Alan Gibbons - They Saw Too Much - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780622484
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

They Saw Too Much

By Alan Gibbons

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.

Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.

So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Biographical Notes

Alan Gibbons is a full-time writer and a visiting speaker and lecturer at schools, colleges and literary events nationwide, including the major book festivals: Edinburgh, Northern Children's Book Festival, Swansea, Cheltenham, Sheffield and Salford. Alan is a key supporter of a high-profile, nationwide campaign to champion libraries and librarianship and to reevaluate government commitment to educational spending. He lives in Liverpool with his wife and four children. Alan is an honorary CILIP member.

Visit Alan's website at www.alangibbons.com, read his blog at alangibbons.net, follow him on Twitter @mygibbo, Facebook www.facebook.com/alan.gibbons.35 and Flickr www.flickr.com/people/71279646@N08.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780622491
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Some books can change the world for the better - this is one of them. All young people should be advised to read it. — THE SUN on HATE
This novel will take you to the edge of your comfort zone and beyond - a compelling, powerful read. — Cathy Cassidy on THE TRAP
Alan Gibbons has written a compelling novel of courage and conscience amidst the terrors of our time. — Beverley Naidoo, Carnegie Medal-winning author on THE TRAP
Wonderfully fast paced, thrilling ... as good as it gets in British teen fiction ... Authentic and unflinching, it is a novel you have to read. — Bali Rai, award-winning author on THE TRAP
Very few authors would have the expertise to so beautifully capture such difficult emotions without making the novel an explicit one. — THE GUARDIAN on HATE
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Franklin Watts

The Somme

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Orion Children's Books

Weird Snowy Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

The Trap

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Terrorism, heroism and everything in between...THE TRAP is a teen thriller about espionage, a missing brother and the ever-raging war on terror by million-copy-selling author, Alan Gibbons.MI5 agent, Kate, receives a tip-off about an asset, who seems too good to be true. Amir and Nasima are trying to make friends at their new school but struggling to keep a terrible secret. A group of jihadists are planning something. And behind it all stands Majid. Brother. Son. Hero. Terrorist.Spanning Iraq, Syria and England, THE TRAP grapples with one of the greatest challenges of our time.

Orion Children's Books

Weird Spooky Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter

Join the Weirdibeasts for Halloween in this brand-new full colour blue Early Reader story from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel.Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.It's the weirdest Halloween ever. Mrs Creature is having a Halloween party, with food, games and a special prize for the best fancy dress. The Weirdibeasts can't wait to try on their scary costumes and dress up. A fun Halloween-inspired story from Alan Gibbons, writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel, and illustrated by Jane Porter.

Orion Children's Books

Weird Sports Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

End Game

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

A real-life thriller about memory loss, arms dealing, and fathers and sons from million copy selling, prize-winning author, Alan Gibbons.'He was here again last night, the man with the dead eyes. He was in my room and in my head.'There are not many things Nick Mallory knows for sure. He knows there was a car crash. He knows he is in hospital. And he knows he feels furious with his father. What he doesn't know is why. As his memories start to return, Nick finds himself caught in a net of secrets and lies - where truth and perception collide and heroes and villains are not easy to tell apart.Shortlisted for the Grampian Children's Books Award.

Orion Children's Books

Weird School Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

Complete eBook Collection

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Hate

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Eve's older sister, Rosie, was bright and alive and always loved being the centre of attention. Then one day, she is brutally murdered. Six months later, Eve meets Antony and discovers that he was there the night Rosie died and did nothing to help. Is there any way she can ever get past that?Inspired by the tragic murder of Sophie Lancaster, which saw Sophie and her partner Rob viciously attacked in Stubbylee Park, Bacup, Lancashire because of the way they dressed, this is a hard-hitting real-life thriller about friendship, courage, loss, forgiveness and about our society and communities.

Hodder Children's Books

Good Work, Secret Seven

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Secret Seven are siblings Peter and Janet, and Jack, Barbara, Pam, Colin and George. Together they are The Secret Seven - ready to solve any mystery, any time - in Enid Blyton's classic series of 15 mystery novels.In book six, Peter and Janet are the only witnesses when a car is stolen. They saw the thieves, and now the whole of the Secret Seven are involved. But when they realise they're on the trail of a dangerous gang, the Seven don't feel quite so brave.Have they taken on too much this time? First published in 1954, this audio download contains the original text and is unabridged.(P) Hodder Children's Books 2013

Hodder Children's Books

Secret Seven Win Through

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Raining Fire

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

An Act of Love

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Childhood friends Chris and Imran celebrate the Millenium as inseparable blood brothers, they are both seven years old. But by 2011 their lives have taken very different paths. One has joined the Army and served in Afghanistan, the other is a potential jihad recruit. They are no longer friends, and there are bitter wounds between them which remain unhealed. Will their childhood bond be strong enough to overcome an extremist plot?In a highly-charged, honest and life affirming story, told in flashback from both Chris and Imran's viewpoint, Alan Gibbon's cleverly explores the very real issue of terrorism that affects everyone today.

Orion Children's Books

Whose Side Are You On?

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

The Legendeer: Warriors of the Raven

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Rise of the Blood Moon

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Setting of a Cruel Sun

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

The Helat rebels have broken the power of the demon lord and challenged the rule of their masters, the Sol-ket. But the Darkwing is merely in retreat, biding his time, and the Sol-ket will fight to their last breath to keep control of their golden cities. The power of the slaves is mounting as they rise to fulfil once-forbidden prophecies. When the Darkwing returns for his final onslaught, is anyone, soldier or slave, equipped to defeat him - especially as the cruel sun sets, beckoning a devastatingly relentless winter?A brilliant continuation of the journey begun in RISE OF THE BLOOD MOON, this novel also stands alone, with its own twists, turns and surprises for characters and readers alike. Be prepared for changes of allegiance, surprise new arrivals, and sudden deaths. Page-turning and unpredictable from start to finish.