Alan Gibbons - They Saw Too Much - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780622484
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

They Saw Too Much

By Alan Gibbons

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.

Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.

So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Biographical Notes

Alan Gibbons is a full-time writer and a visiting speaker and lecturer at schools, colleges and literary events nationwide, including the major book festivals: Edinburgh, Northern Children's Book Festival, Swansea, Cheltenham, Sheffield and Salford. Alan is a key supporter of a high-profile, nationwide campaign to champion libraries and librarianship and to reevaluate government commitment to educational spending. He lives in Liverpool with his wife and four children. Alan is an honorary CILIP member.

Visit Alan's website at www.alangibbons.com, read his blog at alangibbons.net, follow him on Twitter @mygibbo, Facebook www.facebook.com/alan.gibbons.35 and Flickr www.flickr.com/people/71279646@N08.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780622491
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Some books can change the world for the better - this is one of them. All young people should be advised to read it. — THE SUN on HATE
This novel will take you to the edge of your comfort zone and beyond - a compelling, powerful read. — Cathy Cassidy on THE TRAP
Alan Gibbons has written a compelling novel of courage and conscience amidst the terrors of our time. — Beverley Naidoo, Carnegie Medal-winning author on THE TRAP
Wonderfully fast paced, thrilling ... as good as it gets in British teen fiction ... Authentic and unflinching, it is a novel you have to read. — Bali Rai, award-winning author on THE TRAP
Very few authors would have the expertise to so beautifully capture such difficult emotions without making the novel an explicit one. — THE GUARDIAN on HATE
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought at sea affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the ships and submarines that slugged it out to rule the seas during the Second World War, from stealthy U-boats to mighty battleships. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sidesA great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could fly or have super strength or super speed? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Fantastic Forces and Motion tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds through each superhero story as we question everything and clearly explain the science behind their powers as they would exist in real-life. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Home Front

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Orion Children's Books

Weird Snowy Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

Silence is Goldfish

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher

SILENCE IS GOLDFISH is a story that demands to be heard.'I have a voice but it isn't mine. It used to say things so I'd fit in - to please my parents, to please my teachers. It used to tell the universe I was something I wasn't. It lied.'Fifteen-year-old Tess doesn't mean to become mute. At first, she's just too shocked to speak. And who wouldn't be? Discovering your whole life has been a lie because your dad isn't your real father is a pretty big deal. Tess sets out to find the truth of her identity, and uncovers a secret that could ruin multiple lives. But can she ask for help when she's forgotten how to use her voice?This is the third YA novel from the bestselling and prizewinning author of MY SISTER LIVES ON THE MANTELPIECE and KETCHUP CLOUDS.

Orion Children's Books

The Trap

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Terrorism, heroism and everything in between...THE TRAP is a teen thriller about espionage, a missing brother and the ever-raging war on terror by million-copy-selling author, Alan Gibbons.MI5 agent, Kate, receives a tip-off about an asset, who seems too good to be true. Amir and Nasima are trying to make friends at their new school but struggling to keep a terrible secret. A group of jihadists are planning something. And behind it all stands Majid. Brother. Son. Hero. Terrorist.Spanning Iraq, Syria and England, THE TRAP grapples with one of the greatest challenges of our time.

Orion Children's Books

Weird Spooky Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

End Game

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Orion Children's Books

Weird Sports Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.It's Katie Cat's Sports Day. She and her friends must race faster than cheetahs, bounce better than kangaroos and climb higher than monkeys!A delightful story from million copy selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel.

Orion Children's Books

Hate

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Weird School Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.It's Katie Cat's first day of school ... but what has happened? She has feathers and fur and whiskers and wings. She's all mixed up!A delightful story about starting school from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel.

Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Fire Storm

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

What if victory cost you your life? The final novel in The One Dollar Horse series by prize-winning Lauren St John, in which Casey and Storm compete at the Burghley Horse Trials.Teenage eventing star Casey Blue has it all - fame, her champion horse Storm and a boyfriend who loves her.Then Kyle West walks into her life. The country's hottest equestrian coach is also drop dead gorgeous and Casey knows right away that she's in trouble. But who is Kyle and why are there so many unanswered questions about his past? And what is his connection to Anna Sparks, Casey's old rival?As the Burghley Horse Trials approaches, it becomes clear that what is at stake is not just the Grand Slam, but Casey's life.The concluding novel of The One Dollar Horse trilogy by prize-winning author, Lauren St John.

Orion Children's Books

Complete eBook Collection

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Orion Children's Books

Raining Fire

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

The gun is the coward's fist. The gun is power.Alex and Ethan are growing up on an estate where there are just two choices: sport or crime. Ethan is selected for a football training programme in the US, his chance to escape the gangs that terrorise his neighbourhood. But Alex is drawn into an explosive feud with a gun at its heart.In this gripping and absorbing real life thriller, Alan Gibbons explores the complex issue of gun crime, and the far reaching consequences it can have.

Orion Children's Books

Witch Breed

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

When Paul journies back to 17th-century London, he expects to be thrown into a life or death struggle for the three gates that imprison the ancient King Lud. But the battle doesn't come. Instead, Paul roams alone, learning how to survive in a city where all the talk is of the savage civil war that rages beyond its ramparts. Somewhere underground, Lud is waiting in his crypt, preparing to rise again. War, fear and want are his tools. But Paul has his own weapons. Beyond the city, a witchhunt rages out of control. Only one woman possesses the power to help Paul in his quest.