel's disappearance - from her parents' broken marriage and the constant media attention to dealing with so-called friends who only ever wanted to talk about her sister. NOW SHE IS FOUND... Thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the garden of the Logans' old house, disorientated and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Laurel is home at last, safe and sound. Faith always dreamed of getting her sister back, without ever truly believing it would happen. But a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated and paranoid, and before long she begins to wonder if everything that's lost can be found again...

Quercus Children's Books

Girlhood

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

Just Like My Daddy

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

From the creator of the bestselling Hugless Douglas, this humorous, touching tale is a celebration of dads everywhere - even if they are moody, lazy and good at pretending to be busy!A striking new edition of this bestselling picture book.One little lion cub can't wait to grow up and do everything just like his dad.David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.