Alan Gibbons - They Saw Too Much - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780622484
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

They Saw Too Much

By Alan Gibbons

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.

Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.

So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Biographical Notes

Alan Gibbons is a full-time writer and a visiting speaker and lecturer at schools, colleges and literary events nationwide, including the major book festivals: Edinburgh, Northern Children's Book Festival, Swansea, Cheltenham, Sheffield and Salford. Alan is a key supporter of a high-profile, nationwide campaign to champion libraries and librarianship and to reevaluate government commitment to educational spending. He lives in Liverpool with his wife and four children. Alan is an honorary CILIP member.

Visit Alan's website at www.alangibbons.com, read his blog at alangibbons.net, follow him on Twitter @mygibbo, Facebook www.facebook.com/alan.gibbons.35 and Flickr www.flickr.com/people/71279646@N08.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780622491
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Some books can change the world for the better - this is one of them. All young people should be advised to read it. — THE SUN on HATE
This novel will take you to the edge of your comfort zone and beyond - a compelling, powerful read. — Cathy Cassidy on THE TRAP
Alan Gibbons has written a compelling novel of courage and conscience amidst the terrors of our time. — Beverley Naidoo, Carnegie Medal-winning author on THE TRAP
Wonderfully fast paced, thrilling ... as good as it gets in British teen fiction ... Authentic and unflinching, it is a novel you have to read. — Bali Rai, award-winning author on THE TRAP
Very few authors would have the expertise to so beautifully capture such difficult emotions without making the novel an explicit one. — THE GUARDIAN on HATE
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan
Wayland

I'm an Advanced Scratch Coder

Max Wainewright, Maria Cox
Contributors:
Max Wainewright, Maria Cox

I'm an Advanced Scratch Coder is perfect for those who have mastered the basics of Scratch, and want to try building some more tricky programs before progressing to real-world coding languages. Try writing thirteen different programs in Scratch, and get to grips with key coding concepts like loops, variables and functions.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an HTML Web Page BuilderI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The BasicsI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Orion Children's Books

The Trap

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Weird Snowy Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

Weird Spooky Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter

Join the Weirdibeasts for Halloween in this brand-new full colour blue Early Reader story from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel.Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.It's the weirdest Halloween ever. Mrs Creature is having a Halloween party, with food, games and a special prize for the best fancy dress. The Weirdibeasts can't wait to try on their scary costumes and dress up. A fun Halloween-inspired story from Alan Gibbons, writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel, and illustrated by Jane Porter.

Orion Children's Books

Weird Sports Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

End Game

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Weird School Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

Complete eBook Collection

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

An action packed complete collection of the eight book Total Football series from bestselling writer Alan Gibbons.This collection contains the following stories:1. Some You Win . . .2. Under Pressure3. Divided We Fall4. Injury Time5. Last Man Standing6. Power Play7. Twin Strikers8. Final Countdown

Wayland

Radio Waves

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Wayland

Car Wars

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse

Dan's latest work experience trial is at a car yard. All Dan has to do is sell a car. What could possibly go wrong?Freestylers are a range of reading books with low-level text for readers of both sexes with a reading age of 5-7. The engaging stories are perfect for older, struggling readers as well as emerging readers. The books can be used for both guided reading and independent reading. A core character throughout the series of four Funnies titles, provides familiarity, which builds confidence and eases readers from one story to the next, accelerating reading progress.All texts have been checked by reading consultant Dee Reid. Dee is an expert in the field of children's literacy and has produced many award-winning series and some of the best education books and training programmes available to teachers looking to support children's literacy.

Orion Children's Books

Hate

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Eve's older sister, Rosie, was bright and alive and always loved being the centre of attention. Then one day, she is brutally murdered. Six months later, Eve meets Antony and discovers that he was there the night Rosie died and did nothing to help. Is there any way she can ever get past that?Inspired by the tragic murder of Sophie Lancaster, which saw Sophie and her partner Rob viciously attacked in Stubbylee Park, Bacup, Lancashire because of the way they dressed, this is a hard-hitting real-life thriller about friendship, courage, loss, forgiveness and about our society and communities.

Wayland

Dig It!

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Wayland

Flower Power

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse

Franklin Watts

A-Z of Growing Up, Puberty and Sex

Lesley De Meza, Stephen De Silva
Authors:
Lesley De Meza, Stephen De Silva
Wayland

Environment

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

From algae producing oil and driverless cars to Tsunami-proof towns and farmer-bots, welcome to how our environment may look in the near future! Find out all about the mind-blowing science and technology the future has in store for us.

Wayland

Entertainment

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

From 3D printing and tables as loudspeakers to space diving and asteroid resorts, welcome to the future of entertainment! Find out all about the mind-blowing science and technology the future has in store for us.

Wayland

Communication

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

From microchip mobile phones and Google glasses to mind-controlled computers and dream modification, welcome to the future of communication! Find out all about the mind-blowing science and technology the future has in store for us.

Wayland

Medicine

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
Hodder Children's Books

Monument 14

Emmy Laybourne
Authors:
Emmy Laybourne